Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Days Like This
Reviewer: ipreferbrunettes (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2011 06:18 AM · On: Chapter 37 - Babysteps

As per usual I loved it!!  I'm glad they are back in contact.  I'm still not too sure of Rob's reasoning here, he pushed her away but once he did he just seemed to hang on with all the text messaging....I'm looking forward to finding out what he has to say (soon please!!)

 

xoxoxo



Author's Response:

Hi there,

So glad you're still enjoying the story! Yep, they're back in contact, finally. Small steps at a time, but they'll get there. I promise we'll find out the answers to your questions soon! We know he pushed her away, but it seems like now he's regretting that decision and can't let go like he knows he probably should. Time will tell...

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: babystar (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2011 05:04 AM · On: Chapter 37 - Babysteps

First impression review! 100% honesty as always.

This is the first chapter that I haven't read every single word a few times over.  I skipped the entire section with Aaron.  I didn't do it out of anger or spite, I just couldn't make myself do it.  From reading the section with Sarah following the Aaron meeting, I know that nothing really happened; but for some odd reason the very thought of reading it really bothers me.  Therefore, I have to work on overcoming this Aaron phobia I seem to have develop and do a re-read of this chapter. I can’t write an adequate review without really reading and feeling the entire chapter.  A lot of significant things occurred within this chapter that I’m having difficulty appreciating because my mind is still stuck on the Aaron situation.  The crazy thing is that I’m not even upset at Gemma for having agreed to see him…she’s hurt and confused.  Her world has turned upside down to the point where it’s barely recognizable….so a little stupid, self destructive, behavior should have been expected.  You have no idea how happy I am that she immediately recognized the fallaciousness of her actions and took immediate steps to remedy the problem…I’m very impressed that she was strong enough to remain true to herself, and to Robert as well, to some extent at least.  She had the means and the opportunity for obtaining the perfect revenge, but she didn’t take it.  So big ups to Gemma for that.  I’m not at all cross or disappointed in Gemma, at least I don’t think that I am.  I don’t know where this reluctance to read the Aaron section of this chapter is coming from.  Could my Aaron hate really be that deeply ingrained?  Anyway, just wanted to let you know that I’ll do a real review once I’ve read the entire chapter.  It wouldn’t be honest otherwise. 

Lastly, JTStyle is my 17 year old sister Steph.  Believe it or not Jennifer and I, are the two Robert Pattinson fans.  We even had a DVD opening ceremony for Remember Me, Eclipse, and New Moon…we light candles and everything, LOL!  Steph videotaped every single one and mocked us endlessly.  Stephanie has always liked Taylor Lautner..ever since Shark Boy, EWWWW!  JT does stand for Justin Timberlake!  How did you know?  It’s actually a username of mine that she stole referencing dances I choreographed which were inspired by Justin Timberlake.  On second thought, I guess she didn’t steal the username as I never registered it, but only use the word in terms of dance :) We take great pleasure in annoying one another.  I’m going to sleep now, hopefully to wake up completely over this Aaron phobia, or whatever the heck it is.  I’ll have a huge light bulb moment where my reaction will make perfect sense to me.

Hopefully till tomorrow, Kari

 



Author's Response:

Hello lovely Kari,

Thank you, as always, for your 100% honest review. You know I love hearing your thoughts, even if you couldn't read the Aaron parts! I think tomorrow has come and gone for you now, so maybe that means you're not quite over your Aaron phobia just yet. Eeek!

I have a little theory about your reluctance to read the Aaron section. Firstly, I know you hate Aaron. He's meant to be hated! But honestly, he hasn't changed. He's the same Aaron as he's always been. So maybe... just maybe... your anger is at Gemma. I know you said you're not upset with her (you said it twice, in fact!), but I wonder if you secretly are, just a little bit. She kissed him! She took his shirt off and held him close, and ignored Sarah's advice to not do anything of the sort. Yes, she was in self-destructive mode, but still. Your sweet, lovely Gemma kissed the one guy in the story who you really, really don't like. Maybe that's where your confusion is coming from. I don't know. Just a thought!

But as we've said, she was definitely in self-destructive mode. And Aaron was appropriate for so many reasons while she was in that mode. He was an escape. He would be the perfect revenge to make Rob jealous, if that's what she was going for, because we know they hated each other. But, in an odd way, Aaron's also a safe option. She knows him. She knows he's not going to hurt her anymore than he already has, and she knows she's not accidentally going to fall in love with him, either. He's just Aaron! She knows what to expect from him. And also, in the meantime, maybe she could get a bit of closure with him too.

Does that help to encourage you to read the rest yet? Eek! I hope you manage to read it, because although it's all a bit wrong at times (remember in my last review reply I told you to read through your fingers!?), it's actually a really important step for Gemma's little journey of self-discovery. Or Rob-discovery, perhaps.

Oh no, Stephanie is a Taylor Lautner fan!? Ew! Well that changes everything. Hehhee! I'd totally join you and Jennifer in your candlelight opening ceremonies for Rob movies though, that sounds fun! How did I know JT stood for Justin Timberlake? Ermmm, I don't know, I just did! I don't know what else JT stands for, if it's not Justin Timberlake! I'm glad she decided to stop by and review though. Do you all live together? For some reason I imagined you to be living in a big dorm-thingy, like in Center Stage. Hehee!

