Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Scent of a Woman
Reviewer: BellaCarolina (Anonymous) · Date: February 07, 2010 07:46 PM · On: Chapter 8 - Real

I'm worried that Edward is going to be so in love with Liz that Bella
(Yes, I know they are the same person) is going to feel insecure and cue the angst! Angst boy to the... well, rescue is not really appropriate.

I think you should do an Esme/Carlisle fic, based off Edward's questions on whether he followed Esme around or if he thought of her. I have my own thoughts, but I'd love to read yours!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your indepth reviews and good ideas.  Hmmmm maybe I will do a Carlisle/Esme fic or maybe all will be revealed in a chat between Edward and Carlisle (which I totally didn't think of but good idea to give Carlisle a meatier role in the story). Thank you

Edward and Liz just have to be completely, irrevocably, forever in love so that their souls crave each other throughout eternity.... if their love was a little half-assed at the start I don't think they would have the connection they do...

mmmm there will be a lot more angst in Forks though - Edward has lost a couple of "Lizabella's" so he is going to react a little differently than the SM version...and poor Bella is surely going to have some sort of "hangup" from dying tragically all their time....

Chapter 9 is with my beta so hopefully it will be up soon.

Suzanne

Reviewer: BellaCarolina (Anonymous) · Date: February 07, 2010 07:32 PM · On: Chapter 7 - Reverie

I love the poem you used!

"Fertile imagionation" They really do have one transcending soul, don't they?

I just discovered something about your story, whether you meant for it to read this way or not, this isn't about reincarnation in every soul, otherwise some souls like Edwards could not be eternal. Instead this is about second chances (and fifth and seventeenth and twenty-third, how many times has death tried to claim her exactly?) it's about soul mates and how they ascend death and seperation. Edward will be on earth for forever, so must Lizabella (my nick for her, them, who?) be! It's also about hope, if Liz really thought Edward was always gone from her she would not have survived just as Edward would have Italy'd his butt decades ago had he not the hope and faith that she would return to him. This reminds me of that movie Jane Seymour did very early in her career, though the title escapes me. I just fell in love a little more with this story!

"Some parts were slow and even a little sombre but then underneath it all, trying to get through, were hints of hopefulness." I love how this reflects his struggle in trying to bring them together.

"I would never be a father. " You are going to include Renesmee! If Edward had just changed Liz (do you think a girl in that time period wolld have insisted on sex with her vampy lover?) he never would be a father. Great tie in!



Author's Response:

Hey Bella, thanks for hanging in with the story.  I too am so in love with this poem.  It was the driving force behind the story in fact.  It spoke to me about soul mates and eternal love.  It was originally the first poem and the story did start in a different time but as I got to Chapter 4 I found it a little hard to work with so I replaced the first chapter with them meeting in Forks again.  The original chapter is still waiting to go in but it will be much later now.

Hah you quoted my thoughts about Claire de Lune.  I actually wrote that in my journal a few years ago when I first heard it played on acoustic guitar by this Australian duo. So it worked out really well with it being referenced in the SM books. It has been one of my fave pieces of music for years.  I have about 6 different arrangements on my Ipod.

Wait till you see the cliffie in Chap 9...

Suzanne

Reviewer: BellaCarolina (Anonymous) · Date: February 07, 2010 06:38 PM · On: Chapter 6 - Remembering

I had a sneaking suspicsion this was what was going to happen, Liz was in love with Edward before he was changed of course! It came together for me when he found his grave.

Gershwin/Ella are amazing, beyond amazing. I can't wait until the meadow scene revisited I think I'll jump out of my skin!



Author's Response:

Hey BellaCarolina thanks for the great review. 

I just had to make Liz be in love with the human Edward.  It was a lot of fun thinking of what he was like as a human boy.  I sort of channelled Rob a little, he is always laughing and is so darn cute when he is being a spaz.

Suzanne

Reviewer: Karsha (Signed) · Date: February 05, 2010 12:18 PM · On: Chapter 8 - Real

Loving this, wanting more soon please.



Author's Response:

Hey Karsha, thanks so much for reading and reviewing.  Chapter 9 is finished and with my beta now for checking. A teaser: Edward gets his first memento for his box from Elizabeth and the cliffie at the end is about a question he asked her the last time he saw her before he "died". dun dun dun...

Suzanne

Reviewer: BellaCarolina (Anonymous) · Date: February 03, 2010 08:48 PM · On: Chapter 2 - Retribution

So you are intermixing God with reincarnation. Hmmm, odd as the two don't really mix ;) Serves the story and I like the "I will find you over the expanse of time" theme, it's one of my favourites.



