Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviewer: RebeccaJ1973 (Signed) · Date: March 01, 2019 03:21 AM · On: Chapter 50

I meant to say this back on the chapter where Edward first lays down the law to Hannah abot smoking while pregnant, and she responds that she smoked with her first three children - just as her mother smoked while pregnant - and none of them were harmed by it.  Since the smoking while pregnant issue is brought up again here (though briefly), I figured it'd work to rant here instead...

My mother had six children and smoked while pregnant with each, finally quitting in 1984 when the youngest was 8 years old (I, the 5th born, was 11 at the time).  When the subject would come up about smoking and pregnancy, it always infuriated me when she'd remark that she smoked with all six of us and none of us sufferred any ill effects for it (my parents were strict about their children not smarting off or talking back, so I always had to bite my tongue).  What she failed to realize, apparently, is that at least three of us did have at least one health issue evident beginning in infancy and remaining life-long issues for at least two of us.  While many women hear that smoking while preganant can lead to low birth weight and dismiss this thinking it just means they will have an easier labor with a 6 or 7 pound baby (though no one ever said the low birth weight factor would be such a minor reduction), many don't seem to realize lung and ear issues are fairly common complications suffered by babies of smoking mothers.  In my family's case, the last three children born all had some ear problem or another arising in infancy, and I've had lung issues all my life.  For the ears, both my older sister and younger brother had to have tubes placed repeatedly throughout childhood - and in my sister's case, it has continued well into her adulthood.  For me, while I escaped the tubes (not sure how as I, also, always seemed to have severe ear infections - even into adulthood) one of my eustachian tubes did not form correctly and so does not drain as it should (likely why I've never managed to "outgrow" these ear infections).  As much as the ear issues have been a problem, however, it is the lung ones that always astonished me that she didn't seem to make the connection.  Under the doctor's advice, she had to routinely put a blanket over the top of my crib and run a hummidifier into it (essentially maing a steam tent) because I always seemed to have a cough - still do, in fact... I can't begin to count the number of times I've had a doctor, after listening to my lungs, recheck my chart only to ask with clear skepticism, "you're not a smoker?" followed by, "and you've never smoked?" and concluded with some remark about how I have a "smoker's cough" (I agree but it wasn't me smoking that caused it!).

Anyhow, Hannah's comment to Edward (obviously) hit a touchy subject with me.  While I respect a woman's right to make choices regarding her own body even while pregnant, what I cannot tolerate is someone trying to justify her choices by dismissing the risk and/or consequences of said choices.

---rant over---

Reviewer: Jenandberry (Signed) · Date: May 27, 2016 10:55 PM · On: Chapter 68: Epilogue

Really well written story  thank you 

Reviewer: adirondackmommi (Signed) · Date: April 02, 2015 04:04 PM · On: Chapter 6

Really enjoying this so far, excited to see where you are taking it.

Reviewer: SCWillson (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2013 10:21 PM · On: Chapter 68: Epilogue

Brilliant, heart-breaking, and heart-warming.

Thanks for sharing it with us.

Reviewer: sammy55 (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2012 12:36 AM · On: Chapter 68: Epilogue

I just read this through in about three days. This is an amazing story that is well written, well thought out, and has very surprising twists. And now Im practically sobbing over the ending, as 'full circle' as it may be.

Reviewer: GeezerWench (Signed) · Date: June 10, 2011 02:16 AM · On: Chapter 68: Epilogue

Well done.

 

Thank you.

Reviewer: GeezerWench (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2011 07:05 PM · On: Chapter 47

Well, I've been with my husband 31 years. Of course he's seen me naked, he was even in the room when I gave birth to our daughters and that's pretty darn messy.

 

But bathroom time is private time.

 

I can certainly see Edward helping Bella into the bathroom, but not hanging around for the duration. But being close by in case she falls or something while she's in there.

 

Just how I was raised and I imagine Edward sure was raised that way. Probably even Bella was, too. Keeping in mind her character's parents had "traditional jobs" (Renee a teacher and Charlie a cop) .

 

Though I would guess, being a paraplegic, there have been PLENTY of people who have seen her naked, helped her to the toilet, helped her bathe, taught her how to take care of herself, etc, so she would have gotten over the potty privacy thing.

 

Both my girls have been in the military (one still is) and according to them, there ain't much privacy! You have to learn to deal with it. The daughter that is now out of the Navy relishes and rejoices in bathroom privacy!

