Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Mimiteh
Reviewer: LetMISAlive (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2009 11:39 PM · On: Lost and Found

Excellent writing, Jen.  What a chapter!

 

The relation of Nina’s horrendous experience evoked such a vivid images in my mind.  Truly terrifying.  She was drinking..?

I love the writing technique - how we “see” Nina’s thoughts/memories through Edward’s eyes.  Nina would never narrate those thoughts to some one so vividly.

Interesting how Nina’s memory of Charlie is so fond…his warm eyes… replaying in her mind…  ;)  Sweet guy, bringing her back to earth with small talk.

 

It’s understandable - Bella’s unwillingness to reveal her deepest feelings to people who are concealing things from her.

There’s that one-sided relationship again…

 

The great reveal! 

I suppose Bella saw the raw agony Nina experienced from her memories… it felt like more of a genuine conversation/interaction between two people – not a Q & A from a paid stranger. 

They have more in common than they think! *the nightmares etc.*

 

It’s noticable how Edward, listening to Nina’s agony, shifted instantly to think about Bella in Port Angeles.

 

Bella’s poor self worth.  It’s so easy for her to think that Edward never loved her.  I’m surprised that she believed he loved her in the first place!

Edward’s self condemnation.  << "You are absolutely correct to judge me." >> 

<< He had not known what had happened to Bella after he had left. He hadn't looked back. >>   It sounds like he was pretty harsh! – not something to do to someone you love, even if your leaving is for their own protection.  I suppose it’s a good thing that Edward heard the truth here – instead of being completely oblivious and forgiven instantly at the end of the book *great assumptions here!*  ;)

Hovering parents are painful!  ;)

<< attempting to forget about ornery diabetic mothers and broken ex-husbands and beautiful fifteen year-old boys and gleaming handguns and manic-depression . . .   >>

Oh no!  Not a manic-depressive teenager with a gun!?  Although there are lots of possible combos there…  *WAITING for the next chapter*  ;)

<< Nina fought off the urge to rush over and wrap up the sobbing girl in a suffocating hug. Teenagers tended to evoke that kind of maternal response from her. >>

 

That’s kind of sweet. 

<< Nina waited patiently, and Bella struggled to find words. "It's a thing crawling inside of me . . . an astonishing pain; a wave of torture . . . agony ripping through . . . it's a wide hole in my chest, with raw, ragged edges." >>

Bella – from closed up/defensive to incredibly descriptive!!

 

Nice that the session could end with a chuckle through the tears.   These two had better get along… Bella may be getting a step-mother soon, lol.  There’s gotta be some kinda line crossed there!...  ...I don’t care if she is no longer Nina’s client at the time… !  ;)



Author's Response:

Well thanks so much, Nix! What a lovely, detailed review from you. I love hearing which parts you reacted to.

<< I love the writing technique - how we “see” Nina’s thoughts/memories through Edward’s eyes.  Nina would never narrate those thoughts to some one so vividly. >>

Interesting point! I worry that it might be confusing, bouncing back and forth from the therapy session to the STALKERS, but it does provide a unique device for exploring characters' minds. Nina was drinking. She was freshly divorced, living in Forks, mourning her son, and wasn't in the best frame of mind. She really paid for that lack of discretion, unfortunately. I liked what you said about Charlie bringing her back to earth with small talk. I can imagine he's helped quite a few victims of crime in his day.

<< I suppose Bella saw the raw agony Nina experienced from her memories… it felt like more of a genuine conversation/interaction between two people – not a Q & A from a paid stranger. >>

Exactly my thinking. Bella forgot for a moment that she was stuck in dreaded therapy, and this woman Nina really seemed to care for her. Nina tried to respectfully separate her needs from Bella's, which is different from Renee, and perhaps Bella decided that she could take the risk to talk about herself instead of only do the one way relationship thing with a maternal figure.

<< I suppose it’s a good thing that Edward heard the truth here – instead of being completely oblivious and forgiven instantly at the end of the book >>

That was a good assumption. Many fans are upset that Edward was so easily forgiven. That won't happen in my story!

<< Not a manic-depressive teenager with a gun!?  >>

Could be. :(

I ripped off many of those descriptions about Bella's gaping wound from the book, hee hee.