Author's Response:

I like the idea of soul mates too. Maybe one day I will find mine ;-)

Well Edward is not thinking too clearly at the moment. He has been hoping and waiting for his mate to come back to him and he is completely overwhelmed that he almost killed her.  He is pretty well thinking that everyone is out to get him....

Hope you like the rest of the Chapters so far.  Chapter 9 is finished and with my beta for checking.

Suzanne

Reviewer: BellaCarolina (Anonymous) · Date: February 03, 2010 08:36 PM · On: Chapter 1 - Recognition

I am excited to begin reading this, I think this is a good twist on an old classic, Edward esspc. I think I'm gonna enjoy this! :)



Author's Response:

Hey thanks for reading and reviewing.  Sorry to take so long to reply, I had some internet wif-fi problems at home. Very happy that you are liking my story.

Suzanne

Reviewer: Angel Wings 113 (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2010 05:03 PM · On: Chapter 8 - Real

I really want to know what the momento is inside the box! Update soon!!!!!

Author's Response:

Hey Angel Wings, bwahaha.  We will find out all about the memento's in good time......  The first memento will feature in Chapter 9 and a whole heap will happen in Chapter 10.

My beta, beans827,  has just literally tonight finished checking a HUGE (over 19,000 words huge) one-shot for a contest I am entering but she will be starting to beta Chapter 9 next, so hopefully soon....

Suzanne

Reviewer: Phoenix Rising (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2010 10:14 AM · On: Chapter 8 - Real

Poor Bella, thinking she's going crazy, then nearly getting caught by Charlie, then getting her panties stolen by a pervy Dr. Cullen.  Another great chapter!

xoxo Sarah



Author's Response:

Hey Sarah, thanks for hanging on for the ride.  Yes, I am being a little mean to poor Bella aren't I?  I will make it up to her soon though.  It is almost time for Edwards first visit to her room..... 

Oh by the way I just had to tell you, after reading your story An Unselfish Gift and realising that there are contests, I have gone a little one-shot crazy.  I have entered two contests over on FF and finished 2 more which are now being beta'd before I submit and about 1 day away from finishing another.  It is a little bit addictive and fun, so thank you for opening my eyes to the madness...I think lol.

So my pile of updated and new fics to read has sadly taken a backseat.  Did get a chance to read your fic Twins this morning tho on my iphone on the way to work on the bus...mmm very nice...

Suzanne

Reviewer: MissMartha (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2010 07:28 AM · On: Chapter 8 - Real

Wonderful!! Keep up the good work.



Author's Response:

Hey MissMartha, thanks so much for reading and reviewing.  I really liked this Chapter, a little break from the angst and emotions from their pasts.  Chapter 9 is done and being beta'd at the moment so hopefully soon, it will be ready to post for validation.

 

Suzanne

Reviewer: EmberRayne (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2010 02:16 PM · On: Chapter 4 - Request

I found an oxymoron! "sad smiley face" Hahahaha!



Author's Response:

Hey thanks for reading and reviewing.  I spent ages trying to describe Edwards SuperSad Outfit.  My beta, beans827 has an avatar on the threads has a picture of Rob pouting and it describes Emmetts vision in Chapter 5 so well.

To see it go to: http://www.twilighted.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=7466

Suzanne

Reviewer: peygan (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2010 12:31 PM · On: Chapter 7 - Reverie

Ive been so swamped I havent been able to support your writing as is deserved. Excellent work and thank you for sharing with us..



Author's Response:

Hey peygan, thanks for reading and reviewing.  I know the feeling. RL can get in the way of my fanfic obsession too.  Plus, since I have started writing my list of updates and recommended fics has grown so much.  Thank you for the lovely compliments.

When I was having trouble with a plot hole in this story and had a little writers block, I wrote a couple of one-shots for some fanfiction.net contests if you are interested.  Two more should go up in the next week as well:

http://www.fanfiction.net/u/2143126/edwardsisobel

Be warned that the one for the Officer and a Gentleman Contest, Surprise! is a little smutty with a threesome (including Slash) just as a warning if you are not into those kind of stories.  

Suzanne

 

Reviewer: MissMartha (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2010 12:14 PM · On: Chapter 7 - Reverie

I am so loving this. Please get us the next installment soon.



Author's Response:

Hey Miss Martha, thanks for reading and reviewing.

