Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviewer: SCWillson (Signed) · Date: April 08, 2013 04:38 PM · On: One-Shot

Touching. I have an autistic nephew (thankfully not as severely as young Caleb in this story), so this hits close to home. My nephew, Erich, does not communicate well either and I don't think I've ever heard him speak more than five words at any family gathering



Author's Response:

Good morning, SCWillson ~

Communication for those on the autism spectrum can be such a hard thing, for reals. Some of them don't even know what communication entails, and others are frustrated that when they DO find a way, their world is not instantly transformed to suit them.  It's frustrating for everyone.

I hope your nephew finds stepping stones in his mind to help him communicate effectively with those around him!

Thank you for reading.

 

LJ

Reviewer: Chnctgislnd07 (Signed) · Date: January 23, 2012 10:24 PM · On: One-Shot

Such an awesome idea!



Author's Response:

Good evening!

Thank you. :) I had fun with it. :)

Thanks for reading, rating  and reviewing!

LJ

Reviewer: xanath (Signed) · Date: June 20, 2011 02:54 AM · On: One-Shot

Great! Thank You for sharing a part of your life.  My best wishes to your son.  I have heard that horsback riding sometimes stimulates a Better body brain connection.  I used to ride horses and can tell you it was so relaxing to me.  Just a thought for what it is worth.



Author's Response:

Good morning, xanath!

My dear friend katmom works with autistic children and horses -- it is a terrific therapy for them. :)  My family has boarded horses and my father used to breed them.  They're wonderful.

They also make me break out in horridly itchy and painful hives and I can't breathe when I'm in the company of anyone who has been riding horses. (Yeah, my college years were in part rather miserable.) But if we lived in a place where I could do that, I would enjoy giving my little guy this opportunity.  

My little guy actually designs houses and builds them in 3D computer simulators.  :)  It's extremely cool to see. 

Thank you so much for reading, sharing your equine experience and for the lovely rating!

LJ

 

Reviewer: chyla1 (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2011 11:49 PM · On: One-Shot

A very moving and hopeful story!
I can't wait to recommend this story to a close friend who also has 2 autistic children. I'm sure she will appreciate the beauty written here. Thank you for sharing!

Chyla

Author's Response:

Good morning, Chyla!

 

Thank you. :) I'm glad you found it to be hopeful; I had hoped folks would.

And thank you for recommending it. :) If your friend ever needs to bend an ear or something, please feel free to PM me. I know the stress can be ... like, enormous. 

Thanks so much for reading and the lovely rating!

LJ

Reviewer: redauntie1 (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2011 11:23 PM · On: One-Shot

Excellent story idea.  can you continue it?



Author's Response:

Good morning, redauntie1!

Thank you!  When I decided to contribute to this compilation, I asked my readers (via a FFn poll) what they'd like me to write and the winner was this type of story.  

I have no idea for continuing it at this time, no. This was merely to contribute toward autism awareness for the one-shot. I'm just happy to have been able to do a little bit in that regard.

Thank you for reading!

LJ

Reviewer: gredelina1 (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2011 04:28 PM · On: One-Shot

This was a beautiful piece of writing! I worked for many years with people with autism and it's a subject very close to my heart. You managed to capture the difficulties without going overboard with explanations. It can't be easy trying to express the thoughts and emotions coming from Caleb, but you did it so incredibly well!

It was so nice to see Jasper and Edward working together. They were very professional, but they still maintained their brotherly banter. You found the perfect balance. I really enjoyed this o/s and I just wish everyone could have an empath and a mindreader helping them out... ;-)

Author's Response:

Good morning, gredelina1!

Why, thank you. :) I have tried to pay close attention to my son and his emerging verbal abilities over the years, as well as conferring (of course, lol) with the autism specialist in his school district. It's been very rewarding.  My son compartmentalizes everything so all of us check in with each other to get a rounded picture of his thoughts. :)

I really enjoyed working with Jasper and Edward, here.  It was a challenge to keep them balanced and still "human" for their patient. Fun for me, though. lol Yes, we could all benefit by their abilities.  :)

Thank you for reading, your kind review and the shiny rating! :)

LJ

Reviewer: zannesg (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2011 12:26 AM · On: One-Shot

I do not have any children of my own so I cannot truly understand your daily life with your son but I have taught several autistic children in my kindergarten classroom so I have a small inkling of where you come from.  Thank you for sharing this wonderful story and my thoughs are with you and your family.



Author's Response:

Good morning, zannesg!

Thank you SO MUCH for being a Kindergarten teacher!  I think that's such a hard job.  When I taught, I stuck with older kids because the little 'uns take so much!

Yes, life with family members on the spectrum can be a challenge...but raising kids of any stripe is, really. :)  

Thank you so much for reading and for your kind thoughts. :)  Life is good. 

LJ

Reviewer: aami_cullen (Signed) · Date: June 13, 2011 11:36 PM · On: One-Shot

That's so cool! I love the idea of Carlisle, Edward and Jasper all working to help out an autistic boy.



Author's Response:

Good morning, sami_cullen!

I did too, and so did my FFn readers, who voted for me to write this. lol 

Thanks so much for reading!

LJ

Reviewer: Sheeijan (Signed) · Date: June 13, 2011 10:29 PM · On: One-Shot

I love that they used their gift to help someone in need of their unique abilities. It's something they can do to make someone's life significantly better and not worry about the volturi. Thanks much for writing and sharing with us!

Author's Response:

Good morning, Sheeijan!

Yes! I think that's a big thing, being able to HELP w/o fear of reprisals.  

Thank you for reading! :)

LJ

Reviewer: Queendel (Signed) · Date: June 13, 2011 05:41 PM · On: One-Shot

Very nice fic.  Glad to see how the Cullens helped Caleb to be heard and to be useful.



Author's Response:

Good afternnon, Queendel!

 

Thank you. :)  I did enjoy having the Cullens put their abilities to good use. :)  Caleb will rock the world someday. :D

 

Thanks for reading!

LJ

Reviewer: Looby Luscious (Signed) · Date: June 13, 2011 03:44 PM · On: One-Shot

Fabulous little story. I hope your son finds life improves for him too.



Author's Response:

Good afternoon, Looby Luscious!

Thank you. :)  My little guy is doing better, yes.  Though for him, the psychiatrist is NOT an empath. Alas.

Thanks for reading!

LJ

Reviewer: lilgreen (Signed) · Date: June 13, 2011 03:00 PM · On: One-Shot

Thank you for this. I once heard Autism described as something like dyslexia except with all of the senses involved. This would create an overload and to counter it the person would focus on certain things that don't change so that they could have some control over the situation. Of course this was many years ago and so much more has been discovered. Wouldn't it be wonderful if we could truly know what was going on with someone when we went in to treat them. These gifts would be truly precious. I am grateful for your insight.

Author's Response:

Good afternoon, lilgreen!

Thank you. :)  A woman I know who works with autistic kids says, "If you've seen one child with autism... you've seen ONE CHILD with autism." They're all so very different!  My mom was a vision therapist who worked with dyslexic people and I think she would agree with your description. :)

I think it'd be AWESOME to have the services of a mindreader and empath, yes. I guess that's why I wrote this. :)  

Thank you for reading and for your lovely remarks. :) AND for the stellar rating!

LJ

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.