Bella may be getting a step-mother indeed, ha! And THAT would be a major ethical violation a la Prince of Tides, you're correct.

Gracias, Nixy!!!

Reviewer: Bart (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2009 12:46 PM · On: Reckless and Stupid

I agree with your assessment of the movie. 

Nina is an interesting character.  I like her!



Author's Response:

I've only seen the movie once and I wonder if my thoughts will change upon a second viewing. I think I ruffled some Jacob fans' feathers with my opinions. ;-) That's great that you like Nina!

Reviewer: Bart (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2009 12:31 PM · On: Waking Up

I just found your story!  What a  holiday treat! 



Author's Response:

Thanks, Bart! Happy Holidays to you. Jen

Reviewer: obsessed668 (Signed) · Date: December 25, 2009 08:39 PM · On: Lost and Found

wow.
powerful chapter jen!
i have to say, im enjoying the interaction that bella has with nina,
and i think that nina is healing too,
but in regards to bella's healing, im not sure i agree with jaspers 'help'.
he isn't always going to be there, and i think she needs to learn to cope with it herself.
i think she made progress bc nina shared something of her past, so bella was returning the favour.
loved the chapter
amazing amazing
cant wait for another
xx



Author's Response:

Hey Karina! I'm glad you're enjoying the Bella/Nina interactions and you are right that Nina might be healing every bit as much as Bella at the moment.

<< but in regards to bella's healing, im not sure i agree with jaspers 'help'.
he isn't always going to be there, and i think she needs to learn to cope with it herself. >>

Very insightful! Jasper's help IS somewhat like a band-aid; only temporary. However, perhaps it helps just enough so that Bella can tell her story in therapy and REALLY begin to heal. Jasper may not be around too much longer in this fic.

And I agree with you that Nina's unintended self-disclosure helped Bella return the favor.

Hope ya had a Merry Christmas, hon! Thank you for your review. xx

Reviewer: ekimmuh (Signed) · Date: December 24, 2009 08:44 AM · On: Waking Up

*BOO*

lol. I can't belive how far behind I am. You are a writing machine! ;)

My favorite line in this chapter was, "He froze, inhaling her intoxicating bouquet, and his already constricted throat began powerfully burning. Instead of expectedly causing him pain, her scent flooded him with gratitude. He hadn't realized how deeply he had been craving his personal brand of heroin." I just loved this. It seemed very Edward like.

I wasn't expecting him to ask for Jasper's help although it does make sense. I have to agree that I think Alice's vision of the red bike was a 'little' off. :)



Author's Response:

Merry Christmas, Eki! How is yours going? We are preparing a meal at my sister's house, and we'll be opening gifts later tonight. I think tomorrow we're going to see the movie Blind Side. I sat next to a woman on the plane who made me think of you--I'll tell you more later.

Thank you for coming around to read this story--it's a nice present for me. ;-) I've been updating less than once a week, my dear! But considering I'm also writing a PB story, perhaps that is excessive hee hee.

I'm glad you thought that was authentic Edward.

I love Jasper's character, particularly his supernatural power, so I definitely wanted to include him in this fic. Ay yi yi, Alice's vision was WAY off!

Reviewer: mnment (Signed) · Date: December 24, 2009 04:04 AM · On: Lost and Found

Awesome!  Mery Christmas to me!  Love this fic.



Author's Response:

Yay, Merry Christmas to you! If you consider an update a gift, then I feel like I've been given a gift as well. ;-)

Reviewer: JRbtsn (Signed) · Date: December 24, 2009 02:14 AM · On: Lost and Found

Awesome



Author's Response:

Thanks, Joan! :-)

Reviewer: Katara97 (Signed) · Date: December 23, 2009 09:33 PM · On: Lost and Found

Beautiful as always!

 

I think Nina opening up about her life made Bella feel more secure about spilling her guts (ew!) to Nina. Bella definately doesn't like to be mislead or decieved...



Author's Response:

Hey Sondra, great to see you back.

<< I think Nina opening up about her life made Bella feel more secure about spilling her guts (ew!) to Nina >>

Ha ha, I didn't even see the double meaning in that conversation! I agree with you that Nina uncomfortably opening up about her own pain led Bella to "spill her guts" metaphorically. Good catch!

