Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For The Good Doctor
Reviewer: lilgreen (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2011 05:27 AM · On: Chapter 1

This was a sweet story. Thank you. Although I have read some of your other work (and enjoyed it) I have enjoyed reading these more innocent G-rated stories. I have a tendency to skip over the citrus anyway so when it's not there I don't miss it.

Author's Response:

Reviewer: mbellaandedwardm (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2011 04:29 PM · On: Chapter 1

This was a cute story and cannot wait to read more from you!
well until next time
mbellaandedwardm

Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm so glad you like the story.  Thank you for leaving a review.

Reviewer: angelblue (Signed) · Date: March 21, 2011 12:48 PM · On: Chapter 1

Interesting character set up, but now that we've got it started, where does it go?  I'd be interested in finding out if your style opens up as Edward does, being so clinical right at this point. 



Author's Response:

Hello!  This was written as a one-shot, and I'm not sure whether I'll continue it.  (That's only due to lack of time, and other writing commitments.)

I'm not sure I understand you correctly: do you mean that the story has a clinical, maybe detached tone to it?  That was done on purpose, to match how Edward is detached from human interaction.  I think, if I were to continue it, it would have to evolve as Edward does, to show how his life has changed now that he's embarked on a romantic relationship.  It would definitely have more warmth in it.

I hope I've interpreted your review as you intended.  You made a great point.

 

Reviewer: leeseeq (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2011 08:43 PM · On: Chapter 1

What a great one-shot!  I loved when he took Bella's thowing away of the steak to be as good as a declaration of love.  What a perfect way to describe that sense of kinship when someone just gets you. I also loved that he took a step back when her pants puckered at the back, such an endearingly respectful thing to do!  That's way more , in my book, than a gesture of sending flowers or something. Great job.



Author's Response:

 

Thank you!  I'm glad you appreciated the part where Bella tossed the steak.  She's got her own set of quirks, just as he does.  But yes, he is a gentleman.

I'm very happy you liked the story.  Thank you also for leaving a review.

 

Reviewer: foxster70 (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2011 09:47 AM · On: Chapter 1

Really enjoyed the story.

I can understand how upset Bella must have been as we have recently lost our cat.

 



Author's Response:

 

I'm really sorry to hear that.  I know how painful it is - Bella's experience was based on my own feelings when putting two beloved pets to sleep in the last few years.  I wrote Edward as an ideal vet, who understands how difficult it is for a pet owner but wants to do the best for the animal.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story.  I wanted to make it hopeful beyond the sorrow of losing a beloved animal.  Thank you for leaving a review.

 

 

Reviewer: glock26girl (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2011 05:56 PM · On: Chapter 1

good story



Author's Response:

 

Thank you!  I'm glad you liked it.  And thank you for leaving a review.

 

Reviewer: Looby Luscious (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2011 07:40 AM · On: Chapter 1

Lovely story!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm so glad you liked it.  And thank you for leaving a review!

 

Reviewer: Netemedtotrolde (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2011 05:34 AM · On: Chapter 1

Oh, yeah Moosewood restaurant and cookbooks are great. I was amazed at how tiny their kitchen was back in 2001-2003 when I was in Ithaca.  My low fat cook book is so worn I have to hold it together with a rubber band - and I'm not a vegetarian.  And as a first time "slave" to two almost 17 year old cats, I know the day will come when it's time to say goodbye and remember to think of the life quality of the kitty.  Great story.



Author's Response:

It's a fantastic restaurant - I wish I lived closer so I could go there more often.  I love the food.  I'm not even a vegetarian, but it's all so delicious.  We use their recipes fairly often.

It is very hard to contemplate saying goodbye to a beloved pet.  They occupy such a large, important place in our lives.  It sounds like you understand how important it is to do what is best for the cats when it becomes sadly necessary.  I hope you don't have to worry about that for a long time yet.

Thank you for reading, and for leaving a review.  I'm so glad you liked the story!

