Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviewer: Fleurs (Signed) · Date: August 09, 2014 10:09 AM · On: Chapter 1

This is a really promising first chapter, and premise. (Gotta appreciate a Grim Reaper who appreciates literary references.) I actually have a librivox audiobook of Goethe's Faust to listen to when I finish reading this; I never actually got around to studying it. [So, you know, you can feel like you improved someone's life straight away. Go you! Bein' inspirational and such!]

I appreciate Edward's voice, and the somewhat horror-struck yet detached tone. (That is, everything melds quite wonderfully.) Odd how few things change when he's a few centuries older, and with far less people to connect to meaningfully. But we like our angst-ridden Edward. (Especially when we know there's hope~)

{* Sorry if this review is a little twisty and incomprehensible; I'm trying to stop doing the whole "Review as I read" thing that I'm prone to, it's only the first chapter, and I am just off work and much exhausted. o/}

Thanks for posting in the void! Hopefully you get some more reviews. (For such nice writing, I'm astounded you're still in the 30s here!) I'm off to tea and the next chapter, so I suppose I'll see you there without delay on your end~ [ / babble ]



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review. The story is also posted on Fanfiction net, and there it is my best reviewed fic ever. But Twilighted net was my first introduction to fan fiction and I am attached to it so I double post here and there.

I just took inspiration from the myth, but deviating from the original meaning. Faust's wager is with the Devil, not with Death, who promises him all possible pleasures till he will have enough and then his soull will belong to Mephistopheles. Edward's path is toward redemption, hopefully.

I hope you like how I get there.

Reviewer: RavenFlyer (Signed) · Date: June 17, 2014 05:18 PM · On: Chapter 23 Epilogue

i loved your story, and hope you might post Emmett's and Sue's

Author's Response:

I managed to write a sequel only once(To The Parachutist). It is like, for the other fics, I have squeeezed all the juice I could to make the story original (if I say so mayself) and another plot bunny takes me somewhere else. But thanks a lot for r&r!

Reviewer: twilightmomct (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2014 08:51 AM · On: Chapter 23 Epilogue

Hooray for Edward getting to live a happy, human life. And as much as I love BD, I'm glad there were no half vamp babies in this story. 



Author's Response:

Yes, a hybrid would have been a disaster in this particular plot. They were lucky, because they never thought about protection (albeit they kenw that it was possible).

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Daylen (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2014 02:26 PM · On: Chapter 22 A Letter to Aro

I can just imagine Aro having quite the tantrum after that :)



Author's Response:

Yes, probably some heads rolled, in Volterra!

Reviewer: Daylen (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2014 11:04 PM · On: Chapter 21 Stay, Fleeting Moment

Awww nice build up there! I had it on my list of suspicions but it was still really awesome to read it through and let the tension build!



Author's Response:

Yes it was the only possible oucome for a HEA. I coud imagine this Edward - who loathed so much to be a vampire - either dead or human. Thanks a lot for the review.

Reviewer: twilightmomct (Signed) · Date: May 16, 2014 11:20 AM · On: Chapter 21 Stay, Fleeting Moment

That was a surprise! Edward redeemed himself & was rewarded with his humanity- I did not see that coming



Author's Response:

Well, then I did my job well! I hope you are happy with the soultion and thanks a lot.

Reviewer: Dark Angel (Signed) · Date: May 16, 2014 10:50 AM · On: Chapter 21 Stay, Fleeting Moment

Very curious. Did he redeem himself? Is that why he became human again? Oh yes, many questions!



Author's Response:

Edward did redeem himself. First by trying to set things right for Bella, the surviving Cullens and the Quileutes. He even became a vegetarian Vamp. But the most important thing was the evolution of his death wish. It was born from self hate and despair (and in this sense it was selfish) but at the end he choose to die to spare Bella. Had they remained together he was sure he would have changed her. And he loathed to be a vampire, loathed his condition and had managed to fully appreciate humanity. So he immolated himself for the woman he loved. At this point he was ready to become human himself and that is was what Death allowed. Note that the wager remained true, Edward will die eventually, only, not right now.

