Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviewer: tears (Signed) · Date: May 29, 2011 06:09 AM · On: Momentary Setback

soooo, soooo sad to see it happen, but I have a feeling we won't have to wait for long for a reunion:)  Excellent chapter

Reviewer: tears (Signed) · Date: May 29, 2011 06:07 AM · On: Foster Kid

soooo well written:)  Its a pleasure to read.  So many hurry thru jumping from idea to idea and forget that without the lil details us and the readers get lost. 

I have enjoyed 7 yr old E POV, but am excited to see what 17 yr old E has to say.....till next time:)



Author's Response:

What I find in stories is that the summary is more interesting than the story...lol.  I guess that's sort of the point of it and a sign of a good summary but I hate when I read all these exciting things that happen to Edward and Bella in the summary only to find out that the author only refers back to them and they are not the main focal point of the story.   Granted eight or so chapters of Edward as a seven year old is probably going overboard but as long as I could keep it interesting...I thought it was important to establish a basis for his relationship with the Cullens.   Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: Costa (Signed) · Date: May 26, 2011 06:07 PM · On: Foster Kid

  'He didn't have to eat alone anymore and though his mom didn't cook like Esme did and pile tons of food on his plate from all the different food groups, he got to eat a lot more of his favorites like hotdogs and macaroni and cheese and he didn't have to wait until everyone else was done eating before he got his share.'        Just the favorites, huh?  *tsk*

  'But after a couple of weeks of everything being happy and normal, things changed and went back to the way they used to be.'        Gee, why did they even bother to drag him back?  Seriously!  A surge of parental love that didn't last against their addiction?        :-/

    Now I'm impressed!  The kid really took the initiative.  His little escapade was spectacular.  But if it wasn't for Esme and, I guess, Alice, it wouldn't have worked.  Hmm, but, then again, he was counting on Alice's gift for his plan to work out, even without knowing the specifics, right?

  Edward was pratically heroic here, CJ.  That was very refreshing!        ^_^



Author's Response:

I find Alice's gift very annoying...lol.  I thought that she might see Edward coming but was deluding myself into believing that she wouldn't see him because his decision though not spontaneous wasn't thought out completely.  I would expect that children are a lot harder to read and even she says she doesn't read humans as well.  It could have been Alice that tipped everyone off that Edward was on that bus but I wasn't thinking in those terms.  Instead I imagined that they simply picked up his scent as the bus approached.  Either way there was no way he was going to be left at the end of the driveway with no one to pick him up.

Thanks for reading and commenting!

Reviewer: catharticone (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2011 12:41 PM · On: Foster Kid

I would love to read an outtake from Carlisle's perspective showing his reaction to Edward's return and how he arranged for the family to keep him.  Just a suggestion! 

I continue to love this story and am so excited whenever I see an update!  Once again you show Edward's thoughts and feelings so evocatively and believably.  His realization that his plan to live with the Cullens wouldn't work as easily as he thought was just heart-breaking, as was his attempt to go to Emmett.  Poor littly guy!  I hope he didn't break a toe kicking Esme...

As always, I compliment you on your superb work and look forward to the next installment.



Author's Response:

I plan on including information related to how Carlisle dealt with Edward's parents in upcoming chapters.  I haven't yet decided if this is going to be a point of contention between Edward and Carlisle or just offered as an explanation, but I have also considered writing an outtake at the end of the story.  Right now, I will say that Carlisle handled it in his way which may not be riveting enough to fill an entire chapter, but we'll see.  Even though I always have an outline for my stories, I tend to wonder off point as an idea hits me.

 

Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: msKuhlena (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2011 09:57 AM · On: Foster Kid

wow, very very tastefully done!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading.

Reviewer: hey333777 (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2011 08:02 AM · On: Foster Kid

AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH I'm freaking out here. I just have to know what in the world is going on with Bella, "butterflies?" Is she crazy??? Has she lost her mind? Does Edward grow to realize what his "foster family" really is? Does he ever get turned??? Ohhh soo many questions. I can't wait for the next chapter.



Author's Response:

The next chapter will answer one of your questions....and will create one or two more I'm sure.  Sorry. ;o)   Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: JShay (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2011 04:32 PM · On: Foster Kid

Awww poor baby....