Anyway, I shall look forward to reading your next review, when you finally take the plunge and read the Aaron parts. He's actually not that bad, I promise. There might even be shades of niceness in there. :)

Thank you Kari!!

-SwimmingBee x

 

Reviewer: Lavaughn (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2011 04:43 AM · On: Chapter 37 - Babysteps

Gah!  I love this story!  I want them back together...please make it soon.



Author's Response:

Hi Lavaughn,

Aw, thank you! I'm so glad you're still loving the story. They will start to take some small steps forward in the next chapter, but things won't be fixed overnight. It'll take time.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: maizeandblueinvalpo (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2011 03:41 AM · On: Chapter 37 - Babysteps

It's easy to say she shouldn't have texted him back.  He hurt her in the worst possible way.  When you love someone it makes it easier to try and forgive them.  If you didn't care it wouldn't really matter what they did.



Author's Response:

Hi maizeandblueinvalpo,

What you said is very true. If she didn't care about Rob at all, she could change her phone number and move on. But she can't do that... She's still Gemma and he's still Rob. There's still love there, even though there's still anger and hurt. Hopefully the babysteps will help.

Thanks so much!

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: pearlgem (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2011 11:06 PM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

As always my dear another brilliant chapter. Honestly I feel for Gemma, you want to not want to look and read the text messages but you just can't and so you do and then feel like even more shit. Ugh! I have so been there.

And I'm sure Ally & Marcus understand she is drunk and her emotions are high. Not the best combination. 

I hope that Gemma realizes she doesn't need Rob to make her happy. It takes a long time to move past someone (I can't imagine if it was somone famous that you couldn't avoid!). I think she will get to this point, it may take a bit and only then can she think about forgiving/forgetting him...if that is what she wants to do (and part of me really wants her to talk to Rob-the evil weak part of me). 



Author's Response:

Hi Gemma,

(My new Twitter buddy!)

Eeek, I know, poor Gemma. She can't not look at his text messages, even though she knows she probably shouldn't. If he was pouring his heart out to you via texts, how could you not read!? Sigh!

Ally and Marcus will be okay. They had her best interests at heart, but they know she was just drunk and messy. We all have those nights sometimes, don't we!?

Gemma certainly has lots of thinking to do - some of which happens in the next chapter, which is up now. Things won't be miraculously fixed overnight, but she does need to decide if she can forgive him and start talking to him again, or whether they move on without each other. A difficult thing to decide, always.

Thanks so much for continuing to read and review. :)

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: goldeyedsoul (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2011 10:32 PM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

Hey Bee :)

.. dropped by to write a second review! hope you don't mind :D

Just re-read this chapter and I have to say that I'm so glad that Gemma didn't answer one of Rob's text messages. It serves him right.

If I were Gemma I probably would have written an angry text message back. But I'm glad you let Gemma ignore his text messages. I'm quite sure being ignored hurts him much more ..

I know, I repeat myself but I can't wait to read the next chapter! "Days like this" is so addicting.

xoxo

drea :)



Author's Response:

Hi again Drea,

Wow, two reviews this chapter! Of course I don't mind, it's fabulous! Thank you, you're awesome! :)

And oh, I'm totally with you... If I were Gemma, I would have sent him lots of angry text messages! I probably would have drunkenly called him too, just to growl at him over the phone. Hehee. But as you said, ignoring him completely is probably hurting him much more than anything else. He knows he deserves to be yelled at, but right now, he doesn't even know if she's getting his messages. He misses her desperately and that's the last little link between them. If that is broken too, what hope does he have? Gah!

I'm hoping the next chapter will be up soon. Fingers crossed!

Thanks so much for all your support and kind words. You're so lovely!

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: babystar (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2011 10:08 AM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

Oh Bee, Pleaseeeeeeeee tell me that your intent isn’t to have Gemma hit rock bottom by engaging in sexual activity with another man.  That would be extremely out of character for her, a complete and utter tragedy.  I can’t even begin to tell you how upsetting that very thought is to me….I felt as if my heart dropped to the floor after I read the A/N at the end of the chapter.  Gemma demeaning herself in such of a manner would hurt a thousand times more than Robert’s betrayal.  I know it is in our nature to self destruct, and no one has earned that right more than Gemma, but I’m praying that casual sex will not be her weapon of choice.  You have done such of a wonderful job writing this story…I can honestly say that I feel her pain and understand where she is coming from.  I completely empathize with her.  I get it Bee, I really do, but Gemma using casual sex to numb the pain would be a disservice to the Gemma Taylor I have come to know and love.  Yes, that act would put her and Robert on a somewhat even playing field and might even make it easier for her to forgive him, but it would also remove something fundamentally necessary from the story.  I’m having difficulty putting it into words.  Right now Gemma is the innocent party in all of this, but to have her engaging in something so tawdry and distasteful would really tarnish her.  I don’t want to see Robert regaining favor as a result of Gemma’s decline.  Don’t redeem him by tearing her down.  I hope that I’m way of base with this, but it’s really bothering me.  People tend to lash out and behave out of character in the midst of great trauma and pain, and I’m just so worried about her.  I hurt for her when she thought about her inability to really escape him.  His presence is everywhere.  How will she ever heal her heart if he’s constantly there?  This is such of a messy situation because they have all become this one big group of friends…escape is an impossibility.  She can’t even find solace in sleeping…what is a person supposed to do with that? Robert has successfully destroyed every last bit of peace and grace she managed to hold onto after Aaron. 

