Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Mimiteh
Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2010 05:10 PM · On: Forks in the Road

omg I LOVED the book "Real Boys".  That and Reviving Ophelia.

Cheers.



Author's Response:

Both are excellent books, mind twin! ;-D

Reviewer: Bart (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2010 03:44 PM · On: Unipolar

I'm glad she saw right through him!  He will respect her more, now!



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you're glad, Bart! I wasn't sure how Nina busting him out on his lies would go over.  He respects her intuition even more now. Thanks! Jen

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2010 12:37 PM · On: Unipolar

Well, that went well.

Not!!

Jeez, Edward, how ya gonna get back into her office again now???  Send Jasper?  I think he needs some Jedi training to help him with his attachment issues.

But seriously, poor Edward's memories of his human life and family were so poignant.  I have an especially soft spot for boys who didn't get enough affection when they were small.  Gah, boys need it even more than girls.  Maybe if Edward just leads with the truth, Nina will let him back into therapy?

"I've lost my family.  I live with others but am always alone.  I feel like I've lost parts of myself.  I feel abandoned, and afraid to get close to anyone. I feel unworthy of love.  I feel like an empty shell.  Everyone thinks I'm some kind of a golden boy, but I feel ugly inside. I feel like my whole life is a lie."   Etc, etc.

Can't wait for more!



Author's Response:

What a mess. I think Edward went into that too overconfident, given his psychiatric knowledge. It's a little different on the other side of the couch, though. (I should know!) He's the one who knew that Nina was intuitive, and she instantly sensed that something was off.

<< I think he needs some Jedi training to help him with his attachment issues. >>

Hmm, I was unaware that Jedi training could assist with attachment problems? ;-) Does feeling the force help one feel safely loved and connected too?

<< I have an especially soft spot for boys who didn't get enough affection when they were small.  Gah, boys need it even more than girls. >>

*nods* Me too! Edward's sense of vulnerability (a vulnerable vampire? unheard of!) and poignancy really get to me. It makes me pull for him. Have you ever heard of the book "Real Boys" by Pollack? It's a great book about male socialization--how we think we're making boys stronger by emotionally distancing ourselves from them and by not allowing their own emotional expression, when in fact, we are making men weaker.  I really like your idea of Edward being honest with Nina!

Your Edward soliloquy was great. << Everyone thinks I'm some kind of a golden boy, but I feel ugly inside. >> This is totally Edward. << I live with others but am always alone. >> This too. I have a song by John Mayer that I'm planning to use for this fic which totally coincides with these thoughts. Poor Edward!

Many thanks for the thoughtful review, Meow!

Reviewer: marinacity (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2010 06:17 AM · On: Unipolar

Jasper turned more serious. "So you said you're skilled in psychiatric diagnosis." He tilted his head innocently. "What's it called when a patient has an abnormally low sex drive?"

"Hypoactive Sexual Desire Disorder," Edward answered automatically.

Thanks Jen! That's saved me a few quid!

Poor Edward/Tony (what colour are his teeth?)/Anthony - he made a right pig's breakfast of that session. What to do next Edward? Normally I would advise a few drinkies but that's not going to happen. Don't tell me he's going to try again Jen?

 

 



Author's Response:

I'm always happy to save you some quid, Lorne, especially in this economy. ;-D How do you think I know so much about that diagnosis? LOL

Edward/Tony's teeth are pearly white, dammit! And very sharp. ;-)

<< he made a right pig's breakfast of that session >>

I lurve your phrases!

<< Don't tell me he's going to try again Jen? >>

But of course. Thank you for the review, my lovely banner-making marina-city-loving five-star lady!

Reviewer: cilou6 (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2010 05:41 AM · On: Hogs and Wolves and Bears, Oh My

Great again and again!
For some obscure reason I haven't been able to comment the previous chapter, it was great! *has definitely a wide vocabulary!*
Poor Ed experiancing guilt while listening Bella's confession!
He wants to know Nina better, well, let's see if she'll disclose her thoughts any further than with Bella.
I think you could find a way to have Ed listening to Jacob's thoughts when they have their homework sessions at Bella's.
I hope the motorbike riding area is not on the reservation, so the Ed will be able to warn Bella once more!
I need to check if there is another chapter, or I'll be forced to begin my tapping!
:)

Author's Response:

That is odd that you could not review chapter 8. *is puzzled*

I'm glad you're expanding your English vocabulary! Edward has a heap of guilt, that's for sure.

<< I think you could find a way to have Ed listening to Jacob's thoughts when they have their homework sessions at Bella's. >>

Great idea. I forget--when does that happen in the book? What happens before and after the homework session?

<< I hope the motorbike riding area is not on the reservation, so the Ed will be able to warn Bella once more! >>

You are really reading this fic closely, Cecile. Great job! You're picking up on stuff that hardly anyone else has mentioned.

*braces for the tapping* ;-)

Reviewer: cilou6 (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2010 03:55 AM · On: Lost and Found

Great again!
I think Bella is trying to fix Nina's pain in a way. She understood, as she's so clever at understanding others hiden feelings, that she might cure both of them in the process. Bella is a good. Person, so ...
I love the story you built so far!
Next!!!
:)

Author's Response:

<< I think Bella is trying to fix Nina's pain in a way >>

Great catch! I want to show the psychologist healing just like the client. Bella and Edward might be able to help Nina with her grief a little, down the road. Bella is quite a caring person, and it's hard for her to see someone else in pain.

