Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Cullenary Coupling
Reviewer: mariann17 (Signed) · Date: June 17, 2010 05:48 PM · On: Chapter 8: Heart of Darkness - Part Four - Deviant

I just started reading your story.  All I can say is OMG!!!!!!!!  It's funny and its sexy in all the right spots!  TY



Author's Response:

Hi there mariann17!

Thanks so much for the review! I hope you continue to enjoy my twisted take on twilight!

Best,

Books

Reviewer: scarlet (Signed) · Date: June 16, 2010 08:18 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

I freaking love this story! I think Bella's starting to come around. Who can resist Edward?



Author's Response:

Hi scarlet!

Thanks so much for the review and the stars! I'm humbled that you are enjoying my story. And you're right, who can resist Edward for long. :) LOL

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Rgwmnks (Signed) · Date: June 16, 2010 08:11 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

OK the image of the nastiness that is Maria, just...ew. The popping description made me think of Chet, the pile-o-shit in Weird Science, yuck.(I know this movie, along with other cheesy 80's movies. by heart) I am very curious regarding the letter to Maria from The character formerly known as Raphael. But I'm sure we'll get there all in due time.  Now is not the time to start being impatient Robin, Jeez.
I love it that Bella is finally conversing with Edward.  I know he needs to get a handle on the "research" issues and right quick too.  I love the encouragement Edward gives her in regards to those that love & care for her.  And Arria, What. A. Bitch. Who says things like that to a child, seriously.
The bloody paper swan, just creepy.  I am quite curious as to how it got there.  I mean, there are shit-tons of vamps running around so hell it could have been anyone.  A minor detail, but I am curious all the same.
Ah, and the engagement, however unconventional, is finally upon us.  I understand Edward feeling that he needs to hold his trump card & not tell Bella that he no longer has the pleasure of her smell. But honestly him revealing that tid-bit may just kinda convince her that he is around her for the right reasons.  Or at least push her thoughts in that direction.  
As I say every.single.time. Excellent & informative chapter. Enjoyed it very much. I know, as it always happens, that I will have more I wish to say after I hit submit, which always happens, but know that I soak up every single word.  i hold my breath through parts, have cried at others & most certainly I will always laugh at something in every chapter.  I read each one twice because I always end up missing something but catch it on the second go around.  Hope all is well with you & I look forward to more glimpses of your imagination. :o)



Author's Response:

HI there Rgwmnks!

Thanks so much for the review and the stars! I'm getting misty-eyed at the 80's film references. Next thing I'll find out you are an Army of Darkness fan and have to worship at your feet forever more. :) Arria is indeed cold. She means well. She does not understand her daughter. But she's trying. In her mind, she is trying to prepare her daughter for the scorn that she knows people will snidely direct at her. There is not concept of disabled vampires in the immortal world. Either you are "perfect" or the family destroys you out of shame if you come from a strong line. Arria never wanted her daughter to be exposed to the immortal world for that reason. Bella hears her explanation and is understandably hurt, but only hears the 'you aren't perfect' part, not the reasoning behind it. You raise a good question about the swan. Not that I'm telling. I can say that it had no scent on it of an individual person/vamp/wolf so they are all kinds of confused. And I totally agree with you on the Edward and the scent part. I hope it made sense to you why the goober would keep his mouth shut. Edward has the sincere problem that he has to re-establish trust with Bella - because Bella is questioning everything she ever knew about everyone in her life at present. No challenge. Nope. *sweats* *wipes brow*

Hugs,

Books

Reviewer: Merrisol (Signed) · Date: June 16, 2010 06:19 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Oh, my heavenly stars!!! Excellent chapter!! So much was happening that I was giddy and had to read it again. I'm doing the happy dance over Bella and Edward finally talking. Then she proposed. Who knew? I get that she thinks it is a totally fake thing but the fact that she had stipulations was quite interesting. Even more interesting was his counter offer. What a sly dog he has become. There may be hope for those two kids yet. "May" being the key word here. I was so glad that Edward was finally able to clarify some of Bella's misconceptions about things that had transpired in the past. Has he fucked up royally in the past? Hell, yes. Is he trying to make amends? I truly believe he is in his own goofy, back-ass-wards way. Fortunately, he now has a small army of people giving him advice ... some of it actually pretty good. Let them cuddle for awhile. They deserve it.

