Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Mimiteh
Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2010 03:35 PM · On: The Meadow Redux

Jacob's hot wolf breath in Edward's face, that was an amazing moment!

She made him want to swoop in and throw her on his back, running her to safety, smothering her with kisses, if she'd let him.

Ummm, of course she would let you do this Edward, gee what planet have you been living on the past few months ... ?  I suppose guilt and self-loathing are safer than love, but some day you gotta break out and live.  Until then, well, the wolves will be breathing down your face.  

Wonder how Edward and Bella are each going to spin this little encounter when they get back on the couch with Nina ...  Or will it be don't ask don't tell ... ?

Great chapter!



Author's Response:

I'm re-reading Eclipse right now and there are many Jacob-Edward confrontations with Jacob as a human, but I thought it'd be interesting to explore one where they don't even know each other very well, with Jacob as a brand spankin new wolf. Jacob's not too stoked to see the cold one back in town. Though I guess, realistically, Sam (and by extension Jacob) would have been well aware of Edward's return by now based on his noxious sweet scent, but I'll gloss over that for the purpose of fan fic. :)

<< I suppose guilt and self-loathing are safer than love, >>

Ain't that the truth?

I've been wrapped up in some novel rewrites so haven't had the chance to read more New Moon to find out what happens next, to know how I can twist it into my therapy universe, but I'm guessing "don't ask don't tell" will be part of it!

Thanks, meow! *hands over some canned meat n gravy to be lapped up*

Reviewer: IssaBissa (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2010 02:30 PM · On: The Meadow Redux

WOW! Boy, oh, boy do I love this story!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You are doing sucha  great job with it! It is such a fastenating read. I am greatly looking forward to more!!!!!! Keep up the great work!



Author's Response:

Wow, IssaBissa, thanks for the feel good review! I'm thrilled you think it's fascinating, and I hope you will continue to find it so. Jen xx

Reviewer: prat43ec (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2010 11:53 PM · On: The Meadow Redux

Jacob's always been a dipshit in my eyes. Naturally, he's going to make things all the more complicated.

Dumbass Jacob Black who did nothing but interfere in a perfectly functional relationship.



Author's Response:

So tell me how you really feel about Jacob? ;-)

I find Jacob to be quite annoying, but I do understand his warnings to Edward. Jacob has seen his friend utterly destroyed and he doesn't want that to happen all over again. But you're right, he's going to make things much more complicated!

Thank you for commenting on the story, 43ec. Jen

Reviewer: lydchil (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2010 09:45 PM · On: The Meadow Redux

Great chapter! I'm excited to see what Jacob tells Bella about Edward, or if he does. I'm also anxious to see what Edward decides to do with himself... keep being the stalker, leave, or let Bella know that he's there.

Wonderful chapter!



Author's Response:

Hi Lydia, it will be fun to get into Jake's head to try to figure out what he'd do in this situation. And Edward has some tough choices to make as well. Thanks for your support! Jen

Reviewer: cilou6 (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2010 08:55 PM · On: The Meadow Redux

Tk,Tk,Tk, Edward, Edward... *sigh* so now you found a new excuse for stalking Bella!
You miss her but you get to see her, to know she's still craving for you being with her! While she is alone in the dark, surrounded by mythical monsters and yet, she's strong enough to keep on puting the charade of 'normal life' for her father's sake.
Don't you see she's stronger then you think?
Don't you see you act selfish?
Didn't you learn anything from your therapy session?
Tk,Tk,Tk seems like Nina has her work cut for her!

Jake, I think you should not keep this piece of information a secret. As soon as Bella discovers the truth about you, and she will, don't worry, she has some skills and training for this kind of secrets, you should tell her he's on the area. Maybe she'll be so upset that he didn't came and see her that you'll "get" her!

Tk,Tk,Tk, Bella, Bella...are you brainless? Didn't you hear your dad forbiding you to go in the woods? Because of the "bears"? And there you are, with your red hood and your little basket running right into the big bad (vampires)woolves!!! Your mom should have read you some tales when you were a Lil'girl, you'd be less in a mess! Let's hope Nina will fill this gap with some of her insightful tales!

Tk,Tk,Tk, Jen,Jen...didn't you learn anything about Ed's powers through reding the books? Actually I really don't care about canon stuff here, just teasing ;) keep on, great chapter! I love the way you made it to have her hear Ed's advices, and his meeting with Jake was surely a surprise!
So, what's next? Bella learns about Jake's shape shifting? Will Nina soon understand what happenned to her son?
I finished the books I was reading so, tapping Cilou is back ;)
*tap*

xxx
Cécile

Author's Response:

Hey Cécile,

I like how you were chiding each character. Naughty naughty characters!

It seemed like Nina was starting to get through to Edward, but he is one stubborn vampire, that's for sure. It took him until the end of Eclipse in the series to realize that trying to control Bella doesn't help anybody, and hopefully he'll come to that epiphany soon in this fic. Nina still has some work to do.

Yet another demonstration of Bella's strength: she thought she was going to die in the meadow, multiple times, yet she shared an edited version with her father.

I like your thinking about what Jake should do. A lot.

<< Didn't you hear your dad forbiding you to go in the woods? Because of the "bears"? And there you are, with your red hood and your little basket running right into the big bad (vampires)woolves!!! >>

This made me laugh. :D She does need some more faerytales to enlighten her.

I obviously am not as much a Twerd as I make out to be! Of course Edward can't read minds over the phone (and why can't he? That makes no sense to me. If he can read from 3 miles away, it means he doesn't have to be in physical proximity to the person).