Ally’s heart was in the right place, but I think it was way too soon for a girl’s night out.  Gemma wasn’t ready for that at all.  I cringed when she was dancing with that loser on the dance floor.  Thank God for Marcus!  I must admit to feeling a bit peeved myself, when Ally mentioned him showing up, but all of my ire went out the window the minute Jason the creep made his presence known.  I shudder at the thoughts of what might have been the outcome, had Marcus not been there.  So big ups to Marcus for stepping in when he did.  I believe that Marcus had good intentions by showing up at the club.  Gemma is very important to two people he happens to love very much, thereby making her very important to him.  That said....I also believe that Robert played a role in Marcus' impromptu visit.  Robert knew that it wasn't possible for him to show up at the club so he did the next best thing in sending Marcus.  He might have also viewed it as an opportunity for Marcus to speak to Gemma on his behalf...and boy did that backfire!  I also don’t believe Gemma meant to sound so harsh with Ally.  She was just feeling overwhelmed and took it out on her.  I’m sure that Ally understands and will not hold it against her.   I almost forgot Sarah!  Is she responsible for Robert leaving the key behind?

Do you know that I started this chapter feeling remorseful over calling Robert a pussy last review? However, all of that remorse went out the window two minutes within the story.  I can't even begin to understand Robert’s rationale behind his text messaging campaign.  What is he thinking? Or is this another case of Robert at his most selfish?  Does he not realize that each text is like pouring salt on an open wound for Gemma? This audacious approach has caused me to question not only his mental acumen, but also his awareness of the damage he has caused in Gemma's life.  He doesn't really get it, Bee.  Robert has yet to fully comprehend the magnitude of the hurt he has inflicted upon her.  His text messages gave me the impression that he saw the situation almost akin to a game or something trivial, something easily forgiven.  I know that several times he mentioned his awareness of the fact that Gemma wouldn't forgive his actions, but that sounded like lip service to me.  As if he was only placating her by saying it.  Robert needs to speak with Gemma face to face.  He has to understand the chaos and complete devastation he left in his wake...until he faces up to his actions, the text apologies will continue to fuel the flames of her hurt and anger.  It is time for him to be a man and confront the pain he dealt to the woman he claims to love.  Only then, can he hope to receive absolution.  I'd really love to see Gemma go off on him.  It’s imperative that she allows herself to feel the anger and let it all out...hopefully in Robert’s direction.  I'm really hoping that Gemma gets a chance to yell, slap, and rage at him.  I recognize that it’s absolutely hypocritical of me, as violence is never the solution, but oh well!   Gemma has been repressing too many things for far too long...It’s more than about time for her purge them out of her system.  On second thought, It’s not that he is trivializing the situation, but rather that he doesn't seem to understand how big of an impact his betrayal has had on her.   I'm very well aware of the fact that he knows she is in pain and suffering..All caused by him nonetheless, but the depth, breadth, and scope of that pain remains out of his realm of comprehension.  I don't know, I very well might be wrong in my assessment, but something about his messages just gives me the vibe that he hasn't fully gotten it yet.  Roberts’s last text message really struck a chord within me.  It made me realize that he is suffering as well, but the difference is that he is the cause of his own pain and suffering. When I think of the calculated, cold blooded way he went about breaking her heart, I want to kill him all over again.  His intent was to push her away and he was successful, so why isn't he letting her be? Why inundate her with the constant messages?  Roberts regret over hurting Gemma is very obvious to me...but is it to her? I don't understand why he isn't at her door apologizing face to face.  Is it the fear of her possible rejection that is keeping him away?  As long as he doesn't confront her head on, than he can still hold on to a shred of hope as she hasn't spoken the words "we are over" to him.  Is keeping his distance a method of holding on to hope? Not giving her a chance to conclusively end their relationship?  I can’t wait to find out when and how he realized that pushing her away was a mistake.  I’m thinking that it might have been directly afterwards.  If I recall correctly, something changed in his expression during their last face to face conversation with one another…when she said, "But we don't do that," I shook my head. "We sleep together." Oh wait, he only blinked, LOL.

Favorite Lines

I glared at him and spoke back. “Gemma. I’m Gemma.”

“Aha!” she cried, pointing to me. “See? You’re smiling. You’re totally smiling. Britney cures all.”

Missing you like crazy. I know I shouldn’t be texting you but I can’t help it. It’s the only thing I can do right now. You’re the only thing I think about, all the time. I know I fucked up and I don’t deserve you, but God, I love you. I’m so sorry, Gem.
Rob x

“I’d say it’s kind of appropriate, the stupid bastard.”

I can do this.
Maybe.

I bought you this,” she said, speaking quickly as she handed me the muffin. “I thought you might be hungry after your long flight. I know it’s dinnertime, but still. Anytime is the right time for muffins, right?”

“I don’t care that you’re tired or that you’re not in the mood. We’re going out. We’re still on summer vacation and I haven’t seen you for two weeks. We’re going to dance and forget about that vampire guy from Twilight, at least for tonight.”