Maria needs to die a slow, painful death ... and soon. She is seriously on my last nerve! I truly look forward to the arrival of the Denali clan. They must all be licking their lips in anticipation of having a VERY good time. It should prove to be quite entertaining!!

Two thumbs up and some more groveling at your feet. I seem to spend a lot of time on my knees ... LOL



Author's Response:

You never cease to make me smile when I read your reviews, Merrisol. I'm sitting here with a dopey-eyed grin on my face and it is, of course, all your fault. :) I'm delighted you enjoyed the proposal. I wanted it to be spontaneous, come out of fear anger and pride and then have them stuck with it. 

Totes agree with you on Maria. I've already written her death (mwa-ha-hah)

Hugs,

Books

Reviewer: KristinHazzard (Signed) · Date: June 16, 2010 05:51 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Love, love, loved it! I hope they eventually go from fake-engagement to real engagement. I am seeing how the first arc relates to this one more and more! Can't wait for more :)



Author's Response:

HI there KristinHazzard!

Thanks so much for the review! I'm having lots of fun with the Fake/Real courtship. 

Best,

Books

Reviewer: pomme_de_terre (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 10:45 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

As always, I loved the chapter. The proposal was priceless! Now, they are not going back to school? Hmm. Also liked the interaction with Edward and Erik. Well done! Ellie

Author's Response:

Well hello there pretty lady,

As ever, you make me smile. Thanks so much for your continued support of my writing and your friendship. 

Best,

Books

Reviewer: WillowMarie (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 07:06 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

I am so inadequate at reviews, but I wanted to tell you again how much I enjoy reading this story.  It is my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE.  Every time I get on Twilighted website, I hold my breath-truthfully-until I know if there's been a CC update.  If there's a new chapter, I smile, continue breathing, and drop what I'm doing to immediately read it.  I think I've been following this story for the better part of a year now.  I wouldn't mind if it went on forever...I don't know what I'll do when I don't get a fresh dose of Cullenary Coupling!  Peace.



Author's Response:

Hi there WillowMarie!

Hon, nothing about you is inadequate. Repeat that ninety times for your homework. I do not grade reviews. I am every bit as happy for a one-lined review as I am by a five paragraph one. What matters to me is that something about the story struck you to leave me a note that you enjoyed it. And for that, I am honored. It helps me as a writer to know what stood out in the story for you. And you've done that here. So thanks for making me smile. 

If you follow me on Twitter @bookishqua I always tweet when I post a chapter. 

Best,

Books

Reviewer: elphabacy35 (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 06:05 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

"This is a Dalmation dog" made me lol.

Books, I'm not sure how I feel about the approaching end of the HOD arc. I've loved it, but I'm also intruiged about what the stoty will be like once it's done. So, I guess I do know how I feel, I feel mixed:)

I loved Bella's response to Edward's formal proposal, and I also really liked the story Edward gave Erik about Bella being rich and not being able to touch the money unless she marries.

Oh, and SSE, my dear pompous prig, let's talk soon about Christ's love, and I will try and help you understand if you are engaged or not:)

'til next time...

Stacy



Author's Response:

Starched Shirt Edward has perked up at the mention of his name. Every time he hears that you have thought of him he blushes and then runs to pick a rose to place in your honor before the Blessed Mother. Like you, I'm nervous about the upcoming end of the HOD arc, too. But the story will stay in EPOV and the snark will continue. Swear.

Glad you liked the marriage dealio. I wanted it to come out of anger, and thoughtlessness, and pride.

Best,

Books

Reviewer: CindyWindy (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 01:32 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

I popped over here to reread a bit so I thought I'd review here too. 

I did mean to ask about the swan pic. Was that what we were supposed to guess, that it was on Harry C's body? 

Looking forward to reading Bella's diary!

 



Author's Response:

Hi CindyWindy!

You were supposed to remember that it was on Harry's body, yes. And thanks for spoiling me by reviewing on two sites. :)

Hugs,

 

Books

Reviewer: notmyself (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 10:38 AM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Holy hell! That is why I love you so much. Every once in a while you throw out a shard of puzzling pieces and a heap of happy. Thank you for the odd twists that pull everything back into the frame of the first couple of chapters and give it all a new meaning and us a new understanding. I am having trouble coping with all the awesome. Just beautiful. I love the nicknamed Fitzflock. I love the flowers, what next, candy? A gift certificate to Bath and Bodyworks? Victoria Secret? Wow. I can't thank youu quite enough for the bursting feeling after reading this chapter. Should have come with a possible side effects warning. Thank you, yet again.

