Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For With Teeth
Reviewer: Elizabeth440 (Signed) · Date: June 13, 2010 01:24 PM · On: Chapter 21

One of the things I most enjoy about this story is the pacing. It is note-perfect for the content. Edward's journey is taking time, he is experiencing setbacks and slip ups, yet even when he drinks and uses, there is still forward progress, even if it's just his increasing dissatisfaction with and despair over living his life that way. A switch doesn't just get turned on and off, it's a daily struggle for him and that forward progress happens in degrees and inches.

I thought it was exceedingly clever to use Jasper's comments about helping Edward in the past to convey the passage of time and events. There is absolutely nothing contrived or manipulative in this story either in the details or the themes.

I particularly enjoyed how Jasper reached his breaking point as Edward's sponsor but not as his friend. I typically consider Jasper incidental in both canon and fanfic, so this is the first time I am truly appreciating who he is as his own character. He is not a psychologist or therapist, yet is the perfect embodiment of how one should be. From the way he unrelentingly and literally used Edward's name to call him out to how he acknowledged how his own behavior had contributed to Edward's wavering ability to commit to something to how he was brave enough to terminate their sponsor/sponsee relationship because he realized it wasn't healthy for either of them - I truly wish all practioners of therapy were so courageous and unyielding in their principles.

And their confrontation was so necessary. Edward had only been going through the motions of sobriety, not truly committing to it and half-assing the steps. He was waiting for the next excuse to come along to justify drinking and getting high. His first person narration throughout these last two chapters is like a direct view into someone's life, mind, and soul, with no filter.

I'm choosing to interpret Edward sitting alone in his dark bedroom, briefly contemplating suicide, as his rock bottom, his moment of reconciliation to the powerlessness he has over his addiction. It speaks so greatly to your control as a writer that you conveyed that scene in the understated manner you did. Not many writers seem to be able to do that; in fact, SMeyer herself is wholly unable, which I find ironic considering that this is technically Twific.

If that moment in this chapter was indeed Edward's proverbial moment of truth, then it also appears that his piano playing was his rediscovery of his soul, his first step along the path to discovering his *anything*. That music could be his singer - what an incredibly clever and ironic twist on canon.

Lastly, I really appreciate how the whole of this chapter was NOT about Bella and how her letter only warranted a cursory mention. Edward needs to do these things for himself and motivated solely by his desire for a better life. I hope - I sooooo hope - that his eventual better life includes a romantic, healthy, mutually fulfilling relationship with Bella. There was so much good stuff in their first go-round, even though it ultimately did not work. It was like all the right parts were in the right places, but the connectivity malfunctioned. Here's to hoping that they eventually reunite, find all those right parts in the right places, and the connectivity flows unimpeded.

Reviewer: bbwraven (Signed) · Date: June 13, 2010 08:47 AM · On: Chapter 18

NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Lurecyka (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 08:43 PM · On: Chapter 17

My heart is breaking a bit at the idea of Bella moving away from Edward.  I love this story so much !  thanks for writing this !

Reviewer: pipi (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 03:38 PM · On: Chapter 21

they are so weak... I mean, alcoholics. It must be so hard to be fighting againts yourself your whole life... so tiring... tentations everywhere... your own mind your enemy so often...

Good story but really distressing

Reviewer: pipi (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 03:06 PM · On: Chapter 20

he was so weak and he didn't ask for help. why didn't he ask for help? It feels so easy... i know it isnt but I hate him  right now. I'd like to shout at him how the fuck he could be so goddamn stupid... I don't know how JAsper can behave like that. I guess going through something similar helps you...

Reviewer: pipi (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 02:41 PM · On: Chapter 19

crying

Reviewer: pipi (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 02:08 PM · On: Chapter 18

OMG I knew he was falling but this... I feel sick

Reviewer: pipi (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 12:44 PM · On: Chapter 17

I don't want to think about him doing it again but it could happen. I don't want to.

Reviewer: pipi (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 12:07 PM · On: Chapter 16

I love the way you write. That is all. well, not really, I fucking love the story too. I want to know where these two are going to

Reviewer: pipi (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 10:40 AM · On: Chapter 14

I fucking loved it.... so realistic but so good

Reviewer: peyotemusic (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 09:01 AM · On: Chapter 20

Well, Edward felt like he needed to be punished.  And it's true that no one can hurt you like you can hurt yourself.  I think this is spot on.  But very sad.

Reviewer: PurpleBrina17 (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 08:09 AM · On: Chapter 18

and now i am crying, thanks

Reviewer: cazywazy (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 06:26 AM · On: Chapter 21

Wow, what a great story!  How often do you update, looking forward to the next chapter.  It's nice to see something new in the top 10's on here.

Reviewer: pipi (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 05:30 AM · On: Chapter 12

*sigh* smiling like a fool here

Reviewer: pipi (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 05:01 AM · On: Chapter 11

wow

Reviewer: pipi (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 03:37 AM · On: Chapter 9

mmm atmosphere is lightening... Good :D

Reviewer: pipi (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2010 12:27 AM · On: Chapter 8

I'm dissapointed too *sigh*

Reviewer: pipi (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2010 11:25 PM · On: Chapter 7

OMG how laborious is to get a date... I don't even know how I managed to do it... LOL These two are too cute and you're amazing... I love how you construct the situations with tiny pieces, tiny but so meaningful.

 

Reviewer: pipi (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2010 11:24 PM · On: Chapter 7

OMG how laborious is to get a date... I don't even know how I managed to do it... LOL These two are too cute and you're amazing... I love how you construct the situations with tiny pieces, tiny but so meaningful.

 

Reviewer: pipi (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2010 10:29 PM · On: Chapter 6

what a life... he really needs someone

 

I love the way you write this. short sentences that tell everything, the harsh reality,

... no tricks

Reviewer: mandy07 (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2010 10:02 PM · On: Chapter 21

I don't know what to say your story has left me speechless.  The last few chapter's have brought tears to my eyes.  I feel that you have experienced or know someone who has been through this ordeal, your wording is so emotional.  I will be back later because I can't read just one chapter at a time. 

Reviewer: Lurecyka (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2010 08:28 PM · On: Chapter 16

Just love this chapter.. the way you'r writing this is amazing !

Reviewer: idlehands (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2010 06:57 PM · On: Chapter 21

phenominal job so far. i can't wait to see more. keep up the great work.

Reviewer: bbwraven (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2010 06:03 PM · On: Chapter 14

Wow....that was intense...

Reviewer: gonyes (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2010 05:14 PM · On: Chapter 21

Love this story, thank you. I just read up to chapter 21 in a few days.  Can't wait for more!

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.