Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Mimiteh
Reviewer: marinacity (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2009 11:32 AM · On: Special Talents

Edward, Edward, Edward. How you love to torture yourself!

And now you drag poor old Jasper in to experience the misery first hand! Although he deserves it - this is all his fault after all ;)

I like me some protective Edward Jen - can you send him round to mine when he's finished up there?

Keep up the good work!



Author's Response:

Yeesch, we thought Michael Scofield was the king of self-torture, but he has a fine competitor for that title in Edward!

Ha ha about Jasper deserving to feel miserable. The poor boy already looks like he's miserable all the time, with those big, startled eyes. He hardly needs to get involved in the B/E melodrama.

You like stalker Edward? I'm sending him right over to your bedroom! Thanks Lorniekins.

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2009 05:46 AM · On: Waking Up

Well, what do I love about this story so far?

(1)  The real deal counseling.  The sequence of questions, the symptoms, the diagnoses.  Of course it is what you know, but thank you for bringing it into the story.  Versimilitude rocks.   And how well you capture the tone of a depressed teenager.

(2)  Nina's flashbacks.   Very deft touch there, perfect snippets of the dialogues, not to mention clues about her 'lockdown' that is keeping Edward out.   Parallel stories are an art, and it looks like a very cool one is developing here.

(3)  Cullen family dynamics.   I'm especially interested to see what Jasper's role will be here.  United they stand.

(4)  Weekly updates?  Yes!



Author's Response:

It's very fun for me to write a therapy story, because stuff will happen to me at work and I instantly think of ways to incorporate it into fan fiction (protecting anonymity, of course). It's kind of a way for me to process some thought-provoking situations I encounter. Every therapist's approach is so different and this is only representative of what I see in sessions, but I'm glad that you're enjoying the attempt at versimilitude (great word, by the way!)

Nina's story will slowly be unfolding, and you are very prescient to perceive some parallels going on! You just gave me an idea for how to start chapter six.

I love Jasper! And I love your reviews!

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2009 05:28 AM · On: Stalker

So, it WAS Edward.  Woohoo!  Gonna strap myself in for a serious ride, here.

Why Edward can't hear Nina's thoughts .... ?   Maybe Nina and Bella are related somehow ... ?   Or .... nah, gotta stop guessing and just let the story unfold.

Play on maestra!



Author's Response:

Yay for Edward being back! Though he is stubbornly refusing to show himself to Bella, given that inane promise he made her to stay out of her life. I just couldn't believe that he wouldn't at least check in on her to make sure she was okay, after he left. Maybe it would have been too painful for him. And I also couldn't believe that nosey Alice would stay away, either.

I like your speculations about Nina's "shield".  There is a connection between her and Bella in terms of their shield development. Thanks for the reviews, miaokuancha! (I'd like to hear the meaning behind that author name if you want to share).

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2009 05:14 AM · On: Forks in the Road

I can tell that I'm going to enjoy this.   Love your visualization of Nina.  Love to see a strong, balanced woman in the story.  Love to see plausible, well-rendered  characterizations all around.

So, a vague shadow, eh ...?   Wonder who that could be?   Alice, I guess, but if this is going AU, all bets are off.



Author's Response:

Hey there, old English teacher! Thanks for starting to read this fic and for leaving a comment. We don't get too many strong, balanced women in the Twilight world, huh? You will soon find that Nina has her own demons in her past, threatening to weaken her, but she is a tough cookie. And I'm pleased that you are enjoying the characterizations so far.

I did miss Edward in New Moon, so even though this story is based in canon, he will be a significant part of this fic. Thanks!

Reviewer: LetMISAlive (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2009 11:20 PM · On: Special Talents

Aw, that’s so sad.  Whatever I may think of Bella’s unhealthy obsession over / bewitchment by Edward, I can’t dispute the fact that Edward really loves / cares about her - especially when I read his POV: Midnight Sun and now Mimiteh!


 


Bella and Edward’s 'dysfunctional' special talents certainly do not complement each other!  I guess they have to relate to each other just like every other human being! ;)


 


Jasper's talent must be overwhelming at times - especially if you're some one who cares a lot about others.  Really useful - you can do so much good with it - but really hard too!  It was a great idea - bringing Jasper in to help Bella, even if just temporarily - that's exactly what I would think *helpless* Edward would think of!


