Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For The Parachutist
Reviewer: Rhi Aeffyll (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2010 08:32 AM · On: Chapter 33 Oxymoron

Bravo. It was a pleasure to read this story. Fantastic writing.
Rhi

Author's Response:

Well, thank you. Your story too is very very good (But I told you already)

 

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2010 02:35 AM · On: Chapter 33 Oxymoron

Oh wow, the pictures in your note at the end brought tears to my eyes, especially the old woman kissing the soldier.

What a beautifully and tenderly told tale this has been.  Just stunning.  When I thought that there would be no more I felt VERY SAD!  Thank goodness for sequel!!!

Ah, Bella's thoughts.  What a sweet ode to Edward's beauty.  Lovely to read.

lids like black and lilac butterflies on his cheeks,

What a beautiful image.

There is no merit in innocence, it is just a state you are born in.

Wow.

And 'being called by the submerged'.  Yes.  Truly you hove crafted this story with love and respect for the times and the experiences you have recounted.   Bravissima!

Thank you so much for sharing it with us all.



Author's Response:

I owe the sentence saying that there is no merit in innocence to an Italian politician, Marco Pannella. He was never very successful and his party is still a very small party.  (Well, in real life the good guys never win, or almost never).  He is now over 80. But his words have inspired and influenced me for many years.

The sequel is very difficult to write, because I am going where a lot of people have gone before me. B&E living with the Cullen family ... So I don't think I can duplicate the originality of The Parachutist, but I'll do my best.

Thank you for everything

Reviewer: carajana (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2010 11:20 PM · On: Chapter 1 Operation Avalanche

Dedication at beginning of story is nice.  Unfortunately you negated to mention that British troops had already been fighting in the War for YEARS before those brave American boys joined in ONLY after their own Pearl Harbour was hit!!!!!

 



Author's Response:

I have tried to be fair. You will remember that Carlisle was really upset about his native country standing alone against Nazism. So for this reason he volunteered after Pearl Harbor. A vampire going to war , choosing to be separated from his beloved wife fore years. Just because, originally, he was a Brit ...

However it was the arrival of the Americans in Rome that my family remembered, a memory of joy and love that remained with me all my life, making it impossible for me to hate hem, even during the Bush Administratrion ...

There is also another point: It is  true that the British Government supported the King of Italy. If they could they would have liked him or his son to remain  in power and Italy to stay a monarchy. My family and myself are convinced Republicans and could not condone that. A coward king who did nothing against Mussolini and fled South the moment the allies landed in Sicily leaving the rest of Italian to fend for themselves ...

Then there was the General Alexander proclamation, leaving the Partisans out cold ...

But I have also underlined that the United States Government was in doubt if getting into the war or not (In the chapter title "Lovers") so ... I did my best.  I did not want to offend.

 

 

 

 

 

Reviewer: Just4ALE (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2010 11:00 PM · On: Chapter 33 Oxymoron

Interesting: June 4 is my anniversary...

This was a lovely ending. Bella's POV and thoughts about her husband were like poetry - well done!

So excited to see the Cullens there to welcome them!

Great job. Looking forward to the sequel!

ALE



Author's Response:

I confess: I was also opening the floodgates of my passion for Edward. Like I was a teenager I am hopelessly in love with the oxymoronic vamp boy. And me not a grandmother yet only because my son is taking his time ...

The idea was  to parallel the scene in the chapter "Two poachers" when newborn Edward looks at himself in a mirror and hates what he sees.  Bella (and yours truly) have completely different feelings.

I  can't believe the story has ended. Sigh. The sequel is much harder to write, but I'll persevere.

Thank you for everything.

Reviewer: fleur24 (Signed) · Date: March 30, 2010 09:53 PM · On: Chapter 32 Bella's blood

I can't wait to hear from Bella in the next chapter!!!!!  I have absolutely enjoyed reading Edward's POV of the story! I Especially like the  end of the chapter!!!



Author's Response:

Tomorrow, probably. Thank you for r&r

Reviewer: Lion_in_the_Land (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2010 09:08 PM · On: Chapter 28 Porphyria

This chapter was not the most exciting, but it did perform a necessary service to keep your story as believable as possible.  It's nice that you don't simply ignore the real difficulties with getting Edward and Bella to America, and you are very thorough in explaining all angles.

There were a couple of aspects of this chapter that I really enjoyed.  I liked that Carlisle got a chance to be a little smug about his capers, and that Edward recognized the uncharacteristic attitude.  I also like that Carlisle and Bella related on some of the dishonesty that was necesary for both the Jews and vampires. That was an interesting parallel.

