Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviewer: idealskeptic (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2011 09:45 AM · On: Minimize the Damage

That was a very good way to get the prior relationship. It wouldn't have been quite right for a doctor to just randomly selectly foster kids to take home not based on anything.

I have to say, again, that I really do get excited when I see your updates. And the way that you italicize words make the story so much more seven-year-old voiced while being adult at the same time. It's perfect. Really.



Author's Response:

I wasn't sure about the italicized words and how that would work but when i initially wrote the first chapter, even though it was written from a third person POV, it really reads like it's from his POV so I had to figure out a way to identify important words or words that a seven year old is just repeating.  I"m glad you think it works.  Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: mitzfree (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2011 09:19 AM · On: Minimize the Damage

Oh Thank God, he'll be safe now. Kind of funny that we think safe is living with a bunch of vampires. haha.  I am really enjoying how you aren't rushing through Edward as a child.  I can't wait to see Edward's interaction with the entire family. 



Author's Response:

Yes it isn't the fastest journey which is one reason why I decided to do the flashforward.   I will be moving faster through Edward's childhood in a few chapters, but I thought it important to take some time on his introduction to the Cullens.

Reviewer: Costa (Signed) · Date: April 13, 2011 05:12 PM · On: Walking Disaster

  Damn it, you are so mean with this kid!  Are you sure this was absolutely necessary?       :-]

  Hmm, so there is a means of contacting the Cullens.  Good.  Because, with Edward's prognosis, this seems certainly to be a job for Carlisle, if you see what I mean.       ;-)

  And we have also Bella and her mysterious condition...



Author's Response:

Sadly, Edward's life isn't easy, but everything is done with a reason behind it.   It will just take some time to get there.   Thanks for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: carliecullen82 (Signed) · Date: April 12, 2011 10:57 AM · On: Walking Disaster

Wow.  I think I just said something about things not getting any worse and they most certainly have.  I have to take comfort knowing that Carlisle can help Edward. You have me guessing about Bella.  I think I might have an idea but I won't include it in the review. 

I think you did the right thing with the flashforward.  Now, not only do we want to know what happens to Edward as a seven year old, but we have older Edward to think about too. 

I can't wait to read more.  Please hurry.

 



Author's Response:

Congrats if you guessed Bella's "problem" and thanks for not sharing.  

Carlisle...well...I won't say anything more about that right now. ;o)

Hopefully these flashforwards won't get too confusing.  I normally don't like reading them so I'm not sure what convinced me to do it in this story.  Oh yeah, I listened to one of my reviewers.  LOL

Thank you for reading.

Reviewer: carliecullen82 (Signed) · Date: April 12, 2011 09:00 AM · On: Monsters Everywhere

Poor Edward can it get much worse.  I do like that Jasper behaved like a vampire and it was interesting to read a child's perspective when Edward understood he was being stalked.  Like I said before, very original.



Author's Response:

Usually (unless Bella is involved) the vampire kills the human with barely a second thought and we as authors seldom offer much sympathy to the victim in question.  Okay I just thought of an idea * LOL *  how about more detail from a random victim's perspective when they are being sucked dry by one of our heros.  Maybe we wouldn't be so blase' about killing people then. 

Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: carliecullen82 (Signed) · Date: April 12, 2011 07:02 AM · On: Weird Little Kid

Edward is adorable.  I feel so bad for him.  What an original story idea.  I don't believe I've seen this done before. Very clever idea to have Edward meet Rosalie and Esme that way.



Author's Response:

Thank you.  I've always been interested in a human Edward and vampire Cullens, but it's seldom done except when vampire Bella is included and then none of the focus is the the Edward-Cullen dynamic. 

Reviewer: saroya (Signed) · Date: April 11, 2011 03:51 PM · On: Walking Disaster

ok what's going on here?  can't wait, write fast!



Author's Response:

I'm trying...thanks for reading.

Reviewer: mitzfree (Signed) · Date: April 11, 2011 05:40 AM · On: Walking Disaster

Argggh...poor Edward.  He just can't catch a break.  I wonder if Sue knows that Carlisle can do a lot more for Edward than just help with medical decisions.  

This chapter was extremely well written.  Are you in the medical field, if you don't mind me asking.



Author's Response:

I am not in the medical field.   I just researched this injury to death.  Christopher Reeve had a C1-C2 fracture so there is a lot of information on it out there. 