 


Thanks for another awesome chapter, Jen!  I can't wait to find out more... especially about how Nina is going to tie into the whole thing... and more of the suddenly-proactive-dad!



Author's Response:

Hiya Nix-Nak!

<< Whatever I may think of Bella’s unhealthy obsession over / bewitchment by Edward, I can’t dispute the fact that Edward really loves / cares about her >>

That inner tension is exactly what made me want to write this fic, despite the fact that Edward is a stalker throughout it. ;-) Edward and Bella are almost as unhealthy and destructive as Heathcliff and Catherine, it seems. I guess Edward's inability to hear Bella's thoughts made it possible for them to be together, because Lord knows I couldn't be with a man who knew my thoughts! But that hole in his mindreading ability is making it tough for Edward to discern Bella's motivation behind her self-destructive tendencies. If only he knew that it was HIS voice making her want to take risks, hee hee.

As a psychologist, I think Jasper's talent is the coolest damn thing. And since he is rather sensitive and caring, it IS tough for him sometimes. Imagine if emo Bella or Edward had Jasper's talent? They'd self-implode! All the credit for Jasper soothing Bella from her nightmares goes to vamplicious. A very good idea!

I liked in the book how Charlie came in to help Bella when she was screaming. I can't remember if that was in the book? That would be so painful to hear that as a parent. Thanks for this awesome review! ;-)

Reviewer: radiofreeamy (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2009 07:19 AM · On: Stalker

Wow!  Another awesome chapter.  I had no idea you would be throwing in Edward's POV.  That was a nice surprise.

I loved the Alice/Edward interaction.  So glad she called him out on his shit.  she was funny.  I lol'ed at her telling Edward he lost 100 IQ points in the jungle. Great banter there, Jen.

Edward is a stalker.  But at least he is stalking for the right reasons.  I'm glad he will be there to keep Bella safe.  I love how you incorporated his thoughts as the words Bella hears when getting into danger.  Brilliant!  I wonder if she will be able to hear him at other times?  He may give himself away if he isn't careful.

And he can't read Nina's mind?  Hmmm.  I bet she is connected to the Quilete wolves somehow.  Very interesting.  I am sure you will make it unpredictable!

I'm loving this fic!  Amy hearts Jensy!

 

xoxo



Author's Response:

I didn't plan on Edward coming into this fic until later, but I really missed him in New Moon so I wanted to hear his POV ASAP. It's possible that he won't be limited to only listening outside the therapy office for long, hee hee.

Alice can call Edward out like no one can. That girl's got spunk!

<< I wonder if she will be able to hear him at other times?  He may give himself away if he isn't careful. >>

Interesting idea. I hadn't thought about that but it's got potential! I figured there is some karmic connection going on when she risks her life, lowering her shield somehow, but I haven't thought it through.

You'll see that Edward can only read Nina's mind part of the time, and I like your speculation that she is connected to the wolves.

Jensy hearts Amy right back! I'm looking forward to reading a Jailward update very soon. ;-)

Reviewer: radiofreeamy (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2009 07:01 AM · On: Forks in the Road

OMG Jensy!!!!

This fic is going to be so fuckawesome!!!!  I'm hating myself for being a total piece of crap and not delving into it sooner.  (lifefail)

I totally felt like I was in the therapist's office with Bella.  Your descriptions of her body language, etc were perfect.  Bravo. 

It makes me happy that you are writing a Charlie that is actually taking the time to parent his child.  Of course that kid needs some therapy.  I'm glad he's forcing her to do it and I love that Nina is Native American.  I wonder if she is familiar with the "cold ones" and the wolfpack?  Hmmm.  That could make things very interesting.  You have written one of the first original Twific characters that I actually want to know more about!

Nice call making Angela be the tattle tale.  That is totally in character for her.  I can see her being concerned for Bella's wellbeing and calling the Chief.  I hope Bella can forgive her.

And you have me sad for poor Charlie.  That last line about hoping Bella would do a better job getting over her true love.... *sob*

I love your Charlie and who knows?  Maybe he and Nina can have a love connection!!!  lol.