Reviewer: Dark Angel (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2014 04:22 PM · On: Chapter 20 Preparing to Leave

It better be enough. Hell hath no fury.....



Author's Response:

But this Edward LOATHES to be a vampire ....

Reviewer: Debbie1870 (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2014 05:50 PM · On: Chapter 19 Redde Rationem

How in the heck is Edward going to out smart "death"?  He has found his mate and will want to live his life with her - ugh - what a conundrum.



Author's Response:

The answer to the conundrum lies in the nature of Edward's death wish. because it is evolving. At the beginning it was rooted in self hate and despair, then in the need for punisment, the next step will be ...

Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: Daylen (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2014 04:54 PM · On: Chapter 19 Redde Rationem

Tense chapter but with a bittersweet conclusion. I'm happy to see the end of Demetri, but the cost was high :p



Author's Response:

Edward has two problems now: one is to ensure that there will be no retaliation form Volterra. For that he has a great and daring plan. As for his relationshib with Bella ... you have to wait and see.

Thank you.

Reviewer: Debbie1870 (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2014 05:59 AM · On: Chapter 18 Traps

Wow!  Great story!  Like most readers, I am a huge fan of all the Cullens.  However, this story has a true ring to Aro's ego and what lengths he will go to, to secure Alice.  I was sorry to see Jacob killed but it works for this story.  How many wolves are there now?  Hopefully with Jasper's expertise they will have talked through many senario's and be prepared for Demetri.  Keep writing.



Author's Response:

I surely will. I have some surprises up my sleeve. Thank you for r&r

Reviewer: Daylen (Signed) · Date: April 11, 2014 08:32 PM · On: Chapter 17 Imprinting

Nice. So now they've got Kevin on their side, sort of hoping that everyone gets through this story ok. But it isn't always possible.



Author's Response:

In tghe summary I wrote "It starts with a tragedy ..." But I didn't wrote  "it ends with a tragedy..." Thank you so much for r&r

Reviewer: twilightmomct (Signed) · Date: April 11, 2014 10:08 AM · On: Chapter 17 Imprinting

Evil cliffie! I hope you don't keep us in suspense too long about what their plan is or what happens between Edward & Bella.



Author's Response:

The story is not overloh and now things will move very fast. I hope you will like it.

Reviewer: 10of15 (Signed) · Date: March 24, 2014 07:44 AM · On: Chapter 15 Heather and Thistle

Poor Edward, wanting Bella but feeling unworthy.  Thanks for the update



Author's Response:

Edward's death wish is changing. At first he just had enough of his existence. Then, once he started to change his behavior and met the survivors of the Volturi mission, he simply thought that he deserved to be punished (Presently he is still there, he thinks to be unworthy of happiness and like Canon Edward, he thinks that humans can move on ). The third step will be something completely different - heroic even - and will resove the plot. I am rather happy about it and I hope you too will be.

 

 

Reviewer: griff1au (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2014 03:46 PM · On: Chapter 15 Heather and Thistle

Well that are both doomed then arn't they.  Make the most of the time you have and 'love the one you're with'.   



Author's Response:

Well, I have a few surprises up my sleeve.....Thank you for r&r

Reviewer: JavaMasta (Signed) · Date: March 05, 2014 02:36 AM · On: Chapter 1

Hi Camilla --

 

Yes, I am reading your story on ff.net as well (I'm guessing that the last chapter is still under review here).  Sorry for posting reviews in both places (they're differenet reviews) -- sometimes another thought comes to me!  :-)

This is the first FF site where I posted stories. Unlike some other sites, here I'm much less likely to read a story and think, "What?  Was this written by a 10-yr-old?"  :-) It's a pity that there aren't as many good tales (like yours) here any more.  However, I suspect that applies to the fandom in general.

 



Author's Response:

Please continue - I love to have reviews on both sites. Now on Twilighted there is less people who reads and comments, hence I decided to start my fics on ff net first. However, Twilighted has a few great assets: the author responses are visible, and very interesting, summaries can be longer, you can post beautiful banners and, most of all, somebody checks that your plot and your English are acceptable.