 

~Mia



Author's Response:

Hi there Mia,

I'm getting all misty-eyed reading your review. Thank you for your continued support of this story. I keep posting it because of amazing people like you. :)

Hugs,

 

Books

Reviewer: twaddles (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 06:52 AM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Oh my goodness, so much fun.  Please please can you have some more Douglas in the next chapter.  I wish I can understand Bella.  I understand she is really hurt by Edward, but all his arguments he has made to her, makes sense to me, so why not forgive him already.  The other thing I noticed in this chapter is that she is again calling him fake ..., like previously when they were on better speaking terms.  So I thinking that maybe she is finally seeing Edward as she use too... I hope.  They are just so cute together. 

Thanks again for a great chapter, looking forward to the next one.

Twaddles



Author's Response:

Hi there Twaddles!

Expect more Douglas in the upcoming chapter. You have my evil author word of honor. *blinks* I think that you are confusing the idea of forgiveness with reconciliation. Bella sincerely forgave Edward when he asked her to a few chapters back. She also sincerely forgave Leah for all that she did to her, too. Forgiveness in my mind is when you tell someone that you accept that he or she sincerely regrets causing them harm. Reconciliation, on the other hand, is an entirely different kettle of fish. Reconciliation is when you not only forgive someone, but you work on re-establishing the relationship and repairing it. Edward has not asked Bella for this - and Bella in her mind does not think he wants it, either. So she is sincerely confused by his behavior. She thinks he's lurking around because of her scent and she's hurt that he's still coming around her and trying to be understanding about the appeal that her blood has for him. In her mind, she sincerely does not think she has a remote chance of being the object of his love. 

Hope that helps. And they'll make more progress in the next chapter which is about to go up. Promise.

Books

Reviewer: fanficreader83 (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 05:25 AM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Ok, so Edward still is misguided (he is Edward though) but seems to be moving in the right direction.  Bella's actions reflect what she believes and that is that Edward does not care for her in a traditional sense(hehe) and is only intrigued by her scent.  Edward's plan to keep the truth to himself does not allow for him to fess up that her scent does not have the same effect on him anymore.

Alas, Edward is starting to gain some clue (although there are many others offering their wisdom to this clueless one) and is slowly making things right.  He does and does not seem to realize that his plan, of being somewhat truthful while still not going into details about things not directly addressed or questioned, might actually allow Bella to slowly start to let him back in.  We saw quite a lot (for them anyway)of communication happen between these two with Bella taking the initiative.

I loved how playful they were when they didn't even seem to realize it (drugs may have been a huge factor for Bella ;).  Edward chose not to reveal his true feelings and mate bond, which was probably good because Bella might not be so quick to believe all that.  She does however set a deal into motion that will bring them together (and wow, she does mean 'together') even if it is not entirely due to romantic reasons (yet). 

I really enjoyed this chapter (I usually do with all the other ones as they always get me thinking but this one more so)!  I liked the trash-talking to Maria at the end and look forward to seeing her demise (that statement is a bit wrong and evil but then again so is she)!

Can't wait to read what you have planned next as this arc ends!  I am really starting to think back on the beginning and question what was happening and what levels of truth may or may not have been revealed in it!



Author's Response:

I love reading your take on the chapters because you have a way of writing about the story that makes me take a good hard second look at my characters. I do agree with you that  Edward is keeping the mate bond from Bella for all the wrong reasons but if she did know about it, she probably sincerely would not handle it well. That makes the genuine problem of when you sit on a secret like that for that long, how do you come clean? Esp. with their relationship? I'm about ready to post the next chapter. Expect more banter. :) Thanks for reviewing and supporting my story and just being amazing. 

Best,

Books

Maria is misty-eyed and blowing blister filled kisses at you.

Reviewer: lippert1000 (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 05:16 AM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

I love this story so much!



Author's Response:

Hi there lippert1000!

Thanks so much! I'm delighted you are enjoying my snarky take on Twilight!

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Lost Star (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 05:00 AM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Completely awesome chapter. :)



Author's Response:

Hi there Lost Star!

Thanks so much for the review!

Best,

Books

Jugurtha is blowing kisses at you. 

Reviewer: nocturnal_rendevous (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2010 11:55 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Makes a person wanna scream at those two!!  UGH!  Well, we know that Bella's been hurt by Edward and doesn't trust him.  AND Edward hasn't been much too eloquent in relaying his feelings, so there's that.  LOL  I love your story and was thrilled when the update showed up in my inbox.  I look forward to your next update.