What's up with that blur of movement in the forest?  Have the vampires returned to Forks?  I can't wait to find out!

I love this new fic and I love you.  Your writing has really improved since those early PB days and this is certainly something to be proud of. 

xoxo,

Amy

PS.  "Fork in the Road"?  I love you and your witty brain!!!

 



Author's Response:

Hi Amy! How was your Thanksgiving? I miss talking to you but I was guessing that you were super busy. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing--it means a lot to me. I'm not sure this fic will be "fuckawesom" ;-) but it has been fun to write so far!

My portrayal of Charlie was inspired by your portrayal of Charlie. I can't imagine a parent who wouldn't drag his daughter to therapy, the way Bella is acting. I'm thrilled that Nina has you intrigued. I have some big plans for Nina, and one of them is a romance!!!

I could totally picture Angela risking Bella's anger by telling Charlie about the men at the bar, because she is a good friend. Jessica, on the other hand, was merely gossipping.

The vampires ARE back in town, woot woot!

Many thanks for the comment on my writing, chica! I hope you are doing well. xx

Reviewer: putu2sleep (Signed) · Date: November 30, 2009 03:56 PM · On: Reckless and Stupid

Hi Jen,

I'm going to try to mesh my comments with my thoughts about the movie, since you included them in this chapter. :)

It will be as if I’d never existed.
--This is one of those lines from "New Moon" that angered my from the moment I started reading the book, and carried on through the movie. I'm glad you included it here, because it seems so important to me, and probably one of the reasons I absolutely hated Edward in "New Moon." (I hope no one reads this except you, I'm afraid of the backlash). :D

Despite whatever reasons he might have rationalized, leaving was bad enough, but taking all her mementos from that wonderful period of her life was crippling and as inhumane as I could imagine anyone behaving. It reminded me immediately of Edward's own feelings about the fate of his soul.

This, more than anything, pushed me toward Jacob. I understand how you feel about Robert Pattinson in the movie, but I felt just the opposite. Isn't that funny. I think I came into the movie lacking objectivity, so there was no way he could pull me back into liking Edward (in "New Moon" only, I like him again later, don't worry). I also felt like Lautner took the changes in his character's physique seriously between movies, and I appreciated the effort he put into making that character come alive.

I love the interaction between Nina and her mother. The native american inflection in the dialogue was very interesting and seemed realistic to a good ole Arizona girl like me. :) It hurt my heart to learn of her loss, and for Wuti to feel so bad about her forgetfulness. I look forward to learning more about Nina and her family, and why the Quileute tribe wanted nothing to do with her family. That is an intriguing concept I'm sure you have plans for.

So she is of "Clearwater" descent, huh? Interesting implications there, especially when I take into consideration Nina's reference above.

Finally figured out my password, caught up, and can't wait for more. :)

Nora

Author's Response:

Hey Nora! I love how wildly discrepant the opinions about the movie have been. It seems like a pretty even split between Team Edward and Team Jacob. My Twi beta even asked me if we had seen the same movie after reading my review, ha ha. I do like Taylor; I just did not feel any chemistry between him and Kristen. I know some people never felt the chemistry between Michael and Sara, and it's a personal thing--either you see it or you don't. What do you think about Kristen's portrayal as Bella? She'd be a hard character to cast but I'm not loving Kristen as Bella.

I totally agree with you that Edward was incredibly cruel in stealing her photos and his CD from her bedroom. That was just plain cold. He has a lot to learn about non-possessive warmth but I do plan on teaching him how to love respectfully and interdependently, without making decisions for Bella based on what HE thinks she needs, but helping her make decisions based on what SHE thinks she needs. *rubs hands together excitedly* Edward does progress to this mentality at the end of Eclipse but I might speed up his learning curve in this fic. I'm also not thrilled with Bella's whole "I can't live now that my man is gone" mentality of New Moon. Bella has some learning of her own to accomplish. That's what counseling is for! ;-)

Did the Native American inflection sound realistic? Yahoo! I have no idea what I'm doing so any assistance you can provide would be great. Nina's sordid background will be unfolding slowly. She is a Clearwater, and you know what that means in terms of her genes, huh? ;-)

I'm thrilled that you caught up! Gracias, Nora!

