Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For The Home Guard
Reviewer: Crazy Female LEPrecon (Signed) · Date: July 14, 2013 08:16 AM · On: Orders

Once again this is an amazing chapter. I enjoy that you can write a fanfiction this interesting while having so much history involved. I've been flipping through the school books on the Civil War that my brother will be using next year, but none of them have mentioned the Home Guards. I also think that it's funny that you never actually read the books but only watched the movies. Thank you for all the time and effort that you have put into this story,

 

Crazy Female LEPrecon



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the kind words and great encouragement. I admit that I have taken a little bit of a liberty with the home guard as a concept. They didn't really pop up until 1863 (a year after this is set) and they are more of a historical footnote than anything else (which is why you don't really find them in your average textbook). The Home Guards were typically populated with draft dodgers, invalids, drunks, and scoff laws. In other words, they were commonly peopled with rather unsavory folks in the first place.

As for the time and effort, I may have enjoyed that as much as, if not more than, the writing. I and a teacher by profession, but I consider myself a historian by obsession. I started writing this as an opportunity to research parts of the Civil War I didn't know as well as I would like. Whether by intention or by accident, a lot has slipped into the story. I do hope you continue to read and enjoy. More updates will be coming soon.

Again, I thank you!

-Doc

Reviewer: Crazy Female LEPrecon (Anonymous) · Date: June 19, 2013 06:36 PM · On: The Longest Night

Oh my gosh, I've never read such a realistic and interesting story. Please, update soon. I'm so glad that this is still being continued; for a while there, I was worried that it wasn't. I love how you researched so much for this. Please update soon.

I'm sorry for not reviewing sooner, this was too much of a pageturner to simply stop to review. Oh, and what does the rating mean. Is one best or is ten because I'd like to rate this as high as possible.

Crazy Female LEPrecon

Reviewer: Disneyvampire (Signed) · Date: February 22, 2013 06:12 PM · On: Evolution

Yet another wonderful chapter! I really love this story. It really keeps me engaged in what is happening.  That is a product of your excellent writng skills. Great chapter:  As all of them are.

Such an excellent story! I am still hooked!

DV



Author's Response:

I am so far behind on responding to reviews. I beg your forgiveness! Thank you for the kind words. I do hope you are continuing to read and enjoy. There will be some more updates coming again in the not too distant future.

-Doc

Reviewer: Disneyvampire (Signed) · Date: February 13, 2013 08:34 PM · On: Beast

Even though I am not snowed in on the East coast, I am still entertained by this chapter! Great stuff. So many chapters in the past several days! What a treat!

We will be getting a little, snow tomorrow, supposedly, and this weekend, so the weather forecasters say. I call them the weather liars here, they are usually wrong.

I hope we do get some measurable snow, we are in a drought and need the moisture so badly. It is terrible with the water levels  down so low. The mountains and ski resorts finally got dumped on this last week, but here in Denver proper, nothing much. We need it.

The Professional Nurserymen and Gardeners are telling us to actually go out and hand water our trees in the winter!!! That is bad. They usually do fine with the snow and little bit of rain. But not this year...

Pray that we get the snow and that the Northeast does not get anymore. It is either feast or famine, I guess.  Some get too much, others; not enough!



Author's Response:

Glad to hear that weather is great where you are. It's not bad here either. Rest assured, there will be one more chapter coming fairly soon. Then it will be a fortnight before the next one. Thank you for your loyal reading! I do hope you continue to enjoy it.

-Doc

Reviewer: Disneyvampire (Signed) · Date: February 09, 2013 06:59 PM · On: Photographs Revisited

This story has always been excellent and still is. I love this story. I devour  every chapter I read. I am still reading it because it is so good and well written.

 Excellent work, Doc!



Author's Response:

Thank you so very much, Disneyvampire. As always, I truly am humbled by your kind review. I have a couple more chapters that I will be posting over the next week, so you will see a lot of new information fairly quickly. I thank you for your faithfulness and contunued reading and support.

 

-doc

Reviewer: Disneyvampire (Signed) · Date: July 31, 2012 05:57 AM · On: Gossip

Love this story! I have kept up with it from the beginning and it is a rare treat.  It just stays phenomenal. It gets better and better if that is possible! :)

The writing is so crisp and good and the story has such a great plotline. And of course, Jasper:  My favorite Cullen, by far and away! Love the history and the ambience you set in tis tale. You are a really talented writer and I, for one, thank you for sharing your talent and this story with us here at this site!

