Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Scent of a Woman
Reviewer: k1942 (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2010 08:48 AM · On: Chapter 9 - Romance

Must have come as a bit of a shock, when Elizabeth told Edward of his proposal. What a blessing to be able to see her memories and to regain what he has forgotten. This story is so romantic, it breaks my heart to know how horribly Elizabeth's life ends and what it does to Edward. Only the thought of what is to come, that Bella will be born for him, keeps me reading, in hopes of more love and happiness for Edward.



Author's Response:

Definitely a shock, particularly when he has no memory of her.  This is the chapter when I became glad that Edward could read her mind just for the experience of seeing his human life through Lizzie's eyes.  I think it is even more romantic because you know of the tragedy soon to befall them and also know that their story is not yet over.

Suz xoxo

Reviewer: k1942 (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2010 12:34 AM · On: Chapter 8 - Real

They should have known Bella would notice her clothes were missing. Her dreams are like videos, showing her how it was between her and Edward eighty years ago. She just doesn't quite realize that she had a different name then. Wow, the scent of Bella's blood is surely powerful, if one drop on a piece of linen holds the power to drive Edward crazy.



Author's Response:

lol Carlisle didn't mean to take so many clothes...he got embarrassed and just grabbed.  True they should have realised that Bella would miss her clothes but they don't live in the real world, they have amassed a fortune and have so many clothes they just didn't think about it (lol that's my story and I'm sticking to it).  This scene may seem frivolous but it becomes important a little later on...trust me.

Suz xoxoxo

Reviewer: k1942 (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2010 12:13 AM · On: Chapter 7 - Reverie

What a lovely story, and how wonderful that Elizabeth and Edward have found each other again.



Author's Response:

I was so excited to write that Edward knew Elizabeth when he was alive....it was hinted at previously as Bella had always dreamed of him with green eyes and this fact strengthens that they are soul mates.  To all intents and purposes, Edward died yet here is 9 years later and fate has drawn them together again.  Many of the worries that Edward has in the original books are rearing their head now because like the books this is the first time he, as a vampire, encounters the love of a human and is worried that she will think him a monster and worried that he will hurt her. 

Suz xoxo 

Reviewer: k1942 (Signed) · Date: December 15, 2010 11:55 PM · On: Chapter 6 - Remembering

It must be karma, if Bella dreams of a green-eyed Edward, in period clothes, and he loved a woman who looked exactly like Bella.  This just gets more and more interesting.



Author's Response:

Bella's dreams are going to get more revealing as time goes on.  Through her dreams we really are seeing her view of Edward in her previous lives....she just doesn't realise it yet.  Her dreams are becoming more detailed now that she has met Edward too.  This chapter was fun to write with Edward meeting Lizzie in the forest and being drawn to her immediately but not knowing why.  It was also excrutiatingly difficult since I said in the first chapter that Bella was the first person whose mind he couldn't read.  I had some other twists planned and written but my beta reminded me that Edward would already know some things because he could read her mind....oops!  I liked writing Elizabeth at 25 too.

Suz xoxo

Reviewer: k1942 (Signed) · Date: December 15, 2010 11:40 PM · On: Chapter 5 - Relax

I see Edward is in many ways, a typical seventeen-year-old boy, though he's been that age for eighty-seven years. Looks as if Carlisle has come up with a good plan.



Author's Response:

This chapter really flowed out of nowhere, a continuation of the family dynamics between the Cullens and the lighter moments that the family shares...life can't be drama, drama,drama all the time.  I couldn't help the scene with the panties and the boys. It wasn't planned, just when I thought of what clothes could have been grabbed by Carlisle it seems like a good bonding thing...and the lemon!  Edward has had so many burdens throughout his life that he seems and feels so much older but by letting go with his family and being with Bella at a younger age seems to have let the 17yo out to play for a bit....and its not like he is a virgin in my story...as you will eventually read about!

Suz xoxo

Reviewer: k1942 (Signed) · Date: December 15, 2010 11:14 PM · On: Chapter 4 - Request

Carlisle and his scientific curiosity may be just  the ticket to desensitizing Edward to Bella's blood. He wants her so much and fears even more killing her accidentally. Bless him, he wants so much to do the right thing always.



Author's Response:

This chapter came from another of my bugbears about the books.  Carlisle is a doctor and he has been around for a long time...yet Edward's only thought about Bella's blood was to suffer through it.  I just thought there was something they could do to be active about it and thought this was a good chance to show Edward that with the support of his famiy he could maybe get his girl.  Plus I really wanted to write more from the Cullen's perspective, they are far more interesting to me than the human side of the story as much.  Carlisle gets his chance to help Edward.  Emmett gets closer to his 'little' brother and Edward comes out of his self imposed shell with their love and support. 

Suz

Reviewer: k1942 (Signed) · Date: December 15, 2010 11:02 PM · On: Chapter 3 - Remorse

Poor Edward, the guilt of killing Marie was perhaps a good thing, as it sent him back to his familyIt was so awful to lose his first love the way he did, not that there's a good way. Aside from not telling the whole story, I think Edward did the right thing.