I'm thrilled you love the story so far! Thanks honeybunch.

Reviewer: cilou6 (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2010 01:55 AM · On: Life Without Ed

Hi again! I must say that I always thought that Bella had eating disorder... She didn't seem to eat enough IMO!
Next!
:)

Author's Response:

The actress IS quite thin, though hopefully she is that way genetically since an eating disorder is no way to live.

Reviewer: cilou6 (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2010 01:34 AM · On: Special Talents

I didn't catch on Jasper's particular talent, and I'm happy they seemed to work on Bella. I remember in the book she has one good night, wll, I know why now! :)
Great chapter jent! Thank you!

Author's Response:

Jasper's special talent was described best in the Twilight book. Are you saying that you didn't catch what his talent was? (To manipulate other's emotions). It's the coolest talent in my opinion. He should become a psychologist! Well maybe not, since he would likely kill some of his human clients ha ha.

Thank YOU Cecile!

Reviewer: cilou6 (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2010 01:18 AM · On: Reckless and Stupid

Valentine day is a nice day for a birthday!

Author's Response:

It is indeed. *feels special*

I'm hoping my validation beta might validate chapter 10 here on my birthday. *bats eyelashes*

Reviewer: cilou6 (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2010 12:41 AM · On: Waking Up

Well done!
So my theory about Nina's shut mind was not correct... Maybe she's closing her mind on purpose while dealing with her patients so that her own thoughts/feelings would not interfere with her patient's..
*womderimg if patient is an english word for "medical service client" as in french*
Up to next chap!

Don't you fear the "little" pressure I might eventually put on you to get an update as soon as I'll have finished the last chapter? :)
By the way : HBJ !

Author's Response:

Now your second theory is one that I like a lot! You're the closest yet to what I had in mind.

"Patient" vs. "client" is an interesting dilemma. Medical doctors call the people they see "patients" and some psychologists use the word "patients" too. However, I was trained to use the word "client" in order to encourage a more equal partnership and collaboration and to decrease the power differential.

<< Don't you fear the "little" pressure I might eventually put on you to get an update as soon as I'll have finished the last chapter? :) >>

That is EXACTLY what I fear! LOL. Now I'm going to get pressured for TWO fics, hee hee.

Reviewer: cilou6 (Signed) · Date: February 13, 2010 11:11 PM · On: Stalker

Hi!
Great againb!
Nice! That was exactly my thoughts, how could it be possible for Bella to hear Ed *let's call him Ed if you don't mind* when we know he can't hear her thoughts, and he can't hear thoughts from such a long distance from Brazil to Forks... Very good idea! I'm glad to enter Ed's point of view! And I wonder how he'll manage the Jacob warming surrender episopde... If you go that far!

I think he can't hear Nina's thought because she might be related to the werewolves pack *sorry don't remember e correct word/spelling* and this might be a 'tactic' to prevent Vampires from anticipating the wolves moves (?)
This leads to : is Bella somehow related to them too? Could Jacob be kinda her cousin? And is that that makes her subconsciencly nor afraid from the cullens, kind of atavic skill ?
So, what do YOU think?
*jumps into chap. 3*
:)

Author's Response:

Ha ha, I call him Ed too as you will find out in a later chapter. It's still a little freaky in my story because Edward is not saying his words out loud, yet Bella can still hear him. Hmm, the "Jacob warming surrender episode"? Are you talking about when Jacob tries to kiss her in the kitchen? The motorcycle scene is coming up in chapter 11 so we'll see how Ed handles that.

Interesting theory there! I will say that Bella is not related to Jacob (ew) but I like your thinking there. One reader speculated that Nina was Bella's mom! Hee hee. I have not yet explained in the story why Nina's thoughts are sometimes hidden to Edward, but I will get there. I hope it's a worthy explanation. Thanks cilly!

Reviewer: cilou6 (Signed) · Date: February 13, 2010 10:21 PM · On: Forks in the Road

Hi Jen!
I'm in! Great chapter/story so far. :)
I just imagine how both Bella and Charlie must have felt during this appointment!
Trying to do the best for your kid, but feeling anyway like a betrayor for one part, and having to discose your feelings while having to keep the most unbelievable secret for your own on the other part.
I already like Nina, she seems smart! And I wonder how Charlie and her met!
I now skip to the next chapter, see you!
:)

Author's Response:

Wow, thanks for all the awesome reviews, Cecile! I'm really glad you're on board with this story, and I can't wait for you to read Eclipse and Breaking Dawn.

A lot of my readers have applauded Charlie taking Bella to counseling. It seemed like one way to respond to her depression helpfully. But you're right, he felt like he betrayed her. I guess that's a sign of his love for her--risking her anger to take care of her.

<< having to discose your feelings while having to keep the most unbelievable secret for your own on the other part. >>

Bella has a tough road ahead!

I'm glad you like Nina :-)

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: February 04, 2010 06:25 PM · On: Forks in the Road

Hee hee!  I love jawin’ on your thread.  Hope you don’t mind.

 

So here’s my thoughts about the anger.