Chapter 8 is with my beta right now however she has been a little overworked lately as I have submitted 2 contest entries over on Fan Fiction since I sent her Chapter 7 and talked her into collaborating with me on another one-shot which we have almost finished writing. 

If you are interested in my other stories, my profile on ff is http://www.fanfiction.net/u/2143126/edwardsisobelst and all 3 are linked there.

Please note that my entry for the Officer and a Gentleman contest, Surprise! is a threesome and includes some slash - so that you don't get surprised yourself part way through the story and are not in to reading that kind of thing. 

Suzanne

Reviewer: krisandrob (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2010 10:35 AM · On: Chapter 7 - Reverie

I love the the background with Edward it is very interesting!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing.  It was very kind of SM to leave so much untold about the Cullens past lives so that my rich imagination has free reign... It is a lot of fun imagining Edward in the 20's with an older woman no less....he is so cute!

Suzanne

Reviewer: Angel Wings 113 (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2010 10:26 AM · On: Chapter 7 - Reverie

sweet sweet reunions...

Author's Response:

Hey Angel Wings, thanks for reading and reviewing.

Yes it was so sweet, I loved writing this chapter. 

Suzanne

Reviewer: Phoenix Rising (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2010 10:09 AM · On: Chapter 7 - Reverie

I love these flashback chapters with Edward and Liz.  I hope that we do get to see some more of "present" Bella though, as the poor girl thinks she hallucinated Edward.  

xoxo Sarah



Author's Response:

Hey Sarah, thanks for reading and reviewing.

You are in luck.  Chapter 8 is back to the present Bella & Edward - It is Bella's take on Carlisle's litte visit and the after effects. Plus more at the Cullen house over the weekend when the family get back to the house.

There will be a fair bit of the past in the first half of this story, as what goes on in Bella's previous lives has a big impact on how she acts now and of course Edward has experienced a lot with her which will change the way he will interact with her as well.  Don't worry they will meet up pretty soon and it should be interesting....

Suzanne

Reviewer: Serious_Vampire (Signed) · Date: December 23, 2009 01:23 AM · On: Chapter 6 - Remembering

Very moving, PLEEEAASE upadate soon!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing.

Chapter 7 is with my beta, the lovely beans827 now, but given Christmas is tomorrow (it is the 24th here in Australia already) this one may take a little longer to get validated and uploaded. I have no control on timing once I submit the Chapter unfortunately.

The good news is that 3 hours from now I will be on holidays for 10 days and for about 4 of those my kids will be staying with their Dad, so I can write for as long as I want!! YAY  

Have a lovely Christmas.

Suzanne

Reviewer: iggy2746 (Signed) · Date: December 22, 2009 05:07 PM · On: Chapter 6 - Remembering

Excellent chapter. You never let me down.



Author's Response:

Why thank you Iggy....hope Chapter 7 lives up to expectations., it is currently being beta'd.   I really like it but maybe I'm biased.  Edward and Elizabeth finally get to meet face to face but not without a little hitch....

Suzanne

Reviewer: roroduff (Signed) · Date: December 22, 2009 05:24 AM · On: Chapter 6 - Remembering

Oh God, please don't make us wait too long for the next installment. I really love this story!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing.

Chapter 7 is currently being beta'd so hopefully I will be able to update soon.  The next chapter is where Edward and Elizabeth meet face to face and it is so sweet, but not without a little hiccup first.....

Suzanne

Reviewer: bellaval (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2009 08:41 PM · On: Chapter 6 - Remembering

very interesting and intriguing story.  It's really nice to think of them as soul mates throughout time.  I like it a lot.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing.

It is a nice idea about having a soul mate that you keep finding over and over through time and that death doesn't end your connection.  My teenage son and I watched Titanic again the other night when it was on TV and I always cry at the end where she meets up with him on the stairs in the ship when she dies ... so romantic.

Chapter 7 is being beta'd now so hopefully there will be an update soon.

Suzanne

Reviewer: Phoenix Rising (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2009 07:27 PM · On: Chapter 6 - Remembering

I loved the story of how Edward met Elizabeth.  Such a sweet story.  I can't wait to hear more of this little story!

xoxo Sarah



Author's Response:

Hey Sarah, thanks for reading and reviewing.

Bella's dream in this chapter leads us into Chapter 7 where Edward and Elizabeth finally come face to face but not before Edward has a fit of jealousy about someone in Elizabeths thoughts and almost leaves Chicago.

Chapter 7 is being beta'd right now so hopefully it doesn't suck too bad and I can submit soon.

