Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For The Guard
Reviewer: twiharder2 (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2012 09:28 AM · On: Epilogue

Thank you for a wonderful story. Your story telling ability is really superb, it's such a shame your Beta used spell check instead of actually reading your story. Perhaps then it wouldn't be riddled with so many distracting errors like too instead of to, or then instead of than, or conscious instead of conscience... etc. etc. etc.  Still, despite all that, an enjoyable read! :)

Reviewer: Shemhazai (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2011 06:41 PM · On: Fall

I actually just picked up this story yesterday. I saw your update for  "Submit," and to be honest it's not really my style, but I do so love how you write and think, so I ventured to see what else you had.  I just now finished it, and my heart is a little broken.  But, just wondering, you have said in the authors notes that the family doesn't see Edward as a guard, yet they still wanted him to live after the death of his mate?  Are they all so selfish, or do they not even have the most basic understanding of empathy? It was one thing when Edward lived with them "Pre-Bella," but now there is no other for him... unless Bella is reincarnated, but I doubt the canon-ness of that, since Didyme has been dead for centuries and Marcus never found her again, there is no preceedent for it.  I still held the tiniest ember of hope when reading the epilogue, hoping that maybe it was Bella... hell, Gina COULD be Bella, and Edward can't recognize her a) as a vampire or b) in him overwhelming grief. Still... I would wanted to have know what happened from here, and perhaps you will write a sequel, but until then, I will have to be satisfied with the continuing stories you have... wow, that was verbose. My apologies.  

Um... yeah? Needed lots of tissues for this, by the way.  Should buy stock in Kleenex brand.



Author's Response:

I tried to stay in canon with this story, at least as far as the characters go and there is no scenario that I can imagine where Carlisle would help Edward destroy himself.  I'm not sure if that's what you're suggesting, but it really is his only option...live without his mate or be destroyed. 

The entire reason I put Edward through this hell was to push him to the brink of madness so he could convince himself that there was a point to his existance as the guard of the family. I don't think he would have come to that conclusion if he hadn't been teetering on the brink.  In other words, he now has a reason to live no matter how delusional it is.  He's not just existing, he truly believes he has a purpose.  The hope would be that this would give Carlisle the opportunity to help him at some point in the future.

You are the second reviewer that thought Gina might be Bella and to be honest, it never occurred to me.  If it had, I might have considered it by making Bella's death a little bit more mysterious or nondescript.  Of course that annoys a lot of readers who hate when the author brings characters back to life, so I'm not sure if it would have been the best idea or not.

Thanks so much for your comments and though I have a lot on my plate right now, I really do want to continue on with this story.

 

Reviewer: oldladytish (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2011 06:57 PM · On: Epilogue

I loved this story. Your Edward is so believable my heart ached for him. Don't be so sure this story hasn't generated much interest - there are a lot of lurkers out here. Thank you for writing it.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the comments.  Eventually I may write the sequel despite the lack of reviews.  The outline is done.

Reviewer: TwiSentinel (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2011 06:08 PM · On: Epilogue

Well written.  I kind of thought you may be going somewhere with Jenna, her little boy, and Edward and was slightly disappointed that Edward did not help them and become THEIR 'Guard', in lieu of Bella.

I enjoyed the story a lot anyway.



Author's Response:

 I never thought of that; I mean Edward is sort of protecting all of them, but to focus on a human for a specific reason would have been interesting. If I write the sequel I'm sure I can incorporate something into it and I haven't really decided what I would do with Edward romantically, if anything. 

Thank you for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: DecodedParamore (Signed) · Date: January 21, 2011 07:22 PM · On: Epilogue

I started reading this story a while ago but got busy and therefore just caught up.  So sad, but very well written and an interesting tale for Edward after losing his Bella. 



Author's Response:

Sorry for the late response.  Just catching up on reviews now.   Thank you.  Yes many people can't read a story about a dead Bella. 

Reviewer: thejedikenobi (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2011 06:36 PM · On: Epilogue

Awesome end!! I do hope you write a sequel though, it seems like there is so much more you have in your head :)



Author's Response:

Sorry..I try to respond to all my reviews and missed a few.   Thank you..and yes the outline is already written. :o)

Reviewer: idealskeptic (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2011 06:08 PM · On: Epilogue

This was a perfect ending! I was wondering what happened to Gina and I would be very interested in reading a story that had Gina and Edward meet again.

I'm so sorry that I wasn't a better reviewer but I found the story late, lost it and then found it again, and that there wasn't as much interest as you'd hoped in a sequel. I hope you write it.

I'll keep my eye on your profile.

Thank you for a very interesting and very unique story.



Author's Response:

..and sorry I didn't respond faster....I missed a few reviews.    I appreciate the comments. Thank you.