“Tell your friend to fuck off and stop texting me.”

“You’re only doing this as an attempt to get back at Rob. Don’t do this, Gemma.”

“So what if he was?!” I yelled back, my anger rising by the second. “What right do you have to drag me away? Are you going to follow me around anytime I leave the house now, in case I meet another guy? What are you going to do now? Report back to Rob to tell him how the night went?”

“Tell him yourself, Gemma. I’m not his messenger and I’m not yours either. I was worried about you. He treated you like absolute shit and I’m very aware of that. I wanted to check that you were okay. That’s all. But don’t take that out on me and certainly don’t take it out on Ally.”

I bit my lip and looked out the window. Did I want to make him cry? Right now… Well yeah, I did. Maybe just a little bit.

Till next time, Kari

P.S. Loved the playlist!  James Blunt is amazing, so is Michelle Branch!

P.P.S LMAO @ Gemma basically telling Marcus not to call her Gem!



Author's Response:

Hello lovely Kari,

Noooo, Gemma doesn't sleep with someone else. I know I already told you that in the forum, but I thought I'd re-iterate it here so you can breathe easy again! I completely understand your worries about it though. We like Gemma because she's sweet and because she doesn't sleep with every guy she meets along the way. She's slept with two men in her life, and both of them she loved and was fully committed to. If she was actually to have sex with some other random dude, it would be totally out of character, even though she isn't quite herself lately. You're right - she would totally demean herself and we know her well enough to know she'd take forever to get over that. So don't worry. Rob will not be redeemed by her decline!

That being said, Gemma really is in self-destruct mode at the moment. She wants an escape from Rob, and away from being sweet little Gemma for a while. Her "rock bottom" is still a bit out of character, but that's kind of the point. You might have to read through your fingers for a little while in the next chapter, but it'll be okay in the end! :)

It really is a messy situation for all of them. Gemma, Marcus, Ally, Rob... They're all tangled in this together and that's gotta be awkward! A few readers were a bit peeved with Marcus for showing up, but he really was there because he cares for Ally, and in turn, Gemma. And as you said, it was a good thing he was there in the end because who knows what might have happened between Gemma and Jason. Eeek! Did Rob send him though? Hmm. My thoughts are no, he didn't. Marcus wasn't there to spy on Gemma and he didn't even try to talk to her about Rob. (Not that she would have let him anyway.) We know Rob only started sending texts when Marcus left. Clearly he's not doing too well at the moment, but Marcus left him there anyway. Hmm.

And Sarah! Is she responsible for getting Rob to leave the key behind? Something happened that night with the key, but we don't know what and Gemma's too over it all to find out. Elaine (emozing here on Twilighted) is trying to get me to write a random little series of one-shots from this story (from Rob's POV) and I said that if I ever do, I'll write a chapter about that night - as incohesive as it might be!

Ahh, Rob and his continuing text messages. Poor Gemma is feeling so overwhelmed and frustrated at the moment, and his texts really aren't helping the situation. His rationale? Really, he's being honest with what he's saying to her in those texts. He misses her desperately and clearly he's not coping too well without her. He knows he destroyed things between them and he completely regrets that. As his final text said, he knows he shouldn't be texting her but it's all he can do right now. It's that final little link between them, and he's finding it hard to let that go, even though he knows he should. Hmm, does he see the situation as trivial, like a game? Interesting. I kinda think a bit differently, actually. I think he's completely freaking out because he genuinely realizes the extent of what he did more than anyone. He knows how much he screwed things up and how much he hurt her, and now he has to live with that. As for speaking to her face to face, I think he knows she's not ready for that. In a ridiculous way, he's still trying to give her the space away from him that she needs, but can't help himself in regards to the texting. Gah! Am I making any sense at all!? I'm probably just confusing you even more. Sorry!

And after saying all that... Gemma has never asked him to stop texting her. She could have easily written back and told him to stop. And she could also have turned off her phone for the night. But she didn't. So maybe... just maybe... there's a little link there that she doesn't want to break either.

I kind of want her to yell and rant and rave at him too - and yep, maybe give him a good hard slap! Hee! But at the moment, she's just trying to get through her days. And ignoring him completely is probably hurting him more than if she were to go over to his apartment and scream at him. Gemma's never really been one for yelling and screaming though. Tears and quiet talks maybe, but not yelling and screaming. We'll see!

I couldn't help but giggle when you went back searching for Rob's reaction at the end of their last face to face conversation, but only discovered that he blinked. Oh dear! He is an actor though, remember! Sometimes those blinks can be very strategically placed!

Glad you enjoyed the playlist! Lots of cheesy break-up songs and then later, some fun break-up songs to dance to. And aww, poor Gemma, having to listen to Marcus and his British accent call her Gem! Good for her, telling him not to call her that. My favorite one of your favorite lines has to be Marcus' though, growling at Gemma. "I'm not his messenger and I'm not yours either." Wooo, go Marcus! He'd just about had enough of the both of them by then, I would say!

Thank you so much as always, Kari, for your amazing review! I always do a little happy dance when I see your review pop up! And now your sister is reviewing too! Hehee. At least, I hope it's your sister, because I wrote about you in the review reply! I also hope she's not your 10 year old sister who likes listening to Never Think, because that would be kind of disturbing! She's not, right!?