Author's Response:

I loved writing the scenes with Elizabeth in her room...a little parrallel to Edward sneaking into Bella's room in the present.  Especially Lizzy being the teasing one and Edward being so respectable.  Me too...Edward is cautious and I think he would prefer to suffer alone than have everyone in his business....

I loved writing the reunion scene between Carlisle, Esme & Edward too.

Suz

Reviewer: k1942 (Signed) · Date: December 15, 2010 10:54 PM · On: Chapter 2 - Retribution

Now we know why Bella is drivimg Edward mad with bloodlust and desire. What a horrifying thing to have experienced both for Edward and Marie. To have witnessed the brutal rape and murder of her sister and then to have killed in vengence was a huge burden for Marie, no wonder she turned to a life of degradation. I imagine this was the most awful thought Edward ever had to see in someone's mind. Now he's convinced Elizabeth has been reincarnated in Bella, and she may have . Seems likely as she a near perfect copy of his Lizzy.



Author's Response:

Chapters 2 & 3 were the driving force for starting to write this story.  I always thought that it seems wrong in the original books that it was inferred that Edward just got bored after 9 years and decided to leave his family and drink human blood and then just stop after a few years and return to Carlisle and Esme.  In my opinion Edwards personality would never have done anything like that without some major provocation like the death of his true love and something equally as drastic bringing him back to his family and his restrained life.  I felt so sad writing Marie but taking action takes a toll even though the act was done to avenge her sister. 

Suz xoxoxo

Reviewer: k1942 (Signed) · Date: December 15, 2010 10:30 PM · On: Chapter 1 - Recognition

Twilight with an added twist, I see. Edward has been keeping a secret from his family. Wonder if he ever tells them? We'll see. I guess.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and all the lovely reviews.  As you know by now, Edward has opened up to his family a little but still has kept much hidden including his history with Bella.  The incident with the van may just be what Edward needs to push him that little bit farther to confide in his family......

Suz xoxo

Reviewer: dh_director (Signed) · Date: December 14, 2010 08:40 PM · On: Chapter 13 Resolve

Can't wait for an update!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and the review.  Working on Chapter 14 now so hopefully it won't be too much longer.

Suz

Reviewer: arian134 (Signed) · Date: December 14, 2010 04:21 PM · On: Chapter 13 Resolve

that update took forever!!!!!!!!!!!! PLEASEEE update soon!!!! sooner** lol 



Author's Response:

*ducks head in case readers throw something at me*

I know I know...so much happening the last few months.  Don't worry I have already started writing Chapter 14 and the only other committment I have is to write a one-shot to be included in the Fans against Domestic Violence compilation.

So happy you are enjoying the story.  Stay tuned.

Suz.

Reviewer: twilightbi (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2010 03:46 AM · On: Chapter 12 - Restraint

Good Story.  I hope this isn't the ending.  I was hoping that you would tie Liz into Bella some how, like she was Charlie's Great-Aunt and that the family had changed their name from Swanson to Swan after Liz's death.  Maybe Maria had a little boy after Liz's death.   It would be great if Bella showed an old book to Edward that belonged to Great-Aunt Liz and he found the sheet music he had written on...hmmm

Possibilities

Thanks for the story,

twilightbi



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the review.  No the story is definately not ending...it has quite a bit to go yet.  Liz is definately linked to Bella - Bella is Elizabeth's soul reincarnated after all   ..... But great minds think alike...I originally did look into that angle - being a relative and all but it didn't really fit well with the story as I wanted to tell it...but there are other links.....hmmm wonder what is in Edward's memory box?????

Working on Chapter 13 now so hopefully it will be up soon.

Suzanne

Reviewer: twilightbi (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2010 07:27 PM · On: Chapter 5 - Relax

All I can say is HOT!



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  This was the first lemony thing I had ever written (beside sexting my bf o/seas) and I was a little bit nervous...glad you like it!

Suzanne

Reviewer: Camilla (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2010 10:13 AM · On: Chapter 12 - Restraint

OK, I started reading and I got here, so now I can review. It is such a good story, lively, and interesting also from the historical point of view. (My own stories are full of historical details). I am not so keen at encountering other Bellas , I think the one from the past and the present one are enough, but maybe I misunderstood the summary.

In the modern part of the story I do hope you will not be throwing a New Moon to us. After all, he already loved a human when he was  a vamp, and was prepared to turn her, so that particular angst should not be here.

BTW, I am Italian and I am sure that Elizabeth in Italian is Elisabetta. I am not aware that Isabella is another version of it, but I may be wrong.

And finally, you have Rosalie blushing in one of the earlier chapters. Are you sure of it? Edwards tells us all the time that vampires cannot blush. Actually the lovely Jmolly in her stories has them blushing, but it is a sort of silvery hue ...



Author's Response:

Hi Camilla, thanks so much for reading and the detailed review.

There will be other reincarnations of Elizabeth referred to in the story...as to how much and when will remain to be seen as the story progresses.   Each time is important in its own way and also in how what happened previously will impact on Edward and Bella's current relationship.