To the extent that it is a response to a perceived betrayal of trust or relationship, I would call it appropriate.  So, if Bella is angry at him for ever making overtures to her in the first place (on her assumption that they were a pretense and not real feelings) then yes, damn straight anger is appropriate, and Edward is the appropriate target, as he is the perpetrator of the perfidy.

On the other hand, if her mind set is:  “I was never worthy of him, that’s why he left, and in fact he couldn’t have ever really loved me”, then, although anger is a more empowered mental state than depression, it is not really appropriate to direct that anger at Edward.  The best object of her anger would be whatever force it is that is devaluing her.   Right now, it seems that that force is within her, even though it has been projected onto Edward’s actions, which are then held up as ‘proof’ that she is indeed unworthy of love.  Kind of a self-fulfilling prophecy function of the psyche projection.

So we’ll just all have to see how you have her (and Nina) roll with this.   Write on!!

 

Edward’s identity for therapy/spying purposes.  Hmmm … The name is Bond.  James Bond.  Shaken, not stirred.

 

Diagnosis:  Camilla mentioned the short novel The Vampire Tapestry (the first chapter of it had been published in Omni magazine under the title Unicorn Tapestry).  I had read that, too.  It was AWESOME.

http://www.amazon.com/Vampire-Tapestry-Suzy-McKee-Charnas/dp/0765320827/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1265342081&sr=8-1

I think the ‘vampire delusion’ angle is probably a little too close to home for this universe, though – would have the Volturi in Forks in a New York minute.  How about PTSD from a near-death experience?  



Author's Response:

I love your jawin'! And your thoughts about anger too. I think that Bella is mainly angry at herself, but the thought that Edward might have pretended to love her did make her feel a twinge of resentment. I know that when I went through an intense breakup, I alternated between feeling hurt and angry, and I think that anger is a sign that one is progressing through one's loss.

<< Right now, it seems that that force is within her, even though it has been projected onto Edward’s actions, which are then held up as ‘proof’ that she is indeed unworthy of love. >>

*nods head*

<< The name is Bond.  James Bond.  Shaken, not stirred. >>

LMAO! I giggle when picturing Clientward telling Nina that his name is James Bond!

Wow, two recs for The Vampire Tapestry. Will I like it even though I'm not that into vampires? (Just Edward).

PTSD from a near death experience? As in almost dying from the flu? Very interesting idea. So many great diagnoses to choose from! Thanks, meow!

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: February 04, 2010 05:03 AM · On: Hogs and Wolves and Bears, Oh My

Oh my God, I'm so bummed that I missed this chapter when it first came out.  No chance to weigh in on Edward's identity/diagnosis for therapy.  DANG!!

I like the complexity and interconnection of the backgrounds you are weaving for all of your characters.  Mention of Neah Bay gave me a frisson since I had visited that area when I was a kid.

I find it fascinating how a single wrong premise can throw everything off.   Bella assumes that Edward was pretending to love her, even though she can't come up with a single good reason why he should engage in such a pretense.  I guess her low opinion of herself has shut the gates to reason. (Happens alot!)  The anger that arises is certainly a healthier response to her predicament than the helpless black hole of depression, and yet, it is misdirected.   The one towards whom she should feel the indignation is, in fact, her self.  Or rather her poor self esteem.  There's the real culprit who has failed to see her worth, failed to love her as she deserves.   See ... Edward doesn't even need to be in this picture at all.   =0  Woops!!!   What am I saying???   I should bite my tongue for that!!!  Anyway, I will be fascinated to see how Nina helps Bella navigate this tangled web.

Nice dialogues with Jacob in the shed, and with Charlie over lasagna.

Once he heard her ascend the stairs, Charlie slumped back in his chair, picturing the striking psychologist in his mind. He murmured, "I like her too."

Uh-oh spagetti-o's!



Author's Response:

Hey chica, not too late to weigh in on diagnoses or identity issues! I don't have much time to write during the work-week so I am nowhere near finished with the next chapter.

You've been to Neah Bay? Cool? How about Forks? I found out that the Makah tribe is from Neah Bay, so that's why I brought that locale into the story. When I looked at the map I was surprised to learn that Neah Bay appears to be close to Forks and La Push. The map also helped me visualize that La Push is west of Forks. I'm directionally impaired so I didn't quite catch that from the books.

<< I find it fascinating how a single wrong premise can throw everything off. >>

Isn't that so true? It seems like I spend quite a bit of time exploring different interpretations of events with my clients, who often jump to conclusions that somebody doesn't like them or some other low self-esteem interpretation (I am guilty of this myself). Hopefully Nina can disabuse Bella of her silly belief that she is unlovable.

<< The one towards whom she should feel the indignation is, in fact, her self.  Or rather her poor self esteem.  There's the real culprit who has failed to see her worth, failed to love her as she deserves.  >>

Very interesting! I kind of think her anger toward Edward is very appropriate, given that he left her. But maybe you're saying that she does not know that he still loves her, and therefore should not be angry with him? I think anger can be empowering, and I like to see Bella get out of her "black hole of depression" even though it does not follow canon.

<< Uh-oh spagetti-o's! >>

Ha ha! Ethical dilemmas are just around the corner (and not just with Nina-Charlie). Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! Jen xx

Reviewer: ekimmuh (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2010 06:54 AM · On: Hogs and Wolves and Bears, Oh My

Hm. Not sure about the animals. I've always loved Dolphin's, but after reading the discription I don't think that's me. I'm not sure I feel like I fit exactly into any of them really.

