Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Mimiteh
Reviewer: Katara97 (Signed) · Date: January 23, 2010 12:22 AM · On: Hogs and Wolves and Bears, Oh My

Ooh, Charlie and Nina? That could be interesting..

I think Edward should use Masen for his last name and Bipolar for his diagnosis. =]



Author's Response:

Hey Sondra, thank you for supporting my story. You are not the first person to suggest Masen and I like that idea. Hmm, Bipolar, huh? That might stretch my psychologist skills because Bipolar is a diagnosis that is somewhat difficult to diagnose. He certainly seems moody enough to fit the depression part of Bipolar! And Nina would be very adept at diagnosing it after having a husband and a son with the disorder. I'll mull over that for a while--I appreciate the idea!

Reviewer: Camilla (Signed) · Date: January 22, 2010 09:09 PM · On: Hogs and Wolves and Bears, Oh My

In a beautiful short novel I read years ago (The tapestry of the Unicorn) a vampire who is also an university professor, loses it and attacks a woman without caution. Nothing happens, because other people arrive, but he is forced to seek psychiatric help or he will lose his tenure. He goes to this woman shrink and he makes her believe that he is delusonaly thinking to be a vampire ...

A fantastic story ....



Author's Response:

What an interesting story idea, Laura. I have some thoughts about Edward and Nina's initial interactions that won't exactly fit with any revelation of his vampire status, but it is something to think about. We all know that Edward is delusional in believing that leaving Bella will help her, not hurt her ;-) Many thanks for the review!

Reviewer: danni18 (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2010 11:43 AM · On: Totems

wow, we learned so much. Very insightful...Bella's description on Edward. I'm glad her and Nina are connecting.I think it is because they have more in common than they think. And the details about Nina;s son, didn;t see that coming, puts a whole new twist on things. Now we just have the mystery as to how Nina fits in with the Blacks. Great chapter



Author's Response:

Hi Danni,

I just submitted the next chapter, which will explain Nina's connection to the Blacks. Dun dun dun . . . soap opera!

It was difficult figuring out how Bella would describe Edward, particularly when she had to hide his vampire status. I'm glad you found it insightful, and I'm also happy that you are enjoying the relationship developing between therapist and client.

Thanks, hon! Jen xx

Reviewer: LetMISAlive (Signed) · Date: January 12, 2010 12:01 AM · On: Totems

So I thought I’d say more...


 


You don’t want Bella to come across as weak?


It’s true that she “willingly sacrificed her life for Renee, facing the most frightening of our kind”.  That was brave (albeit not well thought out), although she probably believed that she didn’t have a choice at the time – the life of her mom, who she loves, was in danger.


As to NOT being afraid of vampires…  I’m not sure I’d call that strong.  Bella seems to be attracted to danger / risk (even before the motor bike!) – it intrigues her.  The saying “curiosity kills the cat” comes to mind.  Luckily she has a mountain lion to protect her!  ;)


She does have a weakness – this ridiculous undervaluing herself and overvaluing Edward.  When does the anger at him for him leaving her (even tricking her for making her think that he loved/liked her?) kick in??  Sometimes you just have to get over yourself - pick up your socks and deal!  Life is hard, small fry.


 


I enjoyed the private-joke humour:   “he said that my scent – that I smelled good”…  Nina thinking that Edward must be “intuitive”…“You know how some people just seem to be able to read minds? Well, he was really good at that.”…  ha ha


 


<< Feeling like she was somehow missing something, Nina gave up that line of questioning.”  >>   Is that a good idea?


 


<<  Nina resumed, “I however, know that you possess a multitude of strengths that would make boys clamor to date you”.  Bella silently disagreed.  >>  Fair enough.  What would Nina know.  We all know what she’s being paid to do…


 


<< A wistful look crossed Bella’s pale face.  “It was his soul… his beautiful, sensitive, tortured soul.”  >>  Not just his entrancing vampire beauty?  I couldn’t help but feel in Twilight that his “vampireness” had transfixed her – consumed her thoughts – even though she quite literally didn’t know a stitch about him.  Perhaps that’s just how it began.  Edward does have a sensitive, tortured ‘soul’…


 


Edward thinking << She’ll eventually forget that you ever existed >> Poor Edward has low self esteem too!


<< He had tried to erase himself from her memory, but he had failed. >>  Yes, dipswitch!  


 


<< Nina was surprised by the sudden loquaciousness of her client. >>  Same!  I guess she hasn’t been able to talk to anyone about Edward…


 


<< Nina was beginning to get why Bella and her boyfriend had been so attracted to each other, bonded by their deep sense of altruism.  She was also starting to comprehend why there had been a limited shelf-life for such an entangled, codependent relationship like theirs.  Their enmenshment had become too intense; too suffocating.  But it would likely be some time before Bella could understand the dynamic forces pushing them together; the same forces that inevitably seemed to pull them apart  >>


Ooh!  Perceptive Nina!  ;)


 


<< “Ideally, a good relationship should make you both stronger, not weaker.”  Respectively, Edward and Bella considered her words. >>  So true!  I’m glad they’re thinking about that! 