I'm glad you felt surprised by the meeting between Jake and Edward, hee hee.

So you finished Couples Counseling? Hooray! But arghhh, the tapping has returned! Thanks sweetie.

Reviewer: Bart (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2010 07:02 PM · On: The Meadow Redux

Good job with your twist on the meadow scene!



Author's Response:

Thanks, Bart. It was fun to twist that great scene. :)

Reviewer: ksw3 (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2010 06:59 PM · On: The Meadow Redux

good story!  I hope Edward lets Bella know soon that he has come back.

She is a mess!



Author's Response:

Bella's a hot mess! Still waiting for Clientward to get his head out of his ass . . . :D

Thanks for the review, Karen.

Reviewer: ksw3 (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2010 06:59 PM · On: The Meadow Redux

good story!  I hope Edward lets Bella know soon that he has come back.

She is a mess!

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: May 26, 2010 05:04 PM · On: Half of My (Dead) Heart

What a productive session Edward has ended up having here!

The parable of the Loathly Lady and her sovereignty is a favorite of mine.

Very interesting genesis of Edward's bugbears in his upbringing as a human boy.  His longing for his mother was quite palpable, very nicely written!

I just can't wait to see how Nina pieces together the truth about Edward ... I'm sure that as the weeks go by, both he and Bella will be inadvertently revealing little clues here and there.   Can't help wondering how it all will tie in with her own story, Adam's death, the issues cropping up with Seth, now ... wow.   A lot on everyone's plate here!   Write on.



Author's Response:

Yo Yo Miao! ;-)

I'd never heard that parable before reading "Eating in the Light of the Moon". Where did you hear it? It's quickly becoming a favorite of mine too.

I just learned a new word! Bugbear = worry, concern. It's kind of fun to create a childhood for Edward since we don't know much from canon. You know psychologists--we think it all comes down to one's childhood and parenting!

I have a vague concept of how it's all going to go down. There might not be much therapy left, actually. But you're right that Nina's going to start clueing in soon, and storylines are definitely going to cross. Thanks, chica! Jen xx

Reviewer: cilou6 (Signed) · Date: May 26, 2010 11:32 AM · On: Half of My (Dead) Heart

Forgot to tell you that I loved the Title!

Your choice for Titles are often very good. Is it difficult to find the title, or have you got it before you write?

Same thing for lirycs/quotes/tales... as with the hen and the egg, which comes first, the story or the quote? And where do you find them?

Lots of questions, but I'm CONfident you'll answer them all! *just to put a word beginning by CON in the middle*

xx

Cécile



Author's Response:

Yay for a review fest!

Thanks for noticing the titles. :) For some chapters I write most of it without having a clue for the title or theme, but for this chapter I heard the John Mayer song and immediately thought of Edward, which then led me to the chapter content. That's a very good song, by the way. I was also contemplating titling it "Sovereignty" after the folktale, but Edward's self-disparaging remark seemed more fitting.

I'm CONtemplating titling every chapter in CC with a CON word. It's just too much fun! xx

Reviewer: cilou6 (Signed) · Date: May 26, 2010 11:24 AM · On: Half of My (Dead) Heart

Jen!

I realised I did not review this chapter yet! *slaps Cilou on the hand*

I LOVED it! I always love to get into Ed's head (hee hee, with my french accent I just heard me 'say' "edzed" ;)

I'm glad you enjoy Dark Side of the Moon!

The tale you use, I mean Nina uses, is really well fitted for Ed's tendancy to rule everyone's world! I'm not sure it'll make its way to the depth (bottom) of Ed's mind and that it really would have any effect on making him changing his mind about his "I'm_the_worse_thing_that_could_ever_happen _to_bella_so_I_have_to_stay_away_from_her_even_if_we_are_both_sad_to_ death_for_I_can't_die_anyway_and_Bella_would_die_if_she'd_stay_with_me_  or_at_least_she_would_loose_her_mind_which_is_the_same_thing_IMO " thing ?....

""Life is risk, Edward."" SO true!! Life is a sexually transmitted lethal illness !

"Was leaving Bella a mistake? Did she deserve a say in the future of their relationship? Could his dead heart somehow beat with life once again?" I bet he'll answer a no-no-no to those questions, stubborn Edward!! *slaps Ed's hand now*

Keep on Jen, I love your writting! *so much I don't take time to review properly cause I let some people (LiSa...how shocking!) in the middle of a hot therapy session... :)*

*looking foreward for the next chapter*

BTW, do you know where Jailward is? Will he ever come back?



Author's Response:

"Ed's head Ed's head Ed's head" Betcha can't say THAT 10 times fast! ;-) Ed's head is a scary, torturous place at times, poor bloke.

Yeah, it's hard to change stubborn Edward, but I think Nina might be starting to get through to him, finally. He does "try to rule everyone's world". Or Bella's, at least. But don't slap him too hard! He doesn't know any better.

<< Life is a sexually transmitted lethal illness ! >>

Yikes!

I'm thrilled you're loving the writing.

*sighs* I'm missing Visitation's Jailward too. I think it's tough to get any fan fic writing done when you have 2 children under the age of 4 and you're on call for work on the weekends. Maybe you could leave some tap tap reviews for Amy?

Reviewer: LetMISAlive (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2010 03:05 AM · On: Half of My (Dead) Heart

What a lovely chapter, Jen!  You never fail to maintain this extraordinary standard that you’ve set yourself in this fic.


