Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Mimiteh
Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: April 29, 2010 06:14 AM · On: Forks in the Road

Edward's scared of the water, eh ... probably because he will be swimming against the tide, methinks!  :P    I'm still really eager to see what his therapy looks like.   Certainly there will be a lot of material to work with.   So excited about your original story publication btw, CONGRATULATIONS!

The next chapter of Garment is already written, but I have to wait for another story that I had submitted to clear the queue before I can submit the next Garment chapter (or at least that's what I think it says in the submission guidelines ... you are doing multiple stories, does it work that way ...?)   The other story is a one-shot about Jasper.  I'd submitted it back on 4/11, been told the queue wait time is now 3-4 weeks for new stories, dang.   Anyway, I have posted a little teaser in the author's notes on the chapter where I left off in Garment, if you'd like to take a peek.   Heh heh, enjoy.

~ mkch



Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm VERY excited. It's a lot of work to get it ready, but fun work.

3-4 weeks? *mouth hangs open* That stinks. I hope it's up soon. I love Jasper! But that is nice that you have another chapter of Garment ready to go. You are correct that you're only allowed to have one chapter in the queue at a time. I've been lucky to have speedy betas, sixeightshuffle and maganbagan, because it is tough to have 2 stories going on at once. Luckily I'm writing another story in another fandom, which does not require validation, so that satisfies my impatient side.

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: April 28, 2010 07:54 PM · On: Wuthering Lows

Hmmmm .... I wonder if Nina's Adam was not bipolar, but phasing ... ?

So Edward has finally decided to take the plunge for therapy.  I can't WAIT to see how you write this!!!



Author's Response:

Hey Meow! How's A Garment of Brightness coming along? Will we get an update soon?

<< I wonder if Nina's Adam was not bipolar, but phasing ... ? >>

Quite possible! Nina does have Clearwater blood in her.

Edward has taken the plunge, but he's still scared of water. ;-) I don't have as clear of a vision for his therapy sessions as I had for Bella, but it will be fun indeed. Thanks chica!

Reviewer: imheather (Signed) · Date: April 28, 2010 07:11 AM · On: Wuthering Lows

This is getting so juicy, I love it.  You're serving up steak when others are handing out bologne and cheese.  I just want Edward to spill.  I see everything swirling around with his therapy, Bella smelling him, and Seth's changes (woof!),  can't wait.



Author's Response:

Hi Heather!

<< You're serving up steak when others are handing out bologne and cheese. >>

Bwa ha ha ha! That was a riot. There's lots of steak around here, actually. Even some filet mignon!

I think part of Edward wants to spill to Nina. I think he was very relieved when Bella figured him out, because it must be extremely lonely to live as a vampire, even with his loving family.

That was a little twist for Bella to smell HIM, huh? Sweet Seth is indeed undergoing some changes!

Thanks so much for your encouragement. Jen xx

Reviewer: LetMISAlive (Signed) · Date: April 28, 2010 03:09 AM · On: Wuthering Lows

<< The psychologist and client were both speaking half-truths, dancing around each other in a polite yet frustrating waltz >>


 


I loved this line!  It sums up all the counselling sessions in this fic: Each participant (Bella, Edward and Nina), in all sincerity and good faith - and despite trying to be as honest/open as possible - feel compelled to make calculated omissions.  It's as if they each have their own invisible lines drawn on the dance floor which they cannot cross - which makes for some interesting dance moves!


 


It begs the question…  Will Nina be able to help Bella and Edward fully, without knowing the FACTS?  Or will it be sufficient for their sessions to be based on cryptic explanations and suppositions?


 


Furthermore, although no one is aware yet, Nina is intimately connected to their secret – through Adam.  Can SHE heal without truly understanding what happened to him?  Or must she settle for accepting things that she will never understand; remembering the good times; moving on?


 


Perhaps Nina could help Bella and Edward with their low self worth etc, but without knowing the FACTS, she will not be able to get to the root of their current situation.  Perhaps it would be sufficient for her to nudge them into a better mindset so that they can make better decisions themselves? 


 


Psychologists are not supposed to give concrete advice, but rather to help their clients make their own decisions - ?  Yet the direction of ones questioning is in itself a subtle suggestion in one or other direction.  The danger with giving advice / suggestions based on an incomplete understanding of the facts is that you are not aware of all the factors involved; factors which, had you known them, may well have resulted in you reaching a different conclusion!


 


If the waltz on their tippy toes doesn't at least evolve, it would be immensely frustrating for Nina as a professional!  And her promises of "confidentiality" would seem to be falling on deaf ears!