Reviewer: putu2sleep (Signed) · Date: November 30, 2009 02:24 PM · On: Waking Up

Hi Jen,

I'm back, finallly! :)

When my aunt read WGB, she encouraged me to refrain from using hackneyed adjectives.
--I think this is fabulous advice. Even though it seems common sense and simple enough, I'm not sure I would have thought of that on my own. I will try to keep it in mind. Anymore tidbits your aunt suggests, throw my direction, please. :)

I do love Alice's take on the red bike. Her visions aren't always perfectly clear, are they? And some times they lead to trouble.

I look forward to Jasper's input. I think it will be very interesting.

Nora

Author's Response:

Hey Nora,

Thanks for coming back! It was so great to have a non-PB fan read my story. She gave me a lot of useful feedback, including the observation that I seemed obsessed about the characters' physical beauty and did not make them real people with warts and all. I already knew that I mentioned Wentworth's crystal eyes far too frequently, hee hee.

That's a good point that sometimes Alice's visions lead to trouble. I'm introducing Jasper in chapter 5, which is in the validation queue right now. I hope you have a great night! Jen xx

Reviewer: putu2sleep (Signed) · Date: November 28, 2009 09:16 PM · On: Waking Up

Hi Jen,

I am really enjoying this take on "New Moon," and I have more to say, but I am starting to fall asleep. So just a couple comments for right now.

Tempted to squeeze the gaping wound in her chest but knowing the psychologist was watching her--I loved this reference to the hole Bella feels in her heart and how difficult it is to hide her gestures from the psychologist.

The shame of his actions pressed down on him like one-hundred Emmett's leaping on his back.--what a great way of showing Edward's feelings. It added just a tinge of humor to make it easier to relate to.

It seems like Edward can only read Nina's thoughts when they are overly emotionall about herself. Does she have some ability to shield, or does it have something to do with Bella?

I am loving it so far, but I need to reread this chapter. I'm afraid I missed too much trying to read it before I go to bed.

Great work, as always!

Author's Response:

Hey Nora,

I went to sleep before you posted this review so I can relate to the being too tired to see straight thing.

I thought the idea of Bella having to hide her chest squeezing from somebody who is an acute observer might be interesting. Jacob asked Bella about that behavior at one point, right? It's weird to me that nobody else noticed it, but perhaps that is a sign of how much she isolated herself in this book.

Thanks for your comment about the Emmett heaviness. ;-) When my aunt read WGB, she encouraged me to refrain from using hackneyed adjectives. I was tempted to write "like a ton of bricks on his back" but her critique came to mind so I tried to find something more creative. That was good advice she gave me!

<< It seems like Edward can only read Nina's thoughts when they are overly emotionall about herself. Does she have some ability to shield, or does it have something to do with Bella? >>

I'm liking your train of thought here. You're right that Edward can only read Nina's self-directed thoughts. When her thoughts/attention are directed at Bella (or Charlie for that matter), Edward can't read Nina's mind.

Thanks Norita!

Reviewer: putu2sleep (Signed) · Date: November 28, 2009 04:14 PM · On: Stalker

I kind of like the idea that Bella can hear Edward's warnings in her head.  I was actually disappointed in the book that his warnings had all been her thoughts alone.

I was glad to hear Alice try to convinced Edward that he was responsible for saving Bella's life as often as he "felt" responsible for jeopardizing her life, even if he really wasn't.

It is fun to see Edward as the stalker.  Reading the book, at this point in the story I was so angry at Edward, I could easily imagine myself on "Team Jacob."

Great job.  This is a fun twist of events.  I am curious to know why Edward can't read Nina's thoughts.  I don't have any good guesses though.



Author's Response:

My PB friend vamplicious gave me the great idea of having Edward actually be present for the "hallucinations", and I jumped on that idea because I too was disappointed when he was nowhere to be found.

Once Edward decided to come back to school, knowing that he couldn't stay away from Bella, he made an irrevocable change in both of their lives and now he can't just take it back. I like what you said--that he is responsible for saving her life just like he feels responsible for screwing it up.

Well, technically any boy who watches a teenage girl sleep without her knowledge could fit the legal definition of stalker, huh? However, I could never be Team Jacob!

