Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Distilling Down
Reviewer: RavenFlyer (Signed) · Date: January 15, 2014 11:59 PM · On: Chapter 11: Paths Into The Woods

more, please!

Reviewer: Derryqueen (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2013 07:47 PM · On: Chapter 11: Paths Into The Woods

Ahhhh!!! A clif hanger. Please continue to write more! i am really enjoyin this story so far:)

Reviewer: EternallyJayded (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2010 05:32 AM · On: Chapter 1

You have me very intrigued with the beginning of this. It seems like a very complicated story is about to unfold.

The idea of a vamp-vaccine is very interesting, and I can't wait to see how it turns out.

Many questions are posed in this, Who exactly is 'Tanya/Bells', and why does she not know her human life? And many more that I'm sure we'll figure out as it goes along.

 

Awesome start!

 

WL

Reviewer: lambcullen (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2010 05:08 PM · On: Chapter 10: Chaos on the Ground

Truly enjoying and would love more!

 

xx



Author's Response:

Glad you are loving it and thrilled to have you as a reader - I've read Tides, Jingle Balls, Dark Possession (shivers at the dark goodness of that) and keep up with First Edition, too.  Real life has been eating at fic time, but there is more coming someday!

Here's a wee teaser from the chapter ahead . . .Bella's POV again at last!

----

<!-- /* Font Definitions */ @font-face {font-family:Calibri; panose-1:2 15 5 2 2 2 4 3 2 4; mso-font-charset:0; mso-generic-font-family:swiss; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:-1610611985 1073750139 0 0 159 0;} /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:""; margin-top:0in; margin-right:0in; margin-bottom:10.0pt; margin-left:0in; line-height:115%; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:Calibri; mso-fareast-font-family:Calibri; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman";} p.NoSpacing, li.NoSpacing, div.NoSpacing {mso-style-name:"No Spacing"; mso-style-parent:""; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:Calibri; mso-fareast-font-family:Calibri; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman";} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} -->

“Rose, I can’t stay here with you.  I’m a danger to you and the baby both.”

 

“Hush.  You brought me my first baby, and I would forgive you anything.  Even the most horrible thing you can think of.  I can even forgive you for James,” she said with a laugh, “and he’s the most horrible thing I can think of!”

 

“Rose!  He wasn’t that bad!”

 

“He was an unfaithful piece of murdering scum, and you deserve much better.”

 

I sighed.  “Just don’t fix me up with anybody, okay?”

 

She nodded with a heavy sigh of her own.  “Agreed.  That was a disaster.”

 

“You had no way to know Laurent would lead to James.  He seemed like a nice guy at the time.”

 

Rose rolled her eyes.   “Ah, Laurent.  So nice on the outside, and so slippery on the inside.  Whatever happened to him?”

 

I shook my head.  “Still slippery.  The last time I saw him, he was chasing me.  I think he’s being one of the bad guys this year.”

 

“What?!”  Rose stopped fingering her locket and slapped a palm down on the table.  The wood failed to give as it would have if she’d been vamped – I’d watched Rose take out more than one table with that same gesture – and she was left looking balefully at a stinging palm.  “That smarts.”

 

“Being human sucks, Rose.”

 

She gave me a considering look and dropped her hand back to her stomach.  “There are trade-offs in everything, Tanya.”

------------------



Author's Response:

Glad you are loving it and thrilled to have you as a reader - I've read Tides, Jingle Balls, Dark Possession (shivers at the dark goodness of that) and keep up with First Edition, too.  Real life has been eating at fic time, but there is more coming someday!

Here's a wee teaser from the chapter ahead . . .Bella's POV again at last!

----

"Rose, I can't stay here with you. I'm a danger to you and the baby both."

"Hush. You brought me my first baby, and I would forgive you anything. Even the most horrible thing you can think of. I can even forgive you for James," she said with a laugh, "and he's the most horrible thing I can think of!"

"Rose! He wasn't that bad!"

"He was an unfaithful piece of murdering scum, and you deserve much better."

I sighed. "Just don't fix me up with anybody, okay?"

She nodded with a heavy sigh of her own. "Agreed. That was a disaster."

"You had no way to know Laurent would lead to James. He seemed like a nice guy at the time."

Rose rolled her eyes. "Ah, Laurent. So nice on the outside, and so slippery on the inside. Whatever happened to him?"

I shook my head. "Still slippery. The last time I saw him, he was chasing me. I think he's being one of the bad guys this year."

"What?!" Rose stopped fingering her locket and slapped a palm down on the table. The wood failed to give as it would have if she'd been vamped - I'd watched Rose take out more than one table with that same gesture - and she was left looking balefully at a stinging palm. "That smarts."

"Being human sucks, Rose."