Their relationship make Edward feel stronger; more complete.  It should make Bella feel stronger - not merely consist of Edward protecting fragile little Bella.  Then again, she should be able to stand on her own two feet.  She’s not ready for a ‘relationship’ if she can’t survive (and thrive!) without him.  Two half-people don’t make a happy whole!


 


It was interesting (and thorough!) how you did research on native American totems and included them in the chapter!  It makes sense for Nina to think of such things.


Bella thinks that she has a wolf animal guide?  Nina thought that too?  Interesting…… 


 


<<  He’s big,” Bella retored, finding herself grinning, recalling his sunny smile.  “And goofy”.            “That’s one of the first times I’ve seen you smile,” Nine marvelled, and the comment made Bella’s smile vanish as if suddenly remembering that she was not supposed to experience one moment of happiness following his departure from her life.        “I know you’re working really hard on this depression thing.” >>     Exactly, Bella.  Choices…


<<  Bella considered her words  >>  I’m glad that despite being dragged into therapy, Bella’s considering Nina’s words, and is not just being defensive  :)


 


Edward a bat!  How fitting!  hee hee


 


<< (Edward) realised how much he appreciated the serenity of the silence; a quiet that had only previously been achieved when he had been alone with Bella.  >>  I hadn’t thought of that!  It makes sense that he can’t read the mind of the person he’s meant to be with!


<<  He was piled under an Olympic Mountain of regret.  >>  Aw, poor Edward!  But something tells me that he’s going to be able to make this right!


 


Yay for Edward figuring out which thoughts he can/can’t hear of Nina’s! 


 


Overprotective Edward again, making decisions for Bella.  How exactly is staying away from Bella protecting her from vampires?  They already know that she knows about them, right?    That’s what the Volturi didn’t like?  Did they come to some sort of arrangement with Edward?


 


Edward  << I’m sure I can drum up some fake psychiatric diagnosis >> There’s no need to, Edward!


<<Would you please stay and listen to Nina’s phone call to her ex-husband?  Maybe you’ll learn something useful for when I go in there myself. >>  Serious violation of Nina’s privacy!!!


 


<< “How could you ever forget February fourteenth??”  >>  Me?  NEVER!  ;)


 


Nina  << “I should have seen it…..I should have stopped him” >>  SO hard for a mother.  Suicide - although you’re not thinking about it at the time - is selfish.


 


Nina’s ex wants to stop calling each other?  (Not like she finds it easy!)  << “You psychologists have to process every damn little thing, but what’s the point, Nina? >>  He’s already dead.        Okay, hanging up was harsh!  There are clearly lots of unresolved issues between those two…  maybe part of them still loves each other, but the suicide of their son clouds that over?  Of course, it looks like we have to make way for Charlie… *tries to balance on the ethical boundary; fails*


 


<< creator of harmony and protector of children.  Judging by her last phone call, she had utterly failed on both counts  >>  Aw, shame.


 


Okay, that’s it for now.  ;)   Have a good day!



Author's Response:

OMG! I don't know what's made you start to write novel-length reviews, but I sure do LIKE it!

Bella is undoubtedly brave in the books, but I agree with you that her undervaluing herself is a weakness (I like your use of "undervalue"/"overvalue"--I might have to steal that ;-) I find the whole swooning-because-I-can't-survive-without-him rather weak as well:

<< Their relationship make Edward feel stronger; more complete.  It should make Bella feel stronger - not merely consist of Edward protecting fragile little Bella.  Then again, she should be able to stand on her own two feet.  She’s not ready for a ‘relationship’ if she can’t survive (and thrive!) without him.  Two half-people don’t make a happy whole! >>

I cannot agree more. It might be a good thing that he left in the long run. It helped Edward deal with her yummy scent better, and in this fic it hopefully will help Bella become more of a whole person.

<< When does the anger at him for him leaving her (even tricking her for making her think that he loved/liked her?) kick in?? >>

Excellent question. To me it seems like when people are feeling anger that they are progressing through their grief/loss/trauma, so hopefully Bella will get angry at one point.

<< The saying “curiosity kills the cat” comes to mind. >>

Hmm, maybe one of Bella's totem is the cat ;-) Now that I think about it, Bella and Charlie need a cat living with them, don't you think? A cat would be great to cuddle up with when she's feeling depressed. It workds for me!

I'm glad you enjoyed the private jokes. Bella has to walk a fine line not to reveal the Cullens' carniverous habits.

<< Feeling like she was somehow missing something, Nina gave up that line of questioning.”  >>   Is that a good idea?