I hope the reason Edward can't read some of Nina's thoughts isn't too convoluted. I came up with it based on my experiences as a psychologist, so it might be nutty.

Do you know how much it means to me that you're reading and reviewing, Nora? A LOT! xx

Reviewer: EliseShaw (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2009 12:58 PM · On: Reckless and Stupid

I truly love the backstory you have created for Nina. It's one that many of us can relate to and it gives depth to her character, making her one that I immediately attach to, even though that is rare for me with original characters.

I also like the use of Bella remembering some of Edward's parting words at regular intervals. I think it effectively shows how haunted she is by his memory. Indeed, it would seem impossible right now that she could ever move on.

Ah, the movie. I liked the wolves, the Volturi and Edward and Bella. I thought the contacts looked a little scary and that the Cullens were not given enough lines/attention. I know they are not in the book very much, but their sections felt like they were edited in a sloppy way.



Author's Response:

I'm thrilled that you're enjoying the backstory for Nina so far. Her mother is a piece of work, huh? I chose the name "Hehewuti" because it means "Warrior Mother Spirit" hee hee. Nina obviously plays a larger role in this fic, so I want to make her character rich and relatable.

<< Indeed, it would seem impossible right now that she could ever move on. >>

Bella and Nina have their work cut out for them! But Nina likes the challenge. Too bad she does not have all the information she might need to help Bella.

Very true that the Cullens did not get enough screen time. I wished they had shown what Edward was up to during his hiatus, but maybe they want to leave it open to do the books and movies from Edward's perspective down the road. The golden contacts were even more vivid this movie, weren't they? I thought they looked pretty amazing on Rob though.

Thank you for these reviews!!! *squishes Elise*

Reviewer: EliseShaw (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2009 12:52 PM · On: Waking Up

I loved this chapter because it left me insanely curious. The small hints Edward could suddenly hear (which is another curiosity in itself!) of Nina's thoughts were intriguing, leading me to believe that perhaps she also lost a loved one and that Charlie might have found her and helped her too?

I love the insight you're able to bring into Nina's questioning. It's a great example of how writing what you know can bring so much to a story!



Author's Response:

Ooo, insanely curious? I love that you're insanely curious! It sounds like Nina has gone through some painful times of her own, and you are right on track about Charlie. Hmm, why can Edward hear Nina at rare times but not at others? It's driving him a little crazy.

I found it kind of fun to look at Bella's symptoms and try to diagnose her. Of course, I AM a psychologist nerd that way. ;-)

Reviewer: EliseShaw (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2009 12:47 PM · On: Stalker

I'm so happy to finally have a chance to come back to this story now that I have a vacation day :-).

Tee hee, Edward has always seemed a little stalker-esque to me too :-). I mean, I understood that the point was to show his endearing attachment to Bella, but I also confess that I kept all the lights on while reading the first book, just to make sure that he didn't turn into the bad guy!

On to the chapter! Loved how the tale is getting even more twisty. As for your question, I'm not sure yet about why Edward can't read Nina's mind. It's always possible that she's a shield like Bella, but I'm guessing that you have something more devious up your sleeve. I like the sarcastic inner commentary of Edward, and yes, I think your explanation of Bella hearing Edward's silent thoughts is easily as acceptable as what SM gave us in the books.

Really enjoying this!



Author's Response:

Yippee for vacation days, Elise! I had to work today but I'm looking forward to a 4 day weekend, though I'll be with my parents and sisters so I won't get much fan fic time. They make fun of how much time I spend on the computer and I can't give them more ammunition ;-) I do hope to catch up with your story when I get the chance.

I'm glad I'm not alone in seeing Edward as a stalker. I was worried that Twerds would stone me for that comment. ;-D

<< I also confess that I kept all the lights on while reading the first book, just to make sure that he didn't turn into the bad guy! >>

Ha ha ha, that was great! Thank goodness he didn't turn out to be a psychopath. I'm fairly feminist so I have a hard time with the very traditional gender roles in the series, though I love it too.