New Moon is my least favorite book and as you say Edward had few issues with turning Elizabeth but in saying that not everything is going to go according to plan.....where would be the story in that.... :-)

I do a lot of research for this story and did check that Elizabeth has many variants which are derived from it including Elizabetta, however according to Wikipedia, Isabella is the most common and has Italian roots.  Other variants include Lilly, Elise, Bethan, Lisa  etc etc  THe note was added because a few people thought I was referring to his mother who was called Elizabeth as well.

As to Rosalie blushing..good pickup thank you...oops (me and 2 betas and a heap of readers all missed that little blooper) Fixing it now. 

I'm working on Chapter 13 now so hopefully it will be up soon

Suzanne

Reviewer: peygan (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2010 12:02 AM · On: Chapter 12 - Restraint

Sigh I love this story..



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your review. I love writing this story so much, although I am sure my beta pulls my hair out when I go back into the past or write a dream scene with all the tense changes.

I am just putting the finishing touches on a contest entry tonight and then back to Chapter 13 of Scent of a Woman.  It is a pivotal chapter to the story and will be completely in Forks in 2005 with Edward and Bella and more of Emmett because he feels it is big brotherly duty to help Edward out....or try to anyway.

Suzanne

Reviewer: leslo (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2010 12:00 PM · On: Chapter 10 - Rejoice

adorable!

next chapter...



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for all of the reviews. I am working on Chapter 13 now.  It will be in Forks 2005 with Edward and Bella and big things are happening.

Reviewer: leslo (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2010 11:47 AM · On: Chapter 9 - Romance

Their love is so wonderful. Edward and Liz(bella)

thank you so much for posting.

<3

next chapter...



Author's Response:

I'm glad you are liking Edward and Liz's story. It is so important to the rest of the fic as Elizabeth is the woman Edward feels so strongly for that their loves continues on through time.  A lot of this fic will dwell in the past lives.

Reviewer: leslo (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2010 11:31 AM · On: Chapter 8 - Real

hahah bella. i would freak out if i had suspicions that mike newton broke into my house and stole my clothes xD

love it, next chapter...



Author's Response:

Agreed.  Wonder if she will find out it was Carlisle collecting things for Edward.  I wonder if she will be less freaked out if she does....Hmmm interesting!

Reviewer: leslo (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2010 11:20 AM · On: Chapter 7 - Reverie

absolutely lovely. love like that is just beautiful.

next chapter...



Author's Response:

It was a little bit heartbreaking writing Edward see his human self through Elizabeth's eyes and realise how very different he actually was from his natural state and how much he could not give to Elizabeth if he alerted her to his presence.  Thank goodness she has turned into a strong woman.

Reviewer: leslo (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2010 11:06 AM · On: Chapter 6 - Remembering

Elizabeth and Edward <3 so darn cute. and haha she faints :]



Author's Response:

This chapter took a lot of work.  My poor beta. You have no idea how hard it is to write a story when someone reads minds.   Loved writing how Edward felt all these physical reactions to seeing a grown up Elizabeth (she was a cougar lol)!

Suz

Reviewer: leslo (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2010 10:57 AM · On: Chapter 5 - Relax

naughty naughty mr.cullen :]



Author's Response:

Giggle.. I couldn't resist.  What's a teenage boy to do.....it had been a while! 

Reviewer: leslo (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2010 10:44 AM · On: Chapter 4 - Request

Yay, a plan! :D you can do it Edward!

 



Author's Response:

I so loved writing the Cullen family in more detail.  They are so fascinating and I love how supportive they are of Edward even when Edward has kept his distance over the years.  I thought that it would make more sense to have a plan where Bella was concerned rather than just suffer and hope that things didn't go wrong.

Suz

Reviewer: leslo (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2010 10:35 AM · On: Chapter 3 - Remorse

Poor Edward. It's very nice to see his connection with Carlisle and Esme though.

:]

off to the next chapter...



Author's Response:

I love writing Carlisle, most underused character in the Twilight books I think.  He will be making some memorable appearances further in to the story.

Suz

Reviewer: leslo (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2010 10:21 AM · On: Chapter 2 - Retribution

Hot, beautiful and heart achingly sad. :'( i love this Edward.
off to the next chapter....

Author's Response:

Chapters 2&3 were so sad to write, but saying that, they were also some of my favourites so far.  The two chapters are so pivotal to how the story eventually pans out that I did spend a lot of time on them to get them right.  I just wanted to give Edward a big hug.

Reviewer: leslo (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2010 10:07 AM · On: Chapter 1 - Recognition

I love it so far! This concept is very interesting to me :]

Can't wait to see what happens next, off too the next chapter...



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the review.  Thankfully Ms Meyer left a lot of history v v vague so I could write what I thought happened in the early years of Edwards new vampire life.  I've been fascinated with the idea of reincarnation for a long time and this story seemed ideally suited to explore the idea in fic.  Hope you like it.

 

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.