Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Impressionism 101
Reviewer: bubblegumpop (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2012 11:53 AM · On: Impressionism 101

wtf wus that????? u call that a story?????

Reviewer: bubblegumpop (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2012 11:53 AM · On: Impressionism 101

wtf wus that????? u call that a story?????

Reviewer: Avarenda (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2009 09:06 PM · On: Impressionism 101

It's very lyrically done, and i liked the references to Monet. I mean, the haystacks? that's quite amusing. It's very pretty, too bad most oneshots don't live up to this sort of caliber.

All in all, i think it was a gratifying read. Thank you for sharing. We need people like you putting geophf in his place from time to time ;) otherwise his head gets to big. What better person for the job than his editor?



Author's Response:

Thank you very much.  I am so pleased that you liked it!  "very pretty" - I think I like that comment most of all. :)

I appreciate you stopping in to check this out and taking the time to leave me a review.  You mention geophf, so I take it he recommended this.  Hm, I suppose that means I should go easy on the poor lad for a little while...but only for a little while. ;)

Well, this story was terribly fun to write and it's a huge bonus to get to share it with people like you.

-LiLa

 

Reviewer: AuroraBlue (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2009 04:43 PM · On: Impressionism 101

Simply...lovely.



Author's Response:

Aww...thank you so much. :)  Glad you enjoyed it.

-LiLa

Reviewer: o2b18 (Signed) · Date: October 18, 2009 06:27 AM · On: Impressionism 101

Ok lets try again

Hay(stacks), well I eventually found you here at Twilighted. This is the second time I have written this review- for some reason this site does not like me, it blocks me adding favourites and often make me re log in time and time again...it pisses me right off!

Anyhoo, I loved the originality of this fic, was the idea stimulated by the pictures in Harry Potter, I always loved that, especially the snoring headteachers in Dumbledores office.

Impressionist paintings are my favourites- I particlarly love the work of Turner, early I know, but in my opinion no one captured the quality of light better. Love Renoir too...Seurat drives me dotty!

Wouldnt it be cool if Monet had really embedded a needle in the oil paint, I wonder if he did?

xR



Author's Response:

Well, haha -- aren't you "punny"!  Urg, sorry you have trouble at the site -- try not to take it personally; it's just playing hard to get. ;)

It's nice to see you here.  I'm glad you got a kick out of this little story.  The idea wans't consciously inspired by the pictures in Harry Potter, but I'm sure they were prodding me from my subconscious.  My favorite from the paintings was Sir Cadogan, the overly chivalrous knight. 

I live near Chicago where we have the big Seurat -- Day in the Park or something -- at the Art Institute, stand too close and you can't see straight for a week!

Thanks for checking out this story and leaving a review.  I hope you have better luck at the site and find lots of new stories that you love.

-LiLa

Reviewer: embassynight (Signed) · Date: October 01, 2009 06:54 AM · On: Impressionism 101

I kinda didn't get the story. Can somebody please explain to me? Im lost in here....



Author's Response:

Um, well, except for the night watchman and the teacher and students at the end of the story, the characters are all animated subjects in paintings in the Impressionist gallery.  This story is about a girl and a boy catching each other's eye across the room and sneaking through other paintings to meet in Monet's haystacks at the end of the gallery.  Does that help?

-LiLa

Reviewer: Camilla (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2009 06:30 PM · On: Impressionism 101

LiLa this is great! It is the kind of thing that I hope to do someday, when I amready t owrite fantasy stories that are not related to Twilight. For the moment I am too obsessed. But really, next time I visit a gallery I'll start to have fantasies, pairing subjects and imagining in what landscape the will make out.

Lovely



Author's Response:

Hi!  What a nice surprise to see to see you here! 

Ha ha - I'm always happy to aid in those gallery fantasies! ;) Glad you enjoyed the story & thank you so much for the review.

-LiLa

Reviewer: Metro Kid (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2009 03:15 AM · On: Impressionism 101

Haha. :) I actually really liked this. I’m surprised. I was initially very turned off by the first person native, in-depth description of what the two main characters were wearing and over use of the word ‘proper’. I face-palmed and almost just closed the window. However, for some reason, I decided to give the story a little bit more of a chance. And I’m glad I did.

The in-depth description no longer bothered me once I reached the second paragraph and discovered that the ‘characters’ were paintings. You seemed to refrain from overusing the same word anymore; and while I’m not a huge fan of first person narrative, you did a pretty good job with it. Kuddos!

Now, on to the story itself: It was a cute little tale and I got a kick out of everything that the poor guy went through trying to get and keep the wine and apples. Of course, he lost them all in the end. But the girl didn’t mind. I liked that too. It was a nice illustration of the sang, “It’s the thought that counts.” And  it showed that she wasn’t interested in being ‘wooed’. She just wanted to spend some time with him. Nice. ;)

I also got a big kick out of the part where the security guard comes by and the girl’s all worried that he’s going to find her out of her picture. Then he doesn’t even notice she’s gone, instead paying attention to anther panting, and the girl accuse him of being fickle. I’m not quite sure why, but that part put a large smile on my face. :D

I think you did a good job of describing the pictures too… and throwing in little touches to make the rest of the gallery seem as ‘alive’ as our two stars.  The ballerinas choosing to dance while the man’s passing through their picture, and the train deciding to startle the girl were both very amusing. But I think the best ‘little touch’ was the needle in the haystack at the end. LoL ;)

Anyway, I really enjoyed this and can easily see why it won the contest. Thanks for telling me about it. :)

Have a good day, and God bless.