She gave me a considering look and dropped her hand back to her stomach. "There are trade-offs in everything, Tanya."

------------------

 

Reviewer: lambcullen (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2010 05:00 PM · On: Chapter 9: Trouble in the Air

you certainly know how to keep us on ours toes!

 

xx

Reviewer: lambcullen (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2010 04:04 PM · On: Chapter 6: Pickings from the Pockets

That chapter was simply brilliant. Very well plotted out.

 

I loved the interaction between Jasper & Alice! Great characterization. 

 

xxx

Reviewer: lambcullen (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2010 03:01 PM · On: Chapter 5: Beds in Strange Corners

Wonderful.

xx

Reviewer: lambcullen (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2010 01:46 PM · On: Chapter 4: Stragglers in the Crowd

Ooo this gets more and more interesting. Wonderful plot!

Reviewer: lambcullen (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2010 01:21 PM · On: Chapter 3: Angels Out Of Church

LOVED this chapters... very descriptive and atmospheric!

 

xx

Reviewer: lambcullen (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2010 01:02 PM · On: Chapter 2: Tables in the Wall

Oooo... so very interesting!

 

Excellent idea... and def want to read more!

Reviewer: vanessarae (Signed) · Date: May 02, 2010 02:56 AM · On: Chapter 10: Chaos on the Ground

I love reading your fic...it is so different and a completely new approach to the story...fantastic.

Reviewer: vanessarae (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2010 11:10 PM · On: Chapter 9: Trouble in the Air

oooh you evil woman!!!! cliffhangers, grrrrrr...

Reviewer: mothlights (Signed) · Date: April 27, 2010 08:28 PM · On: Chapter 6: Pickings from the Pockets

I like Laurent. He's good-naturedly self interested and has a healthy respect for Bella. And to top it off, he was forthcoming with some info that gave me a little better picture on where a lot of the characters stand. 

Like the backstory with the Volturi. 

Loved Japser's pov. 

Thanks for posting.

 



Author's Response:

Glad you liked it... and glad you like Jasper's POV, because his is the next Cullen side POV coming up!

Reviewer: mothlights (Signed) · Date: April 27, 2010 08:03 PM · On: Chapter 5: Beds in Strange Corners

And clearly there is a lot more backstory to be learned, since Ben calls her Tanya and she trusts Rose and Emmett while not trusting Edward. 

Clicking next to learn more...



Author's Response:

Yes, the backstory on this is pretty complex - I just started writing and it wouldn't stop.  If you do wonder why she doesn't trust Edward, check out the prologue again.  James wasn't the only one shooting darts!

Reviewer: mothlights (Signed) · Date: April 27, 2010 07:43 PM · On: Chapter 4: Stragglers in the Crowd

I love the way you keep me processing and thinking as I read. I prefer to get my background info on the fly as we go, and you do that a lot. For example, Esme's AU backstory coming up here. -- Esme had survived for centuries as an independent operator in Italy, a traditional Volturi stronghold. ...I was glad she was on our team now.

I wasn't sure why Alice was intent on getting Edward drunk (but maybe that's my fault for having to leave this fic for a while and come back) so I was a little confused in the first half. Loved to see the Cullens trying to make sense of the clues from what we'd already seen in Russia in the second half.

Made me smile - There was just one advantage to being human that all of us could agree on unanimously. -- Humans could get drunk. It's interesting to see the Cullen's take on humanity.

Thanks for posting



Author's Response:

Picture a friend who's depressed, uptight, and morose.  You'd want him drunk, too.

It's been interesting being in the Cullen mindset, and modernizing them a bit.  Technology is our friend, Smeyer.

Reviewer: mothlights (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2010 09:21 PM · On: Chapter 3: Angels Out Of Church

I'm completely hooked. Great writing. 

Monsters like me don't get to keep their families. -- Interesting how Bella is the one whose thoughts remind me of canon Edward.

The prayer was very well done - so very Catholic. 

Again I was leaning forward after James shoots her. Wasn't surprising, coming from James, and yet I hadn't seen it coming. 

Some fav lines --

A part of me knew that the feeling should be there, and penciled it in where it was supposed to go.

To say I stormed out would imply I moved slowly. In moments like these, I was the wind.

I am Help Requested... I snapped my fingers, making sparks.

Pulling it off, I managed to smear my face with blood.

Light colored pants and sandals completed the illusion of an Italian summer stepping into the room.

My teeth in his leg must have been like the meteor hitting the dinosaurs.

Thanks for posting.



Author's Response:

Glad you've liked the first few chapters!  Also, the line about the meteor and the dinosaurs is a favorite of mine, too.

Let me know if you've finished the other chapters and I can send you a Chapter 9 teaser. . .in less than the week it has taken me to respond here!

