Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviewer: oceanluvr3 (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 11:59 AM · On: Chapter 30

Awesome chapter

 



Author's Response:

Thanks!

Reviewer: oceanluvr3 (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 11:53 AM · On: Chapter 29

I would of never thought that Esme was so judgemental. I like how all the vampires we thought were so perfect are showing their true colors. Esme is being ridiculous. Nobody like to be controled. Esme is giving Edward too much credit. Edward is such a mamma's boy.

Great chapter. I am glad that Bella and Esme got to talk.



Author's Response:

Edward is a Mama's Boy!  And Esme is FAR from perfect.  Her "great love" has a dark side, and that's what I've wanted to show.  I still like her, though.

Reviewer: faeriegal713 (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 11:49 AM · On: Chapter 38

And now Edward is almost ready to actually have a relationship with Bella.  I don't think he's quite there yet as he's got to do more than just allow himself to be open to Bella.  He has to be willing to accept her as she is too, but I think he's far closer.  I have to admit that it's almost funny how strong a hold that little band of gold has on Edward and Bella both, though right now it is effecting poor Edward more.

Also, I had to laugh at how much Edward missed the parrallels between his own behavior and that of Hannah.  The only difference is he is the one that keeps running away from Bella and taking 'breaks' back to her while Hannah stays with her husband and occasionally leaves him when things are more difficult than she can handle.  I do have to wonder though if right now they are symbolically going to act together and learn from their past or if they will both make the same mistake again.  I know at least for Edward, if he were to leave again, he would have no chance of Bella ever taking him back.  She would have suffered one too many times in order for her to forgive him and take him back again.

On the other hand he has, again, demonstrated his growth as an individual as he is at least able to admit that there may be things about Bella that he is unsure about.  He was able to reflect on it, and even if he hasn't figured anything out, at the very end it looked like he was willing to give them more of a chance than what he had been able to before. 

I'm anxious to see what Bella is going to do to handle all of this.



Author's Response:

Oh, Edward won't run again.  He's all run out. :-)  This last little panicked flight was like the last gasp for him.  He came back, and he's finally ready to open up.  There will still be moments of reluctance, but overall, he's ready.

Ironically, the parallel with Hannah is more between Edward and Hannah's husband.  Edward can't see it.  He did to Chip what Brady did to Hannah, although he didn't bruise Chip.  But he scared the crap out of him, and it wasn't necessary.  Chip is a jerk.  But Edward's response was uncontrolled, and immature.  Likewise, Hannah can be hard to live with; we've seen hints of it, but s Edward realizes, it's not black-and-white.  Hannah makes some of her own problems.  Even so, what Brady does is inexcusable.  What Edward does to Chip really isn't that different.  Still, Hannah will play a role. :-)

Reviewer: Re-Re (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 11:30 AM · On: Chapter 38

Three great chapters, as always.



Author's Response:

Thanks!

Reviewer: Mom of 2 in WI (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 11:26 AM · On: Chapter 38

Thank you for so many updates.  They are really fun to read.  I love the breakthrough that Edward is having.  I'd like to think that SM might have done some of this self examination on Edward's part, but not so much.  It's nice to see that you are making him a little vulnerable and "human".  Keep it up...



Author's Response:

Thanks!  And yeah, I think Edward is more human than he realizes.  I think all the vamps are, at least of the Cullens.

Reviewer: oceanluvr3 (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 10:50 AM · On: Chapter 22

I just love Rosalie... she and Emmet are always fun. But they are even better in this story.



Author's Response:

Thanks!  I've really enjoyed writing them both in this story.

Reviewer: Laura Cullen (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 10:35 AM · On: Chapter 38

This was a nice chapter inside his head.  Him showing her his eating was very interesting.  I hope you decide that changing her will cure her!