This chapter was a little harder for me to read for a couple of reasons. One, I'm not a huge Jake fan and there is a lot of Jake in this. And two, I'm not sure how I feel about Bella getting angry at Edward as she's driving. That felt very out of character for her. I'm guessing though that this bit is important to the direction your going in your story though.

Again, I liked the interaction between Jasper and Edward. It did surprise me though that Edward didn't wait at the treaty line. That just so seems like something he'd do no matter what the consequences. The counseling sessions between Edward and Nina should be interesting.



Author's Response:

Yeah, one of my colleagues introduced the concept of totems at a staff meeting (I immediately glommed onto stealing the idea for this fic!) and several coworkers could not identify a totem quickly or at all. I was using them more as trying to match the personality of the individual to the totem, but I don't think that's really the idea behind it.

I just realized that you don't have Jake in your stories at all, right? He annoys me as well so I don't want to focus on him too much, but since I'm doing a NM fic I did want to have him in part of the story. I totally agree that Bella getting angry at Edward is OOC. (I guess the only anger she displayed in the books was toward herself.) I've been trying to keep the protagonists in character but this is where they might diverge from canon. Therapy is all about change, so I will be showing Bella and Edward going through some internal changes that will likely depart from the books.

You're very prescient in your comment about Edward crossing the treaty line! Hee hee. That IS something he might do, but Alice's visions about the "bikes" was not quite right so he is unaware of the danger Bella is in for now.

Thanks for the great review, Eki!

Reviewer: ekimmuh (Signed) · Date: January 31, 2010 03:25 PM · On: Totems

Wow. Bella really opened up in this one. I liked how she discribed her relationship with Edward while keeping the whole vampire thing out of it.

I can't wait to see Edward with Nina. That should be fun. I really can't wait until he realizes that being with Bella really is the best thing for both of them and that he has to stop making decisions for her.



Author's Response:

Have you thought about your totem, Eki? I looked over the list and wondered about ant, bee, goose, or woodpecker? :-) I was trying to find a totem that related to spirituality but I didn't see one.

Bella opened up faster than she thought she would! She has to tread carefully to keep the Cullen's secret.

I hope you'll find Edward with Nina fun! At least I plan on having fun, and I hope you will too. I've started that chapter but have a ways to go--I wish I could get writing done during the workweek, waah.

Thanks so much for your review fest, Ekimmuh! *hugs*

Reviewer: ekimmuh (Signed) · Date: January 31, 2010 10:34 AM · On: Lost and Found

You did a nice job with Nina's flashback. I could just see Charlie coming to the rescue.

Jasper's reaction to Bella's retelling of the day Edward left her was very powerful. I kind of hoping that Jasper gives his brother a good tongue lashing in the next chapter.



Author's Response:

I figured that Charlie would be a great rescuer, given how protective he is of Bella. I'm sure Charlie has seen lots of bad things in his days as Police Chief. Just like Bella had a rescuer from potential rapists, so did Nina, thankfully.

Edward felt extremely low upon learning how Bella truly reacted to his departure. This seemed to be glossed over in the book, but in this story Edward is hearing the awful details. You know me and my proclivity for making the male protagonist suffer, hee hee. It's just too fun. It's sick, really. ;-)

Reviewer: ekimmuh (Signed) · Date: January 31, 2010 09:42 AM · On: Life Without Ed

I am still so liking Jasper's addition to the story. I really wish he'd keep pushing Edward to realize how miserable Bella is without him. That she feels as empty as he does.

Nina is such an interesting twist. I'm really wondering at her internal comment about Billy Black.



Author's Response:

That's great you're liking Jasper in this story. I really like your Jasper in Perspective, so that means a lot to me. Unfortunately I don't think he's going to be very pushy with Edward on this issue, since I don't think Jasper has it in him to be pushy. Although Jasper is a strong character, I tend to view Edward as the one "wearing the pants" in their relationship for some reason.

In chapter 9 (you're almost caught up, yay!) you'll find out how the Black and the Whitefish family have intertwined in the past. Thanks Eki!

Reviewer: EliseShaw (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2010 04:34 PM · On: Hogs and Wolves and Bears, Oh My

This was fabulous! I loved the back story you invented for Nina, and especially the shotgun reference from the movie :-). That was one of my favorite Charlie moments!



Author's Response:

I adored that shotgun scene! Charlie nailed it. I'm glad you enjoyed Nina's back story. The Blacks aren't too fond of her family! Thanks Elise.

Reviewer: obsessed668 (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2010 01:21 PM · On: Hogs and Wolves and Bears, Oh My

wooahhh
intense hahaha
amazing, as per usual :)
bellaaa, what are you doing with yourself honey?
and jake -- laughing about the psychologist...tut tut!
if edward and jasper keep following bella, they'll get found out when jake becomes a werewolf (im assuming you're including that in the story) and starts protecting bella -- he'll see them. That could raise some interesting questions...
can't wait to see what you do with edwards therapy session, and RE: the name, i think that bella will eventually tell nina his name, so for the sake of edwards ruse working, i would suggest a pseudonym ;P
love love
xx



Author's Response:

Hola Karina! Miss Bella is a mess. But it's good she has loyal Jake as a friend. I haven't exactly worked out the details of Jake and Edward being in the same vicinity in this fic, but it's got lots of potential to be disastrous!