Metro Kid.



Author's Response:

I absolutely adore your honesty:  "I actually really liked this.  I'm surprised."  That made me laugh.

I am so glad you pushed beyond the first paragraph.  Sorry it annoyed you so much.  The repetition of the word 'proper' was intended.  Sort of like an alliteration effect, but that's not the right word for it.  Where I used 'demurely' at the end of the paragraph, I wanted to use 'properly,' but I guess even I couldn't take the word anymore, because I kept putting it in and then taking it out again.  You know how you used 'Cullen' to refer to Edward, because you don't like using the same words over again?  I'm like that, too, as you noted in the rest of the piece. 

I'm so happy you enjoyed the little things throughout the story.  It was totally fun to write.  And on the thing with the guard - that's how girls are.  Pretend to shun unbidden attentions, but then when we don't get them, we're like, "hmmph!"

Thanks for stopping in (& staying till the end!)

-LiLa

 

Reviewer: jmeyer (Signed) · Date: March 25, 2009 04:23 AM · On: Impressionism 101

Hello,

I entered the most recent original fiction contest on Twilighted and have spent the past few days reading the other entries from that contest. I had so much fun reading the truly original and well written pieces that the authors from that contest wrote, that I decided to continue on and read what other authors have written.

This is FANTASTIC. Truly. I don't know how you came up with such a unique and playful idea, but I very much enjoyed it. I loved the detail you added about each painting. I love how the story flowed. I loved how descriptive everything was. This was just incredible.

jmeyer



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  I am excited that you liked it.  It was one of those ideas that came out of nowhere and practically wrote itself -  nice when that happens.

I hope you had fun writing for the contest.  I definitely would never have ever written this story if it hadn't been for Silly, Sexy and Supernatural.  Will you be posting your story?  I'll keep my eye out for it!

-LiLa

Reviewer: screamingstares (Signed) · Date: March 24, 2009 05:22 PM · On: Impressionism 101

OMG this is beautiful. It is full of imagination!



Author's Response:

You are awesome!!!  Thank you so much - thanks for the stars, too!

Reviewer: Bexsta (Signed) · Date: March 21, 2009 12:45 AM · On: Impressionism 101

This was wonderful! And so creative. Well done! I really enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response:

Thank you!  It makes me so happy that you enjoyed it.  Very sweet of you to let me know.

-LiLa

Reviewer: miaokuancha (Signed) · Date: March 15, 2009 04:20 AM · On: Impressionism 101

Lovely, original and tender.  The award is well deserved!



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you so much!  It was terribly fun to write, and it makes me happy that you enjoyed it. 

Thanks for the stars, too!

-LiLa

Reviewer: KerriDia (Signed) · Date: March 08, 2009 07:07 PM · On: Impressionism 101

Ok...so this is the first time I have ventured into the original fiction category.  Let's just say that I'm very glad that I started out with yours!  I may not know anything about art (now, ask me about music...that's a different story!), but I know when I read something that is good.  Very excellently written!  And I love the idea...simply put, it's beautiful!



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you so much!  I am ever so glad you ventured over here and that you liked my story.  Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review -- it's especially nice for a story that's been up for a while!

-LiLa

Reviewer: TF Alice (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2009 09:28 PM · On: Impressionism 101

That story is absolutely lovely!! I giggled through the whole thing. My favorite was the needle. lol, Monet would, wouldn't he? 



Author's Response:

I'm so happy you liked it!  That crazy Monet and his antics. 

Thanks so much for leaving a review.  It's always nice to know that I made someone giggle!

-LiLa

Reviewer: MidnightSapphires (Signed) · Date: February 04, 2009 06:42 PM · On: Impressionism 101

I LOVE IT!!!   That took some imganation and (I think) some inspiration as well from Hogwarts.  

Fantastic story!  Thank you for sharing!

 

~Sapphire



Author's Response:

YES!  Definitely a touch of inspiration from the stalwart halls of Hogwarts!  You're the first to mention that.  Thanks so much for reviewing.  I'm ecstatic that you loved it!

-LiLa

Reviewer: Several Ways (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2009 05:13 PM · On: Impressionism 101

Hi Lila! This is Several Ways, the girl who gave you 4 reviews and is about to give you 5!

OK, so I've read about 10 chaptrs of Add It Up (it's very long, u no?) and IT'S GREAT!! I'm so happy for you that you've got 300-something reviews! that's like, 100 more since the last time I reviewed!

Back to the story: She shld end up with Edward, obviously, but I just can't imagine him being "not that cool" when in real life...wait, what am I saying?...I mean, when in real FICTIONAL life, he's amazingly cool...so cool he's "too cool for school"!!

anyway, too much rambling...

btw, can I ask a HUGE favour? Will you review my story for me? I put it up not long ago and wld very much appreciate your opinion. Firstly, reviews make me extremely happy, and secondly, I honestly do want your opinion!