<< Bella definately doesn't like to be mislead or decieved... >>

So true! She wouldn't tolerate that from Edward, and she certainly won't tolerate it from Nina.

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: December 23, 2009 07:33 PM · On: Lost and Found

Yay!  She updates!!

<What do you think made the reticent Bella choose to disclose the contents of her nightmares to Nina?>

My guess is:  an experience in common, and the fact that that experience involved Edward and powerful emotions of joy and relief at his arrival -- something that she is missing horribly right now.

Nina's back story feels every bit as interesting to me as Bella's.  Beautiful fifteen-year-old boy with a shiny gun and an unholy ghost ...  Sounds like a heart-ache to me.

Edward, you can wallow in self-loathing and thus preserve your comfortable emotional distance from Bella (can we spell secondary gains ... ?) ... or you can step up, and step back out of the shadows and into her life.  Your call, brah.

To be fair, real life love is no easy thing.  i will love to see how Nina (wittingly and unwittingly) leads these birds to the nest.

Lovely writing.



Author's Response:

Hi! An experience in common was exactly what I wanted to show. Bella and Nina have more in common than they think. I like what you added about how having a positive memory of Edward also made her open up. She needs more emotions of joy and relief, that's for sure!

<< Beautiful fifteen-year-old boy with a shiny gun and an unholy ghost ... >>

Oh, I love how you put that. Nina's call to her ex-husband will come up in the next chapter, so we'll learn a little more the unholy ghost. Being a 40 year-old woman, Nina has led an interesting life, and I'll be exploring 3 different backstories for her. Definitely lots of heartache.

<< Edward, you can wallow in self-loathing and thus preserve your comfortable emotional distance from Bella >>

Nice character analysis! He does need to step up. I don't think he really figures out how to step up until Eclipse, but hopefully I can accelerate that timeline in this fic.

<< To be fair, real life love is no easy thing. >>

Ain't that the truth! LOL

 << i will love to see how Nina (wittingly and unwittingly) leads these birds to the nest. >>

She's going to do her best! Thank you for the thoughtful review. *hugs*

Reviewer: sistergrimm (Signed) · Date: December 23, 2009 06:29 PM · On: Lost and Found

at last, the truth comes out!!! man, edward couldn't have been more wrong about  bellas dreams, could he?

he better get some sense in him soon....

 

im really fond of this story. here, edward can see the full extent of what he has done. none of that quick, forgiving crap like in new moon.

can't wait for the next chapter :)



Author's Response:

I really thought that Edward should have known what happened to Bella after he left, since it was so awful. That forest scene was very well done by SM--it made sense that Bella would keep desperately searching for him. Edward indeed better get some sense in him soon! He's going to rue that promise for it to be like he never existed.

Thanks so much for leaving a review, Cass. I'm stoked that you're fond of the story and I hope it goes in a direction that pleases you. Jen xx

Reviewer: danni18 (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2009 10:38 AM · On: Life Without Ed

Love how we are learing more about Nina's past...you gave us clues but still have us guessing. I also like how Jasper is able to give Edward a link to Bella. It almost like they are talking.



Author's Response:

Hi Danni!

The next chapter is waiting for validation and it gives some more insight into Nina's past. That's a good observation--Jasper is sort of a link between E/B since he can read B's emotions but E can't read her mind. Thanks for continuing to read this story! Jen

Reviewer: putu2sleep (Signed) · Date: December 17, 2009 04:35 PM · On: Special Talents

Hi Jen,

I'm so late, I just can't keep up with the holiday, work, kids and fanfic!  

I love this use of Japser's talent.  It was a great twist, and combined with Edward reading Charlie's thoughts, made for a fascinating chapter.  

The colors associated with different moods was especially intriguing for me.  It made sense, even if I haven't really thought about it before.

Nora



Author's Response:

Hi Nora,

Thanks so much for stopping by during this busy season. I hope your preparations are done and you can enjoy the weekend.

Ever since I studied the Rorschach Ink Blots in grad school, I've been intrigued by the connection between emotion and colors. Jasper's supernatural ability fascinates me, and I was trying to figure out a way to describe how he might influence moods. I'm rereading Breaking Dawn and it seems like Bella's shield also involves color to some extent. Catchya later!