Really great story!

Disney Vampire



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I am humbled by your kind words. I have been slack about updated here on Twilighted, but have finally caught up. Rest assured you will read more soon. I have the next two chapters written and will be published over the next fortnight. I am also well on my way completing the next two chapters after that. I hope you continue to read and enjoy this tale.

 

-Doc

Reviewer: ScarletDevil1503 (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2011 09:35 PM · On: Shiloh

Beautiful. This not only draws my love of Jasper, but also of the Civil War era. Captivating writing and very well done. Can't wait to finish the rest, but alas - life calls.

Best regards,
Scarlet



Author's Response:

I do not know how your review managed to slip through the cracks. Please forgive my gross error. I apologize sincerely, as I genuinely appreciate each review. I do hope that you have continued to read, and know that there is a lot more coming. There should be at least one chapter a week for the next month.

-Doc

Reviewer: faeking (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2011 04:36 AM · On: Talk of the Town

I loved the kennel quote! I've heard it before from an old movie. LOL 

Wow... just I love this fic. Thanks for the update. 



Author's Response:

Ever since I envisioned Connie, I had this description in my mind. I couldn't remember where I heard it, and I know it is not an exact quotation, but the sentiment is the same. Of course, the more we learn about Connie, the more appropriate this description seems. Thanks so much for reading and especially for taking the time to review. More coming soon.

-doc

Reviewer: StupidLamb626 (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2011 09:58 PM · On: Talk of the Town

Awesome chapter!! Whoo! That Connie is quite the little hoebag isn't she? XD The chaperone part reminded me of that part in Gone With The Wind where Scarlett and her friend Kathleen are talking about that girl they knew that went on an afternoon buggy ride with Rhett with no chaperone. "No, but she was ruined just the same!" Ahh, the 1800's. Anyway, update soon. :)



Author's Response:

Oh yes, the dating standards of the 19th century are purely draconian by our standards. It is almost comical to see the difference. However, in someways things haven't changed. You can have a high class "hoebag" maintain status.  I am really glad you enjoyed this, and I sincerely thank you for reviewing.

-doc

Reviewer: wuogkat (Signed) · Date: August 04, 2011 11:11 PM · On: Talk of the Town

ooooooohhhh Constance the Life Ruiner is mad... I would not turn my back on her.

Love it!



Author's Response:

Somehow, I expected that from someone named Constance. Although I do have to admit that there is something unique about how Jasper talks to her. He still calls her Connie, even though they are separated. Makes me wonder...

Thanks for the review, babe. I appreciate it!

Reviewer: Disneyvampire (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2011 07:44 PM · On: Comeuppance

I am so enjoying reading your story. You are such a wonderful writer, you make everything  come alive for the reader.  Thank you so much for sharing your talent and tale with us.

Great work, as usual! :O)



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, as always, I am humbled by your comments. As much as I hate to say it, I almost feel sorry for Baldwyn in this chapter. Almost. ;)

-doc

Reviewer: Disneyvampire (Signed) · Date: June 10, 2011 01:17 AM · On: Unsporting

Another great chapter Doctor! I sure am enjoying this stroy of yours!

You are a great writer with a great deal of talent. I am enjoying your trip through Jasper's Civil Wr experiences, as yuo see them and write them...

Excellent writing and such a good chapter, just like all the rest...

Disney Vampire



Author's Response:

As usual, you are far too kind. Perhaps I have spent too much time reading or studying the time and era, but I genuinely appreciate your kind words and am so very happy that there are readers who are enoying this. More should be coming within the fortnight.

-Doc

Reviewer: StupidLamb626 (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2011 09:11 AM · On: Unsporting

*Whistles* Geez..........Guy has quite the temper doesn't he? One minute he's being all cordial, the next minute he's punching you in the face. Bi-polar, much? I think Mr. Baldwyn needs a good therapist. Anyway, good chapter.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reviewing. I find this guy to be an interesting character. I think we all knew he was scum when we first met him, but I thought it was important to show just how dangerous he can be. I really wonder what will happen if he ever catches up to Jasper.

