Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Altered Reality
Reviewer: FLORENCEGrant25 (Anonymous) · Date: January 09, 2013 12:31 AM · On: Prologue

If you want to buy a house, you would have to get the credit loans. Moreover, my brother commonly utilizes a short term loan, which occurs to be the most fast.

Reviewer: JlT (Signed) · Date: June 19, 2012 07:39 AM · On: Chapter 11 ~ Reflection : An Epilogue ~

Very nice I just love the view u wrote

Thank you.this in. One of my favorites.

Reviewer: Chnctgislnd07 (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2012 08:56 AM · On: Chapter 11 ~ Reflection : An Epilogue ~

Well written, I loved it. 

Reviewer: eyes4edwardonly (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2011 10:54 PM · On: Chapter 1 ~ Influenza ~

I love the moments of Edward with his mother. I wish we had more info on Elizabeth.

Reviewer: eyes4edwardonly (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2011 10:46 PM · On: Prologue

I am liking what I read so far. I can't wait to read more

Reviewer: LinkinParkLover (Signed) · Date: June 27, 2010 07:45 AM · On: Chapter 11 ~ Reflection : An Epilogue ~

W-O-W. Super good story, I really enjoyed reading it. It's like I imagined Edward to think about his first experiences as a newborn, only I couldn't really put it in words. Thanks for writing this.

 

Reviewer: lovecubbies (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2010 11:30 AM · On: Chapter 11 ~ Reflection : An Epilogue ~

Oh I loved this story! I had been longing for a story of Edward's change and I did a simple search and came up with your wonderful story. I really enjoyed your attention to detail; how Joliet would indeed be out of the way if you were traveling to WI, and your use of dialogue was in keeping with the speech patterns of the early 1900's. I know because I was raised by my grandmother who was born in 1909. I can't tell you how much I appreciate good spelling and grammar! I find it so distracting when an otherwise fascinating story gets waylayed by a simple error.

I love the importance of the mirror at the end. It was also lovely to see Bella make a brief appearance. Nice to see that she can dazzle him too!

 

Please keep writing! You are truly good enough to be published!

 



Author's Response:

Thank you. I'm glad to know you enjoyed the story. My grandfather was born near Chicago in 1901 and lived with us the last two years of his life so I was able to draw from my memories of him for the dialogue. As I was writing AR, the mirror took on a life of its own and became a "character" that haunted Edward.

Reviewer: Essay33 (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2010 08:44 PM · On: Chapter 11 ~ Reflection : An Epilogue ~

What a perfect ending for this story. I especially liked this section:

Time moves differently when you have eternity before you. The urgency to arrive at the next “whatever” is removed. You have the luxury of time to process your thoughts and concerns in your leisure, but that is not always the healthiest thing to do. Too much time can send you spiraling to the bottom of a whirlpool. Carlisle understood this. He had given me four days of solitude to contemplate my situation, now it was time to move on or risk languishing in the past.

We stood there together in the meadow for hours as I sobbed tearlessly in my grief and came to grips with what I must do. He held me as a father would hold his child when confronted with an unimaginable burden, but then he did what a father also does; he pushed me away from his embrace and made me face what he knew I alone must do.

The passage of time for Edward must have been excruciating; to have absolutely no respite from every minute of one's self-torturous thoughts. You combined that with the essence of Carlisle's parenting of Edward in a beautiful, evocative way.

The whole story was a great pleasure to read. I'm sad it's done, but delighted to see that you have plans for another one.



Author's Response:

It is a pleasure to share my stories. It is an even greater pleasure to know that others have enjoyed it. Thank you.

Reviewer: ermireallydontcare (Signed) · Date: April 12, 2010 02:18 AM · On: Chapter 11 ~ Reflection : An Epilogue ~

The whole beard thing was very amusing.

Overall, a really nice end to the story.

Reviewer: ddot (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2010 10:27 PM · On: Chapter 10 ~ Monster~

That was awesome

and very sad...he's lost his innocence, and he's forced to grow up fast. But he's made the right choice. 

 

Great update



Author's Response:

Edward is such a tragic figure in so many ways, but that is one reasons why I'm attracted to him in spite of the fact that I'm a wolf-girl. :)

Reviewer: ermireallydontcare (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2010 12:08 PM · On: Chapter 10 ~ Monster~

You showed Edward's conflict well as well as his struggle to get to grips with his gift

Author's Response:

Portraying Edward's gift is one of the most difficult things when writing from his POV. He is reading so many thoughts and trying to sift through them, unfortunately, he's not always successful in understanding a given individual's intent.