Author's Response:

Exactly..but he's a resilient little bugger.  Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: beth42 (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2011 02:40 PM · On: Foster Kid

Oh, I HAVE to know how Carlisle fixed it. My God this is getting me so much!! Tip off to the police I assume, but that's something I just have to read. And couldn't Carlisle and Esme smell the meth on Edward. If it's in the garage, it's probably all over him, to a vampire. It makes sense that this would be part of the motivation for Esme to shut Carlisle down. Once she held Edward and got closer to his clothes, the smell would be even more apparent and she would refuse to send him back... LOVE your story and I cannot wait for more! (Though i am going to miss little Edward...)

Author's Response:

Certainly it's possible that there was a smell on Edward.   Carlisle might know what that scent meant but I'm not sure that Esme would.  Since meth is made with household products it could be misinterpeted as something harmless.  There are so many ways Carlisle could deal with Edward's parents but taking into consideration his gentle temperament, it's unlikely they were met with any harm.  I'm not normally about writing outtakes, but that might be an interesting one otherwise I'll make sure to offer an explanation in upcoming chapters.  Thanks so much for reading and enjoying this story. 

Reviewer: beth42 (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2011 02:26 PM · On: Momentary Setback

I seriously had to choke back tears here. I NEVER cry during stories. NEVER. But this just gets to me so much! I'm almost caught up. :) Loving this!

Author's Response:

I admire writers that can write stories that are light, even humerous, but that's not me.  If there isn't angst, there isn't a story.  I will never be accused of being a fluff writer.  LOL  

Reviewer: beth42 (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2011 02:15 PM · On: Santa Lives

I still just want to hug him...

Reviewer: beth42 (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2011 02:06 PM · On: Welcome Home

I am love-love-loving this story!

Reviewer: beth42 (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2011 01:49 PM · On: Napoleon's Army

So so so SWEET!!!!

Reviewer: beth42 (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2011 01:33 PM · On: Minimize the Damage

I just want to hug little Edward. Jeez that's hard to read...

Reviewer: beth42 (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2011 01:23 PM · On: Walking Disaster

You do a great job with the flash back/forwards. I do think they make the story more complex, but not in a bad way. I just found you today and I'm really enjoying getting caught up. You so rarely find a story like this with such a physically broken Edward. I'm intrigued. :-)

Author's Response:

Thanks.  The flashforward idea came from a reviewer.  I was a few chapters in when she mentioned wanting to find out what happened to Edward after he jumped from the cliff.  Knowing it would be a long long time before she found out it occurred to me that I could include chapters periodically from seventeen year old Edward's perspective.  By doing that I killed any opportunity for surprise as all of the stories secrets will be revealed even as the story is still unfolding but perhaps that's for the best.

Thanks so much for reading!

Reviewer: Queenofhearts820 (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2011 01:16 PM · On: Foster Kid

Wow, his parents suck ass. Edward deserves much better.

Author's Response:

Yes they do...and one of the reasons why I wrote this chapter...to give everyone some idea where he came from.  Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: idealskeptic (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2011 11:28 AM · On: Foster Kid

Another brilliant chapter! And I'm going to miss seven year old Edward... Now I'm going to (happily) go back and re-read the last 17 year old Edward chapter!



Author's Response:

One of the bad things about these flashfowards is trying to remember where we left off.  I might have to put something in the author notes as a reminder.  I'm really looking forward to the next chapter (almost done).  It will answer some questions and probably create alot of new ones.  LOL  Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: tears on the inside (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2011 10:29 AM · On: Foster Kid

Love this story but would like alot more of young Edward he`s so cute like to see him a bit longer, see how he copes with being back at the cullens he must have felt as though he had been desserted by both the cullens and his parents.



Author's Response:

I have to say now that I got the rhythm down, I sort of like writing young Edward but unfortunately (or fortunately) in order to move the story forward, we have to leave him behind. I'm a little worried about writing Edward as an older child, because part of seven year old Edward's appeal is his innocence and childish insight.   Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: Costa (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2011 05:13 PM · On: Momentary Setback

  So, the Mansens are back, and want Edward.  That sucks!  They will neglect him again, I bet.  And leave a bunch of unhappy vampires behind.        :-|

  '"Why are we going this way?"        "Don't you remember? I'm taking you to your parents today. They are meeting us at Mrs. Grant's office."        Edward frowned. "I know, but I thought we were going home first. I have to say goodbye."        His fractured voice broke my heart and it wasn't lost on me that he referred to our house as home.        "You said goodbye this morning, Edward. Remember we told you that right after school I was going to take you to them."        "But how come I can't go and say goodbye one more time?"'        Hmm, he isn't as thrilled as Carlisle thought.  At least not at the prospect of losing the Cullens.        :)