-doc

Reviewer: faeking (Signed) · Date: May 12, 2011 05:51 PM · On: The "Charon" Uncovered

Oh my... my... my. How i loves a bit of drama. It seems that Jasper is a magnet for trouble. LOL Mix him up with the danger magnet called Bella *nods head* All Out War. HAHA. I love how detailed you get during this time period. It really feels as though you could see and understand the motives of the day. :D

 

Thanks for the update. 



Author's Response:

Thank you very much. One of my motivations for writing this was to present a realistic portrayal of what this time was actually like. Jasper does seem to have an interesting bit of luck, doesn't he? I wonder what trouble he can get into next. I should have the next update completed soon.

-doc

Reviewer: Disneyvampire (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2011 04:58 AM · On: The Hunt Begins

Excellent chapter! And so soon after the last chapter! I like it! I love this story and it is so much fun and interesting to read. I will keep looking for more and more chapters!

Thanks for postiong another chapter so quickly!

Excellent writing and plotline! Great story! One of the very best on Twilighted! :o)

Disney Vampire



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! As always, I believe that you are too kind. I sat down to work on this chapter to continue following Jasper, when this somehow came out. The next chapter (which I warn you now, will not come out as quickly as this one did) will be back with Jasper on the Riverboat. Now, I still wonder what that Mr. Fields is up to... ;)

-doc

Reviewer: Disneyvampire (Signed) · Date: March 30, 2011 11:14 PM · On: Of Poker, Pickpockets, and Preachers

Excellent chapter. You write so well and your story is so fascinating and readable. I love this story and look forward to each and every chapter to this tale.

Thanks for updating!

Disney Vampire



Author's Response:

Thank you very much. I am truly humbled. Watch out for the next chapter, there is quite a curveball coming! ;)

-doc

Reviewer: StupidLamb626 (Signed) · Date: March 30, 2011 12:07 PM · On: Of Poker, Pickpockets, and Preachers

Good chapter. Whoo, I was scared for Jasper for a minute. That Marion was a slippery SOB wasn't he? Ahhh, hardtack. I'm a Civil War buff, and I can safely say one of the worst parts of the war to me had I been a soldier would have been having to eat THAT all the time. Hard, tasteless, old (Some was made back in the 1840's as Mexican-American War surplus). Ugh, and we won't even get into the bugs that tended to be in them (Yuck, yuck, YUCK). Anyway, update soon! :)



Author's Response:

And of course how by the end of the war some people were mixing sawdust with the flour because the Confederacy did not have enough resources to make sufficient amounts of hard tack. Blyech!! I am glad that you enjoyed this chapter, and I was hoping that I was able to throw a couple of curveballs. Marion was not all he seemed to be, and what could be going on with Mr. Fields? Thanks so much for taking the time to review, and I hope that you will continue to enjoy this story.

-doc

Reviewer: ladyrip (Signed) · Date: March 24, 2011 12:39 AM · On: The Home Guard

American History was never so interesting when I was in school. I am thoroughly enjoying this fic. When it is complete, I fully intend to read it again. :)



Author's Response:

Trust me, history classes are never this interesting anyway. I have been teaching it for 5 years now and have never been able to go into this much detail in class. I am glad that you are enjoying it. Chapter 9 should be a treat for you.

Reviewer: Deidameia (Signed) · Date: March 14, 2011 07:34 PM · On: The Home Guard

Thank you for updating! We were really rewarded for waiting, because this chapter was excellent.

Again it was your attention to detail that made it such an interesting read. Jasper observing the weather might not seem so important, but for those travelling at the time it was essential.



Author's Response:

I am so glad that you are enjoying this story. I am still working hard on the historical tidbits and accuracy, but each chapter seems to bring its own se of needs and references. I hope you will learn a lot about steamboats in the next chapter. And I promise that it will not take as long as the last one.

Reviewer: Disneyvampire (Signed) · Date: March 12, 2011 12:41 AM · On: The Home Guard

I guess it is  "Ask and ye shall receive."!!! THANK YOU for updateing this most wonderful tale. It is one of the TOP 5 stories on this site and I have missed it, as you know...

 

This is a chapter that makes up (alnost) for all the time between updates...hahahahaha...

You really need to update more often. We miss the excellent writing, great plotline and sense of wonder at the way you tell a story. You have a gift for storytelling and I miss it when you do not update. Besides, I am sucker  for Civil War Jasper Whitlock! I could read about him all day in your colorful and descriptive  words....I do love the stories about the War Between The States. It was a fascinatin' time in the history of the growing country.