I"m deliberately ignoring your first comment.  ;o)

Reviewer: scarlet (Signed) · Date: April 10, 2011 07:24 PM · On: Walking Disaster

Wow! So freaking sad! Was not expecting that to happen. Poor Edward--how much can one person suffer! He needs changed STAT!

Author's Response:

Well, I knew by including the chapter of seventeen year old Edward right on the heels of seven year old Edward's abuse chapter I was piling it on, so that is one of the downsides of running these two storylines simutaneously.  Since now I've committed to these flashforward, I hope it doesn't become too much.

I think i know what you meant by your last sentence and all I'm going to say is  ;o)

Reviewer: Raya95 (Signed) · Date: April 10, 2011 09:52 AM · On: Prologue

Hi ^^

Just wanted to say that your story got me completely hooked and that I'm dying to read the rest -but no pressure lol. Your fic deserves a big red "Tissue warning". I'm feeling so sad for both the 7 and 17 year old Edwards and I can't wait to see little Edward in the good care of the Cullens.I like the way you made him meet them. It is really original and kinda refreshing. The idea of a possibly wanna-be mother,protective Rosalie meeting little Edward is really exciting because we don't always get to see that side of her. Plus he asked if she and Esme were angels or princesses- she's bound love him :)



Author's Response:

I got the idea of human Edward and vampire Cullens from a slash story.  You don't see it very often which is disappointing.  Occassionally we'll get the human Edward and vampire Bella with the Cullens somewhere in the mix but not much if any effort is put into Edward's relationship with them and that's what I"m most interested in.  I guess some might think Rosalie is a little OOC but I think with a human child she would be much more sympathetic and compassionate.

Thanks for reading and enjoying. 

Reviewer: idealskeptic (Signed) · Date: April 10, 2011 08:09 AM · On: Walking Disaster

I wish I could think of something to say that adequately describes how absolutely amazing this chapter (and the story) are. But everything I can think of falls short of doing you and your story justice. Maybe just staying that will tell you how much I love this story. Because I do.

There isn't anything you could do better and I can't wait to read more. Thank you for sharing it!



Author's Response:

 I know I"m throwing a lot of stuff at the readers but it does get better for seven year old Edward.  I'm still a little leery about including the chapters of seventeen year old Edward, but we'll see how it works out.  Thanks for reviewing; I hope I can continue to write to your expectations. :o)

Reviewer: leeseeq (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2011 09:32 PM · On: Walking Disaster

Just thought I'd let you know that this is the second time I've read this chapter, I really love this story so far.  The idea of the Cullens as foster parents to a human Edward is completely captivating to me!  I'm loving the slow feed of information as we figure out what's going on with all of the characters.  I read a few of the critical reviews and I was completely dumbfounded by them!  The story is well written, the characters believable, and the thoughts and feelings of Edward in the various situations feel very genuine.  I haven't felt that anything about the timeline or the suspense as felt "contrived".  You've done an expert job with both the feed of information and with writing from the child's point of view (which is surprisingly difficult to do) You've drawn me in from the first paragraph and it just keeps getting better!  Keep up the great work.



Author's Response:

Other than the prologue, this story was to take place from the time Edward was seven until he was seventeen.  Someone suggested I include a chapters from time to time of seventeen year old Edward so readers wouldn't have to wait so long to find out what happened after the prologue. I plan on continuing to write seventeen year old Edward's viewpoint ocassionally so actually, readers will find out more about Bella and Edward much sooner than they would have if I had written Edward's entire childhood first.

Perhaps it's a definition of what contrived is, but to me, contrived is laying everything all out there conveniently and without regard for the natural flow of the story or creating situations that couldn't conceivably happen to move a story forward.  To each his own; there are plenty of stories on this site to meet everyone's needs.

My biggest worry about this story is that the wide gap between the chapters of seventeen year old Edward will create confusion. I may have to include a summary of the previous chapter in my author notes as reminders. As it is now there will be approximately six chapters before we go back to seventeen year old Edward.  That could be annoying to people and I don't blame them, but that's my fault for straying from my outline. ;o)

 

Thanks for your comments.  

 

Reviewer: Camilla (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2011 06:55 PM · On: Walking Disaster

There might be a reason, but the only reason for me to hang on would be if Edward becomes a vamp soon, so that he is not a paraplegic anymore. I am not going to read chapters and chapters of him as an invalid. Plus, I am irritated by the secret you are keeping about Bella's condition. It is a trick. You are writing in Edward's PoV, not in the detached third person. It is highly unlikely that the Edward's mind does not cover what the heck happened to her . It surely would, but you still are concealing it. I don't mind angst. Contrived angst is a different matter. Please be honest with your readers.