Okay, I've rambled long enough. Thanks again, you're fabulous!

-SwimmingBee x

 

Reviewer: serendipity1 (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2011 09:38 PM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

Just want to say that out of all of them I think this is the best fic I have read bar none.  I can't wait to see what happens next.  With every update I find myself ldying with the anticipation of waiting for the next - it is like I can't get enough.  Loved the playlist btw I wish you did it more often - it sets the mood - the tone for the whole chapter -  like the soundtrack to any great movie -  your story of course should have one!  I don't ever want this story to end like most of your faithful readers - so - I know this is not going to be the most polpular view - but if you have to drag out the forgivness do so - I'll be so sad when it ends - but like all good things I knwo it eventually has to...and this whole mess from robs pov isn't such a bad idea - would really like to know what the hell he was thinking cheating on Gemma, still can't get my head around that chapter - I know everyone had their theories - that it really didn't happen and you confirmed that it did of course - but would love to know what the rational behind his thinking was.  Well my little comment has turned long winded *teehee*  Keep up the fantastic job - making us long for more with each and every update.  I applaude you and wish I had a portion of your talent.

 

serendipity



Author's Response:

Hi Serendipity,

Thanks so much for your lovely comments! The best fic you have ever read, wow! I'm so flattered! It's great to hear you're enjoying the story. :)

I'm glad you liked the playlist, too. It was fun to make, but mostly because this chapter really was about the music. There was the cheesy break-up songs to the girl power pop songs, and then later the dance music in the club. Glad you enjoyed it!

Don't worry, the story still had a little while to go. There's 46 chapters altogether, and Gemma certainly doesn't plan on forgiving him quickly at all! She's got a lot to think about and sort through, poor girl. And I promise we will eventually find out Rob's reasoning for doing what he did!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. It wasn't long winded at all, I loved your comments! :)

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: kanikane (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2011 02:41 PM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

Oh, I miss them as much as they miss eachother! lol!  Loved the part when Gemma gives Marcus her phone and tells him to tell Rob to "Fuck off"!  Awesome Girl Power in this chap! 

Poor Gemma is still so messed up...what is she going to do???  I think Rob needs to more than text, but what?? I'm not sure what Gemma is able to handle right now. 

Once they get back together I think they will both be doing some major make up to Marcus and Ashley.

As always love it....and it was such a nice Valentines Day gift! Will be so sad to say goodbye.



Author's Response:

Hi kanikane,

Aww, I miss them together too, but this was always going to take some time. There's a lot to sort through, and yep, poor Gemma really was a bit of an emotional wreck in this chapter. She was allowing herself to be a mess; to escape for a night and to try and forget about Rob - but of course, that didn't happen. He surrounds her, even when he's not physically with her. Sigh!

Rob's texting certainly isn't helping, but as he said, it's all he can do right now. It's that final link between them and he can't let her go. He misses her too much. You're right though - Gemma really isn't up to seeing him yet, or even speaking to him, so he's kind of at a loss of what to do. She just needs her space and some time to think.

But yay, there was quite a bit of Girl Power in this chapter, wasn't there? "Tell your friend to fuck off and stop texting me," was certainly not a normal Gemma thing to say, but she needed to put it out there! Hehee. Go Gemma...

Thanks so much for continuing to read and review, and for all your support. You're lovely! :)

I posted a mini teaser in the forums, too...

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: joss859 (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2011 09:19 AM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

Is there any chance, any at all of Robs point of view? firstly because he sounds pretty misserable and right now I'd LOVE to see that (stupid sod) and secondly because I'd LOVE to know what the hell he was thinking when he did that (stupid sod!)

But i am glad that things are going to get better, it disrupts everything in real life when I keep thinking about Gemma and Rob in this!



Author's Response:

Hi joss859,

Oh no, sorry for disrupting your real life by making you think about Gemma and Rob too much! Eek! That's kinda sweet though. :)

So yep, Rob is very miserable at the moment. He's desperately missing her and even though he knows he shouldn't be texting Gemma, he can't seem to stop himself. Stupid sod, indeed! Unfortunately I'm not going to write a Rob's POV chapter into the story. It's always been told from Gemma's POV and that was a deliberate decision I made in the beginning. I just think it feels more realistic that way. When we're in relationships, we don't always know what's going on inside the other person's head. That being said, we will eventually find out everything that's going on with Rob. He'll have a chance to talk soon and all will be explained then, I promise!

And really, his POV right now would sound like this - "Fuck, I'm an idiot. I miss Gemma so much. I think I'll drink another beer and text her again." Pffft! There you go, your own little sneak peek! ;)

Thanks so much for continuing to read and review! More coming soon!

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: Robstenlover4eva (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2011 08:47 AM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

Heyyloo again!

this chapter would have to be my fave soo far... I know its too early to say but I just love how Gemma showing her hurt, strength and how Marcus is BACK! hahaha oh I love it! however one bad thing is that... it was too short for my :-( hahhaa other than that I cant wait for next chapter!!
Yeashh you have to hit to lowest of lows to yourself back even a better person than before ;-) ohh btw questionn... is Rob gonna get forgiven pretty quick? Gemma is not gonna take a longer time to let him in because of her past and Rob doing the same thing as her ex? if that question made any sense at all hahaha
please bring in the chapter quickerrr... sorry mate, I'm such a demanding reader LMAO!
LOVE THE PLAYLIST btw... okay, I'm gonna shut up.

xoxo ;-)



Author's Response:

Hey there!

