Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For These Days
Reviewer: file1013 (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2013 09:17 PM · On: Merge

I really never review, mainly because most of the writer's here are more eloquent than I will ever be. But I felt the need to tell you that I love your characterizations and stories because they are real.  I swear every one of your stories has made me cry - in anger, hurt and happiness. Not every writer can do that. I have lurked this fandom and the x-files for over ten years; read a lot of bad and mediocre fics but yours always make me stay up late because I "have" to read a little bit more. Please keep up the beautiful stories!!

 

Reviewer: file1013 (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2013 09:17 PM · On: Merge

I really never review, mainly because most of the writer's here are more eloquent than I will ever be. But I felt the need to tell you that I love your characterizations and stories because they are real.  I swear every one of your stories has made me cry - in anger, hurt and happiness. Not every writer can do that. I have lurked this fandom and the x-files for over ten years; read a lot of bad and mediocre fics but yours always make me stay up late because I "have" to read a little bit more. Please keep up the beautiful stories!!

 

Reviewer: iloverob32 (Signed) · Date: September 10, 2011 02:09 PM · On: Merge

I loved this story!  You made me cry!  You really know how to tap into your readers' emotions.  Thank you so much for writing this. 

Reviewer: marie_cullen (Signed) · Date: August 02, 2011 04:13 PM · On: Merge

Loved it!  

Reviewer: 1ljreader (Signed) · Date: July 01, 2011 06:07 AM · On: Merge

Congratulations! Great story.

Reviewer: 1ljreader (Signed) · Date: July 01, 2011 06:04 AM · On: Merge

Congratulations! Great story.

Reviewer: the_other_cullen_girl (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2011 10:04 PM · On: Loss

it really is terrible. i lost my dad very young, i feel for edward

Reviewer: KathyK (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2011 09:16 PM · On: Merge

Yes, it was very emotional, I was almost in tears. I thought at first Alice would die somehow, that would have been harder to read. Anyway, it was a good story, with a happy ending, which I appreciate. And a pretty good lemon, thank you so much.

Reviewer: Nikkycoly (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2011 08:51 AM · On: Merge

OMG SO GOOD!! I have chills!

Reviewer: HidingBehindTheSmile (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2011 02:52 PM · On: Together

Erm ... how does a nine year old drive? just wondering.

Reviewer: HidingBehindTheSmile (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2011 01:59 PM · On: Split

one question: how did alice even drive in the first place if she's 9?

Reviewer: HidingBehindTheSmile (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2011 11:58 AM · On: Together

How old is  Alice supposed to be>?

Reviewer: sarah-jess (Signed) · Date: April 12, 2011 01:57 PM · On: Grief

Alice seems to be acting like the little girl from Gone With the Wind.

Loving the story so far.

Reviewer: Bratt (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2011 11:16 AM · On: Merge

Your story was so sweet but also heart breaking at the same time. So happy to see that they finally learned to follow their hearts.

Reviewer: Esquire (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2011 01:01 AM · On: Merge

Hmm sad author's note. :(  I didn't realize that you'd written MPMI when I read this, but I loved that story!  And this one too - I was SO glad Bella came home to force doofus' hand. :))))  And that finally, he got to go to LA!!  While I think that he lingered in Forks a bit long, he also showed his hand as a good person/son/brother by staying to care for his girls when they so clearly needed them. :)  No wonder Bella came back to scoop him up!  (with that pretty face, he'll be a star, too, in no time!)   I loved the image of them walking hand in hand thru security. :))))) 

As for reviewers...let them write their own stories if they don't' like yours. :) Personally, I'm gonna go check out your other stuff. :)

Chin up!

LoriAnn :)

Reviewer: Esquire (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2011 12:27 AM · On: Stir

maybe she's back because Andy's dead, and her butt is unemployed! lol....she's really home to steal Edward from Gianna...or wash that man right outta her hair!

Reviewer: Esquire (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2011 12:20 AM · On: Bitter

Maybe it's time....Edward stopped being a martyr and moved the hell on with his life!!  That much bitter just ain't healthy!!

Reviewer: Esquire (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2011 12:03 AM · On: Split

awww, this is just pitiful. :(((  poor Edward...he's too young to be the dad, and very much out of his league. I hope his mom gets to feeling stronger and steps up....this isn't his life, and he can't really fill Carlisle's shoes. 

 

sniffle :(

Reviewer: DJamethyst (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2011 07:17 PM · On: Merge

I can relate with you about losing loved ones. I lost mine suddenly too.