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2009 04:58 PM · On: Life Without Ed

So, I am really wanting to know more about Adam.  17, eh?  Same age as Edward ... in a manner of speaking.  :P   Delicious resonance there ....

I love the 'four-way' conversation that is going on in this chapter.   Really gives a whole different perspective to the therapy session.  We get to peer into four different characters, while they themselves are only partly aware of each other, or only able to see certain things.  Nice dramatic tension.

Love the lines about power and courage, the guardians of our world, being a snack that Emmett would enjoy.   Kind of puts in a nutshell the underlying menace of what a vampire is.  

The Quileute reservation being a place that is inviolate to the Cullens, and so, just like he can't read her mind, Edward also can't find out what project she is working on there with Jacob, has some interesting possibilities.   A sanctum, if you will,  a refuge for Bella's self.   Hmmmmm ......   Aside from the obvious humor possibilities there is a lot that could be done with this from a psychology angle as well -- sort of parallel to the 'holes' that people retreat into after trauma perhaps ...?   And is it therapeutic retreat, a necessary preservation of ego integrity?  Or is it maladaptive .... ?    Ahhh you make me think too much!

The whole eating disorder / Ed pun was GREAT!!   And of course, who doesn't love angstful Edward?   Love it that Jasper is so closely involved with the whole thing here.  It feels very right, since he certainly has some feelings to work through given his part in creating the current scenario.  Beware Eavesdroppers, you may be in for some unwitting therapy ...    Can't wait to see where you go with this.

 



Author's Response:

Wow, you found even more to discuss about this chapter! *is impressed* You're paying attention to Adam's age, huh? Adam's age of 15 might be more relevant to the Forks bunch than his age at current day. *winks*

Although Edward's eavesdropping is blasphemous, it does give the counseling session another fun layer to play with.

With that line about power and courage, and Emmett's snack habits, I was trying to hearken back to the part in the books where one of the vampires described how their particular choice of prey mirrored their own personality. Do you remember that part? I couldn't find it to reread it. I figured that Emmett was very bear-like as I recalled, though.

<< sort of parallel to the 'holes' that people retreat into after trauma perhaps ...?   And is it therapeutic retreat, a necessary preservation of ego integrity?  Or is it maladaptive .... ? >>

Interesting thoughts! I think Bella does view the res as a spiritual retreat, but I'm sure Edward would not view it that way, especially since he is persona non grata.

<< Beware Eavesdroppers, you may be in for some unwitting therapy ... >>

LOL! I love the idea of unwitting therapy. You make me think a lot too, and for that I am grateful. :-)

Reviewer: marinacity (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2009 06:30 PM · On: Life Without Ed

Some classic comic gems in here Jen!

"What is Bella feeling?"

Jasper looked warily at Edward. "You know . . . she's, uh, depressed."



Brilliant!

"Middle age seemed ridiculously far away . . . it was impossible to imagine dragging herself through another twenty years of this miserable existence"

Tell me about it Bella, me old fruit!

"she compared Ed to an abusive, controlling boyfriend who tried to ruin her life."

"I don't like this book at all," Edward muttered.


Don't like the away game do you Ed? I'd still do ya though;)



Love it coach! :D



Author's Response:

Hey Lorne, I love your comedic way of looking at the world so if you found parts of this chapter funny, I'm quite pleased.

As I was writing that line about middle age, I realized that I was middle aged myself, yark! That was an unpleasant revelation..

Good to know that Edward has not lost his lustworthy appeal even though he's ruined Bella's life by leaving her. Thank you, swimmer!

Reviewer: LetMISAlive (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2009 10:35 AM · On: Life Without Ed

Oh -  your question - about what we want for Bella's counseling sessions.  Obviously Nina's got to ease into it and gain Bella's trust, but I want them to get to the crunch on why Bella's there - Edward. 

I'm not sure whether or not he should be overhearing this particular topic...



Author's Response:

So you want Bella to tell Nina about Edward? That he is a vampire? Or just more about him?

He should definitely not be eavesdropping on her sessions! Bad vampire. >:-/

Reviewer: LetMISAlive (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2009 09:11 AM · On: Life Without Ed

Hey Jen,


 


It was very clever the way you drew parallels between Bella’s experience and that book!!!