Reviewer: annicullen (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2010 09:56 AM · On: Chapter 9 ~Visiting~

Well written, looking forward to more!  anni



Author's Response:

And more you shall have.

Reviewer: ermireallydontcare (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2010 01:15 PM · On: Chapter 9 ~Visiting~

Oh oh!

I had a feeling something like this was going to happen as soon as he proclaimed that he'd never feed on humans!

Anyway, great chapter!

Author's Response:

Oh the agony of foreshadowing. Gotta love it!

Reviewer: Bbuttis (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2010 02:31 AM · On: Chapter 9 ~Visiting~

Yay, a new update!

Loved the CapsLockward <3

Sarah's way of living reminded me of the sewer-vampires that inhabited London the time Carlisle was changed. Then again, I guess it's very "normal" for a vampire who doesn't expose herself to the humans - other than when feeding, of course :P

Hmh, why on Earth does Edward want to face "the conventional feeding" when he's resolved to live like Carlisle? I mean, couldn't it wait until he's more acquainted with the vegetarian way of life?

Oh, oh! Marvelous ending, I must say! The way that Edward didn't recognize that his prey was a human - but still he recognized his thoughts. Oh, my. There be angst to follow, I'm sure :P

I love your writing, I truly do. It's so ... oh, I don't know enough of adjectives to describe. Eloquent, descriptive, some kind of accurate.... *insert more good adjectives here* :)

Thank you for the update, I'll be drooling for more <3

- B



Author's Response:

I'm assuming you're referring to Edward "hearing" Sarah feeding. It wasn't so much that Edward wanted to face a conventional feeding but rather that the circumstances prevented him from avoiding it. Carlisle refused to take Edward "out of range" and , being unfamiliar with the area, Edward did not know of a safe place to go until Sarah was done. Carlisle, for his part, wanted Edward to have a better awareness of just what he was resolving to do when the opportunity presented itself.

As always, I appreciate hearing your thoughts and comments. I'm always excited to read them even if it does take me a few days to get back to you. ;)

Reviewer: Bbuttis (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2010 08:26 AM · On: Chapter 8 ~ Good-bye ~

*laughing* I read Emma's letter maybe three times before I realised that they weren't your typos but hers :D Sorry, don't mean to be rude but sometimes there are words missing where I would've put them. And then I find out that they're not necessary. English is not my native language so I just have to make sure of things first. Well, Edward being 'deer' was the final nail :P But hell, the letter was funny! :D

And oh, how vague Edward's letter was. Though, I'm sure that Emma won't notice *more laughs* :P

I'm not even sorry that I'm laughing at her :)

Omg the sarcasm. Well, it fits with Edward's character but still. Yeah, yeah, he's a newborn and a whole lot of terrible things has happened to him... but I still think that Carlisle should put Edward on his knee and spank him a little. Too bad Edward's so fast :P

The chapter was very nice. Their first real hunting trip... I guess Edward has a hollow leg or something :P ...no, really, it's reasonable that a newborn needs to have his full. Regularly.

Yet, it was a surprise that apparently Sarah is not out of their lives yet. Their meeting should be interesting :)

Waiting for the next update, thanks for this chapter!

- B



Author's Response:

It's always good to hear from you Bbuttis. You gave me a good laugh. Thank you.

Yes, English is a peculiar language. Sometimes it doesn't make sense to those of us whose first language it it is. You should see the conversations my betas and I have over the use of the word "that." Thankfully, Edward has a perfect memory and never struggles with spelling or grammar. Spell check and I, on the other hand, are very well acquainted. :D

I wish I could share with you Edward's many encounters with Emma as their fathers tried to bring them together, but alas, his memory loss prevents that and his journals were scant on the details.

Reviewer: just me (Signed) · Date: February 08, 2010 11:31 AM · On: Chapter 7 ~Sarah~

Very nice segueway into the cars!

Reviewer: ermireallydontcare (Signed) · Date: February 08, 2010 12:12 AM · On: Chapter 7 ~Sarah~

Really enjoying this so far :)

Author's Response:

Glad to hear it. Thank you.