My husband, Bob, abandoned me before I found out I was pregnant. I had no clue where my he was. He'd convinced his "friends" to lie about his whereabouts and whether they had seen him. I was 16 weeks along when he finally called me. I still don't know why. I think whatever reason was forgotten when I told him I was pregnant and how far along I was. He first told me I was lying, then told me to get an abortion because he was never coming back. He even tried to convince himself the baby wasn't his. He told his family and his new girlfriend that he and I had not been "together" after he'd met her a month before he left me.

Having three kids under the age of 17 and no other family who could or would go to childbirth classes and labor with me, I resorted to posting a personal ad in the local paper asking for a friend/labor coach just so I wouldn't be alone. I got many replies which surprised me. Unfortunately, most were from prison inmates which I had to laugh at and write back that I didn't think they'd be getting out soon enough to help me. 

Finally, I got a letter from Ted, someone who professed his interest and willingness to meet to see if we "clicked" enough to be what I was asking of him. Surprisingly, we shared many common interests, life experiences and...he was good looking. He knew the circumstances of my pregnancy, my kids, and my attempts to continue working to support my family of 4, soon to be 5. He had 4 kids himself and was divorced. I was not allowed a divorce at the time until I delivered a "live" child in order to establish a parenting plan with my husband who was still hiding. My attorney had to post notices in all the states major newspapers in place of serving him papers.

Ted intruduced me to his family when I was 6 months along. To say they were shocked was an understatement. He explained how we'd met, his intentions to help me and why. His family was Jehovah's Witnesses and his association with me, married and pregnant with another man's child, violated their beliefs and restrictions. He and his family had frequent arguments about his involvement, but he kept that information from me. Eventually, he moved in with me so he'd be much closer when I went into labor. This was his "excuse" for his family. It was also a financial move since we'd become emotionally close. He was a real gentleman and only kissed or hugged me. When I was about 8 months along, I asked my doctor if I was allowed sexual activity since I was a high-risk pregnancy. When I got the green light, I had to make the first move and convince him I would be ok, if he was gentle. I told him I loved him and he confessed to me. We made plans for the future when my divorce was granted. He was such a support, even when my soon-to-be ex came back to see if I was indeed pregnant and if I'd take him back which I refused, and during my labor and ultimately, a cesearean delivery. He financially supported my family for six months until I could go back to work. What I didn't know was his family continued to ostracize and criticize him about our relationship. My divorce was still held up in court until my husband could be found to serve new papers with the parenting plan and child support. Worst of all, his family finally gave him an ultimatum, either his family and the Church or me. About the same time, he received papers from his ex-wife demanding he give up his parental rights to his children in another state. He loved his kids, calling them often, flying them to be with him and then flying to see them, and other fatherly things I'd never seen in any man I'd known. I knew about the court papers because I was with him when he got them. He was devastated. He wouldn't talk about it and wouldn't show any emotion that week. When my baby was about to turn 9 months old, I woke up one early morning to find Ted was gone. He didn't wake me or say anything to let me know where he was going or when he'd be back like other mornings when he'd go for a jog. I got up and went to look elsewhere in the house for him. I got to the garage and discovered the doorknob had been taken off and reversed and locked so I had to get the key to open it. I found him with his back to the left front wheel of his car, his feet up against the washer and the car running with the garage door down. I immediately opened the garage door and jumped into the car to turn it off. He was so cold and pale and I knew I was too late. I got the cordless phone dialing 911 and took it to the garage and begain CPR until the paramedics got there. When the did, they took over and a chaplain took me back inside the house. By then, my two older kids had woke up when they heard the sirens and come to the garage to see what was happening. A few minutes later, my 11 year old daughter handed me a two-page note. It was his suicide note. He had renewed his prescription of inderal (100 tablets) and filled his gas tank the afternoon before. While the police took the note, I went to my room to search for any other "evidence" of his plans and found the empty pill bottle that confirmed how many pills were missing. The paramedics told me Ted was gone and was likely dead for about 6 hours. As they took his body away, I realized I had to tell his famiy what had happened. His two oldest daughters, 16 and 18 years old, were visiting their aunt and uncle in town. To try to avoid the panic I expected from his family, I asked that they and their aunt and uncle bring them here and only that something had happened they needed to know about. I didn't want anyone driving crazy and risking their lives. I still did not know about his family's attitude toward me. When they arrived, the garage door was still up and they came in that way. I met them beside Ted's car and broke the news, trying to keep calm for them as I tried to explain everything I knew and where Ted had been taken. They saw the left over medical supplies and needle caps that the paraemdics left behind next to his car and finally accepted what I'd said and promptly left wailing. The chaplain stayed with me until my mother could come watch the kids so I could go to the hospital where Ted had been taken. Even when my father had died, this was so much worse. Ted's family was cold to me and said they wanted family time with him alone The chaplain and the doctor attending had to take me to a private room until the family left before I could see Ted and grieve myself. His daughters told me a couple days later of the funeral plans and said I would be allowed to come. When I arrived for the service, I was told the family had changed the date to the day before and Ted had been cremated. I was given a note from the "family" that it was my fault for Ted's death and that his soul was doomed because of our relationship. It said they'd be over the next day to collect his property. I had already gathered everything I could find of his and put it in the family room near the garage for them to take it when about 6 adults and his girls showed up. After they came in, they split up. Some gathered the stuff I had ready in the family room and took it to their cars, others went through the rest of my house and began grabbing things they said were his, but in fact mine and even from before I met Ted. I called 911 to beg for help to protect my things from them but the took what they wanted and left before the police responded. My kids and I were left not only grieving for Ted, the shock of the suicide, the shock of being blamed and then essentially robbed of a TV, stereo, a sofa and other things with the kids witnessing it all. The police finally got the family to return my things under threat of arrest a few days later.

