Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For The Fallout
Reviewer: izziey (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 11:37 PM · On: No Man is an Island

did i miss something? what's in baltimore? wait, let me guess - i just need to keep reading right?

Reviewer: izziey (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 11:29 PM · On: To Travel Hopefully is a Better Thing Than to Arrive

well i must really like your story because i'm on chapter 4 and this is the first i've reviewed because i want to know what's going to happen next. i saw your story listed for awhile, but was pretty doubtful about the storyline, but you've changed my mind. well done.



Author's Response:

I hear ya on the summary.... i need someone to write me a better one!  It's not that appealing....nuclear war, Bella possibly dead?  What's so appealing about that?  Thanks for taking a chance with it.

OCD

Reviewer: VampireCat3 (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 08:25 PM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

Fabulous!



Author's Response:

Aw thanks!  Hope I can keep it interesting. ;)

OCD

Reviewer: caperves1979 (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 07:10 PM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

I love how you are going through each family member and covering how they dealt with the destruction.  I can't wait for the next update.



Author's Response:

Aw thanks!  Next we see a little more of Alice and Em..... and in the present possibly the wolves make an appearance.  ;)

 

Thanks for sticking with me!!

OCD

Reviewer: jilburfm (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 04:46 PM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

Carlisle's total and complete loss of faith is so painful to witness.  And that he takes all the blame on himself is so Edward-like.  The same loss of faith is nicely paralleled by Angela's Pastor Dad being skeptical.  I hope they survived the radiation poisoning long enough to see Angela get married... or maybe even be the officiant.  Why do I obsess about these teeny tiny details? 

I'm kinda surprised by the venomous thoughts of whatever wolf Edward heard... I mean, they're all alive because of the Cullens.  I can understand still being distrustful... but all that hatred?  Do they think the Cullens had some grand ulterior motive when they saved the Forkians?  Like they made their own special uninfected feeding ground?  Psh.  Silly wolves. 

And what is going on w/ that gun shot?  Warring within?  Someone on the outside?  GAAAHH!

And then Emmett!! What's wrong with him?!?!?!  GAAAHH!!

 

You'll be back again this week, right??  ;-)

 

 



Author's Response:

hey bb!

I love that you are worried about Angela's pastor dad! So funny.  Have you started your fic yet?  huh?  See.... you have all the little details.  Angela will share a little more with the Cullens, intentionally or not.  ;)

Carlisle's lack of faith was ne of the first scenes I wrote back in August....now the tricky part is bringing him back and making it believable.

As for the wolves... the venomous thoughts will be addressed in the next chapter.  There is a lot of conflict surrounding the wolves and the Cullens.  Some are more forgiving than others, that's for sure.  SOme still harbour a lot of animosity.  But again, like everyone else, they have some gowing to do as well.

I had every intention of updating two quick chapters by TwiCon, but I caught the flu on Friday, and am JUST finally coming around.  Tonight I will post a new chapter and then the next one as soon as the betas have their way with it....but we will all be at TwiCon so it will be hectic.  ONce the summer winds down I want to get on a regular schedule... so bear with me!!

Thanks so much again Jill.  :)

OCD

Reviewer: nikkiny2828 (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 10:58 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

poor carlisle will bella come back as a human, as a vamp or at all??



Author's Response:

Now I can't tell you that!  :)  All I have to ask is to be patient....all will be answered soon!!!  ;)

Reviewer: diamondtopaz (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 10:39 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

I would have thought that we were a lot further along just because you can write so much, but I guess it would make sense because of the plot.

Amazing writing! Please update soon!



Author's Response:

I had to mention that we were only about halfway because people were PMing me on FF and asking me if there were only a few chapters left.  SOme seem to think there is only a few more chaps, but that is far from the case.  A lot more in store for the Cullens and the people of Forks.  ;)

I am going to try and get back to a regular posting schedule after TwiCon.  Thanks for being so patient!

OCD

Reviewer: Master of the Boot (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 10:29 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

This chapter really impressed me, particularly the parts with Carlisle.  I've never seen the guy get that way before.  He's possibly the most broken one of them all.  Not emotinally but spiritually.  HIs spirit has fractured and it's so saddening.  Edward was forced to tell Esme that he didn't find him.  That's harsh. 