Probably not, but it moved the story along! ;-P

<< I couldn’t help but feel in Twilight that his “vampireness” had transfixed her – consumed her thoughts – even though she quite literally didn’t know a stitch about him.  Perhaps that’s just how it began.  Edward does have a sensitive, tortured ‘soul’… >>

Interesting comments. I know you said that was a major problem you had with Twilight--that she was simply "enthralled" by his vampireness and that therefore she was taken advantage of. But I do think there was something more there, since she wasn't the least attracted to Emmett, Jasper, James, Laurent, or Carlisle. I think she found a kindred spirit in terms of caretaking and self-sacrifice, as well as intellectually. Their exchange about "So the lion fell in love with the lamb" . . . "What a stupid lamb" . . . "What a masochistic lion" demonstrated this special connection in my opinion. Bella is older than her years, which makes her a good match for a 104 year-old 17 year-old.

Hee hee, you called Edward "dipswitch". ;-D

<< I guess she hasn’t been able to talk to anyone about Edward… >>

Good point! She's been dying for some girl-talk.

<< I’m glad that despite being dragged into therapy, Bella’s considering Nina’s words, and is not just being defensive  :) >>

I wouldn't have it any other way ;-) Nina has charms of her own that are breaking through Bella's defenses.

<< I hadn’t thought of that!  It makes sense that he can’t read the mind of the person he’s meant to be with! >>

This point was made clearer to me by Elise Shaw in her Carlisle/Esme fic "Never Alone".

<< Overprotective Edward again, making decisions for Bella.  How exactly is staying away from Bella protecting her from vampires?  They already know that she knows about them, right? >>

I can't stand when he makes decisions for her. At this point in the story, the Volturi do not know about Bella. But it is a good question--why didn't Edward realize that Bella was vulnerable to vampire attacks when he was away? Laurent and Victoria have a good go at her in New Moon, while he is nowhere to be found. I think that he was so blinded by James targeting Bella because he wanted to hurt Edward. That destroyed Edward.

<< Edward  << I’m sure I can drum up some fake psychiatric diagnosis >> There’s no need to, Edward! >>

 

Harsh! ;-)

<<Would you please stay and listen to Nina’s phone call to her ex-husband?  Maybe you’ll learn something useful for when I go in there myself. >>  Serious violation of Nina’s privacy!!!

 

Ooo, Nixy does NOT like invasions of privacy.

 

<< “How could you ever forget February fourteenth??”  >>  Me?  NEVER!  ;)

 

Better not!

 

To lose your child would be devastating, but suicide makes it even worse. Poor Nina.

 

<< There are clearly lots of unresolved issues between those two…  maybe part of them still loves each other, but the suicide of their son clouds that over? >>

 

That is exactly what I wanted to convey.

 

<< Okay, that’s it for now. >>

 

That's ALL? *giggles* Wow, muchisimas gracias Nix!!!!!

Reviewer: obsessed668 (Signed) · Date: January 11, 2010 05:12 PM · On: Totems

im baaaaack! haha
loved this chapter, the info on the totems was really interesting.
im not  sure how edward would be able to hide his appearance in forks so easily? its a small town - please tell me that should bella & edward meet up again its not because she see's him in the therapy waiting room or something!
sorry, rambling...
amazing amazing chapter
i looked at the totem website -- i think i'm a cat, although i think its hard to judge yourself, but yeah.
love love
cant wait for more
karina xx



Author's Response:

A cat, hmm? Mysterious, independent, sensual guardian? Sounds like some characteristics that Dr. Karina possesses too. (BTW you need to catch up on Spark because some interesting things are happening to your character hee hee). I have my kitty snuggled up next to me on the sofa and I adore cats.

<< im not  sure how edward would be able to hide his appearance in forks so easily? >>

Great question. He has to be extremely careful not to reveal his presence--I should explain this more in the story. He does have the advantage of knowing when somebody is coming since he can read their thoughts, although he does not have that luxury with Bella of course (or part of the time with Nina). However, he does know when Bella's next therapy session is since he is eavesdropping, so I don't plan to have them run into e/o in the waiting room (hilarious idea by the way!) His presence might leak out at some point in the future though . . .

Thanks for the awesome review, Karina! Jen xx

Reviewer: ekimmuh (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2010 01:10 PM · On: Special Talents

I think this was my favorite chapter so far. I really liked the interaction between Edward and Jasper. And I loved it when Edward flashed back to Bella's birthday. I'm really hoping we will be seeing more of Jasper.



Author's Response:

Thanks for your review, Eki! Jasper will be in the next few chapters at least. I love his "special talent" and want to include him in this fic. The mind-reading/emotional manipulation combo makes Edward and Jasper simply fascinating characters!