Also, porphyria is fascinating isn't it?  Particularly in how it ties in to vampire legend.  I was also introduced to it by a fanficiton friend and we worked it into a story we did together.  Well, he worked it in and my contribution was being fascinated. ;)

-LiLa

 



Author's Response:

With this I reach 400 reviews ... thanks a lot!

Yes I agree, not the most entertaining chapter, but everything had  to be explained. Really, to extract a soldier from the Army without him getting back in for a while, was almost an impossible task. I went around it for a long time and then found this solution.  I tried to be realistic too. It is one of the charms of Twilight, that there are mythical creatures in an absolutely normal, everyday context.

There is an one shot of somebody where Renesmee is with grandad Carlisle when he does the family's tax return (not with everything in it, of course). It is a lovely story I read a long time ago, forgot the author.

 

Reviewer: TraceyJ (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2010 05:18 PM · On: Chapter 32 Bella's blood

Short, sweet, chapter...Can't wait for more...



Author's Response:

The Parachutist ends with the flight to America, so there is not much of it left, sorry. But I am writing the sequel already ...

And thank you for the review ...

Reviewer: Serendipitous (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2010 11:15 AM · On: Chapter 32 Bella's blood

Ah, the wedding finally happens!  And Bella is wearing not only a suit that belonged to her mother, but a blouse made from the parachute Edward once used.  Very much in keeping with the bridal tradition of "something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue."  (I think that's just an American tradition, but it's fitting since Edward is from Philadelphia.)

You've created such a wonderful Carlisle.  The scenes with him are a special delight.  I love his wisdom and compassion.  Those qualities have made him a great doctor and a great man, not merely a great vampire.  

What?  They don't make maritozzi any more?  What else am I going to eat for breakfast in Italy????

(I'm sure you'll get to 400 reviews...I'm glad I'm moving you toward that goal.)

 



Author's Response:

Also Italians have adopted that tradition of somehting old etc.. I know that I had those things when I married.

As for the maritozzi, itis the simple ones - made by bakers by working bread dough with oil and sugar - that do not exist anymore and are not offered in cafes. But in pastry shops they are still to be found. I just sent the traditionl recipe to one of my kind reviewers who asked.

Thanks a lot for the reviews. I am sure I'll get my target

Reviewer: Serendipitous (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2010 11:05 AM · On: Chapter 31 Reality Check

Poor Edward.  It's logical, for him to think that the reality of being a vampire has turned Bella against him.  Of course, he thinks himself a monster, and the only thing that keeps him from immolating in self-hatred is Bella's love. How could he live without her? 

I really like how Edward empathizes with the female vampire.  Although he is above killing humans, he understands the lure of human blood and the instinct that drives her to kill.  It is as if he can remain detached in this sense, when thinking about his species.  Of course, it's something that Bella can't understand, and he knows that too painfully.  This was a very effective scene - as is the entire chapter, really.  You've brought Edward's pain to life here. 



Author's Response:

I owe this insight to the way S. Meyer described Carlisle. He has, at least at the beginning, respect for the Volturi, and is not judgemental  of regular vampires. In BD the Cullens' guests and witnesses get the use of the cars so that they can go in another State to hunt, and not animals.

I found this disconcerting, at first,  but then I realized that there is a sort of species' loyalty  at work. It is not pleasant, but is part of the story .

Reviewer: Serendipitous (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2010 10:52 AM · On: Chapter 30 Tiber Island

Oh, no - Edward has met one of his kind, and it certainly sounds like she is quite different from Carlisle and his family...

So Edward eats boar too.  Were they as prevalent after World War II as they arenow?  I recall you telling me that Italians are encouraged to eat them because they're pests.

Smart Bella, finding the theatre so Edward could escape the sunlight....and they stay to watch "Captain Blood," no less.  Too funny!

Very sobering statistics on the small number of deported Jews who survived.  It's still horrible to think that the Holocaust could happen, and worse, there are dictators today who pursue genocide.

Excellent work, as always.  This remains one of my favorite stories. 



Author's Response:

I am completely sure that the blood of omnivorous boars is much more pleasant  for veggie vamps than deer. And yes, they are a pest and we eat them with pleasure ...

I have also a pretty idea of what was the cinema they got in, (still existing) but I decided not to name it. As for the film that was shown, I could not resist the joke, albeit it was not a new film. But it is true what my aunto told me ... American films got a second round, after the war. Some of them were even dubbed in America, not here by Italian actors, and sometimes some old copy resurfaces. The Italo-Americans who dubbed than had quite an accent. They sound very strange.

Reviewer: Serendipitous (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2010 10:42 AM · On: Chapter 29 Rome

As far as a "calm before the storm" goes, this one was beyond enjoyable.  I adore seeing the historical information you include in your story, and I always look forward to reading your author's notes, to see how they relate to you, your family and your country.

