Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviewer: idealskeptic (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 12:25 PM · On: Momentary Setback

I'm reading this! And I absolutely love it! It's one of the top three stories that I get really excited to see updates for. I think I missed reviewing on the last chapter (stupid RL!) and for that I apologize because I do know how it is to wonder if anyone's reading what you write. I hate that feeling!

I'll keep my fingers crossed that you get a bunch of reviewes so that you'll be sure the keep going!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much and no need to apologize for not reviewing the last chapter.  But you are right, I'm a little insecure with seven year old Edward's "voice" and I wasn't sure if it was working or not.   It appears that most people think it is.   And no worries about stopping.  I'll finish it if one person is reading it, so if you are that one....you'll get a completed story.

Reviewer: tatie1970 (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 11:12 AM · On: Momentary Setback

I'm reading. Your writing is great. But the story is so sad... Could you perhaps reveal if there is going to be a HEA ? 



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and commenting....I responded privately for obvious reasons. ;o)

Reviewer: Queenofhearts820 (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 10:42 AM · On: Momentary Setback

:( too short! I wanted to know a lil more about his parents! Good update but still need more!

Author's Response:

Ahhh :o) and usually I worry that my chapters are too dang long.  Thanks for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: Joyfulgirl222 (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 10:11 AM · On: Momentary Setback

definately reading and enjoying 



Author's Response:

Thank you.  I appreciate the feedback.

Reviewer: maggiecullen (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 09:27 AM · On: Momentary Setback

 

Reviewer: Carnage (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 09:04 AM · On: Momentary Setback

I love this story, it's so intresting in the way you have written it and i can not wait for more please update soon x



Author's Response:

Thanks for the comments.  One reason I asked for feedback is I just didn't know if the seven year old Edward "voice" was working.  I'm glad you think it is.

Reviewer: seeker (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 08:40 AM · On: Momentary Setback

thanks good chapter



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading.

Reviewer: msKuhlena (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 07:45 AM · On: Momentary Setback

i know that it is common for foster children to want there parents, and i know that edward is young and does not have a real choice but i wish he would have, no this is exactly as it should be. i am glad you updated and i hope you don't leave us wondering for to long.



Author's Response:

The next chapter is written...first in my head and now on paper.  It should be posted soon.  Thanks so much for reading.  

Reviewer: little_hateful (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 07:43 AM · On: Momentary Setback

This Chapter was sooo sad. I am loving the story!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for commenting.

Reviewer: alaskancoppertop (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 07:10 AM · On: Momentary Setback

How the heck did his parents just up and say "give him back, we moved back to town" and get custody back without any real hoops to jump through or supervised visitation before transfering custody?



Author's Response:

Because I'm writing from a first person POV, it's hard to convey exactly what happened.  Carlisle wouldn't have been given privy to confidential information related to how Edward's parents got him back or how long they were working on getting him back.  I did mention that the courts had ordered the Masens to stay in the same school district, so it can be assumed that they had to jump through some hoops to get custody of him.

I'd like to make the arguement that there was no documented abuse against Edward's parents and it was a simple case of abandonment so the supervised visits were not required. However, having said all of that, you might have  touched on a weakness in my "take" on how the exchange of custody transpired because to be honest, it didn't occur to me to include supervised visits first so I never researched it to see if it was likely in this type of case. 

Thanks for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: catharticone (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 07:04 AM · On: Momentary Setback

I'm still reading this compelling story!  I've read your last few chapters at fanfiction.net, though, as they seem to appear there first.  I'm sorry I haven't left reviews there.  But please know that I am very eager for your next update and truly can't get enough of this tale. 

This chapter left me saddened, but I feel hopeful that Edward will return to the Cullens soon.  It seems they had no choice but to return him to his parents; they have to work within the system unless they want to draw unwanted attention to themselves.  I found this scenario quite plausible.  Still, please send Edward back to the loving Cullen home soon!  :)

 



Author's Response:

Thank you and I don't mean to beg for reviews, usually I don't care, but sometimes I just need to hear from you. 

I'm glad you "get" what just happened.  For some reason it's always deemed a success when children are reunited with their biological parents no matter how abusive they might be. 