Reviewer: tatie1970 (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2011 05:31 PM · On: Epilogue

Great writing. I do hope you will write the sequel. Even if it's sad... 



Author's Response:

Sorry for such a late responce.  I'm seriously contemplating it.  Thanks for your interest.

Reviewer: Twihardgirl246 (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2011 03:32 PM · On: Epilogue

Gina and Edward are gonna end up together aren't they? :)



Author's Response:

Sorry for this ridiculously slow response....they may...one day. ;o)

Reviewer: katees (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2011 02:09 PM · On: On Guard

Only one more chapter? I'm really hoping there will be a sequel for this story as I find it so captivating and emotional.

I can understand why some might be put off with a story without Bella, but I adore how different and yet hopeful and this story is.

I'm sorry I haven't reviewed earlier, as I really was moved by the family connections in this story. As for this chapter, well it has to one of the best. I keep thinking "Edward's not going to stay like this, is he?", but at the same time, I can understand how in his confusion and identity crisis he can feeling this way. My favourite part would the journals, I can't wait to see the family's reaction to them.

Oh, and imagining Carlisle telling Edward, whilst he's up a tree, that Esme 'does like to cuddle'.

Please update soon!



Author's Response:

Thank you.  You are right about killing Bella off. I've had people tell me they can't read it for that very reason.  I couldn't read s story without Edward so I understand.  Don't apologize for not reviewing.  I'm horrible at it myself...and before I started writing I never reviewed.  

Edward's journey was always meant to bring him to this point (hence the title). I had to justify his bizarre behavior that extended beyond just losing a mate.  He was vulnerable because of Bella's death and easily manipulated and influenced by his experiences after that. Concluding he was "the guard" of the family based on very flimsy reasons would only be believable if I could justify his weakened mental condition.

The epilogue will show where I would take the sequel and this story was always meant to have one.

Reviewer: DebbeV (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2011 07:42 AM · On: On Guard

Nice Chapter...has he just really lost it?  Is it because his mate is gone?



Author's Response:

Thanks.  Bella's death was the start of his downfall.  His time in Mexico and with the Volturi didn't help.

Reviewer: leeseeq (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2011 10:03 PM · On: On Guard

Are you kidding?!  Not enough interest in it!  I check for updates specifically for this story four or five times a day!  I really hope you will reconsider and do a sequel. I've done a major poor job of reviewing, but I've hung on your every word through this story!  It's hard to find good, well thought-out and well written stories that clean and have a reasonable rating.  I've really enjoyed this journey with Edward.

As for this chapter, this response of unemotional and pig-headed Edward is pretty plausible considering what he's been through.  I find myself wishing that he could be with Bella almost as much as he does!



Author's Response:

Thanks for your kind words.  You've done more than your share of reviewing and I can't blame anyone for lack of them.  Before I started writing I was horrible about leaving reviews.  It wasn't until I realized the importance of them to a writer that I started review stories.  I do think killing Bella off hasn't helped.  I wouldn't read a story without Edward in it.   

Reviewer: thejedikenobi (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2011 10:39 AM · On: On Guard

I LOVE this story. I know that's a little bit morbid given the sad storyline but it's just so well written and unique. Every  time I finish a chapter I worry that the next one is going to be a let down and that there is no way you can continue it at the same level...and everytime I'm plesantly suprised and I've reached a point where I just know it's going to rock. :D

I don't want it to end :(



Author's Response:

Thank you.  I appreciate the comments.  I probably should mention that I'm a serious Stephen King fan.  Probably explains the heads.  Only I (or my buddy Stephen) would come up with the idea of a bodiless vampire that still lives, especially in a Twilight setting.   I am also a Carlisle-Edward fan.  The father/son relationship is very fascinating to me.

Reviewer: tatie1970 (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2011 11:35 PM · On: On Guard

You are a gifted writer. I like your writing, but I don't like the story. It really is  too sad. That's just me being a sap of course. I read fanfic for fun. I have quite an intense job so this is me being indulgent with myself. Edward  going mad from grieving... it's beautifully written, so I read it anyway. But in a way I'll be glad when the story is done. Could you write something a little happier next time ? 



Author's Response:

I understand.  I could never read a story that had Edward dead from the start and I really don't want to think of Edward dead at all.  I am drawn to stories of suffering and pain and I've got two or three other outlines written (including the sequel to this) and every single one is angsty.   Not sure what that says about me.  ;o)

Reviewer: 184 (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2011 07:19 PM · On: On Guard

Poor Edward.  I have to give you props, you've taken a very hard and unique story line, kept it cannon and made it interesting (and at most times heart wrenching!)  You are a very talented writer and not getting the recognition you deserve I think because of the lack of fluff, but don't change a thing because it sure is nice to read something new.  I'm eager to see what happens next when Carlisle puts the pieces together and figures it out.  How will he handle it?  I know I've told you before, but I'll say it again, you've really capatured Carlisle well, I can see him reacting in all the ways you've described.  Bravo, Bravo!  And I look forward to your next chapters and next stories!