 

Reviewer: lord periperi (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2011 12:13 AM · On: Chapter 1

i'm writing this review mid-reading: a number of my cats through the years died of feline leukemia (it's a rule in our family to always take strays), i had to put one of my dogs to sleep....and i agree ith everything fine dr. Cullen said: don't torture the animal, trying to keep her breathing, when she is suffering and unable to live her life the way it enjoyed it!

oh, and before i finish, a word: how wonderful to ake up and find a deicious little OS-it gets harder and harder to find a nice, good one these days. ;)



Author's Response:

Hello!  I'm glad you agree with Dr. Cullen.  To be honest, he speaks straight from my own beliefs. As I've said in other review responses here, I think pet owners have a responsibility to do what is right for the animal.  It might be heartbreaking for you, but letting them go when they need to is so much more humane.

Thank you so much for your kind words about the story.  It was fun to write, and it's for an excellent cause.  And thank you also for leaving a review.

 

Reviewer: Camilla (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2011 09:18 PM · On: Chapter 1

A wonderful story that makes me relent and read an AH. And, from cat lover to cat lover, it deserves a banner...

  “Too many people keep their pets alive well past the point that they should.  It’s selfish.  They do it for themselves, not the poor animal.  " It is true, but it applies to too many vets too, unfortunately. And they do it for themselves, because submitting pets to heroic therapies that only prolong their suffering, fills their pockets nicely. It is a new trend among Italian veterinarians and one that I deeply dislike. I would so love to meet this caring and wise Vetward when my lovely Lalla, now 20 years old, gets seriously sick.  

 



Author's Response:

Wow, I might  be influencing you to give up canon vampires and maybe read an AH every so often?  That's the highest compliment a writer can get!

I know you are a kindred soul when it comes to cats AND common sense.  Those words I wrote for Edward come straight from my own beliefs.  It's very, very difficult to put down a beloved pet, but it is our responsibility to do right by them.  I agree there are plenty of other vets who would be happy to prolong the animal's life for no good reason other than their own monetary enrichment. I'm sorry to hear this is happening in Italy now.

Hugs to you and the lovely Lalla.  I wish I could send Vetward across the ocean to help take care of her.

 

Reviewer: mountainlion718 (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2011 06:40 PM · On: Chapter 1

great one shot, she melted his heart....

Author's Response:

Yes, she did.  Edward found a kindred soul who loves animals almost as much as he does.  They had to find a way to each other!

I'm so glad you liked the story.  Thank you for reading, and for reviewing.

 

Reviewer: Msarkie (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2011 05:41 PM · On: Chapter 1

OK, I bawled like a baby reading this.  I had to put my cat of 16 years to sleep last year due to kidney failure, and it literally just about killed me.  You really hit the nail on the head with your comments on pet euthanasia, IMO.  But it is so hard to make that decision to end a life, you worry that it wasn't time yet and they weren't ready to go.

 

Now I'm getting all weepy and emo again, I better go read something funny.....



Author's Response:

Hello!  I'm very sorry if the story made you sad.  The death of a beloved pet is never easy, and I can see where a story like this brings up a lot of difficult memories.  I tried to show how a sorrowful experience like this can bring two good people together.  If it wasn't for Madison, Bella and Edward might never have met.  (And Bella now has a new kitten to love.)

I've had to put several of my cats to sleep when they got too ill to really live.  The words I wrote for Edward come from my very strong belief that we should do what's right for our pets, and not simply what we want.  Our animals rely on us to do that for them.

I hope you like the story in spite of the sadness, because I really did intend for it to be uplifting.  Thank you for reading, and for leaving a review.

 

Reviewer: branlc (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2011 05:31 PM · On: Chapter 1

I really liked it. I felt so bad for Bella when they had to put Madison to sleep. That was very sweet of Edward to bring her a new kitten. I'll have check out those cookbooks. :)

Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad you liked the story despite the sadness.  But Madison brought Bella and Edward together, so even in her illness, she was doing something for the woman who adopted her. 

I really recommend you check out the Moosewood cookbooks.  There's lots of great recipes there!

Thank you again for reading, and for leaving a review.

 

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.