Ta

Master of teh Boot



Author's Response:

Aw thanks bb!  This scene was thevery first scene that I outlined back in August.  I wanted to know how I could get Carlisle to a place to lose his faith.  Now the tricky part is bringing him back and making it believable.  It will have to be smething big I think.  ;)

Edward, wants to try to get to Carlisle first.  The family is holding on by a thread and seeing Carlisle that way would surely make them snap.  He thinks it's better to have the family think he is still out there trying to get back to them.

Thanks so much for sticking with me through my erratic posting schedule!!!  I am going to try and get it under control after TwiCon.

:)

OCD

Reviewer: mikki13tx (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 10:10 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

Great story, well thought out and executed.  Keep up the great work!



Author's Response:

Thanksso much for taking a chance with this!  New chapter coming soon... like tonight?

:)

OCD

Reviewer: Ruby_Wednesday (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 09:43 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

aw...the thing with Carlisle shocked and saddened me...but was a good way to show just how bad things were. I'm impresssed that you went there and pulled it off.

loved the interaction with Angela too, and the hint of some trouble to come with the wolves.

 

thanks for updating!



Author's Response:

phew... I always wait to see if I can get away with things from a few a people...you included.  Carlisle was a risk, but this was actually the first scene that I outlined way back in August.  I wanted to have Carlisle lose his faith...now the big responsibility is bringng it back and making it believable.  ;)

Angela has been my fave, along with Seth.  Probably because I get a little more freedom with how I write them.  THe Cullens have to stay so close to canon, but with Seth and Angela, we don't know too much about them, and ten years to a human is a lot, and lots of changes can make them different.

I know my update schedule is super frustrating, and once the summer calms down and everything, I want to get back to a schedule.  Even if it's every 2 weeks, until I get back into the swing of things. I REALLY don't know how you all do it with frequent updates.  I feel like such a failure!  I think I have ADD or something! bhahaha!

And yes.... the wolves are coming in the next chapter.

thanks again bb.

OCD

Reviewer: neveryoumind (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 08:50 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

Wowzers. Sigh. Okay.

That scene between Edward and Carlisle was heartbreaking... on all sides. To think that Carlisle's whole way of thinking has changed... (who can blame him) To consider how that deeply affects Edward... (yep, Edward. your father figure believes he's a monster too. chew on that) To feel the pain that his refusal to return home will do to Esme... (kinda want to punch Carlisle there even though I sympathize with him) And now I have to wonder about Emmett...

Yeah.

Truly, I think that if Edward hadn't been out of it for so long or hadn't had to pick up the slack for Carlisle, he would have given up back then.

And. I love what you're doing with these sans-Bella chapters. I feel that even though the family is still very much a unit as evident in the present; ultimately, the events of the previous ten years have left them fractured and with many demons. They're very much not okay; just surviving for lack of a better word. Maybe that's obvious or at least it's in the back of a reader's mind but you've reinforced it with these few chapters and the next as well, I believe.

They all have their fair share of crap to deal with. But the nature of Edward is to shoulder guilt, pain, fear -- much like Jasper -- because he shares/experiences the others' baggage as well...

Dude! Just let the guy jump in a fire. Kidding.

But seriously... all that and then to also be dealing with grief. There should be a category for ultimate Despairward... yours would win.

Here's a "Hmm" moment for me:

I stood up reaching into my pocket for the handkerchief Alice had insisted I take with me.  Hmm…Alice was getting better. 

And this is where I cried a little:

I couldn’t tell her I knew, she hadn’t offered that up to me, but I felt the desire to comfort her anyway, and reached out, gently putting my arm around her as we walked.  It was an odd gesture that never would have come from me ten years ago, and I doubt she would have allowed it, but at this particular moment, it just seemed right…comfortable.

crying

Perhaps Edward is broken, fractured, whatever and dealing with a lot. But that's a significant change. It shows not all hope is lost for him. And yeah, duh Edward, you're not a monster.