Author's Response:

Thanks.  I especially appreciate that you think I kept it canon...well except for killing Bella off.  ;o)  I prefer canon stories including keeping all the gifts and talents the same, couples the same and characters in character etc.  Obviously Edward's journey and Bella's death has changed him, broken him, but he had to experience it all in order to end up where he is now.

I really hate to be the one to tell you this but if you saw my author notes...there is only the Epilogue left unless I write the sequel.  This story was always meant to have a sequel.

Reviewer: Twihardgirl246 (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2011 07:17 PM · On: On Guard

Edward is constantly breaking my heart :( I wish so badly things would get better for him. Also, I am one of those people who REALLY want the sequel. I just love this story. :) Please update soon!



Author's Response:

Thanks.  I think killing Bella off killed half my potential readers.  LOL   I might write the sequel all at once.  That way I won't be influenced by reviews.

Reviewer: evrythingmusic1 (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2011 04:04 PM · On: On Guard

Well Edward is very confusing. I'd hate to see him be a guard for enternity but I understand that he doesn't feel equal to the rest of the family. The next chapter should be interesting. :)



Author's Response:

Thank you.  Yes Edward is very confused.

Reviewer: Twihardgirl246 (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2011 07:29 AM · On: Gifted

I so wish that the Cullens knew how Edward viewed himself. How he thinks he's unworthy and selfish. I hate that Edward has to suffer that pain by himself.



Author's Response:

We would have to assume that eventually this behavior would come to the attention of Carlisle.  Unfortunately how many people go through their life feeling that very thing and no one notices.

Reviewer: DebbeV (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2011 06:54 AM · On: Fall

Nicely written...and VERY prophetic.  Like the reference to being reborn and the Superhero that he is about to become...cool take on an ancient tale...the monster actully becoming the hero.  Can't wait to read the next chapter.

Reviewer: 184 (Signed) · Date: January 06, 2011 06:17 PM · On: Charade

Yet another great chapter.  Hmmm, I think the title "The Guard" maybe never had anything to do with the Volturi, it's Edward's calling that he finds.  He decides he has to protect all the things he saw in this chapter, his happy family, the lady who's car got stuck....   I don't know, it's my theory.  I hope you'll write more after this story is done!



Author's Response:

...and it's a pretty good theory. :o)

Reviewer: mitzfree (Signed) · Date: January 05, 2011 08:11 AM · On: Charade

I don't really understand the end of the chapter and the hint didn't help, so sadly I'm going to have to wait.  Please hurry.



Author's Response:

I'm hurrying.  I have the chapter written, but now I don't like it so I'm going to rewrite it.  Sorry. :o(

Reviewer: leeseeq (Signed) · Date: January 04, 2011 06:13 PM · On: Charade

What a fantastic chapter!  I loved the idea of Edward burrowing underground, it really seems like a coping behavior he would use doesn't it?!   Even though I  don't know exactly what he has in mind, I'm so relieved that he has some peace, and I CAN'T WAIT to see what happens!



Author's Response:

Thanks, I've never seen anything about vampires burrowing underground and I've always been curious about it.   It would be a perfect hiding spot and in theory a vampire could reside for years underground.  As it pertains to this story, yes it is definitely something Edward would do.

Reviewer: evrythingmusic1 (Signed) · Date: January 04, 2011 04:19 PM · On: Charade

I'm horrible at hints and riddles! Great chapter but will you eventually reveal Edward's epiphany? Lol :)



Author's Response:

Yes, the next chapter.  Thanks for your comments...and I'm lousy at it too. :o)

Reviewer: Twihardgirl246 (Signed) · Date: January 04, 2011 12:41 PM · On: Charade

Oh wow. This was an amazing chapter. I don't really understand his epihany (didn't spell it right :p) but I know it's truly changed him forever. And I want to know about Edward's tramatic experience when he was a newborn. I totally encourage you to do that prequel. :) I'm sad that theres only two chapters left but I look forward to more of your work. Great job!



Author's Response:

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it.  I have an outline for both the prequel and the sequel, but haven't decided if I"m ever going to write them. 

Reviewer: carliecullen82 (Signed) · Date: January 04, 2011 06:02 AM · On: Charade

I think I might have figured it out.   I'm sorry to hear this story is ending but I look forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response:

Thank you.

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.