Author's Response:

He HAD to show her his eating, be vulnerable that way, in order for her to show him her own "ugly" sides. :-)



Author's Response:

He HAD to show her his eating, be vulnerable that way, in order for her to show him her own "ugly" sides. :-)

Reviewer: Isabelle Vaughn (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 10:34 AM · On: Chapter 38

That was wonderful. I was so surprised to see this updated this morning. I was shocked. We were spoiled with three updates in one week! I can't wait until Edward and Bella have the ring talk. I know it's bound to happen. I thought it was so funny that Rose yelled at Edward for peeping in on Bella. I am anticipating your next update.



Author's Response:

Rose was SERIOUSLY annoyed with him!  The next chapter covers some ground time-wise, I think.  Or in what I've done so far. :-)

Reviewer: oceanluvr3 (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 10:21 AM · On: Chapter 20

It would kind of suck to find out your husband had a relationship with the ex that destroyed you. Men can be so friggin clueless. Secrets would not have been necessary... honesty is so nice. I know they meant well but being treated like glass would get so old.

This story is just so good. I love all the relationships and the growing.



Author's Response:

Thanks!  And I think BOTH Mark and Edward were guilty there of concealing things they probably shouldn't have.  Secrets have a way of breeding ...

Reviewer: xparawhorextwerdx (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 09:32 AM · On: Chapter 38

I have to admit, you're spoiling us lately with updates! Thanks for writing this, it makes my day when you write. You know how there's a few stories that when they update, you're amazingly excited? This is one of them. I was halfway through reading updates this morning when I had to go to school, now I'm back and opened the next email, and it was this. I'm annoyed that I wasn't late to school now. So would have been worth it. Great chapter, and don't worry about not updating for a while, you've been so great lately you deserve a break!



Author's Response:

Oh, I'm glad this is the sort of update you're waiting for!  Although sometimes I save the ones I'm waiting for and read others first (yes, I was the child who ate dessert last, not first!).  Anyway, yeah, I've got the next chapter started, but not much more.  I've been catching up with reviews, and then I have to grade. Boo!

Reviewer: momma23 (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 09:13 AM · On: Chapter 38

Wow every chapter amazes me.  So raw... love that!  I always finish your chapters with such a weight in my chest, thanks for not writing about fluffy bunnies and sunshine.  Your take on reality in literary genius.  How many chapters do you have left?  There seems to be so very many loose ends!



Author's Response:

I can't even guess how many chapters, but there's THE big climax plot arc left.  I've already set the beginnings of it, although it's not in a way most readers would notice.  But yes, all those loose ends will, I hope, get tied up in the end!

Reviewer: AccioChocolate (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 08:21 AM · On: Chapter 38

I feel terrible that I haven't been reviewing the last several chapters, but I'll try to make up for it!  (And it feels right to do it after this chapter, as it seems like a mini story-arc for both Bella and Edward.)  

I love both the insight you have for these characters as well as the insight you *give* them. Anyone who's read my reviews knows I tend to get really into observing character growth and pulling apart their actions and words as clues to that growth. The last three chapters have been a field day for me! And it's even more enjoyable to watch this growth happen for grown-ups (esp. century-old ones!) I can read and handle only so much teenage Bella/Edward angst, I guess.  

I think your scene near the end of this chapter, where Edward runs to the woods and thinks over this decision-point at which he finds himself is some of your best writing in the whole story.  I really, really like your take on why he left Bella all those years ago. He had to have been scared for himself too. His thoughts and actions in this chapter show how far he's come now. When he compared himself to Carllsle and Jasper's learning to "open" themselves, then expressed his doubt about his own abilities to so... gah, that was so heartfelt. And when he declared them to be better men than he, my own heart broke for him a bit. 

I'm sure you know this, but the whole running them of walls/barriers and what we do with them (opening/closing/crumbling to dust, etc)  that you used in this chapter really tied all of this together so nicely. 