Reviewer: EliseShaw (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2010 12:37 PM · On: Totems

Oh wow, Edward in therapy! I can't wait :-). I thought you did an especially fine job of having Nina help Bella see herself more clearly, or at least try to. The characterization of Bella felt especially sound... something that I think very few people get right when they write her.



Author's Response:

Yes, Edward in therapy *laughs evilly* I can't wait, either.

Bella is convinced that she is a loser who doesn't deserve beautiful Edward, but perhaps Nina is starting to break through a bit to try to convince her otherwise. Damn Bella's shield! It not only blocks Edward. ;-) Since this fic is based in canon, I very much appreciate your comment that Bella seemed in character. Thanks, Elise!

Reviewer: JRbtsn (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2010 09:59 AM · On: Totems

LOL! Cheetah suits him. So if you're drawn to an animal, that's your totem? Interesting. Suppose you are drawn to an animal you are so allergic to, it will kill to be around it for more than a few minutes? Ah, such is my plight. :(  Anyway, This is an interesting story. :) And Edward is going to be Nina's patient!!?? Oh yeah, I want to see her get into his head. *g* Looking forward to it!

Joanie



Author's Response:

Hey Joanie!

Actually, if you check out that site, your totem very well could be an animal you're allergic to. A totem could be an animal that scares you greatly, or produces some sort of negative reaction. I'm wondering if you're referring to a cat, since I know lots of folks are allergic to them. Thankfully my grey furball Izzie does not make me congested. But if the animal might kill you maybe it's more likely to be a wasp or some sort of stinging insect. I hope you never run into the lethal animal, whatever it is.

So you think that Nina is going to get into EDWARD's head? Hee hee. He's hoping for the opposite, but I think that you are a good fortune-teller! Thanks for your review, hon. Jen xx

Reviewer: sistergrimm (Signed) · Date: January 08, 2010 05:08 PM · On: Totems

is anyone else incredibly annoyed that edward thinks because he isn't  human, because he has lived on Earth longer than bella he has the right to decide her destiny? by somehow living longer and having mind reading powers he is wiser than bella, therfore can trust in his decision to save bella from himself?

i think it's pretty obvious wisdom isn't always like wine; it doesn't get better with age...

this is what i don't like about s.m. She builds up all this angst and in the end it isn't even acknowledged that edward didn't treat bella like the equal he kept glorifying her to be. Everything is all tip top and dandy after Bella wakes up in her room after volterra.

 

as i said before, i like your story :) You did what s.m  didn't have the balls to do: show edward the gritty mess he left behind.

E's session should be interesting, as i said before, that boy needs to get some sense in him soon...and as for bella, i hope she ends up stronger as a character in this one.

thank you for this story. it's a nice change from the wannabe-twilight-crappy- as-hell-edited-bella-running-back-to edward-after-years stories crazy fangirls seem so prone to writing about.

seriously, with all those fan fics out there, you gotta wonder whats happening to todays female youth....

p.s  i apologize for writing such along, rant-filled review, but i just need to get this out once and for all. :p

 



Author's Response:

Hey Cass! Thanks for the great review. You and I see eye-to-eye, chica.

<< is anyone else incredibly annoyed that edward thinks because he isn't  human, because he has lived on Earth longer than bella he has the right to decide her destiny? >>

*furiously waves hand in the air, jumping up and down on my seat* Me, me, me! I have a serious problem with Edward "protecting" her by making decisions for her. Bella is a very mature, capable young woman (even if she isn't 100+ years old) and she deserves better.

I do give credit to SM for finally teaching Edward that he needs to stop making decisions for Bella. It didn't happen until the end of Eclipse, when Edward told her (p. 617 in the hardcover version): "No. We're doing this your way. Because my way doesn't work. I call you stubborn, but look at what I've done. I've clung with such idiotic obstinacy to my idea of what's best for you, though it's only hurt you. Hurt you so deeply, time and time again."

I clapped after that speech. Bravo, Edward! I hope he can get to the same place in my fic, with Nina's help. He's already starting to doubt the "wisdom" of leaving her, observing her current devastation.

I definitely want to make Bella a stronger character. Please let me know if she's coming off as weak in this fic.

<< thank you for this story. it's a nice change from the wannabe-twilight-crappy- as-hell-edited-bella-running-back-to edward-after-years stories crazy fangirls seem so prone to writing about. >>

This cracked me up. There are a lot of great stories out there, but I can't read ones that feature a weak Bella swooning over her savior Edward. *gags*

I hope that rant made you feel better. I certainly appreciated hearing it! Many thanks, Cass. Jen xx

Reviewer: marinacity (Signed) · Date: January 08, 2010 02:09 AM · On: Totems

"I, however, know that you possess a multitude of strengths that would make boys clamor to date you" - Thinking of me when you wrote that Jen ;)

 

"How could he have ever let this exquisite girl go" - oh how the green toothed one must think this everyday of his no doubt miserable existence.

 

"the single in a nauseating couples' world" - Perfect!