 


Do you think it’s a good idea to view an eating disorder as an evil third party out to get you?  It seems to be giving “it” a lot of power - viewing “it” as an external thing that you don’t have control over, but can only control your reaction to it - as opposed to “it” being YOU, YOUR decisions and YOUR unhealthy internal dialogue / force of habit.  Perhaps there’s a distinction between medium term starvation diets and eating disorders that last 8 years…. I mean, there HAS to be for a person to put up with the constant nagging from those around them and for goodness sake THERAPY VISITS!!  ;)


 


When is dim Edward going to work out that the times when he can’t hear Nina’s thoughts are when she’s thinking about Bella??  …Perhaps when he works out that it’s HIS voice in her head that’s causing her to want to step into traffic! ;)  *knock knock on his hollow head*


 


So we still don’t know the circumstances surrounding the death of Nina’s son, or even how old he was when he died!  …Ha ha, perhaps a VAMPIRE did it!!  - THAT might make her a titbit biased against Edward, if it ever comes out in a therapy session!  ;)


It seems as though she and her ex may have split up because of the pain/stress of losing a son… how sad.  Poor Nina being in pain on her son’s birthday.


 


Edward and Jasper can’t spend the rest of their lives lurking in the shadows and eavesdropping on Bella’s very private therapy sessions (NOT COOL!! ;)  You mentioned that something else may be in store from them… hmm…


 


Edward’s jealousy makes me wary… he’s always been controlling… and I don’t think there’s any reason why he should worry about Bella being in Jacob’s company. (?)  You can’t have it two ways – if you dump ‘em, you’ve got to deal with them spending time with other guys!  Heck – even if you’re DATING you’ve got to deal with them having guy friends!


 


PS You LIKE that Rihanna song??!!  It disturbs me - advocating Russian roulette!  


(*arbitrary side note* - that’s what people in SA compare to having unprotected sex!) 


 


Cheers.  Have a good evening.



Author's Response:

Hi Nixy! I was quite excited about the potential parallels, once I thought about it a little. And as Deborah points out below, Bella even hears "Ed" in her head like those who have eating disorders do! Parallels abound. Edward wasn't too psyched about it. ;-)

<< Do you think it’s a good idea to view an eating disorder as an evil third party out to get you?  It seems to be giving “it” a lot of power - viewing “it” as an external thing that you don’t have control over, but can only control your reaction to it - as opposed to “it” being YOU, YOUR decisions and YOUR unhealthy internal dialogue / force of habit. >>

That is an excellent question, and one I have struggled with myself. To try to answer the question I think about dialectics--the union of opposites--linking two opposite yet true statements together with an "and". You might say that eating disorders are an addictive process that take over one's life AND one can exert effort and will to do everything possible to recover from the eating disorder. Eating disorders are biological illnesses AND an individual's desire to get better is important for her recovery. I guess you could argue the same thing about Alcoholics Anonymous, with the first step proclaiming that "we admitted we were helpless over alcohol". Through surrender comes strength, perhaps? All I know is that the concept of "Ed" seems to be very useful for recovery, but of course there are some individuals who do not like it and take a different path, which is fine too.

I loved your comments about "dim Edward", ha ha. The man is quite smart except for when it comes to Bella!

*gasps* I even thought about having a vampire be the death of Nina's son Adam. Actually, vampires will be involved, though more indirectly than you conjecture. You are spot on about the reason Nina split from her hubby--we'll get to all of that in the next chapter.

I hear the wheels turning regarding Edward and Jasper in the future. *hopes Nixy doesn't figure out my plans too fast*

<< You can’t have it two ways – if you dump ‘em, you’ve got to deal with them spending time with other guys! >>

Precisely, my dear. He might understand this mentally but not emotionally, however. Poor Edward.

Rhianna's song is not ENDORSING Russian Roulette, crackhead! ;-P I like the lyrics because I'm not sure what they mean. Somebody speculated that the song was about her relationship with Chris Brown--that staying in an abusive relationship is like playing Russian Roulette, which sounds rather interesting to me.

This was like your longest review ever! And I loved it. Thanks Nix Nax!