Wow, your favourite chapter so far! Thanks so much, that's great to hear!

Gemma was definitely showing her hurt in this chapter. She was allowing herself to be a mess - something she hadn't really done in previous chapters. Yep, Marcus is back! Phew! Thank goodness he was there to interrupt, or who knows what might have happened between Gemma and the random guy on the dancefloor.

So you asked if it will take a long time for Gemma to forgive Rob... Well it's certainly not going to happen overnight. They have a lot to work through and she has plenty to think about. As you said, it's happened before, and her heart has been broken. So it will take time. I hope you'll stick around to see them through it!

I've already submitted the next chapter and it's waiting in the queue, ready for my beta to validate it. It's in her hands now, sorry! Fingers crossed it won't be too far away. :)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! You're not a demanding reader at all, I love questions!

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: RainerNight (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2011 04:23 AM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

I'm still mad at him. And I will be until this is fixed. 

Raging mad at him. 

 

RAGIIING.



Author's Response:

Hi Rainer,

Raging!! Gah!

I hope I can fix things so you're raging anger subsides then, at least a little bit. 

Thanks for reading! You know how much I love your reviews. :)

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: JTStyle (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2011 03:22 AM · On: Chapter 1 - Girls' Night Out!

Hello,

You are without a doubt my favorite fan fiction writer.  The only one who could ever get me to create my own username in order to review.  Let's just say that reviewing isn't exactly my thing.  I know it's selfish, but I figure that my sister writes enough for the both of us :)  I must confess that I've been lurking around her account for months reading your story and have really fallen in love with it.  Shhhhhh that's a secret.  I've teased her lots and lots over her obsession with your characters all the while secretly loving them myself.  Anyway, Gemma is a complete doll.  Robert uses the word adorable a lot in describing her and it's very fitting.  I like her sweet, silly, girly girl attitude.  She is also very kind, caring, and smart.  Sarah and Ally are great as well.  This review thing is a lot harder than it appears to be, but i'll keep trying.  I'm not going to say anything about Robert yet because i'm currently very upset with him.  Thank you for writing such of an entertaining story.

Stephanie



Author's Response:

Hi Stephanie,

Welcome! I'm so glad you decided to stop by and say hi! Thanks so much, that's awesome. (Does JTStyle stand for Justin Timberlake, I wonder!?)

So you're Kari's sister, right? Aww, it's becoming a whole family affair now, that's exciting! Your review was lovely and I really appreciate you taking the time to sign up and share your thoughts. Your favorite fan fiction writer, wow! I'm flattered, thank you.

It's so great to hear you love the characters... Well, Gemma, Sarah and Ally anyway. Maybe we shouldn't mention Rob too much, ahem. Lots of readers are furious with him at the moment, but don't worry - he's punishing himself bigtime too. Gemma is lots of fun to write. I feel like a lot of time in stories the girl is either tough and tomboy-like, or girly and silly. But surely you can be girly and tough at the same time, right?! I think so. Gemma shows us how it's done! She has a lovely quiet strength about her... and a great shoe collection, too. :)

Thanks again for popping in to say hi. I hope to see you back again soon!

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: scottslass (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2011 01:23 AM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

ok, I just have to say I was getting so sick of all the sex in every chapter and no turmoil what so ever and was losing interest fast in this story. I didn't read the last two chapters, but decided to catch up when I got the posting notificaion for this chapter. I'm so glad I did. These last few chapters were so brilliant! Thank you! It's got my attention again. Please, please don't let Gemma just fall right back into his arms like nothing happened.

I'm soooo looking forward to what happens next. :)



Author's Response:

Hi scottslass,

I'm glad you're enjoying the angstiness of the recent chapters! There was always going to be angst ahead, even when they were having lots of sex and living happily in their little Rob and Gemma bubble. And really, the sex wasn't there just for the sake of it. A lot of it was because Rob knew what was coming. He knew he would eventually pull away from Gemma and knew the bubble was about to burst. There were lots of little hints throughout those chapters as well, that all might not have been as smooth-sailing as it seemed. So really, I don't think it was just about sex and no turmoil. There was always something deeper running underneath it all, you just had to read between the lines a little bit.

But anyway, it's good to know you've enjoyed the last few chapters. Gemma certainly won't fall back into his arms like nothing happened. It's already been a while since she first found out about him cheating on her and she's still a total mess and refusing to speak to him.

Thanks for reading!

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: KathyK (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2011 08:45 PM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

I swear, this is the saddest story I have ever read. (Maybe the one where Bella and Edward both died may have been sadder, but anyway, this one is heart wrenching!) My heart is in my throat the whole time I'm reading this. I want to cry for her, and beat him to within an inch of his life. How could he do this? I know men are idiots, but this is beyond idiocy. He'd better have one hell of an explanation. Cause I'm really pissed.