I started on Twilighted because I wanted the challenge, writing in a language not mine. My first story was duly rejected, but I worked on it and got in. I eventually found betas and editors (I still make mistakes) and I have learned a lot, starting with the acronyms: TMI, LOL etc.

There are still good stories around (My total preference goes to supernatural) One truly deserves to be read: it is wonderful and I  reccommend it, don't miss it. It is on ff net, it is titled

Compassion Holding its Breath by maruxf

Reviewer: JavaMasta (Signed) · Date: March 04, 2014 06:29 PM · On: Chapter 12 Confidences

This really is an interesting twist on Faust.  I'm guessing that you are following Goethe's Faust (otherwise Edward would simply die and go to Hell), with Bella as Gretchen? 

Looking forward to the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Yes, it is Goethe's Faust, not Marlowe's. And, even more, with me being Italian, I was thinking of Operas like Mephistopheles. But there is a substantial difference. Faust experiences pleasure after pleasure till his cup is full. Here Edward will follow a path of redemption that will bring him, step by step, toward his lost humanity.

Btw, are you reading it also on ff net?

Reviewer: Bleeding_Mascara_Tears (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2014 05:03 AM · On: Chapter 12 Confidences

more please?



Author's Response:

I'll submit tomorrow. Thank you.

Reviewer: 10of15 (Signed) · Date: March 01, 2014 02:29 AM · On: Chapter 10 Him!

this is a great story.



Author's Response:

I am  so happy you like it. Thanks a lot.

Reviewer: griff1au (Signed) · Date: February 27, 2014 09:14 PM · On: Chapter 12 Confidences

Still a melodramatic emo Eddie so self judgemental. Poor guy. 

Two thumbs up for your work. ☺



Author's Response:

Well, yes, here Edward  has a different background but his personality is in Canon, more or less. I'm glad you like my story, thank you.

Reviewer: Britmom (Signed) · Date: February 22, 2014 10:17 AM · On: Chapter 11 The Death Instinct

I love this idea, and it's the first time that anyone has seriously addressed it relative to Twilight, that I've noticed anyway. Brilliant research! Loving the story, particularly Edward's character. Looking forward to Wednesday's installment. Thanks!



Author's Response:

Thank you! When I read the novel and first heard of this Freudian theory, I researched it a little and then - because I am obsessed like that - I applied it to vampires. And it fitted! I am glad that you like my Edward.

Reviewer: Dark Angel (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2014 07:41 AM · On: Chapter 11 The Death Instinct

"In our organism each one of our cells is programmed to die at a given time. That is the death instinct in operation. But, if a cell doesn’t die, what happens? It keeps dividing, reproducing endlessly. It becomes cancer. This is what cancer is, cells which have lost their will to die."

I admit my education has been limited to some college courses for my defunct career as a medical/psychology transcriptionist, and have never heard of this or read about it. Or maybe I was asleep in class that day. I think I would certainly have remembered it otherwise. This has really thrown me for a loop. I got some thinkin' to do....thanks for giving me food for thought as well as entertainment. Kudos.



Author's Response:

Personally I haven't any medical education at all. But it made sense to me. I am glad that you like the story. Thank you.

Reviewer: griff1au (Signed) · Date: February 12, 2014 02:57 PM · On: Chapter 7 Memories

I LIKE your writing  :)



Author's Response:

I am glad. Thank yoiu!

Reviewer: Britmom (Signed) · Date: February 12, 2014 05:30 AM · On: Chapter 9 No Escape

... And

The attic door opened.

it' s not often that I'm gripped completely, my heart was in my throat at that point. Brilliant writing! And didn't expect the window drop either. Love that your story is unpredictable. Off to read the new chapter now. Thanks!



Author's Response:

So I DID manage it, evidently! Thank you so much. Some scenes should be like scenes in a film, showing, not telling the reader what is happening. I am glad you are liking the story.

Reviewer: Bleeding_Mascara_Tears (Signed) · Date: February 10, 2014 05:35 PM · On: Chapter 9 No Escape

Naughty cliffy!  I cant wait for more Bella and Edward convos!



Author's Response:

Not a cliffy, a windowsilly! (Not my pun, but I adopted it.) Thank you for the review, I will be submitting the next chapter today.

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.