 

"I know you're working very hard at this depression thing" - I do Jen, some days it fair wears me out!

 

"So, do you have any plans I should know about for this weekend? Like wanting to approach strange men at a bar?" - Not this weekend but on the 18th I shall be in Chicago and I am kind of hoping I will be approached by strange men in bars! :D

 

Give Edward the condition of sex addiction Jen!

 

I think I have a bear totem...I feel an empathy with them, I certainly have the same hairy legs.

 



Author's Response:

This was one of the funniest reviews I've read from you in a long time, Lorniekins! I'm still laughing. You even referenced Green-Toothed Tony! Ah, the good ole days.

<< "I, however, know that you possess a multitude of strengths that would make boys clamor to date you" - Thinking of me when you wrote that Jen ;) >>

I was thinking of BOTH of us, of course! ;-D Lucky the men are falling all over us as we stumble through the nauseating couples' world.

<< "I know you're working very hard at this depression thing" - I do Jen, some days it fair wears me out! >>

*cackles* It IS hard work, isn't it?

You're going to Chicago on the 18th? *squee* How long will you be there? I'm sure you'll meet lots of strange men, and hopefully they won't be strangers for long.

Sex addiction for chaste Edward? Bwa-ha-ha!

Bears, huh? *asks to borrow your tweezers* Thanks for the laughs!

Reviewer: marinacity (Signed) · Date: January 08, 2010 01:36 AM · On: Lost and Found

Edward, Edward, Edward!

It's a good job you're gorgeous because you are a peeping tom and an eavesdropper of the highest order! You are now nosing into Nina's private business.

What a mess you have made - it's good that you feel remorse you naughty boy. Come on over here and let me punish you! ;)



Author's Response:

That was a good tongue-lashing of Edward, my dear. Keep it coming! He needs to learn how to be a good boyfriend.

Hmm, what do you have planned in your punishment? You like the naughty boys, do you? ;-)

Reviewer: LetMISAlive (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2010 09:12 PM · On: Totems

“I can’t take it anymore.  There’s something terribly wrong with me”   I’m a……… werewolf?


 


Oh wow!  Edward’s going into therapy?        That’s a great way to lure the listener out of the shadows, but my goodness, give the girl a bit of breathing room!


 


I had lots of thoughts about the characters as I read this chapter, but I’m afraid this review has to be brief.  Well done on yet another good instalment, Jen.



Author's Response:

Excellent guess about Adam!

Yep, Stalker boy is now invading Bella's therapy space. Not nice at all. But he may get his comeuppance, hee hee.

Thanks for your review, Nixy--I always appreciate it. I bet people around here wonder what the hell "Let MiSa live" means!

Reviewer: vamplicious (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2010 10:07 AM · On: Totems

You already know how much I liked the chapter.

I can't wait to see how Nina will help Bella getting a more balanced image of herself and her dependence on (or is it 'of' in english?) Edward.

I also like that you're portraying Nina - the psycologist - as a completely ordinary woman, having her own ups and downs. Much too often people expect therapist to be calm, well-balanced persons, always on top of things and ready to deal with the clients in a professional way. Of course it's not like that in real life. Ninas weaknes -and bad day-  somehow made me like her even better! :)

I can't wait for Edward getting into therapy. *grinning*

Another awesome chapter, Jen!



Author's Response:

Yes I do know, you review machine ;-)

Can Nina help Bella get a more balanced view of herself and her dependence on Edward? It will be a long road. Can Nina help Edward get a more balanced view of himself and his protectiveness over Bella? At least she'll have the chance, now!

<< Much too often people expect therapist to be calm, well-balanced persons, always on top of things and ready to deal with the clients in a professional way. Of course it's not like that in real life >>

I don't know if you've read some of my reviews, but a few readers thought it was unprofessional of Nina to go ahead with the session or to answer the call in session. I'm not saying that she was right to do either of those things, but it is real life that sometimes you have a crappy day but you still try to be there for your clients. I am definitely trying to portray a real person with Nina's character, as well as explore the strengths and weaknesses of the Twilight characters.

I'm glad you're looking forward to Mr. Cullen's therapy sessions. I'm eager to write them! Thank you, vampy! *smooches and squishes vampy*

Reviewer: Bart (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2010 08:06 AM · On: Totems

Thanks for weaving your understanding of totems into the plotline. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Bart. A coworker introduced me to the idea of totems and I thought it would fit well with this fic. I might bring in a Native American folk story as well, at some point. :-)

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2010 05:44 AM · On: Totems

Lovely portrait of the gulf between people's self-perceptions and the ways that others perceive them.  To simply see, without a viewpoint, without projections, so hard.

 

* * *     * * *     * * *

 

"This psychologist is good at reading people; she's quite intuitive. I think she would know if Bella was in real danger. I just wish I could get inside her head more consistently - then I would feel better."

