Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Form 1040
Reviewer: RebeccaJ1973 (Signed) · Date: July 30, 2018 08:57 PM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

I am not generally a fan of one-shots or short stories in general, but the blurb for this one caught my attention.  I absolutely loved it!  On the surface it just seems to be another quaint moment in 'The Life of a Cullen' but as I continued to read, I realized that there as actually a rather powerful message hidden within (about counting your blessings).  Thank you so much for sharing this with us!



Author's Response:

Thanks, and thanks for reading! A strange and delightful surprise to get a review here. Glad you enjoyed it. 

Reviewer: Costa (Signed) · Date: August 26, 2011 01:29 PM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

  That was very sweet!  Loved the Carlisle-Renesmee moment.        ^_^

  Indeed, after all those centuries alone, and now such a large, loving family, and a once-thought-impossible granddaughter!  How can a man not feel blessed?

  I just thought that the whole "damned" stuff was out of place.  As far as I know, gloom and bleakness are Edward's realm.  And even him, at this point, if not fully converted, must be, at least, more hopeful about this topic.        :-P

  All in all, a very good piece, giselle!

Reviewer: RedSummer (Signed) · Date: January 23, 2011 11:29 AM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

I love this so much! Such a beautiful interpretation of 'a day in the life of' the Cullens. Carlilse's family is his life and I can quite easily see Renesme's point about him taking care of everyone at the expense of himself and her conern was so genuine. I can also see that Carlilse would view doing his tax returns are something importantly human! Good job x

Reviewer: mousekitty (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2010 09:51 PM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

I've mused on the issues too, but you managed to turn it into a relationship story.  Good for you.

Reviewer: rin1591 (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2010 07:53 PM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

That was wonderful... thank you for sharing



Author's Response:

Thank you, rin! I'm glad you enjoyed it. 

Reviewer: Arizona Hale (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2010 10:32 PM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

This was just beautiful. You take something as mundane (and truly horrifying) as doing taxes and make it into something wonderful.

 

Good job. :)

 

And for the record, Aaah...Carlisle. Yummy.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. This story popped into my head one day in the shower, and then took shape from there--I worried about putting a fic up whose title was a tax form, but it's been well-received. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it. 

And I agree about Carlisle. He is the one I adore, for sure. All my fics are about him, really. 

Reviewer: 78slayer (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2010 02:35 AM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

I love this absolutly wonderful story.



Author's Response:

Thank you. I'm delighted you enjoyed it. 

Reviewer: belladonna1472 (Signed) · Date: November 24, 2009 01:33 PM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

This is a fantastic one-shot. I usually don't read anything in the post-Breaking Dawn genre, but this was executed beautifully. Carlisle is one of my favorite characters. I appreciate the connection you convey between him and his family.

Lol, only two things are certain in life: death and taxes!



Author's Response:

And if you take away death...

I'm sorry this review slipped me by. I don't usually write anything in the post BD genre, either, so I don't blame you in the least. I adore Carlisle, as is probably evident, and I'm delighted that you connected with him here. Thank you for reading! 

Reviewer: LadyKnightAmy (Signed) · Date: November 19, 2009 01:27 PM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

It was sappy sweet...and I couldn't turn away. Bravo!



Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: musselml (Signed) · Date: October 26, 2009 02:47 AM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

This story brought a smile to my face.  I love the way you portray Carlisle in your stories and especially this interaction between him and Renesmee.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm still tickled that folks enjoy this little piece so much. It was such a random little idea, but I have to admit that Renesmee won me over when I finally saw her through Carlisle's eyes. Glad you enjoyed the read.

Reviewer: BlueAngel145 (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2009 06:57 AM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

lmaO very funny - u know i never thought about it lol - good story



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: lilmissb (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2009 12:26 AM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

awwe that was sooo cute



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: Stardust1 (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2009 11:28 PM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

What a sweet image of Edward you have drawn.  Ok, Ok, it was a meant to be one of Carlisle but I can't help myself.  He's just so sweet!

Stardust1



Author's Response:

Hee. Thank you! I always shoot for providing good, accurate portrayals of all the characters, so I appreciate a compliment on Edward just as much. I love the image of him and Renesmee playing the Dolly suite--it's one of my favorite paragraphs of over 90,000 words of fan fic I've written.

Reviewer: georgiagirl (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2009 12:45 AM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

I Adore this story....I cant tell you how much. I sat here reading it with a shit eating grin on my face like i just got my own personal edward or a W2 like Carlisle! It was one of the best "true to character" stories i have ever read, and is something that could absolutely have taken place....its brilliant!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! I especially appreciate the compliments on the in-character-ness (can I make that a word? I'm making it a word) as that's what I really strive for. I loved these guys in the books, and I want to write things for other people that feel like they are just an extension. So I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: loquacious (Signed) · Date: August 03, 2009 05:28 AM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

OK, well, this is just awesome! I'm sorry I can't think of anything better (more constructive) to say. You have a great bead on Carlisle!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! This was the story that got me started really wanting to write CPOV. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: clark21412 (Signed) · Date: July 18, 2009 10:08 PM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

This is great.  I've occasionally thought about the headache it would be, but this made it so much more real.  Love it!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I love thinking about the little things the Cullens have to do to stay incognito. I'm glad you enjoyed this take.