Author's Response:

So nice to hear from you again!  That is awesome that you've been enjoying Add It Up - BUT I just read on your profile that you're 15, so I'm really, really, really hoping (doubting, but hoping) that you skipped a few of those chapters in there - you know, the ones in Edward's dorm room.  But if you did read them, I feel obligated to say this -- don't try any of that stuff until you're married, got it!

Okay, with that out of the way......Yeah, human Edward is not nearly as cool or perfect as vampire Edward.  Wait till you get a load of Jasper - he's cool, but far from perfect.  For that story, you kind of need to suspend your pre-formed impressions of the guys and almost look at them as new characters -- although Twilight traits definitely come out, especially in Edward.

I put up a review on the first chapter of your story!  I'm so excited it focuses on Jasper.  He's my favorite too!  I'll be dropping you more reviews along the way - this is going to be fun!!

-LiLa

Reviewer: eclipsedawn (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2009 01:55 AM · On: Impressionism 101

Wow, I really liked that. As a fan of art and someone who has studied impressionism, I can say VERY WELL DONE.

Author's Response:

Oh my gosh - thank you so much!  And a big 'whew' on my part that the story passed inspection by someone who actually studied impressionism.  I really appreciate you checking the story out and leaving this review.  Thanks!

-LiLa

Reviewer: Several Ways (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2009 09:12 PM · On: Impressionism 101

Ok, I was just looking at the other stories you wrote, and Add It Up has like 200 and something reviews! I think that makes it up for the low numbers on the other stories! Having read the summary, it does sound very appealing, so I'm going to read it now and probably somehow manage to give you 3 reviews again...Oh wait, with this one included, it'll be 4 reviews! :)



Author's Response:

Oh, hooray!  Thanks for checking it out.  Yes, that story has been extremely exciting and fun to share with everyone.  Looks like I've finally hit on what fanfiction readers are looking for!

-LiLa

Reviewer: Several Ways (Signed) · Date: January 05, 2009 06:01 PM · On: Impressionism 101

Wow - you respond to every review you get! that's really sweet. you know, now that I've technically given you 3 reviews, do I get 3 responses, or 1? lol

anyway, once again, the story was great. I'm surprised you don't have more reviews!



Author's Response:

Well, when you don't get a whole hell of a lot of reviews, it's easy to respond!  I am clapping my hands that you mentioned that you're surprised at the low number of reviews, because nearly every story I've written, no matter the website, gets that comment.  I don't know what my deal is with reviews, but I am grateful for every single one, so I don't worry about the numbers.  But hey - thanks for bumping up my number by adding THREE.

-LiLa

Reviewer: Several Ways (Signed) · Date: January 05, 2009 05:56 PM · On: Impressionism 101

*your* art

sorry bout that-it's late!



Author's Response:

Don't you just hate when you click the button and you notice something like that!  Happens to me ALL the time.  Anyhow, I'm so happy that my art knowledge was passable - Impressionism is the only thing I come close to knowing anything about.

-LiLa

Reviewer: Several Ways (Signed) · Date: January 05, 2009 05:54 PM · On: Impressionism 101

That was a really good story! it was a very perculiar twist with a lasting impression. very unusual, which is what I like about it. Well Done!

oh and btw, you know you're art!



Author's Response:

Thanks!!!  'a lasting IMPRESSION' - very punny!  It was so great to get a review on this after its been up for a while - thanks for stopping by.

-LiLa

Reviewer: Master of the Boot (Signed) · Date: December 08, 2008 11:04 PM · On: Impressionism 101

Hey Lion, you know, I never really got to review this story.  I think that it deserved to win that contest.  It's got some great humor, like when the girl is stomping through the snow or when the guy takes a needle in the thigh. 

Perfect blend of romance, humor and classical painting trivia.

Ta

Master of teh Boot



Author's Response:

Thanks, but don't you have your own stories you should be working on???

-LiLa 

 

Reviewer: Lisa3 (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2008 11:20 PM · On: Impressionism 101

Wow!  What an original idea!  Very creative.  I especially loved when he stuck himself with the needle in the haystack.  Cute!

Author's Response: Thanks!  I'm so glad you liked the needle part - I know it was silly, but I just cracked up everytime I thought about it.  That crazy Monet!

Reviewer: Lead69 (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2008 01:57 PM · On: Impressionism 101

Your attention to detail was brilliant as per usual.  Congratulations on a well deserved win.  Loved the concept as I have always thought of art galleries/museums as places full of magic and I have often wondered what went on after the lights went out.



Author's Response: Hey - nice to see you on this story!  Thanks for checking it out - and reviewing and rating.  I'm so happy that you liked it.  Now you know what happens when the lights go down in the gallery!  (All that remains is to see what happens when Bella and Jasper go out on a date in 1988.)

Reviewer: eroticfan (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2008 11:26 AM · On: Impressionism 101

Great concept - I love it! Definitely worthy of 1st prize, congratulations. 

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much - that is very sweet.  Thanks for reading and reviewing! 

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.