 


What if Bella and/or Edward DO tell her the whole truth?  This would mean nothing to the Volturi – and all their lives would be in danger!  The Volturi aside, Nina is ethically obligated to report the matter if she believes that, for example Bella, is in danger. Perhaps, after much convincing, she would decide that Bella is not in “danger” when associating with the vampire-Cullens.  (But is losing one’s “life”, voluntarily or otherwise, not a DANGER?!)   She may even decide that becoming a vampire is not "dangerous" to Bella, as defined.  I, of course, would vehemently disagree!  ;) 


 


(Of course, at least initially, Nina would think that one or both of them are mentally ill or downright lying!  It would take witnessing something spectacular for her to believe in vampires and werewolves!)


 


Now that was a lot of babbling!  Let’s just say I’m very curious about where you are taking this story, not the least of which their counselling sessions. 


 


Perhaps I’ll return later and harp on about another line or two!  ;)


 


Ciao.



Author's Response:

What a thought-provoking review. I'm impressed how much you got from just one line in this chapter, ha ha.

<< Will Nina be able to help Bella and Edward fully, without knowing the FACTS? >>

Excellent question. I do believe that she will be able to help them without knowing the vampire stuff, because their issues are pre-existing. Bella has been a caretaker all her life, and Edward has been morose and sacrificial all his life. Those are the issues Nina is trying to help them target, and she doesn't need to know the specifics to do that, I believe.

<< Furthermore, although no one is aware yet, Nina is intimately connected to their secret – through Adam.  Can SHE heal without truly understanding what happened to him?  Or must she settle for accepting things that she will never understand; remembering the good times; moving on? >>

However, Nina is embroiled in this mystical world as well, connected through her son. Though I won't spoiler you about the future direction of this fic, I will say that you have nailed the current dynamics. It will be complicated!

<< Yet the direction of ones questioning is in itself a subtle suggestion in one or other direction.  >>

This is very true. I try not to give advice, but it would be folly to assume that my values and beliefs do not come through in my direction of questioning, or which particular client statements I emphasize and pay attention to in session.

<< The danger with giving advice / suggestions based on an incomplete understanding of the facts is that you are not aware of all the factors involved; factors which, had you known them, may well have resulted in you reaching a different conclusion! >>

Very interesting. We've already seen this breakdown occur when Nina is encouraging Bella to visit the meadow. If she actually knew that there were vampires and werewolves in those woods, I doubt she'd be encouraging such an action!

What WOULD Nina do if she were to discover the truth? *strokes chin*

<< (Of course, at least initially, Nina would think that one or both of them are mentally ill or downright lying!  It would take witnessing something spectacular for her to believe in vampires and werewolves!) >>

Yes, it would! Thanks Nixy.

Reviewer: archy (Signed) · Date: April 27, 2010 09:58 PM · On: Reckless and Stupid

I have seen 'New Moon' any number of times by now and yes,it's basically because of Pattinson.he's a terrific actor.although he's there for less than half the time,his intensity come through in each and every dialogue.that one sentence in Italy--'Bella, you are everything to me,everything.'--it gives me goosebumps.not to mention his expression when Bella asks him to kiss her.anguish personified.the other actors did well too,but compared to Rob...

I read of this story while reading your other story,so here I am.it is very interesting,a different take altogether.ok,on to the next chapter now.



Author's Response:

Hey Archana,

Totally agree with you--I love RP's intensity as an actor. That line in Italy was great, and I particularly enjoyed his anguished, tortured gaze when he looked at Bella after throwing her into the glass vase. His eyes spoke volumes, and you just KNEW that he was going to have to leave her. No other actors can hold a candle to that!

I'm glad you're giving this story a try, and that you're finding it interesting. Jen xx

Reviewer: vamplicious (Signed) · Date: April 25, 2010 11:17 PM · On: Nurturance

Hey Jen. I just skimmed over the last part of this chapter to get caught up on the events again before reading the next update. In my review on ffnet for this chapter I forgot to compliment your (or Nina's) use of the the folktale. I loved the analogy. It really made sense compared to a depressed person.

Nina also did a great job encouraging Bella, and explaining what kind of process Bella has to go through to start living again. Very nicely done Dr. Jen! :)

 



Author's Response:

Hey vampy! I love when therapists use storytelling to make a point, but that doesn't come naturally to me. However, with Nina's Quileute heritage, I figured that would be a big part of her repertoire. I have another folktale lined up for Edward, hee hee.

I'm glad you're thinking that Nina is doing a good job with Bella. Thanks, Dr. Licious!