Everyone is encouraging the use of a pseudonym so I think I'm going to go with that.

Thanks hon! Hope you have a great week. Jen xx

Reviewer: LetMISAlive (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2010 02:10 AM · On: Hogs and Wolves and Bears, Oh My

Amen for Bella’s flicker of spunk!  :D  If only it lasted a little longer.  …maybe she’ll feel some flickers again.  :)

<< Was she self-sacrificial? Sure, she had tried to take care of her erratic, kooky mother, but that was merely being pragmatic with such a free spirit as Renee, right? And yes, she did cook for Charlie, but lots of bachelors needed help in the kitchen. Wasn't she just being a good daughter? Her parents had done a lot for her, and she was simply returning the favor. >>

Bella has grown up too fast: parenting the parents.  A little too serious and responsible so early in life - worrying about them etc.  Is that self-sacrificial?   

Later in the chapter:  << Bella glanced at her watch. "I'd better get home to start on Charlie's dinner. He's probably starving by now." >> 

I suppose she is/has been sacrificing her (‘free spirited’) childhood to look after her parents - she doesn’t know any different!  Her parents are to blame for this – she should know that if Charlie (an adult!) were hungry and she wasn’t home, he would simply start cooking!  This should be the case, even if they were a married couple!  Charlie wants her to go out with her girlfriends and to ‘be a teenager’, but his inactions (to take care of himself or her in this way) means that she has to fill in the gap (as always), and do the taking care of.  I know that he loves her and probably doesn’t realise the extent that he/his ex-wife are to blame for her ‘seriousness’.  Bella should be able to have dinner at a friend’s house without feeling guilty!

<< Was she sacrificing her life for a cold vampire who couldn't care less about her? >>

She’s certainly wasting time.  Life is precious – no time for extended wallowing.

Bella thinks that Edward is self-sacrificial.  Is he?  For her – the one he loves – he is (she doesn’t even know the half of it!)  I suppose all the Cullens are self-sacrificial in that they fight their vampire urges every day, not wanting to kill people.  Animal activists would not be chuffed with them though!  Mountain lions sound scarce…  ;)

<<Why had he pretended to love her? >> 

Good question! (as she believes that he didn’t love her).   What possible good would pretending to love her achieve anyone - especially if he was ultimately going to leave.

<< He had halted his life for her . . .   Her knuckles clutched the steering wheel. Was she now doing the same? In mourning his loss, was she bringing her own life to a standstill? Had she turned into an emo drama queen, unable to go on after a boy had left her? Was she swooning over a lost love, like Marianne Dashwood pining for the scamp John Willoughby in Jane Austen's Sense and Sensibility? >>

 I’m so glad Bella got some perspective – even if just for a moment.  There is hope for this girl yet!  :)

<< A whisper of her own strength, the very strength that Nina had insisted she possessed, bloomed inside of her for a second. Then it was gone, replaced by the recognizable ache in her chest. >>

Come back!  Come BAAACCK!!!

<< As her snow tires rotated over wet country roads, spinning splashes of rainwater off the rubber >> 

 

A lovely image!  :)

~~ * ~~

<< Edward kept pace with the distinctive 1950's truck, running parallel to the road but remaining hidden by the cover of the forest. >>

Still stalking!!

<< "Nina squeezed me in on Wednesday, while Bella will be at school." A crooked smile lightened Edward's dour expression. "Hopefully I'll gather more insight into Bella then." >>

Grrr…  Really, Edward – this is getting a bit much!

<< The only scent lingering in the forest, however, was an unpleasant odor of wet dog. >> 

Wet wolf?  ;)

<< "Damn treaty line," >>

Of course!  The Cullens agreed not to venture into the Quileute reservation.  If it weren’t for Edward’s jealousy, it would be the ideal place for Bella to be - safe from vampires.  But, wait, only the Cullens are party to the treaty? The evil vampires wouldn’t hesitate to venture in.  It would nevertheless be the perfect explanation for why Edward will not be around when Bella gets hurt on her motorbike!  :)

<< Jacob is merely a child, Edward assured himeself. >>

ha ha, you spent the rest of the chapter proving him wrong!  Or at least casting doubts!    He is only 16 (and as a teenager, anyone younger than you seems very young – especially boys).  But your descriptions of him – how he has become physically big and strong, and is still growing!  Perhaps he is slightly immature -  Bella described him to Nina as “big and goofy”; he made her smile.  Maybe it’s good for her to be less of a “serious, responsible adult” and to hang out with a warm, fun-loving boy for a while.  I can understand Team Jacob’s thinking… although they don’t necessarily have to be more than friends.  Jacob’s immature about the bikes, thinking that they’re ‘cool’ even though he knows the dangers and after the havoc that they caused to his and Nina’s families…  But that’s ALL MEN, I believe.  They never grow out of THAT!  ;)

~~ * ~~

<< Perceptive black eyes lifted from the book in his lap, boring into her with a hint of satisfaction. "Well, what a nice surprise - two weeks in a row! It's good to see you, Bella." >>

Poor Billy was just looking after Bella’s best interests.  You can’t blame him for being concerned about her hanging out with vampires!  It makes sense that her visits to his home would be awkward though.