Author's Response:

Hi KathyK,

Oh no, the saddest story you've ever read!? I'm sorry! Things will start to cheer up a bit soon, I promise! Eeek! I've never heard of a story where Bella and Edward both die, that's awful! I imagine that would bring quite a sudden end to the story, too...

Lots of readers are ready to whack Rob over the head at the moment. Rest assured that he is punishing himself as well, big time.

Thanks so much for reading, despite the angst!

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: emozing (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2011 08:08 PM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

No review again – just more or my rambling mind.  Sorry!!!


Gemma is still struggling with her emotions.  Looking for a safe haven.  There isn’t one.  She must hold her head up and face this heartbreaking situation head on if she is to survive.  She needs to make some decisions.  Forward or forgive and forget.


Sarah was priceless at LAX.  Still trying to make things better for her friend.  Not wanting to tell her that Marcus came back with Ally.  Another ingenious cog in this ever-turning wheel.  But yet not quite completely honest.  I feel there was so much more to Sarah’s conversation with Rob. 


How did Rob’s key get on Gemma’s night table?  Did he give it to Sarah or perhaps to Ally so that she could return?  Interesting!


And Ally – coming to help Gemma forget the Vampire guy by taking her out drinking and dancing.  By the way, song choices were once again spot on.  I feel Ally will put Gemma first.  But will she unknowingly be a go between for Rob?  After all she and Marcus will discuss this situation.


Loved the dancing.    But, I didn’t like the prick on the dance floor.   Gemma’s drinking much too much.  I’m not quite certain how I feel about Marcus’ intervention with Jason.  Yes -  Marcus should have stepped in - but I am questioning his reasoning.   I hope he has Gemma’s best interests at heart here.  Not wanting her to do something that she will regret.  But then there is also the Rob factor with Marcus.  He is walking a very tight rope.   As Gemma’s friend, how can he do anything except save her from making a mistake that she will ultimately regret.    As Rob’s friend, will he be able to help him work through this – with or without Gemna?   Or will March simply be the go between for both of them?  Knowing that they both still love each other.  Hoping there is a together in their future.   Seeing both sides and only trying to help.      Hmmmmmm.


And Rob continues to text.   Pouring out his heart.  Sorry for the decision he made.  Letting her know she still has an option.


 Gemma has a major decision to make.   Is she willing to forgive him and communicate?  Should she change her phone number and move on?  Knowing she leaves the love of her life behing. 


Shit Bee, this is still in a f---ing mess!!!!  And you said it’s not rock bottom yet.   I have a headache with all of these questions.   And don’t you laugh!  This is exactly what you meant to happen.  Evil.  Just evil.  But I love it!  I wouldn’t have it any other way.


Need update soon.


Elaine – sparkledamnu on twitter


 


P.S.  Is Rob at the club – somewhere she can’t see him?



Author's Response:

Hi lovely Elaine,

Oooh, another amazing review! Thank you so much! Don't apologize for your "rambling mind" - I love it! :)

So yes, this whole chapter was really about Gemma struggling with her emotions. She wanted an escape - somewhere (or something? Someone?) to forget all about Rob, just for a night. She didn't want to be sweet little Gemma for the night. Of course that didn't happen because she's always surrounded by Rob anyway, even when he's not there. You're right though - she does need to make some decisions, and she will soon... but not in this chapter. She was letting herself escape in this chapter. Allowing herself to be a mess.

Sarah was definitely worried telling Gemma about Marcus visiting. Another thing to remind her of Rob. I think there was lots more to Rob and Sarah's conversation that night he came over too. Clearly something went on with the key, and they talked enough for her to realize how badly he was doing, but then she kicked him out anyway. Shall we add that to the little list of outtakes that might never be written? Eeek!

And hmm, Ally. She's definitely on Gemma's side in all of this, but whether she likes it or not, she will probably still have contact with Rob too, through Marcus. To what extent, we don't know as yet. But Ally's sensible enough and her relationship with Marcus is strong enough to work the situation out between them. They'll be okay. :)

Same with Marcus. He's like the 'Dad' of the group, remember? Hehee. So he'll be able to handle Rob and still see Gemma too. As I said over on the forums, clearly Rob's not doing so well. He's miserable at home, and Marcus left him there anyway, so he could go spend the night with Ally and Gemma. He's trying hard not to take sides, I think. Rob's texts only started when Marcus left... Maybe Marcus had put a ban on his phone up until then! And he certainly wouldn't have let Rob come out with him to the club, either! So yes, Marcus really does have Gemma's best interests at heart. He interrupted her dancing with Jason because he knew she would regret it in the morning if it went any further, and because she was doing it for all the wrong reasons. It was only Gemma lashing out at him that suggested he was doing it for Rob, but deep down, I think she knew that wasn't true. She was just taking her anger out on the wrong person.

Yep, Rob continues to text. Sigh! Lots of people are angry at him about that, and for good reason. He's not giving her the space she needs, and it's just overwhelming her even further. But that being said, she hasn't asked him to stop, either. And she could have turned off her phone, but she didn't. It's that final little link between them and maybe neither of them are quite willing to give that up yet...

Hopefully the next chapter won't be far away. I've posted a mini little teaser over there on your suggestion! ;)

Thank you so much for your amazing review, Elaine. I love hearing from you!

