Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Cullenary Coupling
Reviewer: AJ04 (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2010 12:22 PM · On: Prologue: Bella, Sex, and Privacy

Well this sounds interesting to say the least...I can't help but be curious as to where you take our favorite characters.



Author's Response:

Well hello there, AJo4! Thanks so much for the review! And the stars! This first section is meant to come across as canon-esque although I've taken liberties with the Tanya character. I felt she gets a raw deal in fanfiction. She played such a tiny role in the books. If I do this right, when you finish reading the Heart of Darkness backstory, this first section will take on new meaning.

Thanks so much for reading!

Best,

Books

Reviewer: summerc79 (Signed) · Date: July 04, 2010 06:46 AM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

First of all, Mea Culpa for the late review. Things are all over the place with the new job. I still havent found the right balance between work and off-time. Glad I managed ot read and post this review before the next chapter though ;)

Yet again, you wrote a fantastic chapter, I really enjoyed reading it! A CC update is always a happy time :)

Such a lovely image to open this chapter. I am not sure Dalmatian dogs would be too happy with you though. Going from them to Bubonic plague victim, I can't see that going down too well ;)

And my poor little SSE! How mean of you to strike him so hard so early on *rushes over to comfort him, playing him "Hallelujah" - Jeff Buckley version of course*

Oh, and that new demon heading for Bella through Maria is just what edward needed to keep him occupied. He was gettingbored the poor soul. Wait, has he agreed he has one at this point?? He must have or we wouldn't be blessed with SSE & Jug.

Uh-uh. Talk time with the siblings. Someone should have told him to "Run, Edward, Run" for the sisterly part. The brother and elder part was much more to his taste though. See, men are easy to understand. Not complex, like women are... Uh... yeah...

Think Bella got a point across by going to sleep over at the cottage? How many times will E need to be told: You have to work at relationships. And talk. And think before you speak. Or act. Especially when an idea seems good. That's a red flag right there.

The scene in the school garden and the roses made me think of "The Little Prince" (including the part about taming the fox)

And if that isn't progress between our lovers! They are TALKING. And it's not even a planned conversation. Kuddos CCE!! You didn't put your foot in your mouth once this time. It was a good talk, explaining things further to Bella about who's who and the why's. *getting the out to cheer on CCE*

Although I guess I can understand where it is coming from, Arria's comment about only perfect ones being turned and Bella being a freak is still outrageous from a mum. Or is there another reading to be done? Like her being turned by and for her true love? I wouldn't put it past you ;)

Aaw, poor CCE turned into the bullseye of the food fight target. Teens are mean. I felt really bad for him. Very nice of erik to go mke sure he was ok though. CCE might be able to soon add "making friends" to his list of skills.

And Bella is slowly but surely "cracking" the No-Edward shell she's built aorund her (ok, she had good reasons to put it up and it can't magically disappear overnight, but still. It's good to see it thinning).

I get a Team E vibe from Carlisle, Esme and Marcus during their meeting with Mrs Corelli. Kudos once again to E for remaining polite to her when she asked what was going on with Bella.

So much can be said about Bella's ordeal. And i am sure you will in times yet to come. E is caught in a bad place with her offer. That does not bode well with his own plans for getting her back. Now he can only fake have her... Just like he intended to at first before it all turned real. Oh the irony of it!! Whoever said love was a bed of roses need their head checked.

Ummm... A marriage proposal?! In those circumstances?? You're evil, Woman! In the best possible way. I didn't see it coming. Not at that point, at least. And those words come out effortlessly from E's mouth too... Wow! Speechless. How's my dear little rocker SSE feeling about it? Has he had his tux cleaned yet? I bet he's got a whole folder of appropriate readings, hymns and so on at the ready for the event.

Oh, and I love the bending on one knee to... tie the shoes and soartaproposingatthesametime. Clever! 2 for the price of one LOL And no one amongst the B-E-show audience is the wiser about the proposal. Sneaky!

I really enjoyed (yep, I enjoyed lots of things lol) the B/E interaction where he explains people's behaviour regarding some of the "lies". It puts a whole different perspective on things for Bella doesn't it? There are always 2 or more sides to a story, and how one feels about things can also turn it into something completely different from what it really is.