Author's Response:

Hi nocturnal_rendevous!

Trying to write conflict between two severely shy and non-confrontational characters is enough to make me want to drink. Lots. I'm glad you are enjoying the results of my suffering. :) LOL. I'm about the post the next chapter - it'll probably go up on ff first.

Thanks so much for reviewing!

Best,

Books

Reviewer: kimboacp (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2010 10:12 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

I'm going to be really sad when the HOD part of this story is over. Can't wait for what happens next. I like what Marcus did to Maria it made me laugh abit that he could catch her off guard like that. Don't let Edward do anything that might hurt him before the wedding please. Can't wait for the Denail/Newborn coven to come down so that Edward and Bella can have a semi private converstation without all the males trying to catch her attention. I look foward to reading the next installment of HOD.



Author's Response:

Hi there kimboacp!

Thanks hon for the review. I had waaay too much fun with the newborns as you soon shall see. And I know, I get all misty-eyed about the HOD arc which is ending very soon. But we still have the rest of the story to finish and it will be in  EPOV. Swear. 

Best,

Books

Reviewer: TraceyJ (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2010 08:58 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Oh Good Lord.... The snark! I love the snark!!!!  Well, Edward is going to get a ring on her finger... Can't wait for more...



Author's Response:

Hi TraceyJ!

Thanks for the review, hon. :) And the continued support of my story. Will write snark for reviews. :)

*hugs*

Books

Reviewer: Shemhazai (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2010 07:25 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

I love that you put referances at the end of every chapter.  It keeps me entertained inbetween updates.



Author's Response:

Hi there Shemhazai,

The nerd in me is totally squeeing at reading that. Thanks, hon for making me smile. 

Best,

Books

Reviewer: jenejes (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2010 06:52 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Jane said to Bella, "That was well played. You are learning how to make a man squirm. But you could use a lesson or two." Lovely, if Jane and Bella joined forces, well, I would be really dead for an undead miscreant. The only thing that could be worse would be if Tanya or her sisters got involved.

 

Greatest foreshadowing EVER.

 

Anyway, I totally forgot to review after reading the last chapter. It took me 2 days to get through it and i'm still sort of confused...but that's par for the course. However, my question is about Bella, since the rest of the story seems to be coming together quite nicely.

It seems to me that subconsciously, Bella's mind/body is aware of her mate bond with Edward, but she is consciously refusing to allow herself to trust him again. I understand that, but I'm just curious about the though process going on there. How does she actually convince herself that he's really in love with her, he's really her mate and they are getting married for reals real? I mean, what the hell is up with this Bella? has she gained any weight back? There didn't seem to be any concerns with her heart during the chapter 8 stuff. Okay, I know, I know. you don't give away any plot points. I get that and tottally respect it. I just needed to get these thoughts off of my crazy head in anticpiation for what's next.

 

My funny for the day is a great picture that a friend of mine took in Japan. Seriously, there is nothing funnier than those crazy Japanese trying to translate into English.

 

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home#!/photo.php?pid=1012371&id=1626371449



Author's Response:

Hi there Jenejes,

You ask some really excellent questions. I'll try to answer what I can without giving away the plot. Bella stuffed Edward into a corner of her mind when he was away from Forks as a coping mechanism and decided to mentally treat it as just a typical break up. I don't envision her acting obsessed like Book Bella did with Edward on the brain 24/7. In my mind, she survived because she cut him off and stuffed him into a back corner of her brain. And let's face it, she kinda was busy trying to stay alive. I can promise you that I am not writing this story with Bella knowing she's mated to Edward all along (like she did that whole vampire dealio). She seriously has no clue they are mated. What Bella has been doing is cross-checking just about every thing that Edward has said to her with others - that's why I've shown her having conversations with Seth, Leah, Carlisle, and Sergei - even Marcus in which she's hearing info reinforced that Edward already told her. So she's getting third party confirmation so to speak. Edward is going to have to show her with deeds over time that he truly loves her because at this point in the story, she really does not think he does. She is drawn to him, but is excusing it away as a childhood crush on a picture. As for the front arc, I left a LOT out on purpose. Don't read the lack of mentioning about her heart beat as being significant in that portion. Bella is slowly gaining weight back - you'll "see" a bit more about that in the next chapter. Thanks for the pic. :) If you have any other questions, please feel free to PM me. 

