Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviewer: Chellie (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2012 10:42 PM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

I'm sad. It was all just a dream, and she ended up giving up her search. :( I wanted, and was getting really excided, for that dream to be reality.. a different version to New Moon (anything but the real thing).

Very well written though. :) You deffinitley had me going the whole time in believing what was happening!

And since it's almost Christmas right now anyway.. Merry Christmas to you, and here's a review! :)

PS: any chance on this turning into a full out story.. continuing with the whole dream thing; her starting to think about colleges suddenly now turning into Alice really coming, or her finding them anyway?!? Lol!

Reviewer: sconnolly318 (Signed) · Date: July 12, 2010 07:33 PM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

Wow.  I think I was as disapointed as Bella was when she woke up to nothing...

 

Awesome, as always!!



Author's Response:

Hey, Sarah!  Reading my very first fanfic, huh?  When I first wrote this, it wasn't a dream.  I was actually really annoyed when Bella, who had figured out the whole vampire thing, did nothing to find them in New Moon.  So I thought... what would have happened if she did try?  And this came to me.  But it was for a contest that had to be canon, so it couldn't interrupt the story line.  Hence, it turned into a dream.  Sad, really... I would not have minded getting them back together sooner, although it would have effectively ended much of the story line and the Jake stuff.

Thanks for reading!  I have another one-shot on FFn called Diamonds and Ice, which is also AU.  Edward's POV, which was fun.  My other stuff I'm still playing with.  My next story will probably be Piano Lessons, which is an AH BxE.  Unless, of course, this vengeful Bella story that's been nipping at my heels lately decides to take over.  All the angst I've been reading lately has caused a very angry and vindictive Bella who is tired of being screwed over by Edward under the guise that it's for her own good to form in my brain, looking for some revenge.  But I'll only write it if I can make it funny.  We'll see.  Put me on Author Alert and you'll see it post if it comes together!  Whee!

Reviewer: twimamma (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2010 01:42 PM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

I loved it!  This was tremendous, really.  I got a chuckle out of O Holy Night.  It was rather ironic to find it here too.

 

Too bad it was all just a dream.  Perhaps if he had come back in December, we could have skipped over Eclipse and the Jacob kiss all together.  LOL

 

This was wonderful.

Twimamma

 



Author's Response:

Hi, Katharine!  Thanks so much for checking out this little story!  This was the first thing I ever posted and it was for a contest, so I had to make it a dream so it could stay canon.  In my original outline, this just hipchecked Jacob right out of the picture.  hee hee!  My daughter was very put out, being Team Jacob.  Eclipse was my favorite book, but ugh... I'm not a Jake fan in the books at all!

I always felt like Bella would never have let Alice disappear like that.  Edward, yes, because of her serious lack of self-esteem, but not Alice.  I really thought she would have looked for them.  I love when Alice hears the nightmare and rips Edward a new one.  She's not talking to herself... she calls him and rips him apart.  That's why he comes back when he does.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!  I'm glad you liked this.  I cringe a little when I read it because it was so long ago... but it's still special to me.

Reviewer: ksweettart (Signed) · Date: June 02, 2010 05:21 PM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

Oh my god.  Such a tease.  Great story but I want a happy ending.



Author's Response:

Hi, ksweettart!  I'm so sorry I'm just replying to you now... I never received a notice that this was here, and found it when I got another review...

I hear you on the happy ending.  I originally had it that way in my head, but it was written for a contest and had to be canon, which meant Bella still needed to suffer and we needed to experience her pain and the rest of New Moon, Eclipse, and BD as written.  But in my original, pre-dream state, these events led to Edward's return.  It bothered me that the same person who figured out they were vampires and would never let something rest until she solved the mystery never did anything to find them.  Bugged me immensely.  So I thought of this story.

Truthfully, I loved that Alice heard one nightmare of hers and got right on the phone to Edward.  She wasn't talking to herself, she was chewing him out but good!  Ah well... we still get a happy ever after eventually in SMeyer's stories, right?

Thanks for reading and reviewing.  If you like alternative vamp/human stories, I have one on FFn called Diamonds and Ice that you might like.  I can't post it here until I finish posting my multi-chap.

Reviewer: biddyswife (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2010 05:56 PM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

Wow I love this. I really thought it was happening. Then BAM, she wakes up. But at least she realises that Charlie is her reason for living. Great stuff,=.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Clare!  This story was the first thing I ever posted... I wrote it for a contest that had to be canon, so I couldn't let it be real.  Trust me, if I could have, I would have... I'd have totally undermined the whole reason for Jake being in her life, and done it without hesitation!  I'm evil, right?

I'm really glad you checked out this little one-shot, though.  Those months of nothing really bothered me in the story, so I thought I'd fill in the gaps.  I also really was annoyed that the girl with the tenacity to figure out that these folks were vampires didn't do anything to try to find them.  I can understand not looking for Edward (because she knows that kneeing him in the nuts when she does will hurt her more than it will hurt him!), but Alice?  I just didn't get that.  And that's where fan fiction becomes so much fun... If you don't like it, just rewrite it!