The ring selection - always such an emotional time for a couple who will be married - is lovely.  Both Bella and Edward understand the significance of the moment, because there was so much working against the chance of them ever seeing each other again.  And the simple eroticism of Bella eating the ice cream was hot!  (Of course, "hot" is bad for ice cream but good for Bella and Edward.)

The hat that Edward selected from Nonno Alfredo's shop looks perfect on him.

 

Reviewer: Serendipitous (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2010 10:28 AM · On: Chapter 28 Porphyria

Edward is always a gentleman:  not wanting to embarrass Bella by telling her all that he discussed with Carlisle about their intimacy.  Although Edward understood that Carlisle would be interested as a scientist/doctor/vampire, he knew Bella wouldn't have the same understanding. 

And how brilliant of Carlisle to come up with the perfect medical discharge.  (Actually, you are the brilliant one - Carlisle would have no ideas at all if not for you.)  It's wonderful that Edward begins to see Carlisle's fatherly affection, and to know he feels hope that he can be part of a family once again. 

I love this story and your writing, and continue to be thrilled to play a very small role in bringing your own Twilight saga to the Internet.  I apologize for the lengthy delay in reviewing.  Sometimes, real life gets in the way too much for my liking. 

 

 



Author's Response:

Oh dear, I love my Edward so much. He is less broody and has more sense of humor that the original. Of course he has not been wallowing in misery for decades, has lost his virginity when he was human and , once he recovered his love after one year, he made up for the lost time ...

As you well know, I can't let him go, soo there is going to be a sequel

Reviewer: k80cue (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2010 03:52 PM · On: Chapter 32 Bella's blood

Hi

Have just read this story from chapter one to chapter 32.

I am really enjoying it - I like the way that Edward has battled with what he has become and the way Bella has overcome what he is.

I liked her experiment and the fact that he thought she was leaving him because of what he was (as if she would)

Cant wait for the next chapater.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. As you can imagine, we are getting to the conclusion. Not much is left, at least of the Italian part. The adventures of  E&B in America, however, will be told in a sequel  that I  have just started to write ...

Reviewer: readergoof (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2010 11:50 AM · On: Chapter 32 Bella's blood

I just finished reading through and love it



Author's Response:

Thank you, glad that you loved it. I'll update before next week end.

Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2010 10:40 AM · On: Chapter 32 Bella's blood

The next chapter sounds promising. Hey! This chapter didn't mention the nausea. Perhaps you will allude to it in the next chapter? Thanks for the update.



Author's Response:

What nausea? Sorry, I don't understand. When Bella vomited it was due to stress . She finally realized thast vampires can be monsters and she was  torn between the desire to be with Edward  forever(who is not a monster to her), and the fear t obecome a killer...

If you explain I'll try to send you a better answer. Thanks for the reveiw anyway.

Reviewer: readergoof (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2010 05:15 AM · On: Chapter 5 Farm hand

Poptarts are a breakfast pastry/snack food. You can eat them right of the package or you can heat them up. They are rectangular and have a filling. The filling can't really be considered jelly but that can serve as a explanation. There are many flavors strawberry blueberry chocolate etc... Some are caovered in a glaze type icing and some are plain.

I hope that explains to you in a small way what a poptart is.



Author's Response:

Oh thank you ... I am not sure I would want one, though. Later in the story you will find wat was a breakfast treat in Rome in 1945. Maritozzi con la panna ... Difficult to find now ...

Reviewer: readergoof (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2010 04:55 AM · On: Chapter 4 The drop

I just got it Carlislie is wearing a mask and gloves so his sparkling skin doesn't show

 



Author's Response:

Indeed you got it. Edward will need to become a vampire himself to catch up with it ..

Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Hermine (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2010 01:24 PM · On: Chapter 32 Bella's blood

I wasn't being cynical in my last review.  I was trying to think of a reason for Bella to be throwing up that wasn't related to watching the vampire.

Carlisle wants Bella to hang around a bunch of vampires while still a human.  I hope his trust in the members of his family isn't misplaced!



Author's Response:

I was jocking ;.)

Will Jasper lose his marbles like in New Moon? I hope not, it is not what I am planning.

Thank you

Reviewer: snowgood (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2010 09:19 AM · On: Chapter 32 Bella's blood

Ha!  Out of all the scenarios that I was thinking of with the Bella's Blood teaser you left me this was not one of them!  I was thinking his venom is slowly causing changes, etc.!  So, I'm glad that this was a crisis that Edward alone could fix due to his love and protective nature for her.  Bella now sees that she will be able to live up to her moral standards and Carlisle will show that they can be truly happy and balanced!  Can't wait to see what she's thinking!