<< "And having you here makes the time fly by."Bella blushed. She hoped she wasn't giving him the wrong idea. >>

Of course you are, silly!

<< She watched his chest puff out as he boasted, making her thoughtfully purse her lips. He was getting the wrong idea. >>

So you make him your confidant?  Creating a sense of intimacy?  *shakes head*  I suppose that she needs to be able to confide in a friend.  …”trouble”s looming, though!  ;)

<< Squinting at her incredulously, he chided, "This is a han-dle-bar, Bella." He pronounced each syllable slowly, as if explaining a concept to a child. >>

I enjoy their banter!  Finally she is acting her age, fooling around a bit.

<< "I think your ignorance just knocked another few years off your age. You sure you're ready to ride one of these when I'm done?" >> 

Of course she isn’t!  A key difference between Jacob and Edward: Jacob doesn’t make her decisions FOR her.  Of course, Jacob’s the other extreme:  actively enabling her to do stupid, reckless things!

<< Miraculously she found herself laughing along with him. Though the sky was filled with thick, obstinate clouds, she felt a glimmer of sunshine glowing inside the shed. >> 

Yeah!

<< "My dad used to go fishing with them. A long time ago. Before . . ." He ducked his head, letting that comment hang in the air between them. >>

I like how Jacob avoids eye contact when he is saying something sincere/emotional – very real.

<< "It's embarrassing and invasive, and it's not going to help anything." With a huff, she crossed her arms. >>

Petulant child!  …but ‘embarrassing’ and ‘invasive’ ring true (for her at least).

<< "Do you lie down on a sofa and talk about your dreams?" She smiled faintly. "It's not like that." >>

ha ha, do you often encounter stereotypical views of therapy in RL?  ;)

<< With his russet skin flushed with anger, his square jaw and the sharp planes of his cheekbones lending him a menacing glare, her sweet friend turned into a threatening presence. >>  << He looked straight at her, and beneath his anger she detected a wounded helplessness. >>

You really captured Jacob here!  I suppose that when he turns into a wolf, he must be menacing – at least initially.  But deep down, inside his big strong body, he’s still a young boy.

The conversation between Jacob and Bella as he tells her Nina / his father’s story seems very natural.  Such a great way to feed us all that information!

<< Bella nodded, gradually understanding his joke. "Shotgun wedding . . . right. >> ha ha

Nina: wow, what an elaborate back-story; very realistic (and so sad).  It explains why she doesn’t have a father anymore. It also explains why she and her family don’t live on the reserve; keep to themselves.

<< Bella thought back to Nina's brief phone conversation with her mother. It seemed like the Quileute tribe had sustained more than their fair share of pain. >>

So true!

<< She aimed a guilty glance over at the rebuilt motorcycles. Charlie's description of the bikes made even more sense to her now. Reckless and stupid. >>

YES!  But you’re still going to go ahead with it??!  *slaps Bella!*  ;)

<< "Next time you come out, we'll give these a spin."  Bella flashed him a look suspended halfway between thrilled and terrified. >>

She knows better…

<< Grateful for his joke coming on the heels of that tragic story, she lightly punched him on the arm.  "Ow."    It was her murmuring in pain, rather than him. She shook out her hand to try to dispel the stinging needles caused by her knuckles hitting his wall of flesh.  He gave her a spirited grin.  Her loyal Jacob. He would never pretend to love her. He would never abandon her when she needed him most. >>

Ooh… comparing him to Edward now, huh…?  *’trouble’ stirring*  ;)

~~ * ~~

<< She batted her eyelashes. "I . . . I never thought I would like my truck so much." >>

Ha ha, great way to distract your father - flattery!

<< "Well, you needed a way to get around town. To go to school, and work, and," he cleared his throat, "to go to counseling appointments." >>

Great way to shut down a conversation!  ;)

It’s getting rather complicated, with Nina having a history with both Bella’s father and the family of Bella’s good friend!  Especially now that Bella knows about it!  …learning about Nina’s personal life behind the scenes.  I feel like they’re dancing on ethical boundaries here!  Something doesn’t feel right!

I’m glad Bella likes Nina  :)

<< Once he heard her ascend the stairs, Charlie slumped back in his chair, picturing the striking psychologist in his mind. He murmured, "I like her too." >>

COMPLICATED!

~~ * ~~

Your questions at the end:

I think that Edward would use a pseudonym, since Bella could reveal his name – even just his first name – at any time; it’s far too risky!  (On the other hand, if that’s how you want Nina to figure it out…)

His fake diagnosis?

-          Dissociative identity disorder!  (Sorry, for obvious reasons, it’s the first thing that came to mind)(and to my mind)(and to MY mind!)  But it would entail some elaborate acting on his part!  ;)                          (It didn’t come to MY mind, by the way)(Nor mine :)

-          Bulimia – he kind of already has it, doesn’t he? All the Cullens do!  ha ha

-          Obsessive compulsive disorder (constantly washing his hands; flicking the light switch on and off 5 times; not stepping on the cracks in the carpet) – that would be easier to fake.

-          Other compulsions or addictions… super fast driving, adrenalin junkie…?