It is my understanding that one of the reasons Bella developed her shield is that she was always so caring and focused on others, like her mother, correct? That might have something to do with Nina's ability. But as you see in future chapters, the shield is not foolproof. Thanks so much for reading and commenting on my story! Jen xx

Reviewer: danni18 (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2009 10:35 AM · On: Reckless and Stupid

Great chapter, loved how were are learning more about Nina and her past...plus you are giving us a litttle mystery. And poor Bella you wrote her emotions well, and I liked the little details from the book, like the pictures and car stero. I must admit I didn't see the movei yet, I went today and the the place was closed..very weird... Will we see a new chatpter of spark soon?



Author's Response:

Hey Danni! I've been a slacker on my Spark update but I hope to work on it tonight if all goes well. I do want a little mystery about Nina's past that will slowly be revealed with each chapter. The movie theater was closed? That is so bizarre! I hope you get to see the movie soon 'cause it's really good! Thank you for the review!!!

Reviewer: xXElle-BelleXx (Signed) · Date: November 23, 2009 10:13 PM · On: Reckless and Stupid

I COMPLETELY agree with you on the New Moon thing. Rob Pattinson is....dare I say it?.................DAZZLING! *snorts at own terrible pun* :)



Author's Response:

Yes, dazzling, sparkling, scintillating . . . *sighs* He really shines on screen! :-D

Reviewer: evrythingmusic1 (Signed) · Date: November 23, 2009 05:55 PM · On: Reckless and Stupid

I agree with you thoughts on New Moon, the Bella and Edward scenes were much more intense and you could feel the love :D hehe great chapter! And I can't decide if I like Nina or not and I'm guessing she had a situation like Bella's.   



Author's Response:

Hi Cassidy! I read your bio and I think New Moon made me swoon even more over Rob Patz! I loved the anguished look he gave Bella after Jasper tried to attack her--great acting!

I kind of like that you're not sure what you think about Nina yet. More will be forthcoming, and you are correct in your guess about her past situation mirroring Bella's. Thanks for the review, chica!

Reviewer: vamplicious (Signed) · Date: November 23, 2009 12:38 PM · On: Reckless and Stupid

Hi Jen! Another great chapter.

You did a very good job describing Bellas depression. Poor girl... :(

There seems to be quite a few negativ automatic thoughts, which she needs help to identify and start working on. I'm pretty sure Nina is up for the task! ;)

Good to have some more backstory on Nina. Seems to some intresting dynamics between Nina and her mum...lol I enjoyed their dialogue/banter!

Great writing! I'm definitely still with you on this! *hugs*

 



Author's Response:

Hey vampy! Poor Bella; she's really in a black hole. She needs cognitive therapy! Nina might have some unconventional techniques, however. Hee he.

Nina and her mum don't exactly have a lovey-dovey mother-daughter relationship, huh? Sorry this chapter wasn't very exciting but I'm setting some things up for the plot later. Thanks so much for sticking with me, Vamps!

Reviewer: marinacity (Signed) · Date: November 23, 2009 05:28 AM · On: Reckless and Stupid

Forgot to say, I haven't seen the film NM as I am still abiding by the Gladiator Act 2000.



Author's Response:

Hmm, *searches memory bank*. As I recall, you haven't seen a movie in the theaters since Gladiator? ;-) New Moon is really good! Perhaps you should break the act!

Reviewer: marinacity (Signed) · Date: November 23, 2009 05:25 AM · On: Reckless and Stupid

Hi Coach!

I skipped the whole bit in the book when Edward threw his bollocks at the clock and pissed off so it's good for me to read someone's idea of what went on between Bella and Jacob. ;)

You could be describing my own depression, I don't know about Bella's, that's how real the description is! Although of course I took all the drugs too :D

I am trying to get my fitness back after a long spell of health problems so the swimming is not as strong as it was - only 30 lengths at the moment. Not good enough for cliff diving...and certainly not good enough for the Outer Banks of NC! xxx

 



Author's Response:

Hello, my little swimmer! 30 lengths is great! I think you might need gills to swim in the Pacific Ocean off of La Push, or in the Outer Banks (especially.after a hurricane!)

I actually liked New Moon much better when I read it the second time, but I think you were wise to skip the parts without Edward. Edward sure screwed up by leaving Bella, eh?