 


I enjoyed reading the fairytale… I think that we all enjoy being told stories… and the ones you choose are so apt and really make the characters (and readers) think!


 


I can’t wait to see how this story unfolds further. :)



Author's Response:

Well thank you, Nix. I'm not sure about the standards being "extraordinary", but I do enjoy throwing these characters into therapy. When I first read that fairytale, I instantly thought of Edward. I'm not a big fan of people making decisions for their loved ones, assuming they know what they need. I think that Bella has shown herself to be more than capable of making decisions for herself, and deserves to be part of the equation in deciding on the future of their relationship. Of course it is true that she cannot truly comprehend life without her family and friends, and perhaps without a "soul", but I think it's incumbent on Edward to try to explain and show her the best he can rather than vanish. *poof*

I think the next chapter might be a bit more of action and a bit less of melancholy. See ya around! Thanks for the awesome review as always, Jen

Reviewer: Dawn Victoria (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2010 01:23 AM · On: Half of My (Dead) Heart

What a wonderful story! I am quite moved by it!



Author's Response:

I'm pleased that you're finding the story to be emotionally evocative. Thanks, Dawn! Jen

Reviewer: EliseShaw (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2010 01:48 PM · On: Half of My (Dead) Heart

What a powerful chapter. I must sound like a broken record but I have to say again how much I enjoy everything that you write. Each chapter is nicely polished and thoughtfully delivered. The stories within a story always illustrate the overlying theme and you manage to get into Edward's head in a way that few dare to. Brilliantly done!



Author's Response:

How kind of you, Elise. *hugs* I have to say I'm enjoying your broken record! It's very harmonious, kind of like a lovely symphony, ha ha. And the OCD part of me is happy you think that my chapters are polished. I do edit a lot, but I still let some typos slip through now and then that are very bothersome. (Or the time I inadvertently made a Quileute relationship incestuous in this fic and I had to rush to change it!) After reading your work, I know that you carefully edit your beautiful chapters.

I think Edward's head is pretty darn fascinating, so it's fun to hang out there. I deeply appreciate your reviews! Jen xx

Reviewer: ksw3 (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2010 04:59 PM · On: Totems

I am getting more into the story now.  You are really bringing out the pain and some understanding of how Bella truly felt.  Your writing is very good.  You have a beautiful way of bringing your readers into the characters, and experiencing some of the emotions they are feeling at the time. Makes everything much more real!!!

Thank you for your story!!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much, Karen! That's kind of you to leave a review as you read. I talk about feelings all day long at work as a psychologist, so I try to delve into the character emotion often (maybe too often!) ;-) I was thinking poor Bella needed some therapy in New Moon, and once I started writing, I realized that Edward needed some help too. They are both feeling an immense longing for each other. I hope you enjoy the rest of the chapters when you get around to them. Jen

Reviewer: Bart (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2010 03:12 PM · On: Half of My (Dead) Heart

Nina's wisdom and use of story to guide Edward makes me wonder if we are seeing the true gifts of the writer of this tale!  I haven't read your biography, but I imagine that your are a talented counselor!



Author's Response:

What a nice thing to say, Bart. Writing Nina's character is inspiring me to use more narrative in my work, since I think it's a gentle way to look at a problem a little differently. Thanks for reading and reviewing! Jen

Reviewer: JRbtsn (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2010 02:42 PM · On: Half of My (Dead) Heart

Excellent recommendation! I love Dark Side! This chapter was really good. Finally someone is telling Edward that he shouldn't have run away and should get back to Bella and embrace what he's feeling. Sure, she doesn't know that little bit about the Vampire but heck, like Nina said, "Life's a risk". lol Loved this!! Great job!
Joan



Author's Response:

Yeah, I can't wait to get further into Dark Side. :)

Thanks for your comments on the chapter. Nina is telling Edward what we all want him to hear, though you're right that she doesn't know the whole story, yikes! I hope you're having a good weekend, Joanie! Jen xx

Reviewer: ksw3 (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2010 10:21 AM · On: Reckless and Stupid

Good story, I am more interested in Edward and Bella though.  Not so much on Nina and her back ground.  I like your writing though, I will keep reading.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Karen! It's always a risk using an original character. :)

Reviewer: Gingertoffee (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2010 09:35 AM · On: Half of My (Dead) Heart

Ok I've read the whole thing without making comment because i didn't want to stop reading! Please put the next chapter up quickly - I love this version - makes much more sense than Steph Meyers version - all the Volturi drama queen nonsense. Edward and Bella both have issues and you have given them the perfect space to sort them out - now please put them back together. I always thought Edward was a stupid, selfish git for leaving - you have backed me up nicely. Love conquers all - even idiots like edward. Go Jen - add me to your fan club!



Author's Response:

Yay, a new reader! Thanks for your kind words, Janet--I'm thrilled to have you on board. I do want Edward and Bella to sort out their multiple "issues" so that they can be even stronger together in the end. I love the word "git" hee hee. I probably won't be able to write a chapter this weekend because my dad is visiting, but there's a 3 day weekend at the end of May so I'll definitely be back then! Gracias, Jen

Reviewer: JRParz (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2010 04:57 AM · On: Half of My (Dead) Heart

Incredibly powerful chapter... for you certainly struck a chord.

Thank you for this ongoing tale AND thank you for sharing such a talent.



Author's Response:

Thank you, JR! I'm glad you thought I "struck a chord" (way to keep the music metaphors going!) Jen

Reviewer: Bart (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2010 05:03 PM · On: Wuthering Lows

Yeah!  I can't wait for Nina to get inside Edward's head!