Author's Response:

Dude.... I love your GIF' they really do make my days better.  Even when I am down in teh dumps!

Man I have so much shit to do, but I promised I would take an hour out and respond to reviews on Twi... (FF be damned! bahha!)

Oh Alice!  Man... people keep crucifying her and telling me she's their least favourite, and that I have yet to redeem her.  yikes!  She hasn't been given her chance just yet.  The next few chapters invlolve her a little more.

Not this next chapter, but the one after, we get a little more insight into Edward and how is feeling about seeing all his old buddies.... maybe even a few more will pop up.

Alright, I must go put my head between my knees to stop the spinning.  Later bb!  GOD I miss you!  Hell's Kitchen tonight right????

b

 

Reviewer: loss4words (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 08:31 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

I'm giddy with excitement that it is almost halfway, but wondering how it could be so far in already.  I am ready to see what is going to happen and how everything will come together, but I also don't ever want this story to end.  Poor Carlisle.  I am exquistly happy that Angela made it!



Author's Response:

I know everyone is all desperately waiting for Jasper and his story...but the players are not all in play just yet.  I say that I am about halfway, but the chapters keep getting longer, and I just wanted people to know that the story still has quite a ways to go.  There were people PMing thinking it was going to end in a few chapters, and that is far from the case.

I know my update schedule is extremely frustrating but the summer as been hectic.  I hope to get on a regular posting schedule soon.  :)  Thanks for sticking with me!

OCD

Reviewer: BellaS (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 08:28 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

Yay! Emmett's back...I'm worried about what he has seen. I hope that he would be able to overcome it all.

And poor Carlisle. It makes sense why he feels so guilty. I wonder how they will convince him to come back.



Author's Response:

It's true....I wonder what brings Carlisle back.  ;)  Soon, it will be revealed soon.

Emmett will have his time as well... and maybe that has something to the whole big picture too.  Thanks so much for stickng with me and my crazy posting schedule... I know it's frustrating!

OCD

Reviewer: Beignet (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 07:29 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

Incredible chapter! I am sad that Carlisle seems so broken. Looking forward to finding out how he heals & to know who started shooting mear the compound.



Author's Response:

The shooting will be addressed in the next chapter....how Carlisle comes around is coming just not in the next one.  ;)

Thanks for sticking with me and my erratic posting schedule.  I am going to try and set up a schedule after TwiCon.

OCD

Reviewer: mangler (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 07:04 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

The story is sooo good! Thank you!!



Author's Response:

Aw thanks.  Thanks for taking a chance with this fic. I am going to get to a regular postng schedule after TwiCon. I promise!

Reviewer: robyntj5998 (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 06:55 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

The Angela/Edward conversation really just moved me.  Angela is so kind hearted and it shows through her thoughts and how she feels bad for Edward and Charlie. 

You had me in tears when Carlisle was screaming at Edward that there was no God.  For serious.  FF doesn't make me cry, but you did it.  And now my co-workers are looking at me funny.  Now I'm all nervous about what is going on with Emmett.  I can't wait to see what happens next!

Stop holding out with the big red button.....tis mean!



Author's Response:

Hey bb!

 

I am trying to look at these reviews now... man just starting to feel better.  SO much to do I want to cry.  You are not supposed to be crying!  I leave that to NEV! Come on, your my rock bb.  Next chapter is safe... a little Jacob action. 

ps... I know I said  wouldn't hold out with the red button... but I am!!!!  Sorry!!  Tonight.  :)

mwah!  I've missed you.

b

Reviewer: Curleyredmom (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 06:49 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

Oh, I love this story!  Thank you so much for  sharing.  I am mad at Carlisle! Can't he just go see the familily and then go back to work?  We will ever see Bella?



Author's Response:

Hey there!  Thanks for taking a chance with this fic!  I know so many questions!  That's what's so hard about reading a work in progress....so frustrating.  I promise to get back to a schedule once the summer starts to wind down so it's not too unbearable.  :)

Thanks for sticking with me.