Author's Response:

Thanks for you comments, but you probably don't want to read any further.  Bella's issues are not a secret and will be revealed as the story unfolds. 

Reviewer: saroya (Signed) · Date: April 02, 2011 08:03 PM · On: Monsters Everywhere

This is heartbreaking. 

I like the way you described Jasper in the woods.  Real scary.

PLease continue,

Reviewer: Costa (Signed) · Date: April 02, 2011 06:46 PM · On: Monsters Everywhere

  Not exactly who I was waiting for; but the upside is that Edward happened to know Alice, another "princess".  The downside was that he knew Jasper;  I'm pretty sure Edward asessed him right.  He was hunting him.  Very bad first impression, no?      :-/

  Of course, what he found at home wasn't much better than what could have happened at the woods.

    I found Mike, Tyler and Eric's reaction significant.  Was the beating they gave Edward so much worse than the norm to scare those three?

  If the Cullens do not interfere in this situation soon, there will not be much left of Edward for them to take care of.  Of course, I know either they will interfere soon, or this level of abuse will not remain constant.  The second option is not exactly cheering.      :(

Reviewer: seeker (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2011 03:47 PM · On: Monsters Everywhere

good chapter thanks



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: Bellinda (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2011 02:06 PM · On: Monsters Everywhere

I'm feeling so bad for the forster kids that is being treated that way.



Author's Response:

Yes it's sad for all the kids and unfortunately that's why kids turn out as bad adults.  Thanks for commenting.

Reviewer: leeseeq (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2011 11:37 AM · On: Monsters Everywhere

I agreee, I was hoping you would do that (do overlapping timelines).  It's a great idea.



Author's Response:

Thank you, I hope so. :o)

Reviewer: Camilla (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2011 10:14 AM · On: Monsters Everywhere

I want to leave a review, but frankly I don't know what to say. You keep your cards so close to your chest that I have no idea of what is going on and it would be stupid just giving vent to wild speculations. One can send well though reviews only when one is grasping the sense of a story. Or should I just say, "Gee, update soon" ?

(BTW, I hate to have to read about child abuse, but I understand the necessity of it for this plot)



Author's Response:

Well lets see....the prologue was confusing....human seventeen year old Edward "abandoned by the Cullens", living on the reservation with Sue Clearwater, something going on with Bella...

The other chapters was just seven year old Edward, abandoned by his parents, living in an abusive foster home on the reservation, meeting Bella for the first time, wandering in the woods at night and coming across the Cullens out hunting...

The next chapter will be back to seventeen year old Edward and what happened after he jumped from the cliff.  Thats when it gets really confusing.;o)  

The bad thing about reading chapters one at a time (rather than reading an entire story at once) is that there isn't ever a constant flow so there is time to speculate.  

Hopefully it won't get too confusing.  Right now I think the biggest question is what is going on with Bella.  That won't be explained for a while yet.

Thanks for the comments.

Reviewer: Camilla (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2011 02:59 AM · On: Prologue

Thank you again, To my faves it goes...

Reviewer: Camilla (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2011 09:49 PM · On: Prologue

I  have just read the prologue. The label AU should mean that in this story there are vampires, shapeshifters and/or other supernatural elements. If not, it should be labeled AH (all human). Can you clarify this for me? Thanks a lot.



Author's Response:

Defintely vampires and maybe even some boys that change to wolves...coming soon.  Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: saroya (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2011 07:58 PM · On: First Sight

This is so very sad.  I had to get a box of tissue with me. Please continue. 



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading. I do tend to write angst, but there will be some happy times too.

Reviewer: dnabgeek (Signed) · Date: March 30, 2011 04:48 PM · On: First Sight

This story has definitely piqued my interest. I can't wait for more :)



Author's Response:

Next chapter is just waiting for validation.  Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: FacelessGirl (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2011 03:26 PM · On: Weird Little Kid

Aw... That was a very cute insight to a little childs imagination. Kudos on Edward's first meeting with the Cullens.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading - It's an idea that' I've always wanted to read but never really found anything so I decided to write it instead.

 

Reviewer: FacelessGirl (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2011 03:02 PM · On: Prologue

After our little exchange of PM's, I decided to check out what kind of stories you're writing. From the summary this was the one that spoke to me and now, having read your prolog, I have to say that you have a very beautiful way with words. - good luck with the story. =)

/Maria



Author's Response:

Thank you and I'm glad that fix worked for you.  Pretty easy once you know the trick.

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.