Author's Response:

It's kind of scary in there (inside Edward's head). Good luck, Nina!

Thanks, Bartolo.

Reviewer: LetMISAlive (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2010 11:19 AM · On: Wuthering Lows

And here is some more incessant babbling - what came to mind as I read!  Please don’t think you have to reply extensively – you can just say eg ‘Thanks for reading!”  ;)

<< Wuthering Lows >>

 

I like the title!

 

<< Edward watched as a dark expression clouded her exquisite features. He yearned to run to her, to reach up and skim his fingers across the lines of depression on her face, smoothing and caressing her warm alabaster skin. He ached to feel the supple softness of her scorching lips on his. He wished to scoop her into his arms, cradling her like a precious gift. >>

 

Aww, Edward’s a poet!        Oh wait, that’s you.  ;)

 

<< But he could do none of that. He had made his promise to her. >>

 

To her?  Or to himself?       For  her?  …He’s deciding what’s best for her again… grrr

 

<< He expelled a long, tortured sigh. >>

 

He’s torturing them both!   *and us too!*

 

<< Nina's words scrambled in her brain: Perhaps Edward is all around you? >>

 

Eek!  Literally!  Not quite, I think, what the author of the tale had in mind!  ;)

 

<< Edward crouched a bit lower, almost wishing that she could see him... Her eyes… failing to detect his presence, and he sighed again with regret. >>

 

Oh, Edward!  You need to make a decision one way or the other.  There’s no point - hovering on the periphery; living a half existence; yearning for something so powerfully and yet being the very one who’s preventing it from happening.

 

<< she closed her eyes and inhaled deeply. The look of relief made her appear younger, more peaceful, more appealing to him. >>

 

She can smell him?  Perhaps it’s because she’s so desperate to have him near… her entire being is tuned into picking up any sign of him…  Or perhaps her desperation is making her imagine things, like in the books/movie.

Some one should tell Bella that Edward finds her more attractive when she’s not so down and heavy!

 

<< Taking in gulps of his tantalizing scent, she noticed that she did not feel the familiar aching hole inside of her upon thinking about him. She only felt a reprieve, a sense of hope, like he was there with her, inside of her, protecting her and looking after her. >>

 

That’s WONDERFUL!! 

 

<< Could Life Without Ed become a Life With Meaning? >>

 

Oh I hope so!  Then when they finally reunite, they can do so as independent, whole partners who are happy in themselves.  :)

 

<< She was now even more determined to visit the location holding so much meaning for them both: the meadow. She wondered if the lush green meadow would continue to be such a special place for her — a place to reconnect to him, a place to reconnect to her. >>

 

Ooh dear!  :S  It’s great in theory, but…  *has nightmare-flashes of wolves removing their shirts and pretty people with red eyes*

 

<< the glimmer of light in Bella's eyes >>  << She flashed him the first genuine smile he had seen in months. >>

 

Yay for that!  It’s been a while.  :)

 

<< "My next client just cancelled >>  <<She wondered if her next client had reconsidered cancelling. >>

 

They escaped the mind-shrinker!   *good for them!*  ;)

 

<< Most of the Quileutes did not trust white man's medicine, especially psychotherapy. Her career choice was yet one more thing that set her apart from the tribe. >>

 

It must be hard for Nina to be an outcast – shunned by the only community that she knew / belonged to; perhaps not quite belonging to the community in which she now lives…  :(

 

<< "It's not normal,"… Something's wrong. I know it. A mother just knows these things." >>

<< (Nina)  She'd known something was wrong with her son Adam before he had killed himself. She'd known, and she'd ignored it, chalking it up to normal adolescent angst. >>

 

Aww, shame.  Regret’s a terrible thing.  It’s so easy to second guess yourself in hindsight.  To be fair, though, not many people – even trained professionals - recognise the signs of changing-into-a-werewolf! 

 

<< Sue sounded relieved that Nina didn't think she was crazy. >>

 

Nice for her not to be dismissed as a paranoid mother.  *as people around her probably have*

 

<< "You know, after everything that's gone down between our families, it took a lot for me to call you, to beg you to help us." Sue's voice was tight. "But I see things haven't improved between us." >>

 

Oh no!  Misunderstanding!!! 

 

<< Why were things always so difficult in her family . . . misunderstandings, mistakes, mixed up meanings? And why did she always let the family's mess get to her so much? >> 

 

Because you love them.  Would love to be accepted by them.  It must be lonely – your extended family growing up nearby, yet so far away; with only your work and ailing mother for company.  :/ 

 

<<Still trying to figure out how she could have played that phone conversation with her aunt differently >>

 

Shame.  Second guessing herself again.  Her aunt simply doesn’t understand the ethical boundaries of her profession.

 

<< Nina… seemed alone and broken, filled with loss and heartache. He knew the feeling well. >>

 

Aw.  *for them both*

 

<< She felt slightly disconcerted that he knew the Subaru was hers >>

 

But Edward met her (and her mother) in the clinic parking lot!  She put her mother in the car.