 

OCD

Reviewer: Jynxx (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 06:32 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

Oh, poor Carlisle.  To think that he feels responsible is just too much to bear.  And even the most devout would be hard-pressed not to question their faith after going through something so horrendous as this.  Obviously, Edward gets through to him, or someone does.  I wonder what snapped him out of it?

So, I wonder why Edward is needed so urgently back at the bunker?  Did something happen to Emmett?  Alice?  Did they find Jasper? 

Oh, the suspense, I can't wait!



Author's Response:

Aw Carlisle... he is one of the reasons why I started this fic.  I wanted to test his faith, and get test all the Cullens really.  I've always wondered why SM didn't give us a little more history of the Cullens.  I always would have liked to have known what Carlisle did durng WWII.

And you are correct... I wonder what it was that snapped Carlisle out of it.  :)  It's all coming soon.  There is so much more story to tell and I thank you for sticking it out with me.  I know my updates are insanely sporadic, but I promise to get back on track nce the summer winds down.

We find out about the rest fo the gang soon enough....and Em's part wil be coming up soon as well.  They are all tested.

Thanks again,

OCD

Reviewer: katmom (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 05:26 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

Do I always start my reviews with:

Oh My!

Wow...The time spent with Angela was a lovely moment...

Ugh, Jacob and his VENOM...

Seth, he needs to KNOW so that he can help...the vamps!

The flashback...My heart was breaking for Carlisle...and just what is happening back at the bunker? 

You are GOOD!  And I can't thank you enough for this swift update!

Thank you!

Kathie



Author's Response:

Aw thanks so much Kathie, your reviews always bring a smile to my face.  I had planned on doing two quick updates again this week before TwiCon, but I got that nasty flu bug and has taken me out of commission for awhile.  But one is definitely coming soon!

 

Seth... you have a little insight with him.  He really is not a kid anymore and he just wants people to see it, even though he still acts like a kid sometimes.  He's got a role to play, that's for sure when it comes to the vamps and wolves.

Jacob gets a little testy in this next one, but he still is Jacob and he is a good man deep down even if I paint him in a different light for this next chapter.  He too will grow, just like everyone else. 

Once summer starts to wind down I promise my goal is to get back on a schedule.  It's GOING to happen. :)  Even if I have to lock myself in my basement!

THanks for being patient and sticking with me.

OCD

Reviewer: kristine2311 (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 03:08 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

WOW!! just Wow.. I have to say i super excited to see another chapter today. I stayed up till 3am reading through all the chapters to catch up and I'm really impressed. I love the world you given us, the hope and despair and the flash backs. I have to say few chapters back with the blood on the wall scene. great used of type, because when i scrolled up, that freaked meee out and i think my heart jolted, i didn't help that it was the middle of the night and very quiet.

Great work, can't wait to see more!

Cheers!



Author's Response:

Hey kristine2311,

I love when I can use a little of the graphics function over here.  On FF everything is limted.  No doub;e spaces, no graphics etc.  :)  I was trying to post 2 chapters again before I left for TwiCon, but the nasty flu bug got a hold of me and it looks like I can only get to one this week.  It's coming though!  Find out a little more about the wolves.  :)

Thanks so much for sticking this out.  Once the summer calms down I plan to get back on a schedule for updating.

OCD

Reviewer: CleanEco (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 02:54 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

Happy to see that you updated so quickly and even happier to hear that there's so much of the sorry left to go. So happy in fact that I can forgive the double cliffhangers in both the past and present parts of the story.

Author's Response:

I was meant to be doing two updates this week before TwiCon too, but I came down with a nasty flu bug and have been out of commission for three days.  I am definitely posting one chap before I go.... I wanted to post two, but the betas won't have it done.

It's all coming together though, so that's why I hope everyone can remain patient....cause there still is a lot of the story to tell.  Once TwiCon is over and summer calms down, I plan to get on a better schedule.  Thanks again!

 

OCD

Reviewer: Chalice Cullen (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 02:50 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

When I started reading this I thought, "Oh come on, a nuclear bomb? Really?"

But I kept reading. And reading. And reading.

Now I can only say this is compelling. Well written, well thought out, and while the end of the world is rather cliche, only becuase it has been done so many times, the vampire's take on it is a nice twist.