Reviewer: mothlights (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2010 08:57 PM · On: Chapter 2: Tables in the Wall

Ok that was brilliant. Love the way you drop in the gun and then the way Edward can still hear her thoughts if she thinks directly at him - clues that start to let me know what's different about them here. 

Alice's voice was very well done. 

Some fav lines --

leaning his angular bones 

"Go save my lamps, I've had them since the Depression."

I left out the part about him chasing her around shooting at her as potential motivation for wanting to hide out. He killed himself enough over that as it was, and Jasper really liked those lamps.

Jasper from behind us, a lamp cradled in each arm as he walked back toward the basement. (I'm not lamp-obsessed, I just really enjoyed that bit)

if Bella had been sighted, we wouldn't be dealing with the King of Catatonic in the living room.

I'll dust him if I have to. (love the way these lines crack me up in the midst of drama)

Neither of us would ever live down that particular Halloween adventure.

Wherever she is, you know someone's dying

Reviewer: mothlights (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2010 08:40 PM · On: Chapter 1

Wow, what a terrific first chapter. Your vbeta (who's also my vb) rec'ed this and she was certainly right! 

I was hooked from your early description of Arkady -- He was ancient, wizened, and looked like the next gust of wind from the canals was going to take him out permanently. He had looked that way since Petersburg was Leningrad. Vivid and succinct. 

I thought she was going to sleep with Jacob. I was leaning forward in my seat when she bit him. 

You've got a nice voice going for Bella. Writing is excellent. Thanks for posting.

Reviewer: vanessarae (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2010 08:01 PM · On: Chapter 8: Freesias in the Wind

Oh I am so on Team WTFIGO. But I can't wait for you to tell us WTFIGO.

Reviewer: This Girl loves to Talk (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2010 10:50 PM · On: Chapter 6: Pickings from the Pockets

ok.. loving this.. but I am so confused half the time... so now i know bella was from 1940 it is AU like since the beginning? I was trying to figure out when the story went AU.. and now we know  rose and emmett arent part of the cullen... anyway despite my lack of understanding everything.. tis awesome story!!



Author's Response:

Hi there!

I haven't seen you review before so assuming you're a new reader. . . welcome to the mystery!

Distilling Down keeps canon relationship pairings, but in many other ways it is very AU for the vamps.  It's funny, I meant to keep a bit more in canon, but the story just took a life of its own :-)

Rose and Emmett have their own thing going, and they make more of an appearance in the chapters ahead so that should clear up some of their back story and explain why they are independent.  I did make my Rosalie the princess she should have been (if she's going to be such a beauty queen!) so there are a few liberties with her history there . . .about 300 years worth, LOL.

Anyway, thanks so much for reading, and let me know when you get to the end of CH 8 so I can get you the Ch 9 teaser!

Best,

Jen/Runsfromreality

Reviewer: vanessarae (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2010 05:12 PM · On: Chapter 7: Freaks of the Week

I just love this........really, I do. YOu have such an intricate story woven already, and the humor and depth cannot be surpassed.

Reviewer: vanessarae (Signed) · Date: January 14, 2010 03:26 PM · On: Chapter 6: Pickings from the Pockets

Jesus fucking christ. You...this...that...you...wow.  I mean, really. I have a feeling there will very soon be quite a bit of action in this fic...I am soooo deeply intrigued now. I haven't seen anything like this for some time. Looking forward very much to the next update.

Rose? Emmett? Jasper? Laurent? All together before? Bella 'hates' Edward? She was hired by the Volturi to take out the Cullens?? Greece? I am so confused, but I like it.

Reviewer: Eun Hye (Signed) · Date: January 14, 2010 11:51 AM · On: Chapter 2: Tables in the Wall

love it! the dry wit, the vague humor. you got me hooked with this mystery thing and I can sense an elaborate background story. Love it! (said that already).

Reviewer: Eun Hye (Signed) · Date: January 14, 2010 11:25 AM · On: Chapter 1

this is really, really good. love the ambiance you created, the mystery and the almost melancholic history. Can't wait to see where this leads up.

Reviewer: vanessarae (Signed) · Date: December 29, 2009 03:12 AM · On: Chapter 5: Beds in Strange Corners

I have zero guesses. No clue. But I like it that way. I prefer the author to tell me the story, and you are certainly doing that here...wow. Autumn was right when she said this was a good chapter!



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked the chapter. . . I've been nervous about introducing too many new characters, as I know a lot of fics just focus on 2 - 3.  Trying to make everyone full-bodied and loveable, even if they seem like they are coming in from left field.  Chapter 6 will have some "small world after all" moments, though, to tie a few things together.

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.