What I think you have to do is figure out what you ultimately want Edward to get out of the therapy sessions – how you want those conversations to go – and then to work backwards from there.  Something tells me you already have it all figured out!  ;)

~~ * ~~

And finally:  don’t mock the length!  One day my review will be longer than your chapter!  Perfectly doable if I quote a lot… mwuahahaa!!

Great chapter, Jen!  Keep ‘em coming!



Author's Response:

This review had SIX sections and 2,000 words, over half as many words as my chapter! Of course I have to mock it. I had to take a coffee break in the middle of reading it! Hee hee. I bow down to your loquacious review, Nixy.

<< Amen for Bella’s flicker of spunk!  :D  If only it lasted a little longer.  …maybe she’ll feel some flickers again.  :) >>

 

She'll have to work on that!

<< Bella has grown up too fast: parenting the parents.  A little too serious and responsible so early in life - worrying about them etc.  Is that self-sacrificial? >>

Hmm, it's overparentified and caretaking, and there probably is an element of self-sacrifice. I liked how you noticed her rushing off from Jacob's to cook for Charlie as evidence of this pattern. I don't even think that Charlie ever asked her to do that; it's just that in their family system the pieces easily fall into place. I can imagine something like this happening in many divorced families. And it wouldn't necessarily be a bad dynamic as long as Bella could take care of herself too, but we all know she's not great at that.

<<  Bella should be able to have dinner at a friend’s house without feeling guilty! >>

Agreed. Poor Bella.

<< She’s certainly wasting time.  Life is precious – no time for extended wallowing. >>

Get out there and LIVE, Bells! He's not coming back. (At least she doesn't think so.)

<< Bella thinks that Edward is self-sacrificial.  Is he?  For her – the one he loves – he is (she doesn’t even know the half of it!)  I suppose all the Cullens are self-sacrificial in that they fight their vampire urges every day, not wanting to kill people.  Animal activists would not be chuffed with them though!  Mountain lions sound scarce…  ;) >>

LOL. Carlisle is a model of self-sacrifice, and you're right that all of the Cullens follow suit. And Edward is STILL stalking! Don't worry--he'll get his comeuppance soon.

I love the movie Sense and Sensibility, and how Kate Winslet cried, "Willoughby!" I'm glad you liked the snow tire image. I guess you don't have snow tires where you live, eh? ;-)

Yes, only the Cullens are party to the treaty, but when the wolfpack gets going, La Push is the safest place for Bella. 

<<  It would nevertheless be the perfect explanation for why Edward will not be around when Bella gets hurt on her motorbike!  :) >>

Ah yes, but she still hears Edward's voice, so I'll have to work around that!

<< He is only 16 (and as a teenager, anyone younger than you seems very young – especially boys).  But your descriptions of him – how he has become physically big and strong, and is still growing!  Perhaps he is slightly immature -  Bella described him to Nina as “big and goofy”; he made her smile.  Maybe it’s good for her to be less of a “serious, responsible adult” and to hang out with a warm, fun-loving boy for a while.  I can understand Team Jacob’s thinking… although they don’t necessarily have to be more than friends.  Jacob’s immature about the bikes, thinking that they’re ‘cool’ even though he knows the dangers and after the havoc that they caused to his and Nina’s families…  But that’s ALL MEN, I believe.  They never grow out of THAT!  ;) >>

I enjoyed your musings on Jacob. He is an excellent friend to Bella. My sadness for him that his love for Bella is unrequited is balanced by how annoyed I feel by his character. But he is more mature than Edward gives him credit for.

<< So you make him your confidant?  Creating a sense of intimacy?  *shakes head*  I suppose that she needs to be able to confide in a friend.  …”trouble”s looming, though!  ;) >>

She did admit that it was wrong of her to lean on him, but she was so depressed that she couldn't help herself.

<< I enjoy their banter!  Finally she is acting her age, fooling around a bit. >>

She needs that release.

<< A key difference between Jacob and Edward: Jacob doesn’t make her decisions FOR her.  Of course, Jacob’s the other extreme:  actively enabling her to do stupid, reckless things! >>

EXCELLENT point! That's one thing I love about Jacob: his non-possessive love for her.

<< I like how Jacob avoids eye contact when he is saying something sincere/emotional – very real. >>

Thank you.

<< ha ha, do you often encounter stereotypical views of therapy in RL?  ;) >>

Um, yep! That along with the "Are you analyzing me now?" question. Grr.

<< You really captured Jacob here!  I suppose that when he turns into a wolf, he must be menacing – at least initially.  But deep down, inside his big strong body, he’s still a young boy. >>

Credit SM with that description--I based it on the books.

<< Nina: wow, what an elaborate back-story; very realistic (and so sad).  It explains why she doesn’t have a father anymore. It also explains why she and her family don’t live on the reserve; keep to themselves. >>

I've always wondered why Billy was in a wheelchair, so I wanted to create a backstory, as well as explain why Nina and Wuti are so separate from the tribe.

<< YES!  But you’re still going to go ahead with it??!  *slaps Bella!*  ;) >>

Hee hee.

<< Ha ha, great way to distract your father - flattery! >>

She is wily when she needs to be. ;-)

<< It’s getting rather complicated, with Nina having a history with both Bella’s father and the family of Bella’s good friend!  Especially now that Bella knows about it!  …learning about Nina’s personal life behind the scenes.  I feel like they’re dancing on ethical boundaries here!  Something doesn’t feel right! >>

Just where I want ya! I'm feeling that unease too, and I'm not sure how it will work out to have a romance between Nina and Charlie (and make it feel right) but I'm going to try.