 

<< She recalled Bella disclosing that Edward loved her scent, even though she didn't wear any perfume. >>

<< His eyes snapped open and he gave her a worried look… The psychologist was also a keen observer, and he was careful to present the same sated eye color to her every time he saw her. >>

<<"I do have a good sense of smell, I guess." His shrug looked rather unnatural. >>

 

Nina has a good memory!  She’s very attentive to her clients.  A keen observer indeed.  Edward (and Bella) must watch out for this one!  ;)  (hee hee, such a paradox – hiding things from your therapist!  Like lying to your lawyer!  *shakes head*)

 

<< What a relief that her entire life was not an open book, read through the pages of her thoughts. After unwittingly hearing far too detailed private information from those around him, it was such a pleasure for this human's personality to unfold more organically. >>

 

I’m glad that Edward’s found another person with whom he can have a more organic relationship.  With Charlie’s mind being somewhat similar, maybe Ed could develop a good relationship with him one day.  *which would have to be one day soon; before Charlie dies of old age*  ;)

 

<< "Depression implies a deviation from one's normal euthymic state. I've always been this way."… "There's nothing deviant about it." >>

 

LOL, how proud you must be!  You’re NATURALLY an old drag!  ;D

 

<< "I see you've been reading your father's medical textbooks again, memorizing mood disorder diagnoses. >>

 

Something like that!  ;)

 

<< "Surely you haven't always been so down on yourself? So intense? Surely you've been more carefree at some point in your life?" >>

<< "Perhaps a long time ago."  He sounded forlorn. >>

 

Aw, shame.

 

<< "When you were a child?"… "That wasn't quite so long ago, now was it?"    If you only knew. …  Nina frowned when he didn't answer.  >>

 

I like that Nina is picking up on their subtle clues.  She mustn’t brush them off as nothing – she must follow her instincts, like she advised her aunt to!

 

<< "But nothing since then? No sunshine breaking through the clouds of depression?"   . . . when I was with Bella."        He looked utterly haunted when his mouth caressed the two syllables of her name. >>

 

Wow.  Powerful stuff!   (…Teenage girls are expecting THIS now!...  :O  )

 

<< But you were the one to break up with her, correct?"   …. Why on earth do you think you're no good for her?"  … "I can't go into the details."  …"Can't, or won't?" >>

 

That’s actually a good question!  And Nina know the answer:  “Won’t”!  (Although I suppose that her reaction is not going to make him WANT to, either!  Pushy!  :s )

 

<< If he had a heart, it would be pounding right now. >>

 

!  Every now and then you remind me that he’s a vampire!  ;) 

 

<< The Volturi would not be pleased with him spilling their secrets to a human psychologist. >>

 

They may kill him just for seeing her!  :O    And her for seeing him!!   You’re bad news, Edward.  Perhaps you should go mope somewhere…  ;)

 

<<  "Perhaps it was a bad idea to return."      ….she insisted, "No, it wasn't a bad idea. Forgive me. I'm pushing too much, and we barely know each other. Please stay." >>

 

True - she first needs to gain his trust.  (At the same time, the reason why he’s there to is spill his guts; She’s there as an objective observer / sounding board;  He’s not going to ‘get to know’ her as such.)

 

<<What was it about him that made her so testy and overbearing with this Edward Cullen? …. Nina definitely had a soft spot for Bella, and seeing her so shattered from the departure of her boyfriend had drawn out quite a sense of empathy in Nina. >>

 

Is this her being testy and overbearing?  I suppose she has good reason for getting a negative impression of Edward, after seeing Bella the way she is.  Tough luck being the second one in the door, Ed!

 

<< Listening to Bella describe her ex-boyfriend, Nina had developed a mental image of him as a cocky, careless, foolish boy — he'd have to be to leave such a lovely girl — but the man before her was the antithesis of such an image. Edward seemed unfailingly polite and self-doubting, but what confused her most of all was that he appeared to be even more destroyed than Bella by the break-up, if that was possible. >>

 

Confusing indeed!  There’s a lot more to them than meets the eye (or ear), Nina!

 

<<  Both Bella and Edward were mired in low self-esteem, seemingly still in love despite being apart for almost five months, appearing to continue to need each other with a palpable ache. Despite all of this, Edward was refusing to reunite with Bella, and refusing to tell Nina why. It drove Nina crazy. >>

 

That IS maddening, isn’t it?  The two of them are there to talk through their problems, yet they won’t be entirely OPEN about their circumstances! 

Five months is a long time in teenage-land.

 

<< Adding to Nina's frustration was the fact that Edward was evidently lingering near Bella without her knowledge. If he had decided to leave her, then why was he still here? His creeping around in the shadows did not seem very honorable. Moreover, his presence during her risk-taking sprees had gone so far as to make Bella question if she was having hallucinations. Not only was Edward driving Nina crazy, but Bella as well. Nina's anger toward Edward for misleading Bella now returned. >>

 

Great reasons for her to be annoyed with him!  (putting aside the fact, for a second, that had Nina not decided to take on Ed as a patient, she could have told Bella about her stalker; that she is not hallucinating!)  It’s driving me crazy, too, Nina!  It’s serving no productive purpose; it’s not good for anyone!

 

<< Realizing that she was bound by confidentiality, Nina sat quietly for a few moments, trying to discern a method for calling out Edward on his deplorable behavior. She finally said, "Let's talk about Wuthering Heights." >>  << "A client told me it was one of her favorites… He quietly received her pointed look. >>

 

Creative idea!!  Yet transparent to everyone involved ;)  Tippy toeing on those boundaries, ‘ey, Nina?  ;)

 

<< "Heathcliffe thinks that he's actually seeing Catherine, although she has died, and he is extremely disturbed by these visions. He's having hallucinations . . . very frightening experiences. Seeing, or hearing, something that is not really there, well, that is the stuff of nightmares.">>

<< A look of guilt ghosted Edward's pale features. >>

 

*to Edward:*  For good reason!  Nightmarish indeed!