"Come home or come inside. " That Rosalie. She may be blunt and as Bella said "a bull in a china shop with emotions," but sometimes it's the blunt friends who can give it to us straight and stripped away of the extraneous advice.  I could write tons more and I haven't gotten around to Hannah and how she too is at a decision point of her own. Ughhh, so much great stuff here in these chapters, and so little time to review! 



Author's Response:

Thank you!  And yeah, I feel like -- especially with this last chapter -- I should write in the prenotes, "If you think something has two meanings, you're probably right!"  Sometimes parts have info in them that's more ... world building?  It's meant to give a sense of place, or time passing, or something, but especially in this last chapter, EVERYthing has meaning.  Here at the end, I just hope I can keep track of all the threads!  Everything is about to come together in an explosive way. (Well, time-wise, after Christmas, but still.)

I love Rose, I do.  She isn't "gentle," but she's kind. :-)  And she really loves Bella.  She also won't let Edward get away with crap.  She knows him too well. ha.

Reviewer: twilight_lamb (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 07:57 AM · On: Chapter 38

Love this chapter:)

Author's Response:

Thanks!

Reviewer: aj79k40 (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 07:34 AM · On: Chapter 38

Wow, the writing about edwards psyche is just, wow.

Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad it resonated!

Reviewer: Imagine (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 06:58 AM · On: Chapter 38

wow 3 whole posts!! lucky us!!



Author's Response:

LOL!  I had a lot to get through to get us "around the bend," so to speak in the storyline.

Reviewer: TwilightMommy (Anonymous) · Date: March 20, 2009 06:43 AM · On: Chapter 38

Another great chapter!  Totally loving that Edward kind of lost it on Clayton.  Even after all these years, no one gets to mess with Bella.  Sigh...



Author's Response:

LOL!  Although really, his response there is meant to parallel Brady's to Hannah.  He was unnecessarily violent and uncontroled, even if he didn't *physically* hurt Chip.  Chip is a jerk.  In her own way, though, Hannah is too. Ha.  She's not an easy person to live with.  But that never justifies violence.  Edward went from blindness to his own faults there to a recognition of (at least some of) them.

Reviewer: Capricorn75 (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 06:25 AM · On: Chapter 38

How much do I love you, and how much did I love this chapter?! So much happening in it. Edward with his colleagues: I was amused at how human he acted with them- from the cursing on purpose to the leg jiggling unknowingly. Dr Edward at the shelter- kind, but firm, and no-nonsense about getting Hannah to stop smoking. I am in total shock and awe that Edward let his barriers down and allowed Bella to see him feed (though not hunt, but of course she didn't ask to see that and I understand it would be far too cruel to Edward to ask him to hunt with the temptation of Bella there). But he actually let her see him feed and he didn't die from shame. He is growing, slowly. Bella can accept the good, the bad, and the ugly. Edward needs to allow her that oppurtunity. His reaction at the end, of running away but then going back, was perfect.



Author's Response:

He is growing, and it's absolutely essential that he can let her see the "ugly" side of vampire life, so that she, in turn, can let him see her "broken" body.  Also, it forced Edward not to fall back on "It's dangerous!" as an excuse to conceal that ugly part.  We get to see him/them take *reasonable* precautions.  It's possible to balance it.  As Bella has tried to tell him several times, even lately with her observation about Emmett putting a band-aid on her, and the fact she wouldn't even be handling a knife around Jasper. :-)

Reviewer: divagils (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 06:10 AM · On: Chapter 38

I love this story! It is beautifully thought out and so well-written!



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: jackbauer (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 05:22 AM · On: Chapter 38

Edward said ASSHAT!  That is hillarious and its even more hillarious that you sat around and decided it was logical for Edward to start cussing to update his speech patterns.  I'm all giggly now.  He updates his speech patterns but then calls Chip a cretin.... that's well.... uh modern? 

ooooh this was good: Control is Edward's god.