Now, as far as your plot goes.. please PLEASE let Bella have been turned by Victoria and not killed. I'm thinking Edward will find Bella at the very last second, as he has plans in place to erradicate the newborns nest with a bomb or something.. He sees her, knows he cannot stop his own death, and then she willingly takes his hand and they die together.

While a Romeo and Juliet ending for this story would be absolutely fabulous, I think after all this devastation we need a happy one. Nobody can take Bella's place, nobody. Not Alice, no matter how beautiful she was human, and not Angela, no matter what the little pixie thinks she saw to make him take that hankerchief.

Despairward is hard to read page after page but hoping that there is some resolution and happiness for him makes me press on. I have to believe Bella is alive. Now as for Alice, did Jane come after her? Is that why she and Jasper have yet to return, why it took Emmett so long to return? 

Now of course I think Bella dragged Edward out of the street and then she kept the Volturi from destroying him by sheilding him, giving away her power. Being the greedy bastards they are, the Volturi wanted to keep Bella, so in exchange for not killing Edward, she goes with them. Bella doesn't think Edward loves her so she leaves him be.

Then Rosalie shows up and keeps her a secret. That is really what she meant when she apologized in the woods when she was talking to him in her head when he crossed the boundary. Maybe Rose will contact Bella to save Edward from killing himself?

It's like Twilight meets Jericho. Oh and did I mention, I love it? I do.

 

 



Author's Response:

Thanks for taking a chance with this... believe me I know it's not an easy thing to sell!  bahahha!  Frankly I am surprised anyone is reading it still.  :)   I LOVE your theories!  Love em.  I have yet to reveal any major plots, only 2 people actually know what I have in store.  Man.... I wish I had your imagination, that is a way better plot than what I have in store!  :)

 

It's funny I am a TV junkie and pretty much watch anything pos-apocalyptic, but Jericho was never one of them!!  I was waiting for the DVD then I heard it was cancelled so I never bothered.  So bizarre cause everyone keeps telling me I need to watch it.

Thanks again for taking a chance and sticking this out.  Update coming soon!

xox

OCD

Reviewer: vamppy (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 02:27 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

wow another awsome chapter ...darn it  Carlisle  for not thinking about esme but i see where he is coming form blaming himself for everything hope they can get him back ... :) cant wait for next chapter



Author's Response:

Carlisle comes around.. we know this, but it's just wondering what brings him around.  :)  He is over-rought with all his emotions, they all are.  I always wondered why SM never had the Cullens talk about events in History.  I can't imagine that Carlisle sat through WWII and didn't help out.  That was always my reasoning behind it. 

Next chapter is coming soon!  Thanks so much for reading.

 

OCD

Reviewer: AlliYoyo (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 02:04 AM · On: The Darkest Hour is Just Before the Dawn

OW! That was even more heartbreaking than the last! I never thought I would see Carlisle lose faith like that! Even in the books I got the sense that he believed, and not just from the strict (I'm assuming Protestant) upbringing he had. I get his desperation, though. Those people did need him, and if his phone call to the Volturi somehow set the nuclear chain of events in motion, his guilt must be overwhelming...

Can't wait to read more!



Author's Response:

Back again...

Carlisle losing faith is tone of the reasons I wrote this fic.  I wanted to explore what would cause him to lose faith, what would test all the Cullens and this scenario was what I came up with.  :)  He does have an unwavering sense of faith and he obviously finds his way back.... I just wonder what it wil be that will bring him back??  :)

Thanks again!!!

OCD

Reviewer: AlliYoyo (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2009 01:48 AM · On: Fortune Favors the Brave

I never thought that Rosalie would make me cry! But she did. That must have been so heartbreaking for her, and I would have done the same thing if I had been in that position.



Author's Response:

You know.... Rosalie has always been my least fave and I have never really found an AU Rose that I liked either.  I really wanted to "humanize" her because there has to be a reason why the Cullens love her, especially Emmett.  I wanted to bring that out in her.  Thanks so much for reading and taking a chance with this fic!

 

OCD

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.