Reviewer: sigh_for_sigh (Signed) · Date: June 24, 2009 06:51 PM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

I absolutely adore this story. I love how you address the nitty gritty details of being immortal. I wonder how long they will be able to fake it though, truthfully, eventually everything will be DNA and then they will be screwed. Now that would be an interesting story.Anyways. I love the little details, though I am a little fuzzy on the logisitics of Renesemee's powers. 

 

-Sophia



Author's Response:

This story is so funny...it's certainly the most loved of my one-shots, and that's with it being titled after a TAX form. But I'm glad you enjoyed it! I love thinking about all the nitty gritty details of what life would be like if you were an immortal--especially one trying to keep up the charade of mortality. We didn't get enough of that in canon, so I try to fill it in.

As for Renesmee's gift--I've taken to heart the "reverse of Edward" idea. Although she shows people mostly pictures in BD, as someone who has studied language acquisition, I imagine her gift would have slowly evolved to become more fully "verbal" as she spent more time talking (this actually even happens toward the end of BD--we get a thought from her articulated in words). We know Edward usually hears people as though they are speaking, so I imagine that Renesmee eventually gets to the point where the thoughts she is sending are essentially full sentences. That's what I went after in "1040."

Reviewer: izziey (Signed) · Date: June 22, 2009 12:49 AM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

i didn't think that a story about taxes could be funny and touching but you succeeded. well done.



Author's Response:

Hahaha. I think this is why this one has the most reviews out of my one-shots--it's surprising. Glad you liked it! I'm happy to have been "discovered" by you. :)

Reviewer: Beans827 (Signed) · Date: June 13, 2009 01:18 PM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

Oh, that was just so beautiful.  Just a sweet and innocent look into Carlisle's life.  I LOVED IT!  The line about him liking being called Granddad...that just melted my heart.  You gave Carlisle a beautiful tribute and you're right...that would be an administrative nightmare to keep up with.  I have a hard time with just my own family.   But really...that was just beautiful!



Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. I loved the Granddad bit, too--I think you're the first to comment on it, so that makes my day. Thanks for taking the time to review.

Reviewer: Smishli (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2009 03:49 PM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

I'd never have thought I'd willingly read a story about doing taxes and enjoy it! This is just wonderful. And so well-written! Carlisle seems like even more of a saint, handling the accounting for the family he loves.



Author's Response:

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it! (and found it well-written. :) ) I usually tend to try to de-beatify Carlisle where possible, but I agree that doing all the accounting is pretty saintly. He enjoys it though.

Reviewer: Quirky_Girl (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2009 12:41 AM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

LOL, Carlisle doing taxes - priceless.

Never really thought about it before, but dealing with taxes as an immortal would be a huge headache, wouldn't it?



Author's Response:

Hahaha, yes. That was what drove this whole story. Glad you liked it!

Reviewer: Anne (Signed) · Date: May 16, 2009 10:36 PM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

Such a lovely look into Carlisle's head - the characterization is beautiful and pitch perfect.  Thank you for sharing this.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! This was the fic that made me realize I loved writing CPOV. Glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: limona (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2009 01:01 AM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

I happened upon this one-shot randomly, and it was one of the best one-shots I've read in quite some time.

Very nice reflection on the the character of Carlisle Cullen. Renesmee was actually appealing.

The tax accountant in me was surprised his taxes were so straightforward, but having him file taxes for multiple versions of himself was a very nice touch.



Author's Response:

It never ceases to make my day when I randomly receive a review on one of my older pieces, so thank you! And I agree, I probably should've e-mailed my accountant for research to ask which of the bazillion forms he'd be filing. I figured everybody's got to file 1040...but also that he probably had a bunch of other stuff he had to take care of (of which I admit ignorance, aside from Schedule D, which made its way in), hence the piles of paper on his desk. Renesmee surprised me with how much fun she was to write in this fic (I wasn't such a fan of that plotline in the series). But Carlisle adores her...it's hard not to like her when you see her through his eyes. 

And I'll be shameless here...if you like this portrayal of Carlisle, I've in the throes of writing a longer piece from his POV and EPOV, called Ithaca is Gorges. It's up to Chapter 8 and I hope to have Chapter 9 ready soon. :)

I'm so glad you enjoyed this, and thanks for taking the time to review! It made my evening.

Reviewer: Antonia Cullen (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2009 04:24 AM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

GREAT story. I just love Edward and Renesmee bonding time.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I found Renesmee to be quite compelling when she's with her father and grandfather, myself.

Reviewer: nidka (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2009 02:56 AM · On: Form 1040 - One Shot

Carlisle completely lost me with the taxes. On the other hand I loved the whole Nessie thing. "Taking care of everybody" indeed.

Such in awe of your writting.

sincerely,

Karina.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much. Yeah...Carlisle going to great and confusing lengths to keep the records straight was the point here, so... =) But I enjoyed writing Nessie in this much more than I ever would have expected. Glad you liked it.

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.