I really can't imagine an opposum would taste good.  I used to have one that got into the crawl space of my house and he could growl and claw at night and completely freak us out.  I live in a city and we had to hire a trapper to catch him.  It was awesome.  I imagined him being Davy Crockett.  I kind of missed the times my two roomates and I would get up and scream in the middle of the night from all the weird sounds though. 

Anyway.. was that part 3?  For some reason I thought it was part 2.  I'm reviewing grants for the dept of Ed so my mind is fried this week.  If that was part 3 where's the KISS!?!?  Just kidding.

I loved this chapter - everything about it.  I love Edward.  I love that he's been protecting himself or that he realizes that.  Perfect.  Come here and let me hug you. 



Author's Response:

"He updates his speech patterns but then calls Chip a cretin.... that's well.... uh modern?"

Ha.  Good, you caught that!  Even when he's trying to be "modern" he still uses old fashioned words sometimes when he's really upset.  His "modern" vocabulary is considered, not natural.

And yeah, part 1 was the Bella-Alice-Jasper convo, part 2 was Martha's arrival, and part 3 was Edward's response.  And we are now past a year and a LOT of important doors were closed and doors were opened so ... kiss is imminent!  Sorta. (Don't hurt me!)

And [[hugs]]

Reviewer: kng1986 (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 04:45 AM · On: Chapter 38

It is really good to see Edward getting past the bull and coming clean with himself about his motives for leaving Bella.  I really liked that he let Bella see him eat. 

I thought you'd outgrown the Peeping Tom stage?   I love Rosalie even more.



Author's Response:

He absolutely had to show her what he considers the "ugly" side of himself, so that she can do the same thing, with her "broken" body.

Reviewer: JAustenlover (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 04:42 AM · On: Chapter 38

Yes, we love you lots for three chapters in one week!

I will of course come visit the thread, but in the meantime...

  I was surprised (perhaps I missed something earlier on) to learn Edward's real reason for leaving Bella the first time. Wow! Lots of inner turmoil for Edward, but it appears he has moved forward, broken thru the barriers and exposed himself in a way that he was not capable of doing when they were originally together.

Great job! I will never look at an opossum the same way again...



Author's Response:

LOL!, on the opossum!  And yes, he really has moved forward and broken through some barriers, come to a better understanding.  More will come out over the next few chapters about why he is the way he is.  Bella will finally be able to pull some things out of him that not only helps HER understand him better, but helps HIM understand himself better. :-)

Reviewer: BaileyMac (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 04:24 AM · On: Chapter 38

I love this story and I am so freaking excited about all the updates!



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: Audrella (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 04:17 AM · On: Chapter 38

Poor Scaredward....lol.  Great chapter.  And thanks for so many updates.  I was surprised to see another so soon!  I love this story so it's been an exciting week.  Thanks!!



Author's Response:

Scardward!  That's CLASSIC.  I love it!  Thank you!

Reviewer: vamppy (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 03:57 AM · On: Chapter 38

ohh poor edward always conflicted hopefully he just goes for her soon :



Author's Response:

He starts getting his act together.  He has some reasons for being as he is. :-)

Reviewer: none (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2009 01:45 AM · On: Chapter 27

I'm an RN and I am impressed by your research. My father was an MD

and his mantra was "First of all, do no harm".   My Mom told me that he

wept (with her privately) when he lost his first surgical patient. Fifty-seven

 former patients attended his funeral, writing things in the book like "honest

doctor"  and "saved my daughter's life".

Very good chapter--rang true.    

 



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm really glad it did.  I think doctors have a terrible time because they really want to help people, and when they can't, it's a big blow -- both to their desire to help as well as to the knowledge they spend so much time and effort acquiring.  A friend of mine is a doctor and he once told me that medicine is as much an art as a science.  Some is plain ol' instinct.  And it's so frustrating to be WRONG, not only because it's embarrassing but because it doesn't just show up YOUR failings -- it impacts the patient.  I think it's even worse for Edward who puts SO much stock in his intellect and abilities ... but he can't beat death.

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.