Best,

Books

Reviewer: JaJiTaXx (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2010 05:03 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Hi Books... I'm so sorry, now I can't read this chapter. I'm in my final exams at college so I'm super busy.... as soon as I can I'll read it....

take care...

saludos

JaJiTaXx



Author's Response:

Hope your exams went well, hon. Thanks so much for spoiling me with the reviews!

Books

Reviewer: Missy96 (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2010 04:38 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

i love the story! great righting



Author's Response:

Thanks so much Missy96!

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Mav (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2010 03:32 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Truly adore this story - it just keeps getting better!



Author's Response:

Hi Mav!

Thanks so much for the review! And the stars! :)

Hugs to you,

Books

Reviewer: redsoxlove (Signed) · Date: June 10, 2010 05:47 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Seven - But Forgiveness is Divine

oh and i forgot, i seem to be using more and more snark accidently in my real life lol lol thats all your doing! and remember the add at the top of twilight that was there forever? for the book seers of the light? did you read that? it was really good..worth the read..ok now i'm done.



Author's Response:

Dear Redsoxlove,

Stop! I'm blushing! LOL! I highly recommend snark in your every day life. It brings with it joy. Please accept this as a token of my affection to wear with pride in your daily life. :)

Books

snark

Reviewer: redsoxlove (Signed) · Date: June 10, 2010 05:44 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Seven - But Forgiveness is Divine

ok, i'm going on a rant..duck..lol. and ask starched shirt edward to kindly cover his ears.

first of all for vampires learning from day one to keep the secret above all else, the hoard of sexually harassing idiot vampires are NOT doing a very good job! maybe when the venom hits some brains it causes major brain damage? or thier power is being super retards? carlisle should get in his lab and do research..not that kind of research! how on gods green earth do the people of forks highschool not notice that the 50 million new stdents are even wierder than the cullens?the volturi, marcus' legion gorgon and stupid blue bloods and a really stinky vampire teacher..lmao..stincky vampire? howd that happen haha.and all surrounding bella and noone notices anything?? shouldnt they all be afraid? that natural instinct thing? maybe all of forks has a will turn you into a complete obliviouss dipshit cloud over it? although i have to say it is very entertaining! i like bella and jane scenes. didnt jane end up doing a human after the bachelor party? i forget who it was. AND i would like to know what crawled up Mrs. Corelli's butt. i think she needs to do some research, yes THAT kind! isnt edward suppossed to beable to dazzle the heck out of her? or his wolf powers are throwing him off? i mean, i know edward hurt bella alot when he left her, but since when does a school staff member get that involved in thier relationships?? its not like bella was screaming at him to leave her alone. bella and Mrs. Corelli are being drama queens..so he switched her lunch embarassing yes, not the worst thing thats happened to bella this month! its not like he ripped her clothes off in public...yet..she doesnt cut him a break! maybe if bella took her heart condition a little more seriously and let the stubborness go a little, edward wouldnt have to treat her like a child! yes i'm defending edward! and now he cant sit near her?? and esme agreed!!?? ummm hello people isnt bella sick because of the estrangement from her mate? its killed before? so yea good idea seperate them more!hows he suppossed to learn to talk to her if he cant get near her all day? this is not the time for meddling feminist humans!! i think edwards right, she's been taken over by gen. alice needs to go kidnap dr phil turn him, and bring him to forks asap! and rosalie needs to find a new occupation, she's surounded by nut jobs she should be head shrinking.its complete insanity in forks!!! ok i'm dne :)

where are the denalis? and where are the newborns?  oh and i think poor edward has suffered enough..the spirits are abusing thier powers..the tests are a little much now, especialy for powers he didnt ask for and took as a favor to help the tribe!   tell dream edward to meet me tonight..i miss him...please and thank you! :P



Author's Response:

Hi there redsoxlove!

Oh how you spoil me so! I'm delighted by your rant. Keep in mind, I love arguing, so take the section below as playful banter.

I also do not mean to imply in the section below that your view is "wrong" because I can see how you would make the arguments that you have given what you read. Here's my explanation. 