…   …   …

Suddenly Jasper could feel Edward's granite shoulder lock up under his touch. "I've got it," Edward hissed. "I know how I can read Nina's thoughts better."

Jasper gave him a questioning look while Bella's truck engine roared to life.

Smiling broadly, Edward announced, "You're looking at Dr. Carlton's newest client."

 

=O

Co-opting the therapy, Edward?   Naughty, naughty!

 

* * *     * * *     * * *

 

I can't take it anymore. There's something terribly wrong with me.

Adam's voice is absolutely heart-rending.  I could envision an entire fic just about him ...

 

* * *     * * *     * * *

 

She felt dumbfounded by the abrupt change in her mood, from suffering to sanguine.

Thank you for relieving the angst with just the right touch of pun!

 

Lovely chapter, can't wait for more!



Author's Response:

Hey miao! Many thanks for your kind words. I don't know you well enough to know what your totem might be, though I was wondering about a deer (Compassion, peace, intellectual, gentle, caring, kind, subtlety, gracefulness, femininity, gentleness, innocence, and seller of adventure). I was trying to find one representing "going to the beat of a different drummer" because that's a little how I see you.

<< Lovely portrait of the gulf between people's self-perceptions and the ways that others perceive them. >>

I was trying to think about which characters you were referring to with that comment--definitely Bella and Edward, and Nina too? Maybe John as well.

I had that idea long ago of making Edward go to therapy too, and I can't wait to get him on the couch, hee hee. He is naughty! Should present some interesting ethical dilemmas for Nina as well, if she figures out who he is.

<< Adam's voice is absolutely heart-rending.  I could envision an entire fic just about him ... >>

What an interesting idea! Thanks for suggesting that.

Reviewer: adler48 (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2010 01:57 AM · On: Forks in the Road

Jen, I want to hug you. And kiss you. And thank you. First, getting chapter 7 was like a Christmas present on a drab day in a non-Christmasy season for me. And it was great. I now appreciate it more than ever. Why?

Well, while waiting (hint hint....) I read some other fan fics. For the first time seeing the idea never really appealed to me. And even though I am sure there are some gems out there, I really didn't enjoy any of what I was reading. For different reasons, sometimes I didn't particularly enjoy that specific universe but more often than not it was really just because it wasn't written very well. Hard to explain - basically you could feel the author would have a story mapped out mentally and then rushing to get there. More rushed than sort of natural progression, not enough time spent on conversations, descriptions etc that would make a story seem more natural.

Whereas you can really write! In fact, I want to hire you to just write Twilight stuff and then we can get someone to make movies and a tv series as well of the Cullens life! Haha, well, I guess that won't happen, but it sure would be great. But really, I don't have a feeling you are violating Stephenie's universe, it all fits in so nicely. The characterization, the language - everything.

I'm not sure what I enjoy more - the Nina storyline or the Cullens. Love it all. The only thing so far I didn't like was her answering the phone during the one session, I found that incredibly unprofessional. Just the fact that it could ring while she was with a client. 

Other than that all good, chapter 7 was especially good! So, all in all, can't wait for more! 

Sorry, I suck at detailed reviews, maybe for the next chapter :)



Author's Response:

Rikki,

What an awesome treat for me to read when I woke up this morning! I want to hug you back for those lovely things you said!

I'm just getting to know this fandom but trust me, there are some wonderful stories out there. It's just hard to sort through so many to find the one that really speaks to you. I'm constantly impressed by the writing ability of fan fic writers, though.

Wow, a movie or TV series just about the Cullens? That would be fascinating. SM certainly has created some spellbinding characters.

You're not the first to dislike Nina answering the phone call during session. Others have thought it was unprofessional. These comments are very interesting for me to read, since some of the therapy aspects are based on RL experiences. For example, my phone does ring during the session. As a rule I do not answer it. (I guess you're suggesting that it would be more appropriate to turn off the ringer during session? I would worry that I would forget to turn it back on, and sometimes clients are calling me at the last minute to make scheduling changes or because they are lost or something). Anyway, on rare occasions the call doesn't go through to voicemail, and I may answer it just to stop the incessant ringing. But I never have a long drawn-out convo while I have a client in my office. However, Nina was having a bad day and really not at her best during this session, so the unprofessional behavior was kind of par for the course that day. On most days, Nina is an excellent therapist, and I hope you'll be able to see that in later sessions.

This review was great! Chapter 8 is in the queue and I hope it will post soon! Many, many thanks Radler.

Reviewer: vamplicious (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2010 10:57 AM · On: Lost and Found

<"I just . . . I just don't understand how I'm supposed to share everything about my life, when you and Charlie don't share anything about yours.">

Hehe...Teenager in action... But it's fine with me. I want to know too....;)

<. . .attempting to forget about ornery diabetic mothers and broken ex-husbands and beautiful fifteen year-old boys and gleaming handguns and manic-depression . . . > Hm . . . interesting. . . I'm still curious!