Reviewer: Bbuttis (Signed) · Date: January 28, 2010 03:47 AM · On: Chapter 7 ~Sarah~

Oh, teen-angst :D

I liked the interaction between the three of them. You bring out nicely the fact that Edward really can relate to Carlisle by hearing his thoughts. But still, Edward is a newborn... hmh. Well, I trust that there'll be more of those situations where Edward loses it... :D

Great chap, more, please :)

- B



Author's Response:

Thank you.

One of the most challenging things in writing from Edward's POV is that you are not just writing from his POV but also from every character's mind he is "hearing." He doesn't always interpret the motivations of the other characters correctly, but he sure can take you for a ride as you sift through everything he's hearing.

 

Reviewer: ddot (Signed) · Date: January 28, 2010 01:12 AM · On: Chapter 7 ~Sarah~

i like your telling of his newborn days

lol i have to keep all of them straight since i've read so many edward newborn stories. Some where he's not angry with Carlisle, others where he is. I liked this chapter. Sarah was interesting, probably won't see more of her, but i hope so.

anyways..cool update..keep it up! :)



Author's Response:

True confession: I don't read a lot of fan-fic and never anything close to what I'm writing about. I know there are some fine authors and I'm missing some wonderful stories, but I too get the stories jumbled in my head. If I'm going to take the time to write, I want my stories to be fresh, original and true to character. The only way I can do that is to stick to the source material. It's the only way I can keep my characters pure.

I love Sarah too. I'm won't be quick to abandon her. Stay tuned.

Reviewer: Essay33 (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2010 07:18 PM · On: Chapter 7 ~Sarah~

Yay, you've updated this story!

I especially appreciate how you've given the explanation for their "mutual appreciation for cars" (and by extension, the entire Cullen family's penchant for automobiles).

Another great chapter!



Author's Response:

One of the fun things about writing a pre-TW story is exploring not just the larger back story, but some of the finer details and finding the explanation for things that happen in the future. Our history explains so much of who we are in the present.

I'm very happy to know you are enjoying the story. Thank you.

Reviewer: The_Key (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2010 07:08 PM · On: Chapter 6 ~ Adjusting ~

I've enjoyed your story so far. I like your take on things. You've taken the characters we love and are adding new dimensions to them and I appreciate it. I can't wait to read more! Please keep posting chapters!



Author's Response:

Thank you. One of the best things I experienced in writing AR was getting to know Edward and Carlisle better and in a way that Bella did not know them. I promise, there is much more to come. I look forward to hearing from you again.

Reviewer: Bbuttis (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2010 08:36 AM · On: Chapter 6 ~ Adjusting ~

Hi!

I'm definitely reading this! Have been since chapter 2, I think. I'm so sorry I haven't reviewed earlier :(

I like Edward's angst and Carlisle's compassion. I can guess, that would I wake up some day to find out that I'm a vampire, I would go mad. So, Edward's managing just fine ;) Although it was nice that he started to melt towards Carlisle in this chapter :)

Thanks, and please, update soon! :)

- B



Author's Response:

Thanks for taking the time to let me know how much you appreciate AR. It's never too late to send a review, they are always appreciated.

My whole motivation in writing AR was to explore the relationship between Edward and Carlisle. We've known since Tw that Edward regarded Carlisle as his father, but what brought him to the place where he was able to do that given that he is a reluctant vampire at best.

Reviewer: LivingwithEdward (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2009 12:39 PM · On: Chapter 5 ~ First Lessons ~

I absolutly love this story!



Author's Response:

Thanks for letting me know. I'm glad to hear you're enjoying AR.

Reviewer: Toula (Signed) · Date: December 19, 2009 06:54 PM · On: Chapter 5 ~ First Lessons ~

abosultly and utterly phenomenal and amazing. I loved how edward "lashed out" at carlisle. keep iot going!



Author's Response:

Thank you, it's alway good to know when your readers are enjoying your work. And yes, there is much more to come.

Reviewer: mtn_kittie (Signed) · Date: November 28, 2009 09:34 PM · On: Chapter 4 ~ Discoveries ~

Just wanted to say that I'm really enjoying this story.  I wondered what was going through Edward's head when he realized what Carlisle had done to him, so thanks for giving us an idea.



Author's Response:

I had wondered too, which is what prompted me to write AR. Thank you for letting me know you are enjoying the story.

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.