Stephenie Meyer did a vivid job of describing depression, I thought. But I tried to put my little spin on it. Medication is all good, unless you're Tom Cruise, I guess. ;-)

Reviewer: JuliannaOphelia (Signed) · Date: November 23, 2009 01:29 AM · On: Reckless and Stupid

great work:)



Author's Response:

Thank you, Ashley :-)

Reviewer: LetMISAlive (Signed) · Date: November 22, 2009 09:32 PM · On: Reckless and Stupid

Bella and the motor cycle - It makes sense.  She clearly doesn't love herself (or else she'd look after herself); she loves Edward more than herself (I bet she'd never hurt HIM / put HIM in harms way).  It's as if she's punishing herself - because she's pathetic and doesn't deserve him.  He only "pretended" to want to be with her after all...


If only she'd skipped the petulant teenager phase altogether!  ;)


 


 << “All you care about is your ‘clients’. You care more about your work than your family; you work too much.”


...this was familiar territory they were covering. Why did she only lose her cool when sparring with her mother? She was perfectly calm in the midst of a clinical crisis, but spending even one minute with her mother could put her over the edge. >>


Has some one said that to you?


 


“Don’t compare me to my father.”


LOL, that's a common insult!  Cuts deep!


 


So Nina's divorced?  And has lost a son...


Ungrateful mother!  *hits the sick, old lady* 


<< "Cooking is not your strong suit." >> - now that's just unkind!


 


<< “The way you see the world isn’t necessarily the truth.”


“We all have our own truths,” Nina shrugged, “myself included. Even people who experience, uh, hallucinations, see their own truths.” >>


lol


 


Okay, that’s enough reviewing for my lifetime!  *poof!*



Author's Response:

Wow, TWO lengthy reviews from Nixy? No wonder you poofed! You probably need to go recharge your life force somewhere after that!

<< she loves Edward more than herself (I bet she'd never hurt HIM / put HIM in harms way).  It's as if she's punishing herself - because she's pathetic and doesn't deserve him.  He only "pretended" to want to be with her after all... >>

It's sad that she doesn't see her self-worth. Hopefully this might begin to change in counseling . . .

<< If only she'd skipped the petulant teenager phase altogether!  ;) >>

 

Ah, but this is actually a crucial part of her development. She needs to go through a rebellion and stop acting so old, or she might turn into an anxious adult who never really got a childhood. Your thoughts are sparking some plot ideas for me!

 

Thankfully nobody ever said those words to me, but I have worried that I'm a workaholic. I had one boyfriend tell me that it felt like I had to fit him into my busy life, but I think he was talking more about my extracurriculars than work. This from a guy who also told me he had no friends. I guess my life must have seemed busy! Needless to say, that relationship didn't last long.

 

Nina's mother Wuti is not a very sympathetic character so far, and it sounds like her father was an alcoholic jerk. Nina is divorced and lost a son--we'll be hearing from her ex-husband soon.

 

Thank you so much for these awesome reviews!!! *squishes Nixy* ;-)

Reviewer: LetMISAlive (Signed) · Date: November 22, 2009 08:13 PM · On: Waking Up

Hi Jen,


 


I decided to bite the bullet and review this chapter, when whoa and behold: I see another one is up!  :)


 


I feel even less equipped than usual to review this story – please bear with me. 


I wish I got the red bicycle joke!  *suddenly afraid that the Twilighters know her deep, dark secret*


 


From what I’ve seen, you are being very true to the original characters, which is a challenge for most people, but I expect nothing less of you.  ;)


 


Nina throwing herself at strange men?? 


Her past is intriguing – I like how you’ve brought in a unique story line and characters. 


Charlie is a kind, caring father - it’s nice for him to get a bit of action.  (In terms of storyline of course!  What else did you think I was saying??)


 


I liked how Nina pointed out to Bella in this chapter what ever reader of New Moon already knew (the depression etc). 


I want to kick her for having PTSD over a 'boy' saying that he doesn’t want her!  I’ll show her something to have PTSD over……!!!