Reviewer: LetMISAlive (Signed) · Date: April 17, 2010 07:56 AM · On: Nurturance

I hope you manage to write chapter 15 this weekend!  :)

Is it Edward's session?!



Author's Response:

Hello my lovely fic bumper,

Chapter 15 will be Edward's session (I'm thinking of titling it "Half of my (Dead) Heart") but I decided to visit my parents this weekend so I will not have time to write. We just went for a walk and we're going out to dinner tonight at their favorite restaurant. Hopefully next weekend! Sweet dreams, Jen

Reviewer: EliseShaw (Signed) · Date: April 12, 2010 05:31 PM · On: Nurturance

This was a fabulous chapter! What a moving and appropriate use of the fairy tale in this. It was one of those great moments when inserting something really adds to the theme of the chapter as a whole. The depth you give each moment between Bella, Nina and Edward in the distance makes this such a treat to read. Congratulations on your Indie!



Author's Response:

Dear Elise,

There are many wonderful fairy tales in "Eating in the Light of the Moon", and I might use another one in a later chapter. I'm glad you thought it added to the story. I'd like to use more storytelling and metaphor in my work as a psychologist, but it doesn't come naturally to me (so fan fic is a chance to play around with folktales more thoughtfully!)

Thank you for the congrats and the lovely review. Jen xx

Reviewer: LetMISAlive (Signed) · Date: April 10, 2010 11:55 PM · On: Nurturance

What a mammoth therapy session!  All (well, not ALL!) is revealed!!! 


I’m glad that: <<  One thing he knew with absolute certainty was that he would no longer be stalking Bella to try to keep her safe. >>  …although it sounds as though his absence from the meadow will have dire consequences!  *bites nails*


This cracked me up:  << He must have been hiding somewhere nearby, yelling at Bella to stop putting herself in danger. And now the poor girl thought she was going nuts. Nina pursed her lips. I'm going to wring his neck. >>  :D


<< Despite his best intentions to protect Bella, all he did was continue to hurt her. Time and time again. >>


That’s true, Edward.  Your intentions are good, but… *Dr. Phil voice* …how’s that working for you?


Jen, I loved this chapter: it was so well written (you’re peaking!), gripping (you’re clearly in your element here!), and it made me distinctly uncomfortable, which means that it was really true to a therapy session!  ;)


Mimiteh quite literally takes my breath away!


I’m struggling to find time to be online these days, but I wanted to leave you little somethings so that you’d know that you still have a reader here and I will of course read all of your stories (existing and new) to the very end!  (although I may be a little less in-your-face)


Love it!!



Author's Response:

Hey Nixy! Thank you so much for your kind words about my writing. I'm hoping I'm getting better at writing just by the sheer number of words I've produced since my PB addiction began, but since my work isn't betaed (except for the validation process here) I never know if it is edited enough by the time I post a chapter. I've been learning a lot working with a professional editor and I'm trying to apply what I'm learning. That you're finding the story gripping makes me pleased. I'm curious about the parts that are making you uncomfortable, but yep, that IS a big part of therapy!

Edward did promise to himself that he would no longer stalk Bella, but that promise might be short-lived since we all know how our favorite vampire tends to obsess on the poor girl.

I'll address Nina's desire to wring Edward's neck in the next chapter. ;-)

<< That’s true, Edward.  Your intentions are good, but… *Dr. Phil voice* …how’s that working for you? >>

Ha ha. That's a great question for Edward, actually. His making decisions for her isn't working out too well!

I truly appreciate your thoughtful reviews but I totally understand if you don't have time to leave reviews in your busy professional life, Nixy. *hugs*

Reviewer: Debbie1870 (Signed) · Date: April 10, 2010 04:27 PM · On: Nurturance

I'm sure Edward won't be waiting for her in the meadow! I wished it was.  I'm sure if Victoria is still running amuck then Laurent will be waiting for her.  Then she will find out about the BIG BAD WOLVES!  I really want E/B to be together.  I'm just a romantic at heart!  Please post soon.



Author's Response:

Laurent is indeed the thirsty vampire who will be waiting for Bella, as well as the BIG BAD WOLVES (ha ha). But I have a few parts of the plot to explore before we get there. I definitely want E/B to be together as well, no worries. Thanks, Deb! Jen

Reviewer: cilou6 (Signed) · Date: April 10, 2010 07:46 AM · On: Nurturance

Once again, you gave us a great chapter!