Reviewer: ClearFlower (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 06:45 AM · On: Momentary Setback

One of my fave stories at the moment (:



Author's Response:

Thank you.  I appreciate the response.  

Reviewer: carliecullen82 (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 05:33 AM · On: Momentary Setback

OMG. Please tell me they are getting him back. Something tells me that his parents are no better than George and Karen. Can't wait for the next chapter.  Please hurry!



Author's Response:

Thanks for commenting...I'm hurrying. 

Reviewer: Camilla (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2011 05:20 AM · On: Momentary Setback

Not only I am reading this, I am also reccommending it around. Just a bump on the road, you say? Was it necessary?  Essential to the plot? Sometimes I wonder if authors like to pour angst just for the hell of it.

I skimmed through the chapter so fast that I am not even sure of what exactly  happened and I have not the inclination to go back, now.



Author's Response:

There is no easy road in the foster care system.  Children are removed from loving foster families all the time and parents regardless of past atrocities are always given a second, third, fourth, fifth chance to get their kids back.   In the original outline I had Edward removed from the Cullens more than once, but since I have no intention of writing a 50 chapter story, I thought one realty check was enough.  Perhaps the timing could have been different but I write the next chapter with a seven year old in mind and it wouldn't work if Edward was any older. 

 

Reviewer: dnabgeek (Signed) · Date: May 15, 2011 02:27 PM · On: Santa Lives

love this story... can't wait for more. it is one of the most unique things i've read in a long itme. it reminds me a bit of bella hale in a way... Thanks for sharing!



Author's Response:

I'm definitely more plot driven then character driven.  I admire writers that can develop characters and put them in any situation, no matter how mundane and make it exciting, but that's not me. 

 

Thanks for your reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: dnabgeek (Signed) · Date: May 15, 2011 01:53 PM · On: Welcome Home

fabulous as always my dear

Reviewer: Costa (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2011 05:17 PM · On: Santa Lives

  Poor Edward!  So young, and don't belive in Santa already.  That's sad.

  Hmm, the bike lesson could have gone better.  Next time, better someone less scatterbrained than Emmet take the lead.        :)

  I have to say, Emmet and Rosalie did well, given the circunstances.  A píty there was no way their behaviour wouldn't hurt Edward.  With all his complexes of inferiority...  That was a good scene, CJ.

  "It's the blood...none of them can handle the sight of blood; it makes them sick."        Brilliant!  This will appease him now and in future incidents, without revealing the secret!  Not so far from the truth, anyway.        ;)

  About the butterflies... I thought her lamp was one of those with shaped holes on the cover;  but on a second thought, I suppose Edward would have seen it.  So, yes, I'm wondering what is the deal with the butterflies.  I suppose it have to do with her...  problem?        :-/

  And you are right.  The dangers Edward (unknowingly) faces by living with the Cullens must be shown.  But it makes them even better in my eyes, to see how they handle themselves.        ^_^

  This one was a good chapter.



Author's Response:

One thing that is notably lacking in many stories including the original is highlighting the dangers between human and vampire interaction.  Little kids get hurt a lot...they bleed a lot...I see this as an ongoing problem 

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: Camilla (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2011 02:00 PM · On: Prologue

Hi, I have just posted a rec for your story on A Different Forest on the Reccommendation campfire.



Author's Response:

Oh thank you so much and thanks for enjoying my story.

Reviewer: carliecullen82 (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2011 10:19 AM · On: Santa Lives

So did you just give us a hint of Bella's "condition"?   Butterflies? 



Author's Response:

Hmmmm....maybe.   ;o)

Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: msKuhlena (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2011 06:47 AM · On: Santa Lives

i am very happy you updated. i love this story and I love, LOVE reading about a seven year old edward.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your comments.  Yes he does grow on you, doesn't he?

Reviewer: saroya (Signed) · Date: May 09, 2011 12:16 PM · On: Santa Lives

I really liked the " final straw" and " tired of dealing with it" part. Based on his prior experience, it's logical Edward would come to the conlusion now Cullens are fed up with his trouble making and plan to get rid of him.   Poor little Edward!