Suzanne

Reviewer: Angel Wings 113 (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2009 03:38 PM · On: Chapter 6 - Remembering

Great job! Please keep it comming!!!

Author's Response:

Hey Angel Wings, thanks for reading and reviewing again.

I'm trying, honestly.  Some days the words come spewing out (sorry about that visual) and other days I stare at the page for a while and then go and read someone else's fic for a while.  My favourites are The Fallout, The List, Creature of Habit and a new one, Master of the Universe (yummy yum yum).

Luckily?? sitting with my son in hospital for 6 days last week I had heaps of time, no sleep and my laptop so I am almost finished Chapter 9 and 1/4 way through a one shot I am writing for the Roaring Twenties comp over on fanfiction.net

Chapter 7 is being beta'd right now and we will get to see Edward & Elizabeth meet face to face and the meaning of Bella's dreams will become clear.

Suzanne

Reviewer: Daylen (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2009 02:01 PM · On: Chapter 6 - Remembering

Things will get really interesting if Bella and Edward get around to comparing notes on her dreams... perhaps even allow Edward to accept Bella's affections more easily :)



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing.

Bella's dream in this chapter leads us into Chapter 7 where Edward and Elizabeth finally come face to face but not before Edward has a fit of jealousy about someone in Elizabeths thoughts and almost leaves Chicago. (A little teaser for you there)

Bella's dreams play a huge part in guiding us (and Edward) through this story.  Who knows what he might hear in Bella's sleep if he ever gets acclimatised to her blood!!!!

Suzanne

 

Reviewer: annienow (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2009 01:45 PM · On: Chapter 5 - Relax

I've been reading your story and I really like it.  I'm confused about how many times they have met??

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing.

So far in the story Edward has only met Elizabeth in 1927, however in Chapter 5 he alludes to memories of other reincarnations of Elizabeth (including Bella) but I have not said how many yet.  There is a big hint in one of the chapters uploaded so far as to how many soul mates have been reincarnated and also how each die - but I don't think anyone has picked up on it or at least no one has mentioned it in reviews.

Hope you keep reading as all will be revealed over time.

Suzanne

Reviewer: Hespera (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2009 10:42 AM · On: Chapter 6 - Remembering

I have been sick these past several days, so I was not able to read and/or review. However, I noticed that you updated and read the last two chapters. I love them!!! I am guessing that Elizabeth and Edward knew and loved each other when he was human (green eyes, beating heart) and that Edward was the one Lizzy's sister Marie referenced in their conversation.

Poor Edward! He lost the woman he loved, and she lost him, too. I just wish there was a way they could be together without Bella/Liz being turned. I never liked the idea of her becoming a vampire. I guess, it has to do with original Bella's immaturity, her willingness to give up her life, her independence (not sure she ever had that), her inability to stand on her own two feet, etc. In all honesty, I dislike SM's Bella. I will end my little diatribe, and say that I very much appreciate your story and its unique angle.

P.S. Yes, I have read some of Rimbaud's poem. Very interesting, especially considering the connection (i.e., a stormy affair in the 1870s) between Verlaine and Arthur Rimbaud.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing. I hope you are feeling better now.

I can't confirm or deny your guesses just yet!!  Chapter 7 is being beta'd right now and will go into greater detail about what Bella's dreams mean and Edward and Elizabeth finally come face to face.

I agree completely about SM's Bella, she is very immature and as a very independant woman myself I hate that Bella has no backbone.  I have found it quite difficult to write in Bella's POV as a 17 year old (unfortunately a few too many years ago for me) so it is no coincidence that Elizabeth is in her mid 20's (hint, hint).

Even though Rimbaud is the more well-known poet (supposedly) I still prefer Verlaine's poems - it is amazing that so many of his poems fit my story - I think he must have been a believer in soul mates and I wouldn't mind betting on vampires too - many references to immortals - see Colloque Sentimental

I found this youtube tribute to Verlaine & Rimbaud based on the movie about them called Total Eclipse.  Rimbaud is played by Leonardo di Caprio and Verlaine by David Thewlis - excellent:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_WF6nMTVfbY

Suzanne

Reviewer: krisandrob (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2009 06:45 AM · On: Chapter 6 - Remembering

Oh she should not feel that way she is not losing her he is real!!!!!!!!!!



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing. 

Don't worry, Bella will find out her dream guy is very real and very soon with some very interesting consequences.  Chapter 8 is Bella's take on Carlisle's little visit to her room from Chapter 5 and we will get to find out what she was dreaming about Edward....

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.