I think that Edward would use a pseudonym, since Bella could reveal his name – even just his first name – at any time; it’s far too risky!  (On the other hand, if that’s how you want Nina to figure it out…)

<< His fake diagnosis?

-          Dissociative identity disorder!  (Sorry, for obvious reasons, it’s the first thing that came to mind)(and to my mind)(and to MY mind!)  But it would entail some elaborate acting on his part!  ;)                          (It didn’t come to MY mind, by the way)(Nor mine :) >>

bwa ha ha! Which one of you suggested D.I.D.? *laughs*

<< -          Bulimia – he kind of already has it, doesn’t he? All the Cullens do!  ha ha >>

*chortles louder*

<< -          Obsessive compulsive disorder (constantly washing his hands; flicking the light switch on and off 5 times; not stepping on the cracks in the carpet) – that would be easier to fake. >>

This was actually what I was planning. But now I'm wondering about another diagnosis.

<< -          Other compulsions or addictions… super fast driving, adrenalin junkie…? >>

Very interesting. I think I'd chalk up the fast driving to the fact that he is a teenage boy, but I suppose it could be diagnostic?

<< What I think you have to do is figure out what you ultimately want Edward to get out of the therapy sessions – how you want those conversations to go – and then to work backwards from there.  Something tells me you already have it all figured out!  ;) >>

Let's just say that the "fake" diagnosis might not be very lasting. Mwa ha ha.

<< Great chapter, Jen!  Keep ‘em coming! >>

 

*squishes Nixy in a suffocating hug* Thank you so much, blondie! xxoo

Reviewer: Bart (Signed) · Date: January 23, 2010 12:45 PM · On: Hogs and Wolves and Bears, Oh My

It would be nice if Edward made an attempt to be a bit honest about himself when speaking with Nina.  Give him an issue she can peel back layer by layer.



Author's Response:

So you'd like Edward to be honest? That way he can actually get some help too, huh? I don't know if he's quite ready for that at first but he will get there! Thanks, Bart.

Reviewer: vamplicious (Signed) · Date: January 23, 2010 11:36 AM · On: Hogs and Wolves and Bears, Oh My

<<Squinting at her incredulously, he chided, "This is a han-dle-bar, Bella." He pronounced each syllable slowly, as if explaining a concept to a child. "I think your ignorance just knocked another few years off your age. You sure you're ready to ride one of these when I'm done?">>

There. That's the quote, which didn't turn up in the other review. Very cute banter! :)

You're doing a great job keeping our main-characters 'in character' and credible in a canon-setting, Jen. I really like that.

I don't think Edward would present himself as Edward Cullen. Even though Nina has to keep her professional confidentiality, I still think he would find it too risky to go by his own name -risking Bella to find out that he's back in Forks.  Maybe he wouldn't even use 'Masen'. Bella would be able to recognize that one too, I guess.

Edwards diagnosis? Well, I already know which one you're having in mind, and I think it's perfect! I can't wait for Edwards therapy-sessions! But I gotta say that Lornes suggestion abaout the sex addiction would have been pretty hilarious too!

Keep'em coming for us, hun! Great writing!



Author's Response:

Glad the quote turned up this time! That other site vexes me. I'm happy you're finding the characters true to Twilight.

I agree that presenting himself as Edward Cullen will not fly, as he does not want Bella to know he's back in any capacity.

Did I say that I was going to give Edward OCD? Another reviewer suggested Bipolar, and I'm starting to like that better. We'll see what happens! Thanks for your support, vampy.

Reviewer: JRbtsn (Signed) · Date: January 23, 2010 07:17 AM · On: Hogs and Wolves and Bears, Oh My

There seems to be a lot of sex addiction going round. *hehe* More like sex anxiety for our dear Edward. I really can't wait till Edward is in there with Nina and see how well she can pick his brain. ;) Let's see if she can pick up on anything between he and Bella. I know Nina has no idea but as powerful as Bella is about "smelling" Edward, will she freak when she comes in for her session and it hits her? wow, this is really going to be great!

Joanie



Author's Response:

A lot of sex addiction going round? Especially on this site! :-D Sex anxiety would be a much more appropriate diagnosis for the poor lad. It will be fun to write Edward and Nina together, that's for sure. Very interesting idea about Bella possible sniffing Edward's lingering scent in Nina's office. I didn't get the picture that Bella could smell him after he left, but she sure was smitten by his scent when he was with her. I'll have to think about this one. Thanks for the great review, Joanie!

Reviewer: kng1986 (Signed) · Date: January 23, 2010 04:30 AM · On: Hogs and Wolves and Bears, Oh My

I think Charlie and Nina would make a nice couple.  As far  as Edward is concerned, Jasper is right, he doesn't need to pretend anything.  He's obviously as depressed as Bella.



Author's Response:

Hi Nancy! I enjoyed reading your profile and congratulations on your lovely family. I believe you are a new reviewer? I'm glad you think Charlie and Nina would be good together--the only problem is that it wouldn't exactly be ethical for Nina to be with the father of her client, so I'll have to figure out a way to handle that. Poor Edward is very depressed. :-( Thanks for your comments! Jen

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.