Ok, couple things to put into perspective here. Edward is what we would call an unreliable narrator. You get to read things from his POV, but just because he describes it in a certain way doesn't mean it's necessarily what is really going on. For example, his family clearly loves him in the first part of the HOD arc, but Edward does not perceive that. He truly thinks that if he offended them in some way, that they would ask him to leave. Hence, he stays quiet for a few decades. He convinces himself he doesn't love Bella when in fact he's head over heels for her and has formed a mating bond. So Edward thinking Mrs. Corelli is cruel and inhumane? Not so much. Here's an except from the Snarky Summary that is actually Corelli's diary explaining her view of what happened:

 

There are days I love my job and days I want to cry. Poor, poor Bella Swan. One of the Cullen kids – the one that looks like the love child of a tall thin version of Silent Bill, Bob, Bubba, whatever the character’s name is and Howdy Doody– flipped out in the cafeteria and all but chased her with a handful of pills she has to take. The entire school got to hear from him a reminder of how thin she is and how sick she’s been. She certainly looked like she was begging the ground to swallow her whole on the spot. So I dragged her and Mr. Would-Be Boyfriend and his brother into my office. Then I find out she’s got a heart condition. Poor thing looked like she was going to die in the chair in my office. The Cullens have never been troublemakers – although I’ve got my eye on that Jasper. He looks like he’s been around the barn a time or two and way too innocent. Which clearly means he’s up to something. He might allegedly be dating his adopted sister, but he’s been all but smoldering looking at some of the Eurotrash new students. So I bellowed at Cullen jr. about his oafish ways. Kid never speaks anyway so I limited him to talking to Bella once a day. Seeing as he never speaks, it might actually encourage the dope to say something meaningful. I hope this makes her feel like she’s got some kind of control in her life. Three more months and then I don’t have to chant my daily prayer about how seeing as I’m an administrator and all I can’t kill that bitch Lauren Mallory with a Jimmy Choo heel through her heart and burn her at the stake. I am professional. I am professional. I am professional. Fuck it, I’m totally making a voodoo doll of that bitch. I am professional. I am professional.

Mrs. Corelli is thinking about how she saw Bella, the quiet kid she really likes waste away for the past few months and she does not want anyone picking on her. She also knows that Edward and Bella have some kind of past - she's not sure what. So in her mind, coming down hard on Edward and giving him the "you shall speak once a day" is actually her making a token punishment. Edward barely speaks at school anyway. Now she's actually told him he gets to greet Bella. So in her mind she's actually set it up so they will speak, but on Bella's terms, not Edward's. And Bella can opt out of the conversation if she so chooses. But notice she left wiggle room. She told him if Bella talks back then they can speak. She never said he can only speak once and that's it even if Bella talks. As an administrator, she felt she had to put some physical distance between the kids because she felt that Bella clearly wanted some space from Edward by her behavior in the office and she's trying to keep the school from getting sued by setting up a system where the kid with the heart condition can have a bit of breathing room. And keep in mind, even if they weren't allowed to talk at school (which had not happened) they are literally spending 24/7 together and most of their talking has always been away from school regardless. 

You raise very good questions about the trampires. I mean the newborns and the Denalis. They are currently up in Alaska repairing their home that was burned to the ground. 

You make an excellent point about how the humans at Forks aren't particularly bright being surrounded by 50 vampires. In my mind, since the Cullens can pass, these vampires just make it all the more hilarious because they're constantly tempted to snack, And Edward is monitoring their minds 24/7 so would know if they slipped. And they are irate that they have to follow all these silly human rules. I wanted to create a situation to "show" just how awful life is for Bella when she gets back to school. She loathes being the center of attention and now she has 50 immortals all but throwing themselves at her AND she's surrounded by other immortals that are playing offense. She hates it. Bella was mortified at what Edward did because she had every intention of eating, and she had every intention of taking her medication. They were running behind schedule, she did not realize she had to take it exactly on time or else - she meant to take it in the nurse's office, not in front of all those staring immortals. Also, Edward forgot that it's school policy that she would be taking medication in the nurse's office and he shouldn't have been pushing pills on her in the first place. In some schools, Bella would be in trouble for having bottles of medication on her without bringing them to the nurse - so that's another reason why she's angry. Edward has stepped in and without malice made every person in the room aware she had a heart condition. She's so private she never told a soul about what happened when she and Edward broke up. So how do you think, given that knowledge, Bella would feel having all those eyes staring at her? Especially after she had tried to reach out and talk to Edward and had established a fragile kind of peace earlier in the chapter?