 

<< (Nina) can you imagine if she had really been there? If Heathcliffe was indeed seeing her, but stuck on believing he had conjured her image? Can you imagine how awful that would be?" …..(Edward) "It would be intolerably cruel." >>

 

YES!  (Edward must have felt so down on himself when he said that!)  :(

 

<< "I think . . ." Edward hesitatingly began, "I think that if Catherine truly loved Heathcliffe, that she would stay away for good . . . that she wouldn't continue to haunt him."….     "I think you're right," Nina agreed, feeling relieved that he had understood her. >>

 

Ah, but wait, Nina…

 

<< "If Catherine truly loved Heathcliffe," Edward continued, "then she would leave him forever. It would be as if she'd never existed."…   Nina paused. "Possibly. Though as much as Catherine wouldn't want Heathcliffe to feel pain after she left, it would be impossible for her to simply erase her existence. She'd left an indelible mark on his heart." >>  << "Or, if Catherine loved him as dearly as she claimed to, maybe she would reveal herself to him, so they could resume their love." >>

 

Truer words have never been said!  *gongs Edward on the head with a dong*

 

<< He continued to play along with the Wuthering Heights analogy, feeling grateful for the ruse allowing him to speak about the situation. >>

 

Poor Nina has her work cut out for her with these two!  …coming to therapy, yet not wanting to talk (directly) about their situation! 

 

<< "What if Catherine coming back to Heathcliffe would somehow put his life in mortal danger? Would you still advocate for her to return to him?"  >>            << Dropping all the pretense, Nina sharply asked, "You would be putting Bella's life in danger by returning to her?" >>

<< "I don't want to push you too fast, but Edward, I must know this: are you planning on hurting Bella?" >>

 

Eek, that sounds bad!! 

 

<< (Edward) "There are some things I cannot tell you, Dr. Carlton. I'm not trying to be evasive, or make things harder for you, I just, I have my reasons. Will you accept that?" >>

 

‘I’m not trying to be evasive; I’m just evading your question…’  From Nina’s POV:  why see a therapist *confidentially*, if you’re not going to answer certain questions?  ... unless you have something to hide… something that she’d have to report…!!?

 

<< Nina gazed at him somewhat suspiciously. It seemed like Bella was the same as Edward in this regard, refusing to share certain details of her life. >>

 

Nina sees this?  I think that Bella is slowly but surely opening up to Nina as her sessions progress.  I would think that this is rather normal, as you develop a trusting therapist-client relationship.

 

<< The truth was that there were some things Nina couldn't tell Edward either, because such a disclosure would breach Bella's confidentiality. >>

 

LOL.  Quite a “triangle” (web?) Nina has got herself in, here!!!  ;)

 

<< they were speaking entirely too much about Bella. This was supposed to be Edward's session, but Bella seemed to be haunting them both. >>

 

So true.  She can’t help Edward with his problems by talking around the topic of Bella.

 

<< Edward squirmed. He now knew the reason he had come for counseling: to help himself. He knew he needed this, but it didn't mean he had to like it. With trepidation, he asked, "What would you like to know, Dr. Carlton?" >>

 

Pragmatic Ed!  :)

 

<< "Let's start with your biological parents then." >>

 

A great place to start!

 

<< I do want to assure you that even though Bella is learning how to live without Edward in Mimiteh, she very much still desires to be with him (if he gets his head out of his arse and finally returns to her!) >>

 

Good to know!   *or you’d be stoned by Twerds*  ;)   There’s no reason why two happy, healthy ‘people’ shouldn’t be with the one they love!

 

Thanks Jen!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading! :) And thanks for these comments as well:

<< Aww, Edward’s a poet! >> Aww, that is sweet of you to say!

<< He’s deciding what’s best for her again… grrr >>

More on this in the next chapter. I've got a folktale all lined up, hee hee.

<< Eek!  Literally!  Not quite, I think, what the author of the tale had in mind!  ;) >>

Ha ha. The author was not picturing a stalking vampire!

<< Oh, Edward!  You need to make a decision one way or the other.  There’s no point - hovering on the periphery; living a half existence; yearning for something so powerfully and yet being the very one who’s preventing it from happening. >>

 

Well said. Stop this pussyfooting, Ed. Either you're in or you're out.

 

<< Oh I hope so!  Then when they finally reunite, they can do so as independent, whole partners who are happy in themselves.  :) >>

 

DING DING DING! That's EXACTLY what I'm trying to achieve in this fic.

 

<< They escaped the mind-shrinker!   *good for them!*  ;) >>

 

Nice way to work that in, ha ha. *grumbles*

 

<< To be fair, though, not many people – even trained professionals - recognise the signs of changing-into-a-werewolf!  >>

 

Good point!

 

<< Because you love them.  Would love to be accepted by them.  It must be lonely – your extended family growing up nearby, yet so far away; with only your work and ailing mother for company.  :/  >>

 

Aw, that makes me sad for Nina. Her life kind of sucks right now.

 

*gasps* People never lie to their attorneys, do they?

 

<< LOL, how proud you must be!  You’re NATURALLY an old drag!  ;D >>

 

Ha ha ha! He IS an old Debbie Downer.

 

Nina would typically be less suspicious and more empathic with a new client, but she knows something is not right with Ed.

 

<< *gongs Edward on the head with a dong* >>

 

Hee hee.

