Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviewer: StupidLamb626 (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2010 10:46 PM · On: Blackout

Another great chapter. :) Poor Garrett. Poor guy really took a tumble. Can't wait to find out more about our girl. :)



Author's Response:

Thanks! Next chapter is already in the works...hopefully life will co-operate with me and let me have time to write in a more timely fashion!

Reviewer: snowgood (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2010 04:31 PM · On: Blackout

His poor father! I guess Garrett is about to learn that hard choices will come at any age! The only place on the body that I can imagine bleeding for a concussion would be the head, is that where it was done?

Author's Response:

He did get a good knock on the head but the bleeding the doctor was speaking of would have been more then likely from his arm. 

Bleedings do have effects that we know today to be the reasons they did them but then they were going off of a more do this/see this result. If positive it is good, lets keep doing this in future cases. If not good then stop. By the last quater of the 18th century we are starting to make leaps and bounds in SOME areas of medicine. Sometimes bleedings are done near the area effected but in this case no specification was given.

 

Reviewer: snowgood (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2010 04:18 PM · On: Travels

Interesting to see that young Garret has made some connections to overbearing authority, but not all! He was very angry with his father for making decisions about his apprenticeship. He was disdainful of the way his father spoke to the tavern girls. But he didn't over think the ad for the runaway servant, he would have liked the money. Maybe he just associates tyranny with his father for now!

Author's Response:

Not so different from us today in some ways...we often see it in some areas of life (when young it is even easier) but not others, some people never make more then connections that affect them directly. The amount of run aways is mind numbing at times, often times we look to the ads placed for their return for ideas of what people (real everyday people) wore because of the details in the ads.

Garrett at 13 is still very young having lived a more "sheltered" life in the country rather then a highly populated area in many of his ideas. We shall see what happens when he has been there for a while in what I am writing at the moment.

Thank you so much for your reviews! I love having people think!

Reviewer: snowgood (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2010 12:51 PM · On: Life Changes

Although Garret is unhappy to be leaving his family, his father did take care to see that he would have an upward opportunity. And a note on the lady of the house-cooking in an open hearth was a downright dangerous affair! She surely did her best to show Garrett how much she loved him by cooking all his favorites!

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading! To some part Garrett does understand that being apprenticed out will be good and it is almost an expected thing, but as a 13yr old (no matter modern or his time) some of this just hard for him no matter what good it is to come from it to appricate what is being done for him as his life experiance is limited.  

I do hearth cooking (and have several friends who do so more then I) and surpisingly it is not as risky as it may seem to our modern selves. If you would  like more info on woman and fires just ask me and I will be happy to provide it, not that injuries could not happen but common sense abounded around fire. It was a great deal of work and you are quite correct that Garrett's mom cooking many of his favorite dishes was quite a task but one of love that was cathardic for her as well.

I look forward to hearing more reviews from you!

Reviewer: snowgood (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2010 12:18 PM · On: Preface

I love stories about The Revolution! Garret was an interesting side character, I'm glad you are going to flesh him out!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading! I love the revolution and soon enough you be in the midst of it.

Reviewer: LordXeenTheGreat (Signed) · Date: December 09, 2010 05:31 PM · On: Preface

Great Beginning!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I hope you enjoy the rest of the journey with Garrett!

Reviewer: katiecave (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2010 02:35 AM · On: Life Changes

As a fourth year History student you have no idea how much this story makes me smile. I honestly can't wait to get more into it.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much (and sorry for the long over due response!) for reading and I look forward to hearing more from you!

Reviewer: StupidLamb626 (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2010 12:06 PM · On: Life Changes

Wow, I love this story. I love it even more that you did the research. I'm an ardent history buff, the American Revolution being my favorite period of all time, and I have to admit that when I was reading Breaking Dawn, I was thrilled with the prospect of a Revolutionary character (And a FUNNY one at that!). I'd always wondered how he died. Jasper was a soldier too, but we know about him. Garrret's backstory would have been interesting to me. Update soon! :)



Author's Response:

Thank you all! I will try to update once a week if at all possible.

Your reviews make me smile!!!

Reviewer: twiilightfan (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2010 10:30 AM · On: Life Changes

great i love it!



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: PoorJacobBlack (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2010 10:43 PM · On: Preface

this is cool so far. i always wanted to see the back story of garrett. He was a cool character. keep going.

Author's Response:

Thank you and I hope you enjoy the new chapter!

Reviewer: twiilightfan (Signed) · Date: August 12, 2010 01:04 PM · On: Preface

cool i like it so far!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! The next chapter should be going to my beta soon and is MUCH longer!

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.