I realize that I've been posting this story about every 3 weeks for over a year so it feels like Edward and Bella have been apart forever. So I need to remind you of the timeline. Edward and his family left in the spring and did not return to Forks until late November. And Bella has been in the hospital ever since they returned to Forks, slowly getting better. So she's been deemed strong enough to attend school, and she's not as medicated for anxiety as she has been, but she's still jittery. Why should she trust anything Edward says to her? She grew up with this picture and description of him from Ephraim's journal and made him her vampire prince charming. And when he dumped her he literally shattered all her dreams. The question remains if Bella really did know Edward at all? So she's certainly been trying her best to learn more about vampires (conversations with Arria have been alluded to, and you saw her discussion with Sergei) to verify the truth of what Edward told her. Another thing I need to remind you of, remember when he left he told her he had planned on killing her that day in the park and had decided at the last minute to let her live. Imagine hearing that from your prince charming before he sneers and prances away? She's barely been around Edward in a rational state until lately. So for Bella all of this is confusing. 

And then there's the aspect that the nerd in me researched how couples fight when they do have conflict because I wanted to make the reunion arc more realistic. Couples typically have these fits and starts - two steps forward - one step back on the way to regaining trust. It's not like it is in the novels where they have one big confessional scene and all the hurt feelings go away. So I've been trying to show how over time Bella is healing and getting to a place where she loves Edward. We are nearing the end of the HOD arc, so you know I'm not going to drag it out forever.

As for the spirits - First, Edward DID ask for the powers. He agreed to take them on in the Legacy chapter. Second, Edward is the one who chose his sacrifices - the spirits never demanded he give up the particular things he chose to give up. They actually berated him for thinking that they were asking him to kill Bella, remember? So the fact that he makes these huge sacrifices are not the spirits' fault. It's Edward's. A theme of this story is power requires sacrifice. The deal he made with the spirits was that if he had all that shaman power running around in his immortal body, because it could potentially do so much damage, he had to prove to them (when THEY chose) that he was strong enough to handle them. It's not an issue of being fair from the spirit's point of view. It's an issue of making sure that Edward doesn't go out and kill people in a frenzy. Because he certainly went bonkers in Italy. So they felt it was appropriate given he had abandoned the tribe in the way he had to test him to see if he was worthy. I also need to remind you that in his absence - the tribe has had a significant portion of their people slaughtered by Victoria's troops. And Edward left them alone with what he thought was okay training with a Shaman that most certainly not trained. That's on Edward - in chasing after Victoria he put his family's welfare above that of the tribe who he had sworn to help. The spirits actually have every right to strip Edward of his gifts.

And think back on how Hezekiah died. He kind of sort of got the shaft from the spirits - but he saved his wife's life in the process so he was fine with it in the end. It didn't make his death any less painful.  

Hope that helped clear things up. I adore debating with you. Please feel free to PM me if I have failed to answer your questions. 

Hugs,

Books

Jugurtha is leering at you.

 

Reviewer: schleprock (Signed) · Date: June 08, 2010 11:07 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Seven - But Forgiveness is Divine

sorry i have not reviewed sooner my computer died and i had to get a new one! ok .i like that we got a little more of jaspers past but what i really want is more edward bella one on one time. you where they actually make a try at talking, not just thinking about each other!!! update soon cause you know i'll read.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review schleprock! And hope your computer is behaving. :) The whole purpose of the scene with Aaron and Jasper was five-fold in terms of plot purposes. One, you find out what "really" happened in all those visions so Jasper now understand what they meant and his past, two you now understand just why Jasper is so bug-eyed crazy angry, and third you get an understanding of just how evil Maria is - because she's the big baddie of the story. Finally, you get an explanation or at least a theory for why his first wife Annie went completely off the rails and did all the horrible things that she did. Spending 150 years in servitude pining away daily for the love of your life only to find him happily married - ouch. Fifth, I needed the readers to understand just how the Cullens managed to escape from Alaska and an entire army on their tail when they couldn't before.

You will be getting more one-on-one Bella and Edward time in the next chapter. The reason it was structured the way it was in this one was to show a breakthrough in their communication. Bella has been deeply traumatized and doped up to her eyeballs - not a really good atmosphere for Edward to try to broach anything serious with her. Yet she actually reached out to him although she had a hard time staying on topic. Then he had to go and make her angry. I needed the readers to understand just how awful Bella finds the vampire presence at Forks with that scene. You'll find out why in the next chapter - which has tons of Edward and Bella. Promise.

 

Books

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.