  'I wanted to tell him how we would never forget him, how he had changed our lives, made us better people...almost human, how through all the years roaming this earth and all the considerable experiences we had lived through, none of it came close to influencing or affecting us as he had. But to tell him all that I would have to also say that this was goodbye, that we would never see him again, not ever and I couldn't do that'        *sigh*  :_(

  A bump in the road, you say?  Good.  Not that I'm anxious to see the Cullens abandon him, but it means he will have some more time with them.        :)



Author's Response:

...yes just a bump in the road...;o)  Thanks for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: BellaBlue562 (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2011 10:26 PM · On: Momentary Setback


Reviewer: Screaming Mimi (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2011 04:48 AM · On: Momentary Setback

Well, that was a surprise. I have no clue what'll happen next, none at all.



Author's Response:

Fortunately you won't have to wait long to find out.  

Thanks for reading and commenting!

Reviewer: mcecilia (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2011 12:01 PM · On: Momentary Setback

I haven't reviewed until now b/c I just found this story and thought I'd wait till I got to the end of the posted chapters.  Actually, I looked up "Requiem" on ff.net b/c I wanted more :) but I don't have an account there so I'm leaving you a comment here even though I've read chapter 11.

I have to say, i love the voices you've created for Carlisle and 7-yr old Edward.  I love Carlisle, so I loved seeing those glimpses of what he was thinking (and fearing -- and I love the tension of knowing that his fears are warrented).  But I think I'm liking even more Edward's strangely jaded-but-hopeful narration: the part about being hungry, not hungry enough to eat out of dumpsters, but enough was great and really suits his brand of realism.  Edward is so obvservant, though he doesn't always understand what he sees, and I love the way you use that to show readers things you want us to understand -- like the "sharing a look" that passes btwn Esme and Carlisle, and his dad's "scientist" lab.  In ch 11, especially, the contrast btwn what Edward was feeling and observing and what we knew was actually happening in the house really allowed tension to build.  i've totally loved all the chapters, but for some reason, I really loved best the reunino at the end of this last chapter where Edward feels like he's finally found someone to fight for him --- that, and the knight in Carlisle's hand at the end of the last one.

I can't wait to see how these relationships develop in the next few chapters.  i think beginning at the sort-of end (with 17yr old, paralyzed and abandoned Edward) makes the perfect foundation for all of this -- b/c we already know that, whatever may ultimately happen (and I sooo hope we get a slightly happier ending than where Edward is in the hospital at the moment), Carlisle's concerns are absolutely correct.

Can't wait to see more! :)



Author's Response:

Thanks for your indepth comments.  The biggest concern I have with this story is writing in a seven year olds voice.  Initially I thought it would be too simplistic to have a seven year old tell the story in a first person POV so I changed it to a third person only to find that I was, in essence, writing in the first person anyway.  You seem to suggest that it works and I appreciate that.

Reviewer: CleanEco (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2011 10:41 AM · On: Momentary Setback

I'm reading this! I'm hooked on your story, and I feel like I need to know what happened to make the Cullens leave Edward behind as a teen.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for commenting. As of now, you won't find out what happened or why the Cullens left Edward for many chapters...BUT...in an upcoming chapter you will get some information that might satisfy you for now.   ;o)

Reviewer: mcamastow (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2011 04:51 PM · On: Momentary Setback

Yes found it today and had to read it straight through .I must say you have your readers feeling all your main characters emotinons my idea of a good writer you have me hook.



Author's Response:

 I do try to write with emotion and I hope that comes through in my characters.  I guess I'll know because the next two chapters promise to be very emotional.  Thank you for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: JShay (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2011 11:17 AM · On: Momentary Setback

Oh man! Poor Edward. That sucks. And poor Cullens...minus their future abandonment of Edward.



Author's Response:

Yes it's sort of odd that you know what will happen in the future but I knew that going into the flashforward chapters.  I hope it works.  Thanks for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: deb33 (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 03:06 PM · On: Momentary Setback

This is a great story...please write faster! I love little Edward and how the Cullens react to him.



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting.  I always wanted to see something like this written but when I couldn't find it, I decided to write it myself.

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.