 

 

Reviewer: GeezerWench (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2011 11:11 AM · On: Chapter 41

Well, Rose just blurts.

 

It's good they are friends now and had that heart to heart talk.

Reviewer: GeezerWench (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2011 10:45 AM · On: Chapter 40

My goodness. You took the long, winding road to get there. Over hill and dale and back around the bend, but I liked it! LOL!

Reviewer: GeezerWench (Signed) · Date: June 08, 2011 09:44 AM · On: Chapter 18

I get the distinct impression you did not like Bella at 17.

 

She struck me as a 17 year old. They're all idiots. (I can kind of remember that far back.) But some do make life altering decisions at that point. Like Bella jumping off the cliff and breaking her back.

Reviewer: GeezerWench (Signed) · Date: June 07, 2011 11:57 PM · On: Chapter 6

Well, you have me hooked. I don't read much of the AU stuff, but this one was recommended by giselle (Ithaca is Gorges). And I'm glad I started reading!

Reviewer: GeezerWench (Signed) · Date: June 07, 2011 11:11 PM · On: Chapter 3

Oh my!

 

But what else would Bella say to Edward?

Reviewer: iloverob32 (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2011 01:49 AM · On: Chapter 62

Really nice tie-in with the Chip incident in the stairwell.  Very well done, I thought. 

Reviewer: iloverob32 (Signed) · Date: February 07, 2011 11:10 PM · On: Chapter 44

What a sexy, sweet, sensual chapter.  Loved it!

Reviewer: iloverob32 (Signed) · Date: February 06, 2011 08:21 PM · On: Chapter 26

A lovely chapter.  While Bella isn't saving Edward in the traditional sense, in a way she is.  A least comforting him.  It makes them more equal and they needed that.

Reviewer: displacement (Signed) · Date: January 04, 2011 04:04 PM · On: Chapter 18

i love love love this story!  it's twilight for grown ups.

 

:)

Reviewer: IzzyBizzy (Signed) · Date: June 10, 2010 05:35 PM · On: Chapter 3

They lock eyes. "What are you doing here?" she asks. There are many, many levels to that question.

"Watching over you," he says.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I couldn't help but bust into tears that he is still watching over her 10 years later.

Reviewer: IzzyBizzy (Signed) · Date: June 10, 2010 05:18 PM · On: Chapter 2

Wow. So much angst in such a short time. :( I don't think an author has ever had me crying by chapter 2.

 

Reviewer: MsAusten (Signed) · Date: May 02, 2010 09:58 PM · On: Chapter 68: Epilogue

Excellent ending. It feels right to have Edward's worldview transformed into one that includes the Episcopalian tradition of his origins...very impressively done. Thank you again.

Reviewer: MsAusten (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2010 02:00 PM · On: Chapter 9

I love what you are doing here...introducing the complexities of life, of a particular life too. In some ways, young idealism leaves so little of life to be explored. And you are detailing so many different issues of maturing (family struggles, racism, recovery, different-abledness, career), without seeming contrived. Impressive. Thank you.

Reviewer: midnightgirl (Signed) · Date: April 28, 2010 01:55 PM · On: Chapter 68: Epilogue

that was a very good story although a little hard to follow sometimes. what i mean is, when you were refering to bella you used the word 'she'to many times. it made me consintrate on that word more than what you were saying. i hope i explained that right, but regaurdless it was a beatiful story and i enjoyed it very much.

Reviewer: eclipsedbyedward (Signed) · Date: January 30, 2010 03:26 PM · On: Chapter 68: Epilogue

I loved the story.  I live in Northwest GA at the TN line, so it was wonderful hearing things from a point of view I understand well!  I am also a conservative Christian.  While a few of the views of the vampires and Bella I didn't agree with, I was very moved by the belief in Jesus as the Messiah that Martha, and at the end Edward, shared.

Thanks for sharing your story with us!

Reviewer: Bella0815 (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2010 04:56 PM · On: Chapter 10

I'm sorry I'm not reviwing every chapter. But each one has made me tear up. I HATE the fact that family is so broken, but LOVE how they are all coming back together! I know it will be slow going, but I really love this story so far.

Reviewer: louemrog (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2010 04:12 PM · On: Chapter 39

big smiles xx

Reviewer: Twilight_1012 (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2010 03:02 PM · On: Chapter 68: Epilogue

wow this was nice. actually bettertehn that. really really good. ur one heck of a writer i must say :)

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.