Reviewer: EliseShaw (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2009 02:55 AM · On: Life Without Ed

Great connection with the chapter title! I always love a good title when it has meaning in the chapter as a whole. The banter between Edward and Jasper about the eating disorder was hilarious :-).

I love Nina's character, and that's a commendation to you because I don't usually find myself bonding with OC's very easily. You've created a well-rounded person with positive characteristics and flaws, one who is easy to relate to in her humanity.



Author's Response:

I reference that book all the time and I always thought the book title was unfair to men named Ed, hee hee. Then when it suddenly hit me that I should use the book related to our dear Edward, I started cackling. I figured Edward might be a bit offended! Jasper has been fun to add into this fic.

Nina is having a really bad day but typically she can rein in her personal life to be an effective psychologist. She certainly has empathy for her clients who are hurting. I'm stoked that you are loving her so far. Thanks Elise!

Reviewer: ludo (Signed) · Date: December 09, 2009 06:10 PM · On: Life Without Ed

Does Nina got to supervision? She really needs to get some help for herself if she's going to continue practising, ie currently she's engaging in 'how to make things worse for your clients by attempting to assist them while not working though your own issues 101' lol



Author's Response:

Hi Cathy!

Nina is a licensed psychologist so she no longer has to attend supervision, though many licensed psychologists receive peer supervision through consulting with other therapists. Your comments are really making me think. Did anything Nina did or said in session make you doubt her competence? Perhaps accepting the phone call from her mother? This was one of Nina's worst days and I'm trying to show her still performing her job well despite her personal troubles. But maybe I'm not succeeding ;-) Thanks so much for leaving a review!

Reviewer: vamplicious (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2009 01:15 PM · On: Special Talents

Im happy you liked the suggestion, Jen! Seems he's in for a challenge calming Bella sufficiently at this point.

Poor Bella -having flashbacks and nightmares. I don't believe they're from james's attack though, but more likely form another epoch-making event involving a much more dazzling vampire...;)

Hopefully Bella will tell Nina about the flashbacks and the nightmares in one of the sessions. I think Edward needs to hear it..... (poor guy...)

I saw New Moon the other day. And I loved it. I actually liked it much better than Twilight. But I got to think of your fic when watching the movie. When we got to the point were Chalie says:" That's it. I'm sending you to your mother", I thought that it would have been so much more natural/right if he'd said: " That's it. I'm sending you to therapy." :))

You're still doing a great job with this ficcy, jen. You're doing a great job with the charaterizations, and I still love the way you're taking this! Keep up the good work!

(Just sent my new chapter(!!) to Elke btw. I'll send it to you as soon as she returns it to me. )



Author's Response:

You've been giving me wonderful suggestions for this fic, vamps! Sadly Bella is feeling such sorrow and stress that it is difficult for Jasper to have much of an effect on her. But he did prevent her screaming for one night, at least.

<< I don't believe they're from james's attack though, but more likely form another epoch-making event involving a much more dazzling vampire >>

So right, you are! Another good idea about Bella sharing the content of her nightmares. Edward would be crushed. Yes!

Yay, you saw the movie! I've only seen it once (Ekimmuh has seen it at least 4 times by now!) and I want to see it again to catch the things I missed. I think I liked it better than the first movie too, though Twilight was really special since it was the first and it introduced me to Rob Pat and some good music.

That's so awesome you finished writing the next chapter! I look forward to reading it. I was able to update both my fics this weekend (I just submitted chapter 6 of this one to the queue) so I should have some time to beta. Thanks for your incredible encouragement with my fics, vampy! *hugs*

Reviewer: adler48 (Signed) · Date: December 05, 2009 09:16 PM · On: Forks in the Road

I am usually not a fan of fan fics and tend to avoid them - but this one I love! Great writing, love it how it ties in with the original books, can't wait to find out how it will carry on!

Spot on characterisation of Bella, Edward, Charlie, Jasper, Alice...pretty much everyone involved!