The following week I was literally numb. I felt no emotion and was in a foggy daze. I continued to go to work and go through the motions only. I was told my espressions were flat and my eyes empty. I failed to notice when someone would touch me unless they pinched or slapped at me to get my attention. I didn't even feel hungry and when I did eat, could only swallow a few bites. I only felt empty and cold. I still had not cried since he died and that was two weeks eariier. I asked a couple of widows what they felt after their spouses died. They asked instead, what I was feeling. They told me they'd felt the same. My divorce was still pending and I wasn't even married to Ted. Was I a widow? Was I allowed to feel like one or claim to be one? After 15 months together and planning for our future, what was I? Even my kids didn't know how to respond to what happened. Finally, a month later, someone gave me a card for Survivors of Suicide, a support group for the family and friends of suicide victims. My daughter and I attended, but the boys declined. It helped to be there. 

How you describe Mrs Cullen and Alice were similar to our experiences. We didn't have the benefit of an "Edward" or even a "Bella." When my ex-husband called a month after Ted died, a year after his son was born, I told him of Ted's suicide. He was a callous and heartless as before and said I deserved to be alone. My divorce was finally granted 5 months later by publication.

Ted was with me and helped me when my world crashed down around me the first time and when no one else would or could help me. Even 21 years later, I still feel indebted to him and miss him. I've also forgiven his family for their treatment of Ted and me, even though they haven't a clue about it. "These Days" had to be written and published. It carried a lot of emotion and a message that allowed me to grieve a bit more and be grateful for the time and companionship Ted gave me. Allowing me to tell you my story, is cathartic and I thank you. God Bless.

PS. My father used to let me sit on his lap and drive too, but only on the usually empty rural roads.  DJ

 

 

 

Reviewer: DJamethyst (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2011 08:49 AM · On: Together

What happened to the left over Subway sandwiches they left on the hood of his car? Are they just going to drive off with them on the hood?Next

Reviewer: HockeyChick (Signed) · Date: April 02, 2011 02:02 AM · On: Merge

Loved the whole story of Bella and Edward. I'll miss this story :( though I can't wait for your new one :)

Reviewer: tracish (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2011 09:43 PM · On: Merge

Thank you so much for writing this story.  I loved it.  It's amazing how you write characters that are so easy to relate to.  I really like the length of this story. It worked well.

Great story.  Thanks.

Reviewer: luvsux (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2011 06:30 PM · On: Merge

Chapter 11

I truly hope LA is "their" home from now on.

Reviewer: lmw (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2011 04:35 PM · On: Merge

So don't due the novelletta thingy...just give us an epilouge....please?  I loved this story and would love to see what they expirenced in LA and where they wound up in the future (although I can take a guess).

This was a cute story and I'm a little sad it's over!

Reviewer: belled_70 (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2011 02:50 PM · On: Merge

I loved the story Dani, as I have all of your stories. MPMI was fantastic and I am sorry if you got some bad reviews that made you lose faith in your writing, but I think you should definately continue to write, you will always have a faithfull reader in me. Thanks for writing, Nicole xx

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.