 

<< There’s no reason why two happy, healthy ‘people’ shouldn’t be with the one they love! >>

 

Absolutely agreed. Except if one of the peoples is a vampire. :) Fabulous review, Nix!

 

 

Reviewer: EliseShaw (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2010 10:22 AM · On: Wuthering Lows

Congratulations on your exciting news! How exciting that you'll be published :-).

I loved this chapter through and through. The angst between Nina and the Clearwaters was palpable, and I found it very realistic how a fight sort of sprung up out of nowhere. Of course Nina couldn't professionally agree to see Seth, something that I think his mother would understand if she were in a better frame of mind, but using that as an excuse to snap at her seemed very realistic.

It now seems we might get some honest exploration of the great Edward Cullen, something that is unusual to see!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much, Elise! I'm over the moon about publishing a novel. (a New Moon, that is) :-)

I'm thrilled that you liked this chapter. I didn't know exactly what I was going to cover when I started writing, but I wanted Edward to overhear that Nina's next appointment cancelled, and I also want the tension about the wolves to remain in the story, so I threw in that phone call to Sue. I sure don't give Nina much of a break in this story.

Hopefully Edward can be SOMEWHAT honest with Nina. Lord knows he needs it. Thanks Elise!

Reviewer: cilou6 (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2010 02:41 AM · On: Wuthering Lows

Hi Jen!

First I love the title, Wuthering Lows, reference to Bella's favorite book and her shape of mind (feeling low), very insightful,bravo!

"From the back of the house, Edward watched as a dark expression clouded her exquisite features. He yearned to run to her, to reach up and skim his fingers across the lines of depression on her face, smoothing and caressing her warm alabaster skin. He ached to feel the supple softness of her scorching lips on his. He wished to scoop her into his arms, cradling her like a precious gift.

But he could do none of that. He had made his promise to her.

Instead, he only watched her from afar, the darkness on his face now mirroring hers. He expelled a long, tortured sigh."

What a stupid promess, what a sick stupid masochistic boy (was it a Lion? or a Lamb?). They are both suffering because of his stubbornness, and really, he needs help!

"almost wishing that she could see him despite her imperfect human vision."

and then what? 'Oh, Bella, I was eavesdropping your very private conversation with your shrink, and I would like to tell you I feel exactly the same, except I'm cheating with the stupid promess I made you. Just consider you didn't see me, right? and i promess you'll never catch me again spying you ever after' (be cautious not to promess her you'll never spy her anymore) would be kind of an icebraker, no? (stupid boy)

"and he sighed again with regret" not relief? (really stupid, huh?)

"Taking in gulps of his tantalizing scent, she noticed that she did not feel the familiar aching hole inside of her upon thinking about him. She only felt a reprieve, a sense of hope, like he was there with her, inside of her, protecting her and looking after her." *coughs* Bella? ouhou! he IS here! (stupid girl) and the lack of aching hole is because he's here!

"She was now even more determined to visit the location holding so much meaning for them both: the meadow. She wondered if the lush green meadow would continue to be such a special place for her - a place to reconnect to him, a place to reconnect to her." ho ho, my little finger tells me it's probably more a place you'll reconnect with fear and danger (Laurent), be careful ! I like the idea of reconnecting to her, seems like some one turned the light off or unplugged her happiness in some way (someone = Edward? -> stupid boy).

"Edward wistfully watched them drive off, wondering what he should do next now that he no longer planned to stalk Bella. " you should know by now that you're a promess breaker Ed! 'I'll never leave you Bella' 'It will be as if I never existed' 'You're safe' ... So why would the 'I'll never stalk you again' should be the one promess you'd keep? (she will need your protection to be safe "young" boy! (sutpid boy))

""It's not normal," Sue cut in. "I saw what Leah went through at this age - she was like a wounded mountain cat, very aggressive. But Seth has always been the sweetest boy. Something's wrong. I know it. A mother just knows these things."

Nina had trouble breathing, and Edward heard her heart-rate skyrocket. She agreed with Sue. She'd known something was wrong with her son Adam before he had killed himself. She'd known, and she'd ignored it, chalking it up to normal adolescent angst. What Adam had done to himself had been anything but normal, though."

I witnessed this motherly intuition once. Very impressive! The doctors told her everything was ok with her 2 weeks old boy, but she felt something was wrong. So the doctor told her to take him to the hospital, half saying what he thought 'stupid oversensitive anxious young mothers'. At the hospital they told her the same thing : 'every thing is ok, don't worry. You know when you're a mother for the first time, you can get anxious for nothing, just trust us, he's fine'; she insisted, 'he's not normal, I feel it' so with a pityful and scornful glance they admitted to let him have blood tests. An hour after the blood test results told he was poisoned by her milk, unable to process proteïns (infrequent metabolic illness). He almost died, he felt in the coma during his transportation to the newborns care unit in a further hospital. Now he's 8 and he's OK (except for his very contrainous diet), if his mother had not insisted in front of 'knowing' doctors, trusting her instinct, he would have increased the statistics for crib death. Never underestimate an anxious mother!

That said, too bad Nina stick on her deontological behaviour, she'd have understood what has been wrong with Adam, and could have dealt with a part of her guilt (a part of guilt must always remain to survive one's child! worse of the worst thing ever)

"She recalled Bella disclosing that Edward loved her scent, even though she didn't wear any perfume. Nina could not detect any particular scent to Bella, and wondered how Edward was so in tune with her pheromones.

"You, um, you seem to have an acute sense of smell."