So, please don't go away and not update for months, PLEASE stick around and give us a treat sooner. I would love to have a treat of this magnitude every week or so! hint...hint... hehehe... :o)

LOVE that you updated. THANK YOU SO MUCH AGAIN!

I am giving you a cup of watered down coffee and a piece of hard tack to gnaw on for being so kind and updating. Hey, that WAS a treat back then! Oh, and there is also a wormy but sweet apple when they were able to sneak up on a northern gal's tree to satisfy that sweet tooth...just cut around the wormy parts...Yummmmmmm....

Thanks!

The ever-so-grateful Disney Vampire



Author's Response:

I am glad that this chapter meets with your approval and (most importantly) that you enjoyed it! This was particularly difficult due to all the dialogue, which (to be brutally honest) I do not think is as good as it should be. However, I was glad to get back on the proverbial horse. You will be glad to know that I have already started on the next chapter, and aim to have it posted in about a month.

Many thanks for reviewing!!

-doc

Reviewer: Disneyvampire (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2011 06:59 PM · On: Cotillion

I miss this story. It is so well written and well thought out. It is one of the very best stories here on Twilighted. I hope you are coming back to it and  writing more chapters and finishing it. I really am looking forward to more of this gem of a tale.

Please come back soon and update. I am hooked on this story and it has been so long since we had a new chapter. We really need one! PLEASE come back  VERY SOON and update! PLEASE? :o)

Disney Vampire



Author's Response:

The next chapter is currently with my beta. Once I make corrections, it will be submitted here. I am so sorry for the delay, but will have your fix soon enough. Thanks for reading, reviewing, and also for your undying patience!

BTW: in the next chapter, you will learn a LOT about the home guard.

-doc

Reviewer: Disneyvampire (Signed) · Date: February 22, 2011 02:17 PM · On: Cotillion

I have been watching for more chapters for this wonderful story. Will you be writing more and finishing "The Home Guard"

It is one of my favorite stories here on Twilighted. I miss reading this wonderful story. And the history is so good in it. You do a great job of research and writing about the times of the Civil War, it is as if we are there with Jasper.

Please update soon. I am looking forward to more of this phenomenal well- written story.

Thanks!

DV



Author's Response:

Thank you very much for the kind words. I was almost done with the next chapter when my hard drive crashed, and have been slack since I lost all of my research. I am well on replacing what I had and hope to have the next chapter to my beta within the week. I thank you for your patience, and hope to continue to live up to your expectations!! ;)

 

-doc

Reviewer: malleigh (Signed) · Date: February 08, 2011 03:39 AM · On: The Battlefield

A last letter to family was probably a common event.  Jasper's honor in seeing throuh the mailing of letters for a dying comrade reminds how close the combantants were.



Author's Response:

While I do not know how common it was at the time, I know that it was done during the war. This is an old military practice that has continued at least through Vietnam (I had family members who were or had a letter carrier). I do not know if it is still used in today's internet-age as neither of my brothers ever talked about having one while in Iraq. I think that the desire to follow through with this is true to Jasper's character and somethng that he would truly care about seeing happen. Thanks so much for reviewing. I hope you enjoy the story!

-doc

Reviewer: ladyrip (Signed) · Date: September 13, 2010 12:39 AM · On: Fields' Plantation

Holy crow! I certainly did NOT see THAT coming! And now something you told me today seems to make more sense. Again... where are the smelling salts when a lady needs them? LOL



Author's Response:

I am glad to know that I was able to surprise you of all people. (You are the one who normally sees the twists and turns coming.) I am also truly glad that you are enjoying it. I knew from the beginning you'd like it... as long as I could write to the level of the plot. Oh, and I'll see if I can get you some smelling salts. ;)

-doc

Reviewer: Deidameia (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2010 07:13 AM · On: Fields' Plantation

I just discovered your story and now I'm intrigued.

Jasper is a character I read about only on occasion, but your writing captivated me from the start.

You pay great attention to historical details (yay!) and I find the atmosphere you are creating very credible, so that your story seems somehow "real" to me. I also love the fact that you explore Jasper as a character and his motivations.



Author's Response:

I am humbled by your kind commnets and I thank you VERY much. Authenticity is one of my primary motivations, and I am trying hard to make sure that the story reads true both to history and the character. I hope you continue to enjoy this story as we continue to follow his journey home.

-dkl

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.