Author's Response:

Well, to me Twilight is a story that touches very serious ethical issues, and I wanted my own story to mirror them. So the crisis E&B experience is a moral one. From Bella's POV we will understand how she sees him and what demons she too had to contend with, when she was alone.

This of course makes the sequel I am planning to write very challenging. it will take me a while before I am ready to post it.

Thank you very much for your review.

 

Reviewer: airekel (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2010 10:04 PM · On: Chapter 32 Bella's blood

Bella came back to Edward!  I'm so glad!  And I was happy to find out that it was her fear of herself losing control, and not fear of Edward that made her leave.  I wish she hadn't felt the need to be on her own to think this through, though.  Edward was so devastated.  My heart ached for him while she was gone.  However, she came back, and now he knows what was going on with her.

It's just like Bella to cut herself in Edward's presence to prove that a vamprie could be controlled.  I'm so glad that he didn't lose control, though, even when she did it, I didn't expect him to.  I'm glad Carlisle came, and was able to explain to Bella about his family.  I can hardly wait until they actually go to the US, and become part of the Cullen family.

I *loved* that Edward and Bella got married, and that Carlisle was one of the witnesses.  I could picture Bella in her mother's suit.  And it was blue -- Edward loves Bella in blue.  I *loved* that she wore the blouse she made from Edward's parachute!  I always loved that she did that.

I'm *so* glad that you didn't end this story yet.  I know you plan a sequel, but sitll, I'm not ready for it to be over yet.  I don't mind hearing from Bella in the next chapter, but I hope the sequel will also be from Edward's POV.  I *love* reading from Edward's perspective.  I love him, and adore knowing what is in his head, so I do hope the sequel will be from his POV.

Thanks so much for another terrific chapter.  This one was shorter than usual, but I suppose that for where ever you are taking us in the next chapter, it was best to end with the wedding.  And the wedding was perfect!  Are they now ready to go to the States?

Thanks again for the great chapter.  I'm very eager to see where they go from here, so I hope it won't be long before you post again.  So, have you made 400 reviews yet?  I hope so.  :)



Author's Response:

I had to plan a sequel. When I saw Edward and Bella on the plane to America it was so clear that the first part of their story had ended with them leaving Italy.  The title of the sequel will be "Parachutist 2 - The New World".

Most of the sequel will still be in Edward PoV, with Bella added here and there.  It will be also important to have the PoV of their new sibliings when E&B join them in America. What the other thinks of them.  (I have  just written one of Jasper of which I am quite proud. He and Edward are  both war veterans, and both were serious human blood drinkers and vampire slayers - albeit for a very shorter time for Edward and a century for Jasper. They are destined to be best friends). I need to underline the difference and the similarities. Edward, for instance, is certainly not a virgin nor is he a prude (different generation form Canon Edward), so the infinite teasing has no reason to be ...

Because of all of this, having to write something that has been written many times in fandom, and because I know next of nothing of the US in the '40s I am doing a lot of research and write slowly.

And, obviously at a certain point I will have to insert a dramatic turn of events, still to be plotted ...

Thank you so much for the review.

 

 

Reviewer: lolamadrid (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2010 08:44 PM · On: Chapter 32 Bella's blood

it's a lovely story. really touching and vivid. 



Author's Response:

Thank you very much. I am planning a sequel ...

Reviewer: venus308 (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2010 08:16 PM · On: Chapter 32 Bella's blood

Great chapter so glad to see that Bella came back! And they are finally married.



Author's Response:

Yes, ang soon going  in America. This will be where the sequel I am planning to write starts ... Only, it will take me some time before I can begin yo post it

Thanks a lot for the review

Reviewer: photogal (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2010 03:00 PM · On: Chapter 32 Bella's blood

nice simple war time wedding. Can't wait for the next chapter



Author's Response:

Well, in this story one could not have an Alice's style wedding. I'll update in a few days, if I get my chapter betaed.

Thank you very much for the review.

Reviewer: amg98 (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2010 08:02 AM · On: Chapter 32 Bella's blood

Very simple wedding, it suited them.  Can't wait to hear Bella's thoughts.



Author's Response:

Well, yes, simple. No Alice to organize it. ;-)

Bella thoughts will be in two parts (same chapter) First she will look, really look at Edward and we will know what she thinks of him, physically. It will parallel the chapter titled two poachers, when Edwad looked at himself and loathed his vampiric body. Then she will reflect on their relationdhip and how it has evolved. I hope you will ike it

Thanks a lot for the review

Reviewer: amg98 (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2010 07:48 AM · On: Chapter 31 Reality Check

I feel so bad for Edward.  I am wondering what is going on in Bella's head.  I don't think it is as bad as what Edward believes.  Thanks for sharing.



Author's Response:

The next chapter,with Bella's reasons is already posted. I hope you'll like it

Thanks for the review

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.