His eyes snapped open and he gave her a worried look. " LOL, it's not going to be a piece of cake this therapy cession, you are in front of a smart intuitive psychologist ;) take care or your secrets will be disclosed before you know! (stupid boy)

"I may be morose, but there's nothing deviant about it." reminds me of the famous "I may not be human, but I'm a man" *loves this line* :)

""A low-grade depression lasting at least two years."

Nina smiled smugly. "Sound familiar?"" :) (smart lady)

"If you only knew.

Nina frowned when he didn't answer. "But nothing since then? No sunshine breaking through the clouds of depression?"

The thrill of holding her in his arms, gently swaying to the evocative notes of "Claire de Lune", a delicious blush creeping up her cheeks as she clasped onto him, trembling. "There was another time, you're right . . . when I was with Bella."

He looked utterly haunted when his mouth caressed the two syllables of her name.

Nina appeared puzzled. "You seem to miss her terribly. But you were the one to break up with her, correct?"

"Yes." His whisper was anguished.

"What made you break up with her?"

He intentionally tapped his fingertips on his thigh.  "I already told you that day in the parking lot - I'm no good for her."" there Jen, you're right at the nub of the story. and I can really understand why it's so frustrating for Nina. A boy who loves a girl, this girl who has neen his only spotlight for years and years, they are happy and suddently he breakes up. nonsense! now one could really think Ed has a psychological disorder!

"Before he got up to leave, she insisted, "No, it wasn't a bad idea. Forgive me. I'm pushing too much, and we barely know each other. Please stay."" Nina, it's not you, it's this secretive boy (trying to protect you?). must be very frustrating for a psychologist to have to be...psychologist when all you want is to get answers.

"Perhaps it was Nina's immense frustration making her respond to him so rudely. Both Bella and Edward were mired in low self-esteem, seemingly still in love despite being apart for almost five months, appearing to continue to need each other with a palpable ache. Despite all of this, Edward was refusing to reunite with Bella, and refusing to tell Nina why. It drove Nina crazy." there, you see! *is kind of a psychologist too :)*

"If he had decided to leave her, then why was he still here? " you have a point there Nina, just ask him! *evil smile* ;)

"Wincing, Edward slowly replied, "It would be intolerably cruel."

She felt certain that she had made her point clearly. "Yes, it would be very cruel."" mmmm; Nina, who's being cruel now? ;)

I love the way you use Wuthering Heights in this chapter, and I totally agree with Nix about the danse they play aroud the truth. This conversation is really great and we enter a little Ed's mind. Really a great part, I love it!

"He now knew the reason he had come for counseling: to help himself." First time this self-considering-as-selfish selfless boy allows him some selfishness. good! :) (not so stupid after all)

""Yes, ma'am."" We can see Swimward here ;) nice reference!

Oh Jen! i'm soooo looking foreward for the next chapter, you make it soooo intense! and the feelings are so acurately described, both Nina's and Ed's (and Bella's too, but we got to know them better on the books because they are in Bella's voice). At first i was not sure, because I thought what made this saga so addictive and attractive was the first person mode, but with each chapter I agree with your third person mode. It gives more persepective and we get to have each 'first person' view at the same time. :)

Keep on and keep up! Very well done Jen! *wondering how Ed will deal with 'real' therapy* Have a nice week-end!

Cécile



Author's Response:

Holy long review, Batman! You took a page out of Nix's book on this review. :-)

I'm glad you liked the title. E-B are definitely mired in low's right now. Nina too.

What a sick, masochistic lion indeed! He's torturing himself even more by staying around Bella, yet he cannot tear himself away.

<< 'Oh, Bella, I was eavesdropping your very private conversation with your shrink, and I would like to tell you I feel exactly the same, except I'm cheating with the stupid promess I made you. Just consider you didn't see me, right? and i promess you'll never catch me again spying you ever after' (be cautious not to promess her you'll never spy her anymore) would be kind of an icebraker, no? (stupid boy) >>

LOL. You tell 'em, Cécile!

<< I like the idea of reconnecting to her, seems like some one turned the light off or unplugged her happiness in some way >>

That was spot on. Poor little thing has lost her joie de vivre.

Wow, what a story of motherly intuition. I'm so glad your friend's child is okay now as an 8 year old (BD's friend too?)

*had to look up deontological* So you're saying that if Nina didn't have her professional ethics, she'd find out about the werewolves/vampires and learn what had happened to her son Adam?

<< A boy who loves a girl, this girl who has neen his only spotlight for years and years, they are happy and suddently he breakes up. nonsense! now one could really think Ed has a psychological disorder! >>

Yep, this is the heart of New Moon. Very tough for people to understand Edward's actions, yet he is adamant about saving Bella. But yay, he's finally getting some help for himself! It's an uncomfortable place for him to be in though.

<< At first i was not sure, because I thought what made this saga so addictive and attractive was the first person mode, but with each chapter I agree with your third person mode. It gives more persepective and we get to have each 'first person' view at the same time. :) >>

I agree that it's tough to read a Twilight story that's not in the first person mode. Maybe that's why my stories aren't catching on very well here. I've never tried the first person approach and I do want to try it one day, but I thought it might be rather limiting for this story. Thanks for the wonderful review, Cécile!

Reviewer: vamplicious (Signed) · Date: April 29, 2010 01:06 PM · On: Wuthering Lows

*nodding*

Yup. I like the chapter just as much here! ;)



Author's Response:

*vigorously nods*

Yup. And I like your review just as much here too!

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.