 

 



Author's Response:

Yay Rikki! You got the (extremely obvious) hint about leaving a review, ha ha. *runs to start typing the next chapter* Thanks so much for your comments, and I'm psyched you're finding the characterization accurate. *hugs*

Reviewer: danni18 (Signed) · Date: December 05, 2009 04:32 PM · On: Special Talents

Loved how you protrayed Jasper's talents...very descriptive. And poor Edward...even me, a Jabob fan, felt bad for him. I saw the movie, it was ok. The book was so much better, and I didn;t like the end...when she told Jacob it was never him...then I love you. I jsut sounded so mean..anyway very interesting chapter, poor Bella



Author's Response:

Yippee, you're leaving me reviews everywhere, Danni! I think Jasper's talents are just the coolest thing, so of course I had to explore them. You're a Jacob fan, eh? He might not be a very big part of this fic, unfortunately. Bella does seem kind of cruel to him at times, though unrequited love does tend to be cruel no matter how you slice it. How would you have liked the movie to end?

Reviewer: EliseShaw (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2009 02:40 AM · On: Special Talents

So many good things to say about this chapter. First we have the fact that you wrote about Edward and Jasper together, which most people avoid like the plague. They're both usually the quiet, dark person in a scene and it's difficult to differentiate their personalities. I thought you did that nicely.

I also liked that you addressed Jasper's guilt over hurting Bella. That would definitely continue to bug him and too often people side step that emotional aspect in favor of focusing on what's happening with the main two characters, Edward and Bella.

Looking forward to the next therapy session!



Author's Response:

Hey, Elise!

<< First we have the fact that you wrote about Edward and Jasper together, which most people avoid like the plague. >>

Perhaps it's somewhat helpful to be relatively new to the fandom, since I don't know what is taboo! I know that I do want to write a unique fic.

<< They're both usually the quiet, dark person in a scene and it's difficult to differentiate their personalities. >>

Wow, I never thought of that. To me, Edward and Jasper are both morose and caring, but in other ways they seem quite different. Naturally I'm fascinated by Jasper's supernatural talent so I had to have him in this fic. And I figured that he would be blaming himself for lunging for Bella, though I don't see him as quite so self-sacrificial as Edward.

Many thanks for staying with me on this fic! The next therapy session will likely span a couple of chapters so I hope you enjoy it. Jen xx

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2009 05:30 PM · On: Special Talents

Ah, dear Edward, thou art thick as a brick.  The one and only thing that Bella needs to heal her of all her ills is ....  YOU!  You are her philosopher's stone.  Her panacea.  (And vice-versa, one might add ...)  I suppose that is terribly codependent ...  Wonder if Nina will be able to unweave that web ....?  No pressure ... !  :P



Author's Response:

In all his angsty self-blame, Edward cannot see the forest through the trees. I'm being mean to him by making him scramble to figure out why Bella is taking risks with her life when her REAL motivation is for her to hear his own voice! He's going to feel like an idiot when he figures that out.

You are really speaking my language, D. I totally see B/E as codependent! Nina has her work cut out for her, that's for sure. No pressure! hee hee Hey, you got a Harry Potter reference in there with the "philosopher's stone" comment ;-)

I have loved reading your insightful reviews. Arigato!

Reviewer: JRbtsn (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2009 05:28 PM · On: Special Talents

That was a tough chapter. Bella really is hurting and so is Edward. Great writing. :)

Joanie



Author's Response:

Hey Joanie-girl! It sucks to see both of our protagonists hurting but this is a fic about healing, so hopefully they will start to emerge from their misery soon. Therapy makes everything better, ha ha. Thanks for your comments!

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2009 05:13 PM · On: Reckless and Stupid

So, the plot thickens regarding Nina and her family.  Physician heal thyself?   Or wounded healer?   Where is the line?   And will she be able to avoid counter-transference in the course of Bella's therapy, I wonder ... ?

Very interested in the names you are using, here, btw.  What tribe/language are they?

Rock on.



Author's Response:

I like the concept of "wounded healer"! And this fic might involve "client heal the physician" as much as vice versa. Ooo, and you know about counter-transference? I'm impressed!

I just did some quick internet research for the Native American names. Whitefish comes from the Wawaazisii group and Hehewuit is a Hopi name meaning "warrior mother spirit." I wanted to make Wuti a spitfire ;-) so I figured that name would be appropriate.

That's so sweet of you to leave reviews for every chapter!

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.