What a great therapy session! Bella's really beginning opening up to Nina. Once again you're doing an awesome job describing Bellas pain/agony. And it must have been pure torture to Edward listening to this. I felt really sorry for him (even though I think he deserved to hear it!)

I like Nina's therapy-style. She doing a good job with Bella in this session. I have a feeling, this is pretty close to the way you're working..?? :)

I'm still so intrigued by this story - both the plotline and the characterizations. Keep it up, Jen!



Author's Response:

Hey Vampy! You were the review machine on Saturday, girl! Everywhere I turn, there are reviews from you waiting for me. *hugs*

I certainly have heard comments like that from clients (not just teenager clients), ruing the one-way relationship. Just a fact of therapy, I guess.

Although Bella is reticent to disclose too much in therapy, I figured that her compliance and desire to please authority figures would come into play, allowing her to talk about herself rather soon into the relationship. I do want Edward to hear the consequences of his decision, mostly so that he might think about reversing it!

I'm trying to make Nina her own character with her own style, but obviously I write what I know in terms of the structure, pace, and content of a therapy session. Things move much more slowly when writing a session than when living it, so Nina is likely a lot more insightful and clever than I am!

Your encouragement means a lot to me, vampy! Thanks, chica.

Reviewer: vamplicious (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2010 10:25 AM · On: Life Without Ed

I'm so eager to learn more about Nina's past. You're giving us these little clues all the time. Nicely done. Keeping us curious.

I like how elegantly we're twitching back and forth between Nina/Bella (and ther therapy) and Edward/Jasper's conversation. Good flow. 

 <"How do you know that?" "It's the particular flavor of her emotions. Esme feels the same way when she remembers her baby boy that died. It's like a deep maternal guilt or something.">

*Nodding* I think you're right. I had a few mothers, who had lost their child. Their grief seemed to have 'a particular flavor'.

<Bad things happened in the woods, as far as Bella was concerned.>

Aww...poor Bella. :( I liked the line though. Good example of Bellas sarcasm.

You're doing a great job describing Bellas pain/depression. (I get a feeling you've been talking to some depressed people...Are you a shrink or something...?? hehe;)

<"When I was in medical school, it was often believed that the students coming from the most dysfunctional families were the ones to choose the specialty of psychiatry. They were perhaps trying to figure out their own problems most of all.">

Hehe... No comments! ;) 

<"What the heck is this?" she retorted, pointing to the light-yellow cover with dark-green print. "Life Without Ed?" Edward looked thrown.>

Haha. Very clever, Jen. I never read the book, but I've heard of it. Seems to be fitting in perfectly here.

<"I don't like this book at all," Edward muttered.> LMAO! No, I bet you don't!!

Awesome!! Next chapter! *running of to hit the button*



Author's Response:

When you're writing an alternate ending canon story, you gotta insert some intrigue in there somewhere, and I'm trying to do that with Nina since we all already know Bella and Edward's pasts. I'm glad you're anticipating learning more about Nina. Much of her history is rather sad, unfortunately. Hmm, maybe I'll insert some happy memories in there too, now that I think about it. I love responding to your reviews because it gets me thinking about some potential directions for the story. See, it's really YOUR fault that my stories are so long, vampy. ;-)

At first I was worried that it would be hard to follow the back and forth from Bella/Nina to Edward/Jasper but actually it has provided kind of a cool plot device. It's also really fun to reveal flashbacks through Edward doing mindreading.

Mothers losing their children has to be an extreme sense of devastation, I'm thinking.

Glad you think that I'm writing depression accurately! Some of that is personal experience--I think we can all relate to feeling blue now and then. Nothing is quite as anguished as unrequited love during the teenage years. That is true misery!

I had to poke a little fun at us, vampy. ;-)

When I thought about Edward and the book "Life Without Ed", I cracked up instantly. Poor guy! I feel sorry for any man named Edward after reading that book.

Thanks for the thoughtful review!

Reviewer: vamplicious (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2010 10:15 AM · On: Life Without Ed

*rubbing hands against each other*

Yay! Two chapters to catch up on. And they are apparently both therapy-chapters - my favourites!

*diving in*



Author's Response:

Yay for all these reviews! *jumps up and down* Yep, 6 & 7 were both therapy chapters, and so was 8!