Reviewer: bsmog (Anonymous) · Date: May 13, 2010 05:54 PM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

Well RATS! Here I was, thinking everything would be fine, and *smack* she wakes up. ;)

Okay. Loved. Favorite line - "your saving skills suck!" She should have said something like that to him in canon at some point. Also I particularly liked him agreeing he's an idiot. The constant "I'm right" "No, I'm right" drives me nuts. I like that even though it ended in a dream (I'm pouting) you had him act appropriately contrite about his lunacy and she doesn't just say, oh, okay. At least she tells him he sucks first. Heheh.

Argh, I'm still hung up on it only being a dream...it felt so real! The Alice interaction made it seem real I suppose; something real that wasn't E/B.

Lovely o/s. I'd read this Bella any day. Thank you for sending me this way! <333



Author's Response: Hey, there! Full disclosure? This originally ended as real, but it was my first story ever and it was for a contest. I didn't really understand "canon" and my beta said "awesome story but it can't end that way.". Thus was born the Bobby in Dallas ending. I still sigh when I read it. So glad you liked Alice. I worked hard to find her voice. Honestly, catatonic Bella always pissed me off. This one has too much spine but it's the closest I could get and still live with myself. Taking Control is good fun and snarky laughs. Loss of Control is a realistic love story. Ask MJ to describe it. It's my heart and soul. What it isn't is a typical RPF. Thanks so much for checking me out, Britt!

Reviewer: twilight gypsy (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2010 05:15 PM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

OOHHH Edward was supposed to come back for her!  The wonderful world of Twilight is all about redemption and love making all things right!

But nicely done. Do you currently have a story in progress?

Check mine out and leave me some love, if you would!

Maria



Author's Response:

Hey, Maria!  Thanks for reading and reviewing this little story.  When I originally conceived this, it wasn't a dream.  But I submitted it for a contest that had to be completely canon, and you have to admit it would have knocked New Moon off its rails if Edward had come back before Christmas and there had been no Jake.  Being all Team Edward, all the time, I was okay with that, but it did sort of mess up the rest of the series, so I had to do the "Bobby in Dallas" thing and make it a dream.

Truthfully, it always bothered me that Bella didn't look harder for them after he left.  I could see her compartmentalizing things and not looking for "him" per se, but to completely accept that Alice left without a word seemed wrong to me.  The whole Google thing popped in my head, and there you have it.  I loved the idea that Alice would see how badly Bella was affected and berate Edward about it (that's what's happening when she walks away after the nightmare - she called Edward and told him to get his butt HOME).

I faved your story and will check it out as soon as I can.  I am, in fact, in the middle of another story, and I chuckled when I saw your description because my fic is called Loss of Control.  It's an RPF (but not a typical one) about someone who tries to control everything crossing paths with someone who has almost no control over his life.  It's here on Twilighted.  I also have a story on FanFiction called Diamonds and Ice that was recently submitted for the Gangsterward contest (AU-vamp, with Edward as a hitman in 1920's Chicago).  That's a one-shot like this one.

Thanks again for reading.  I hope you check out Loss of Control - it's my baby and I love it.  I've got another multi-chap in the works but I'm not doing anything else until LOC is finished.  I'll leave you some love when I get to your story - hopefully next weekend.

Reviewer: Loreli DeLovely (Signed) · Date: December 14, 2009 09:52 AM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

OMG YOU!! Total effing HEARTFAIL!

 

I loved it though, I knew I would. Becasue it's you. And you rock.

 

<3 <3



Author's Response:

Bella may never forgive me... if only she had remembered that dream!  Think about how different things would have been!  For starters, there would have been a HELL of a lot more Edward in New Moon (Jacob?  Who the hell is Jacob?).  Okay, so the rest of the story line would have been totally different, but...

It was fun to write, and I owe giselle-lx for Ithaca is Gorges.  That's what prompted me to think about what would have happened if the Cullens had not escaped as stealthily as they'd planned when they went to Ithaca.  Knowing how obsessive she was about finding answers, it always bothered me that she didn't dig harder... look more...

Thanks for reading and reviewing, Lore!  You're the best!

Reviewer: Alizabeth Roc (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2009 08:16 PM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

I found this on review4review so please go and review mine if you have time. A Place Under Heaven

http://www.twilighted.net/viewstory.php?sid=9164

I have always thought about fill ins for those months and wondered about Bella's dreams. I thought the flow and writing on this piece was really great and I loved the humorous touches (for example: the amount of Christmas decorations, and Alice's comment about death being "very becoming"). Thank you for posting this story.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and reviewing... The need for this story to be canon broke my heart, so I feel like I owe Bella for snatching this possible future away from her.  But where would we be if there had been no friendship with Jacob, no visit to the Volturi... so canon it remained.  I was always bothered that she never tried to find Alice, regardless of what she though Edward's "truth" was.  One of the things I love about this fan fiction world is that we can explore the what if's and see what happens!