First I would like to bring a little storyline here, as you're writing 'canon' so far.
Bella has to go to see the movie with Jake and Mike, then she goes to the meadow, while Jake is too disturbed by his changing to be with Bella! Then she'll come to learn Jake is a werewolf but not before going to confront him -and after the meadow- (doesn't Ed give her advices about not getting Jake upset and try to calm him?)
So we could have Ed mad with jaelousy at the thoughts of both Mike and Jake (and secretly rejoicing at Mike's illness), then to realise that the 'perfect human boyfriend' he thought Jake was for Bella might be less perfect than expected...and in the meadow is where obvioulsly she'll have to deal with Laurent and her first enconter with the pack (with Ed's warnings once more)
Of course in the meantime Ed will have a few appointments with Nina :)

What a lovely folktale! I'm sure that Bella could heal faster if she'd allow herself to love herself (same for Ed). This lack of self-esteem is definitely slowering the healing process for both of them! But I don't want them to heal, I want them to be back together! And so they want even if Ed is still so sure it's the best for Bella having a chance to be 'safe without him', that's why he left her in the first place... *stupid stubborn bloodsucker*

I have no idea what Nina will be able to do to help him, so I'm eager to read his first 'true' therapy cession *means tap*
Thank you Jen and congratulations for winning the award *did I already told you?* and for being published about a fanfic you wrote on another subject we're fan of :)
xxx
Cécile

Author's Response:

Bonjour Cécile! Thank you for the lovely review and for the New Moon plot recap. I haven't looked at the book in a while, so that is helpful. I'm not sure if I'm going to cover the movie scene with Mike and Jacob, but I do need to allude in some way to Jacob's absence from Bella's life (when he's changing into a wolf) before we get to the meadow scene. I do plan on having Jacob present along with his canine pals in the meadow, just like in the book. I'll have to look back at the email you sent me because I thought we discussed some different ideas than you had in this review.

The book Eating in the Light of the Moon is full of good folktales, and I might use a couple more. Some of my readers are concerned that if Bella and Edward heal, they will not want to be together. Perhaps that might be true in RL, but this is fan fic and I DEFINITELY want them to be together! So just hang on tight, because what I'm hoping is that both of them becoming individually stronger will strengthen their union as well.

I don't know how Nina can help Edward either! But hopefully I'll figure that out when I write the next chapter.

Um, yeah, I think you did congratulate me once or twice little cilly, hee hee. Merci beaucoup! xx

Reviewer: Debbie1870 (Signed) · Date: April 10, 2010 02:19 AM · On: Stalker

I like the idea that Bella can actually here Edward - maybe her shield is down and she doesn't know it.  Nina can't be heard because she is a tribe member.  I love that Edward came back to keep Bella safe.  He won't last verly long - he loves her to deeply.



Author's Response:

Yes, I haven't exactly worked out how Bella is hearing Edward but I think it's something along the lines of her missing him so much that her shield is down, searching and listening for him. I offer an explanation in later chapters for why I believe Edward cannot hear Bella and Nina.

It will be VERY difficult for Edward to stay hidden, watching Bella suffer so. Thanks, Deb! Jen xx

Reviewer: Delicious Dreamer (Signed) · Date: April 10, 2010 12:16 AM · On: Nurturance

okay. i am now up-to-date with all the chapters and cannot wait for the next one. i like this chapter because it is like a turning point for bella, kind-of. a lovely pink rose for the author. it smells like spring.



Author's Response:

Yay, you're all caught up! Thanks so much for reading, Hanna. Another reviewer commented on how Bella being honest with Nina and saying "Edward" out loud represented a turning point for her. I agree.

*inhales deeply sniffing the lovely pink rose* :-) Spring is here, hooray!

Reviewer: Delicious Dreamer (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2010 08:56 PM · On: Unipolar

hm. it seems there is some trouble in the stanley and yorkie families. i wonder what is their secrets. a side-story perhaps? i read it.



Author's Response:

Hey Hanna,

I don't really intend to follow up on the drama in the Stanley and Yorkie families, LOL. They were mentioned more as a device to make Edward nervous that he would be discovered as well as guilty for eavesdropping on confidential information.  But your idea is intriguing! What sort of problems in their families would you cook up?

Reviewer: twilightdiheart (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2010 05:55 PM · On: Nurturance

Laureant will be waiting, but wait Jake's transformation hasn't happened yet. 



Author's Response:

Good point. Jake's transformation is coming up soon, though. :-) Thanks so much for reading the whole story so far! Jen xx

Reviewer: twilightdiheart (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2010 05:29 PM · On: Red Bike

what - no you're sorta beautiful statement to jake for edward to think over?