Write more, can't wait,

 



Author's Response:

Thank you.  Now that I've started doing it I sort of like italicizing words for emphasis.   I find myself wanting to do that in Carlisle's chapters as well.  Oh...did I say "chapters"....yes the next one is going to be from Carlisle's POV again. ;o)

Reviewer: mitzfree (Signed) · Date: May 09, 2011 08:52 AM · On: Santa Lives

Little Edward is so adorable.  I absolutely love the way you have written his relationship with the Cullens.  It's perfect.  Looking forward to the next chapter.  Please hurry.



Author's Response:

Thanks for commenting.  I wrote this story specifically to highlight the relationship between Edward and the Cullens.

Reviewer: Camilla (Signed) · Date: May 09, 2011 07:15 AM · On: Santa Lives

Poor, poor boy, he has not a clue, and is so sad that he always thinks it is his fault. Quite the Canon Edward in an AU story. But, considering that he was very good at keeping secret the fact that his foster parents abused him, he would keep the big Cullen secret perfectly, out of love, not of fear.

As for Bella, you are keeping things tight to your chest, aren't you? I am not ready to comment on that.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing; I appreciate the canon comment.  I always try to keep my characters as in canon as possible.  Right now Rosalie appears to be the most OOC, but that is only because she is relating to human child which I have always thought was her biggest weakness.

Reviewer: Costa (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2011 03:51 PM · On: Welcome Home

  'But I had a responsibility to protect my family and I would not be swayed by their pleas to involve ourselves further in this boy's life. It wasn't until Alice imparted her vision of Jasper playing catch with a much older bronze haired, green eyed boy that she insisted was crystal clear and likely to happen that I had to reconsidered my steadfast opinion that the child's fate had no bearing on us.'        Hmm, sometimes, I wonder if Alice doesn't feign some visions, knowing that, if she says the right words, the future will bend in the direction she wants.        P-)

  '"I'm going to go wait for Alice on the porch."        "Okay, but don't exert yourself, you know you should be resting."        "Will I be exerting myself if I try on the clothes she bought me?"        I suppressed a smile both at his comment and Esme's soft titter from the garden.  "I think that depends on how many clothes she bought you."        "Probably a lot," he said solemnly. '        LOL!!        X-D

  '"Edward, why don't you come upstairs and try the clothes on in my room?  I'll return whatever you don't like."        "You pick for me."        "Is Emmett telling you to say that?"        "No, Emmett's outside."        "Well then come up here. I won't bite."        "I'm not allowed to."        "You're not allowed to?  What do you mean?"        "I'm not allowed to go upstairs; only Esme's office, the library, the kitchen and the living room."        "Who told you that, sweetheart?"        "No one told me, I just know."        I imagine everyone's dismay at Edward's misconception.  And to think they had no idea...        :)

  "Ahh, looks like more for me then; I like chicken," I said quickly, feeling Esme's body quiver as she squelched a giggle.        "You do?" Edward looked back at me wide eyed. "Will you eat with me?"        "Of course I will son; you and me, the only chicken lovers in the joint."        Eww!  Poor Carlisle...        X-}

  'Esme's assumption that chicken eggs were an important part of the diet and a quick simple meal for breakfast, didn't think twice about serving Edward a plate of raw eggs still in the shell, then chastising me when he refused to eat them whole, shell and all.'        Geez, she really doesn't remember, does she?        :)

  You really placed well the difficulties of a family of vampires adapting to their new human member, while keeping him out of the secret.  Even if not with a 100% rate of success on their part.  Very good!

  About Karen and George...  Can I assume, at least, that they got in trouble with the law?   :-]



Author's Response:

I think I dropped the ball with George and Karen.  I should have included something about what happened to them.  Perhaps I can work it in, in upcoming chapters.  They would have gotten in trouble and they definitely don't have foster kids anymore.  As far as Alice goes, I do have a problem working her visions in sometimes and I wonder if the value of her gift isn't diminished much more than SM ever suggested.  Lets face it, we change our mind all the time.  How could she ever really see what happens in the future until its set in stone.

Reviewer: CleanEco (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2011 01:05 PM · On: Welcome Home

Really enjoying the story. Can't wait to see how we get from 7 year old Edward to abandoned 17 year old Edward.

Author's Response:

Thanks, yes I wasn't sure how that would work (i'm still not), but it was suggested to me by a reader and at the time it sounded like a good idea. Only time will tell. ;o)

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.