Reviewer: bevwink (Signed) · Date: November 30, 2009 09:41 AM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

This was phenomenal --- Oh...why did Bella wake up!!!!  You captured the characters to the absolute T!  WOW is all I can say --- keep writing my friend!  BRAVO!!!  You've gotta keep this going!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, bb!  I couldn't live without my cheering section!  We just have to keep reminding ourselves... if she'd remembered the dream, there would be no shirtless Edward in the piazza.  Sad, but true!  Please keep up your kind words and support.  Love ya!

Reviewer: jdgmntl1 (Signed) · Date: November 20, 2009 08:11 PM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

Excellent!  Can't believe this is your first posted piece.  I eagerly await your future submissions and have already added you to my favorite authors.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much!  And thanks for reviewing, dearie!  You are too kind.  I guess showing you how to do the "Favorite Authors" thing was a good idea!  But at least then you'll get an email to let you know when Loss of Control gets validated.  Thank you for listening to me rant incessantly about all of this without ever punching me in the throat.

Reviewer: mariann17 (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2009 06:54 AM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

All I can say, is wow.  First of all, you should put pen to paper more or hand to keyboard.  You have written a compelling piece and personally, I appreciate knowing what happened in Dec.  That always got to me.  I always wondered what happened in the zombie state.

Personally, I have something on ff.net and don't think I'm quite ready for here yet.  I wish I could make my thoughts as eloquent as you seem to.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reviewing, and thanks for your feedback!  **blushing, blushing**  Trust me, getting the nerve to post was really hard.  I can't recommend having a good beta (or several) highly enough.  I assure you that my work is better because of them!  I'm glad you enjoyed my little tale, and I've got a couple of other things in process.  I'd love you to give them a read as well - just as soon as they are (**fingers crossed**) validated.  I've been putting fingers to keyboard for years, but have just recently felt confident enought to click submit.  I'm sure that day will come for you, too.  Good luck and I hope to see your words here soon!

Reviewer: saffronangel (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2009 09:40 AM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

I love it. it's perfect. Thank you.

 



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the feedback, saffronangel!  I really appreciate you taking the time to review.  I loved writing it, particularly Alice.  I'd always wondered how Bella survived the "mystery months."  Pints of coffee Haagen-Dazs?  Obsessive cleaning?  Writing a 365 Ways to Prepare Fish cookbook?  Maybe her subconscious was very busy during that time, trying to give her more options than catatonia.

Thanks very much for reading!  I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: parrannnah (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2009 05:51 PM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

Woot!! I'm so excited you posted this! It's really excellent! I love how you looked at those months of Bella apparently doing nothing. She had to be functioning right? Right! Gah. Awesome. Can't wait for the rpf to go through : ) Loves!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing, dearie!  You're so good to me!  She had to be up to something, right?  Perhaps she was up to other things... I may have to ponder that one.  As long as I get to write more Alice.  I have discovered that I really love writing Alice!  The RPF is in the queue.  I'll keep you posted!

Reviewer: ddcdragonfly (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2009 08:16 AM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

wow, Wow, WOW ... that was AWESOME! I was completely pulled in. Bella was, well, Bella and Alice was bouncing off the page. When Edward showed up, I was feeling him too.

So very sad it was all a dream ... poor poor Bella.

I can't wait to see more stories from you. I absolutely LOVE your writing style!



Author's Response:

*blushing* *redder-than-Bella blushing*

Thanks so much, ddcdragonfly!  Poor Bella, indeed!  I'm so glad you enjoyed this little story.  I think summoning the nerve to post it was harder than the actual writing, but now that it's out there, I've got a few other irons in the fire and one is already in the validation queue.  I hope you enjoy them!  I've got an RPF with RP and an AU-AH B/E happily-ever-after in progress.  Bella said I owed her after what I did to her in this one, so I had to comply!

Thanks again for reading, and even more than that, for reviewing!

Reviewer: LightStarDusting (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2009 07:33 AM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

So happy to see this posted!!!  :)  You know that I'm all for you have a very Merry Christmas.  ;)  And as one who thrives on routine, you know that part of the piece resonated with me.

Awesome job!



Author's Response:

LSD, you're too good to me!  Thanks for all your email therapy sessions and your support in helping me through my first submission.  I hope all authors have a "Merry Christmas," because the gift of reviews is unbelievable.  Thanks again for all your suggestions and your support!

Reviewer: Jazza (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2009 01:48 AM · On: The Path Not Taken - One-Shot

Please write more it's amazing!!!!

Seriously i want to know what happens next!!!



Author's Response:

Thanks very much!  I was always curious as to what Catatonic Bella was really doing, and this story sort of took me over one afternoon.  I wasn't a big Jacob fan (sorry!) and at one point in my head, this wasn't a dream.  But, alas, canon won out, and I channeled a little Dallas karma... and there you have it.  I'm not sure if more of this story will come to me, but I've been working on two others (an RPF and an AU-AH B/E).  If you have any suggestions to trigger where these kiddies might go, let me know!  Bella's subconscious could have more things up its sleeve!

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!  It's the most amazing feeling to get reviews!

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.