Author's Response:

Wow, that was a missed opportunity there for me with that scene, huh? Maybe I unconsciously avoided that line, since I thought it was rather cruel of Bella to comment on Jake's physical beauty like that when she was really still in love with Edward. But that would have brought even more anguish to Stalkward, you're right. Thanks for pointing that out!

Reviewer: twilightdiheart (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2010 04:52 PM · On: Totems

I think mine will be dolphin.  I'm drawn to them and the majectic regal cat.  I'll have to read and see.



Author's Response:

Yay, fellow dolphin! Do you have a cat? I do, and I love my gray cat Isabel.

Reviewer: twilightdiheart (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2010 04:38 PM · On: Lost and Found

I think Nina revealing something private about herself leads Bella to feel she is trustworthy too.



Author's Response:

I agree with you, Michelle. They are slowly building trust.

Reviewer: twilightdiheart (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2010 04:15 PM · On: Special Talents

Who can make Edward see that he is an ass.  I'm intersted to see if Bella's relationship with Jake will progress with Edward stalking around. 



Author's Response:

Many have tried to make Edward see the error of his ways in leaving Bella, but nobody has succeeded. Don't give up hope, though!

I'm Team Edward all the way so this fic will put Jake on the periphery, but being that it's a New Moon AU, Jacob will still be in there.

Reviewer: Delicious Dreamer (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2010 04:14 PM · On: Waking Up

oh dear, the mace conversation? that cannot be good. i am liking this story quite alot and i hope it just gets better from here. chocolates for the author.



Author's Response:

Ooo, yummy, chocolates! Thanks, Hanna.

I cannot imagine having a police chief as a father. Yikes!

I'll let you be the judge of whether the story gets better from here. I certainly appreciate your review! Jen

Reviewer: twilightdiheart (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2010 03:32 PM · On: Stalker

I'm glad he came back.  Loser.  Just kidding, sort of



Author's Response:

Ha ha! *covers Stalkward's ears so he doesn't hear the insults* Damn vampire hearing!

Reviewer: twilightdiheart (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2010 03:18 PM · On: Forks in the Road

Nina is pretty.  I want to know her and Charlie's history.  Once everything is out in the open I hope Bella will be able to discuss her unhealty dependance on Edward.  Jeez!  What was that blur?  Edward? Victoria?



Author's Response:

Hi Michelle! Thanks so much for leaving a review for the chapters you're reading. That warms my heart. ;-)

You will be finding out the history between Nina and Charlie soon. There might be a parallel to Bella's story in there.

If you think that Bella has an unhealthy dependence on Edward, then this is the story for you! Nina is going to try to help her become more independent. Both Bella and Edward have self confidence issues.

So, you found out who the blur was, huh? STALKER! Hee hee. Jen xx

Reviewer: JRbtsn (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2010 02:24 PM · On: Nurturance

Oh No!! Victoria? Laraunt? But I think Edward will be there in the meadow too!! Possibly to save Bella from the two eeky vamps!! Nice chapter! It was good to see Bella open up with Nina. I'm glad Edward overheard the whole conversation as well. Nice. Great job!!



Author's Response:

Laurent is the surprise guest in the meadow, but I'm sure that Victoria is not far behind. Thank goodness Bella is opening up to SOMEONE. Poor girl has been carrying around far too much, all alone. I think Edward is healing too, listening in to the counseling sessions. But maybe he needs more direct therapy? *chuckles* Thanks Joanie! Jen xx

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2010 01:59 PM · On: Nurturance

I wonder why Edward doesn't decide to go to Bella and tell her how much he has missed her.  He can't tell anyone else ... but she would certainly listen ....

 



Author's Response:

He is such a frustrating vampire, isn't he? Stubborn, stubborn. I think he's still stuck on the idea that he would hurt her worse by being in her life, but hopefully he's starting to clue in that his absence hurts her most of all. Thanks meow!

  • >
  • Reviewer: imheather (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2010 11:23 PM · On: Mystery

    I can't put my finger on what it is but there is a calm seriousness in this story that I don't feel in others I've read. It's like the build is sneaking up on me.  Most stories are sooo predictable but not this one and I am entirely enjoying it.  Maybe it's just that the subject matter is less teenager and more adult.  Whatever it is, keep it up. 



    Author's Response:

    What an interesting comment, Heather. I am pushing 40, so I'm guessing that I'm older than most authors here and that age difference  naturally is reflected in the choice of words and characters and themes in the story. I know most readers want to read B-E romance/lemons but it feels refreshing to try to follow SM's example and write a fic about yearning. I'm glad that this does not feel predictable. Thanks for the thoughtful review! Jen

    You must login (register) to review.




    Share/Save/Bookmark


    © 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
    Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
    Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

    All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.