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: leanie13 (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2011 04:54 PM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

This story was amazing. i was wanting the whole time for gemma to just either text him back or call him and just yell at him or somthing. but im glad she didnt. :)

im looking forward as always for the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Hi leanie13,

Great to hear you enjoyed the chapter! It was so tempting to let Gemma write an angry text back to Rob, but somehow I think her not responding at all is hurting him more than if she got angry with him. Not hearing from her is killing him, so at the moment it's the best form of punishment!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. Next chapter shouldn't be too far away. :)

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: amber_v (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2011 11:44 AM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

Ally's heart was in the right place but it was definitely too soon for going out. And Rob texting her all the time made it only worse. 

I love this story!!! I hope you'll update soon ;)



Author's Response:

Hi amber_v,

Hmm, poor Gemma. It really wasn't her night. You're right, it was too soon to go out drinking and dancing, but Ally really wanted to cheer her up. Rob's texts certainly weren't helping... He's missing her desperately and although he knows he shouldn't be texting her, he can't seem to stop himself. Eek!

Thanks so much for continuing to read and review. I'm glad you're still enjoying the story!

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: Pinkcookie (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2011 10:58 AM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

Whew!  I am drained!  If it turns out that Rob made up this story of sleeping with someone else, GET. MY. GUN.   I know you keep talking about Rob pushing people away when they get too close, but that scenario would just be too cruel to poor Gemma.  I anxiously await next chapter...  (thanks for the good story Bee!).  Pinkcookie



Author's Response:

Hi Pinkcookie,

It was definitely a tough chapter! It was just as difficult to write, too. Sorry you're feeling drained... But don't worry, things will start to get a bit more cheerful soon.

But no, Rob certainly didn't make up the story about sleeping with someone else. He really was telling the truth about that - we just don't know why he did it yet. We will find out eventually though.

Thanks so much for continuing to read and review!

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: RobAussieFan (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2011 08:35 AM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

You are a briliant writer and this is a brilliant story. My heart is breaking but I have faith that they'll pull through. Love the music too.



Author's Response:

Aww, thanks so much, RobAussieFan. You're too lovely! :)

I'm glad you still have faith in Rob and Gemma. It'll take time, but things will start to cheer up soon. Glad you enjoyed the playlist, too!

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: ipreferbrunettes (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2011 06:41 AM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

poor **sniff** gemma

so, it's not a good idea to read this story at work! 

Rob is sure making it hard for Gem with all the text messages.  If he was trying to push her away why is he hanging on so damn tight! 

pleeeeeeeeeassseeeeee!!  i can't stand my own tears anymore! I so need them at least communicating again and trying to work through it :( 



Author's Response:

Uh-oh! Sorry for bringing on more tears! And at work, eeek! :( 

Poor Gemma, it just really wasn't her night and Rob's texts certainly weren't helping. As he said in his last text, it's all he can do right now. It's that last little link between them and he can't let that go. He's hanging on tight because he misses her desperately and totally regrets his decision to push her away. Sigh!

I promise things will start to cheer up again soon. They won't be miraculously better overnight, but things will get nicer soon. :)

Thanks so much for reading through the tears!

-SwimmingBee x

 

Reviewer: Carly1989 (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2011 06:09 AM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

AMAZING chapter!
Can't wait for the next!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much, Carly! More coming soon! :)

-SwimmingBee x

 

Reviewer: xrxdanixrx (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2011 05:12 AM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

Eek, poor Gemma. Rob isn't really making it easy for her, either. I mean, he could leave her alone, but he isn't. Not sure if he knows the effect he's having on her.

Either way, I hope she can pull through. She's a good girl and deserves some form of happiness, and right now, Rob isn't making her happy with his presense around, even if it's in the form of text messages.

-Dani



Author's Response:

Hi Dani,

Ooh, I know. Poor Gemma. It really wasn't her night, and Rob's text messages certainly didn't help. He definitely could have left her alone, but you know what? She could have turned her phone off, or wrote back and told him to stop texting her. Rob can't let go, and maybe Gemma can't quite allow herself to either. Hmm.

Thanks so much for continuing to read and review. I always enjoy hearing what you have to say. :)

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: Newmommy2509 (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2011 03:06 AM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

I really love how you've made Rob into a "real" guy. Too many fics paint him as the perfect man. It nice to read, but just not realistic. I'm loving the turn of events in this story. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response:

Hi Newmommy,

Thanks so much for your lovely review. It's great to hear you're enjoying the story - and my flawed Rob, too! Nobody's perfect, right? Not even our lovely Robert Pattinson, as much as we'd like him to be. We all make mistakes and do silly things, especially when we're in love!

Thanks again,

-SwimmingBee x

Reviewer: twilightteacher (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2011 01:10 AM · On: Chapter 36 - Mess

Wow! That was painful to read. Things need to get better soon! This is torture! When will Rob get it? By texting her, he is proving that he does not understand how much he hurt her, and continues to hurt her.



Author's Response:

Hi twilightteacher,

Hmm, it was certainly a painful chapter to write, too! Don't worry... things will start to cheer up soon, I promise! Rob's texts certainly aren't helping the situation, but as he said, it's all he can do right now. It's that last little link between the two of them and he can't bear to let her go. 

Thanks so much for reading, despite the angst! 

-SwimmingBee x

 

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.