Author's Response:

That is so sweet of you, Nixy! How did you know that I was feeling a little sad that I wasn't getting many readers for this fic? (Probably because I complained about it ha ha). I'm especially impressed that you reviewed when you don't have any idea about why the red bike would be amusing! ;-D (psst . . . Bella gets a dilapidated red motorcycle, at least I hope it's red--well, the Twerds will be all over my case if it's not, and gets hurt riding it. She tries to be self-destructive in order to hear Edward's voice in her head, if you haven't picked that one up yet).

I wouldn't say Nina exactly threw herself at strange men, but she did do a risky thing herself that Charlie knows about. I'm trying to draw a few parallels between Nina and Bella here. I agree that Charlie needs some action!

Stephenie Meyer never came out and named the depression, and certainly not the PTSD, so I was hoping that those diagnoses could add a little to our understanding of the character from the books.

<< I want to kick her for having PTSD over a 'boy' saying that he doesn’t want her!  I’ll show her something to have PTSD over……!!! >>

LOL. I think I've figured out a way to end this story that follows the series somewhat but is also true to my values about relationships. Some of this stuff is just nutty. I hope I never get PTSD from a boy breaking up with me, though I did get some symptoms from the nasty way my job ended two years ago, so I can somewhat relate. Fortunately for my neighbors, I don't wake up screaming!

Reviewer: JRbtsn (Signed) · Date: November 22, 2009 02:55 PM · On: Reckless and Stupid

New Moon? I gave it an A+ for the same reason!! lol Don't get me wrong! I missed Edward terribly BUT the fact that Bella and Jacob didn't have chemistry just tells the viewers, it's all Edward and tho Bella welcomed Jacob's friendship, it's Edward that she has a passion for and she was so hurt when he left. I thought there would be more to the reunion kiss after Bella saved Edward tho. i was disappointed about that. It was heart wrenching that she was trying to tell Edward that she was there to let him know that she was alive and to let him go. That she really didn't think she was there for any other reason for him. That was played well, I thought. I felt it. Sorry. I LOVED New Moon!! It was nice to see who Nina was in this chapter too. :) I thought Edward would've been lurking when Bella was in agony in her home and then off in her truck? Loved this!!
Joan :)



Author's Response:

Hey Joanster!

<< tho Bella welcomed Jacob's friendship, it's Edward that she has a passion for and she was so hurt when he left. >>

I guess this is true, but I sort of wished there was at least a little chemistry so that it would be credible that it was somewhat of a difficult choice for Bella. But I agree with you that Bella has chosen Edward and there is no changing her mind.

<< I thought there would be more to the reunion kiss after Bella saved Edward tho. i was disappointed about that. >>

Me too. That part seemed a bit anticlimactic. The part that hit me emotionally was the look on Edward's face after Jasper tried to kill Bella at the birthday party. I thought RobPat acted that really well--I could feel his anguish. Poor Bella doesn't think she's good enough for Edward when she rushed to stop him from exposing himself. I'll have to watch that part again I think, to see what you're saying.

<< I thought Edward would've been lurking when Bella was in agony in her home and then off in her truck? >>

I'm not sure if you caught chapter 3 but Edward is inconveniently off hunting right now :-( Thanks for your awesome reviews, Joan!

Reviewer: irishekl (Signed) · Date: November 22, 2009 02:37 PM · On: Reckless and Stupid

Good chapter. It gave more of an insight to Dr. Carlton, I cannot believe Sam is her brother and Harry is her Uncle, weird!!

I just saw the movie tonight. I can honestly say I did not care much for it.

1) I felt it was really rushed.

2) Even though Bella and Jake had great chemistry, though I felt Jake came off as whiney. What was up with him at the movies??? That scene was so dumb, it was quite laughable. They should have taken the scene from the book.

3) Jasper's hair bothered me.

4) Overall I would give it a solid C.

5) Edward was actually pretty good.

6) Except for Paul and Jake, the Wolf Pack was not attractive.

7) The Volturi were creepy .

Author's Response:

Wow, it seems like people have wildly discrepant views on the movie. My beta just asked me if I saw the same movie she did, ha ha. Was there any part that seemed particularly rushed? I guess it's difficult to translate a book to a movie since you have to cut out so much. I will probably see it again to catch the finer nuances.

That's great! You caught that Sam is Nina's uncle, and Harry is her uncle. Good reading on your part, Erin! Thanks for the review, chica.

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.