*runs away from the splash*

Reviewer: danni18 (Signed) · Date: December 30, 2009 10:52 AM · On: Lost and Found

Wow, great chapter, I feel like Nina and Bella are rally conecting. And poor Nina, now we have half of her background..you gave us clues about her son. I think Bella chose to share with Nina because she could tell she has her share of pain and also Nina shared a lot with her. Also maybe Bella needed to open up to someone and it might be easier to doo that with someone who is not close to you. Anyway nicely written, read very quickly



Author's Response:

Nina and Bella are indeed connecting, which hopefully will help Bella make good use of therapy. I believe there are 3 major threads to Nina's backstory--one is revealed in this chapter and I think I'll get to another in the next chapter. I agree with you that their shared experiences made it easier for Bella to open up. Thanks for sticking with me on this one, Danni! Jen xx

Reviewer: EliseShaw (Signed) · Date: December 29, 2009 04:36 AM · On: Lost and Found

Sorry it's taken me a few days to get to this, we just got back from visiting relatives and the internet was touch and go!

Excellent job with this chapter. I thought it was especially effective how you were able to capture the terror and helplessness Nina would have felt when she was attacked without having to be graphic. That fear was evident in every detail from her hair being pulled to the coldness of the car hood. I was so thankful when Charlie showed up, even though I knew it was fiction!



Author's Response:

Hi Elise,

I hope it was fun with the relatives. I have a book on my shelf called "When Bad Relatives Happen to Good People" so I'm crossing my fingers that the book doesn't apply to you! ;-) Lots of people are out for the holidays and that was probably a nice break from the computer.

Thank you! I really have no desire to be graphic in this fic, especially knowing that this fandom contains a lot of teens. I've written a couple of NC-17 stories but I kind of like SM's approach of not going into detail while still writing a touching romance. Of course, I haven't really gotten to any sort of romance in this story yet.

Reviewer: putu2sleep (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2009 06:43 PM · On: Life Without Ed

OH, I couldn't miss the jab you wrote about mental health professionals.  I know that psychiatrists and psychologists are different and come from different backgrounds, but the chance to tease about the functional status of the "profession" as a whole was something I simply couldn't resist.  :)

I am still quite intrigued by the mysteries in Nina's background,

Take care, my friend.

Nora



Author's Response:

I obviously enjoyed taking a stab at my own profession too! ;-P There are definitely some nutjob mental health professionals out thee. But not me, of course! hee hee

I don't think you've read chapter 7 yet but one piece of Nina's background is revealed. Thanks Nora!

Reviewer: dandyangie (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2009 05:35 PM · On: Reckless and Stupid

Wow.  As someone who is in therapy (and hates it), it is interesting to read something by someone who is a therapist.  I love it by the way.  I love that Edward is in town and I like your Bella, she is on par with the books in my opinion.  I'm on to the next chappy, can't wait for more Bella sessions and to see Nina's character progress.



Author's Response:

Hey Angela,

Aw, you hate therapy? LOL. I admit that being in therapy is very difficult at times. I bawled my eyes out most sessions, but it was exactly what I needed. I'm glad you like this Bella. Nina will be learning/growing just as much as Bella, I think. Many thanks for the review! Jen

Reviewer: putu2sleep (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2009 04:38 PM · On: Life Without Ed

I love hearing Edward and Jasper's thought throughout the therapy session.  It seemed odd to me that Nina would take a call during Bella's session.  I can understand why she would cancel her appointments on the anniversary of her lost son's birth, I'm just surprised she "brought it all to work with her."  

Ha!  Edward's comments about those who go it to psychiatry--hilarious.  So tell me, just how true are they?

There are so many subtle comments in this session, I look forward to seeing it all play out.



Author's Response:

Hey Nora! I hope you had a great Christmas.

I was worried that Edward and Jasper inserting snippets of dialogue now and then might be confusing, but so far readers seem to like it and follow it okay.

The phone call thing is based on personal experience. I do not take calls during a session. However, occasionally a call doesn't go through to voicemail and it rings incessantly, annoying the hell out of me and my client, and sometimes I will pick it up just to stop the ringing. Since Nina was having a bad day, she had trouble getting her mom off the phone. I'm glad my mom isn't as exasperating as Nina's mom, but she comes close. Nina was certainly not on the top of her game during this session.

Hmm. I don't know many psychiatrists but most of them seem about as normal as the next person, and I know quite a few well-adjusted psychologists and therapists. However, I think there is something to be said about choosing a psychology-related field to try to figure out ourselves. *takes a deep breath* What is your experience? Hee hee.

Thanks for the review, chica!

Reviewer: ekimmuh (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2009 03:42 PM · On: Reckless and Stupid

Nina sounds like she has some back story. So she is Harry's neice. Interesting.

I was missed Edward in this chapter, but maybe next? :)

Oh and I can't wait to hear about you're plane trip.



Author's Response:

Yep, Nina is Harry's (estranged) niece. You'll be hearing why she and her mom Wuti are not close to the Quileutes, as well as some other pieces of Nina's story. Her connection to Charlie is revealed in Chapter 7.

It's funny because I didn't intend to have Edward be part of this story until much later, but then I learned the error of my ways. ;-) Next chapter is all Edward and Jasper as I recall. Thanks Eki!

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.