Killing Jasper?! Bella was trumly out of it! Maybe she could have come with an alternative like feel miserable around him to affect his own mood? LOL Killing is a bit extreme. Though I am surprised she seems to have given up on the idea rather easily.

And so the problems keep rolling in... Poor edward really needs a bucketful of good luck charms doesn't he? *sigh* He still manage to get some pressed-against-Bella time out of his latest "complication" though. The silver lining to that cloud. 

And E in bed with B, kissing her collarbone? Naughty, naughty!! The boundaries are crumbling, sort of. And SSE didn't even bat an eye. Was he busy looking at potential suitable undergarment for His little Peach on their wedding day? ;)

Great writing, Books, as always :)

Until next time, my friend!!



Author's Response:

Hi there, hon,

No worries on the timing. I am always honored when someone writes a review. And wow! You have given me such fantastic feedback. I'd gladly wait any amount of time to hear your thoughts. :) Hope all goes well with the new job. 

When I started this story, one of the things that I was trying to get across at the beginning of the HOD is that for all their vegetarian ways, the Cullens treated humans as "other". And in so doing, they were using a lighter form of the attitude that the aristocrats had. The aristocrats kept human lines alive living with their covens under guard because they wanted them to breed to continue the line. Their only value to the aristocratic Lost Coven vampires was in what kind of an immortal they would make. If one stayed human, it was because that person was not considered good enough to turn. And to me, by having Emmett portrayed as disabled, he represents an oddity in their world. Only people that were considered desirable were turned (either for looks or potential power or bloodline). And if that vampire did not come out like a "normal" vampire should, that vampire was destroyed. 

So Emmett technically would be an outcast in the aristocratic world if they figured out about that whole brain damage dealio. That is why Arria did not want Bella turned. She knew that the brain damage was permanent, and that turning her daughter would never cure it. She did not want to see her daughter scorned because she loves her daughter - not because she looked down upon her. So what you are seeing in this last section is the culture clash between the Old Volturi Guard, the Lost Coven Vampires, and the Cullen philosophy of being a vampire. Arria might be cold, but she is pragmatic. She knows her daughter is painfully shy and she simply wanted to protect her. Which is why she never intended on revealing Bella's lineage to the vampire world - her Mother surprised and infuriated her on that matter. Now she's doing her best to try to help her daughter while still keeping mind that her daughter is fragile and she has a lot to learn about humans. 

In my mind, Edward is always a gentleman in public with women. Even if he doesn't have gentlemanly thoughts. So I liked having him be all overly mannered with Mrs. Corelli. When I read the books, the whole bargaining part just did not make sense to me given Bella's characterization. If she unconditionally loves Edward, why would she be so cruel to insist that he had to be the one to turn her. If he turned her and failed - and killed her Edward would be in eternal agony. So I had a different take on how that deal came to be. I wanted it to be thought up hastily - coming out of a long simmering conflict. And thanks for the "you're evil" flattery :) I wanted that to surprise people - I'm glad it did. 

Writing that scene was so challenging in terms of trying to explain all the nonverbal behaviors that they were "acting" so that the people outside the room could not figure out what was going on. So for me him going down on bended knee was meant to show several things at once. First, he's trying to propose to her honorably to make up for the last time - and he's trying to do so while livid, confused, and hurt. Second, he's hiding his face in her shins tying her bootlaces because he feels rejected. He's also hiding the proposal from his family because he thinks since she's drugged that she'll most likely change her mind. And he's most definitely not going to do a "We're engaged" given their past - if that was not what Bella really wanted. 

I'm glad you liked the conversation about lies in Bella's life. To me Bella is flawed because she's like all other humans, inconsistent in who she forgives. I've had her refusing to have any contact with Renee throughout the story after she learned about her brain injury and their lying about it to show that. She really did forgive Edward and Leah when they asked. Now reconciliation is an entirely other issue. And trying to repair a relationship when you find out that so many people have lied to you for so long - I wanted to show the damage that it did to Bella. And I wanted to have Edward making her think. Edward at the beginning of the HOD arc would not have been bothered by her feeling anger towards the late Clearwaters. He would have decided that it would be easier for her to mourn them if she could dismiss them from her mind. I wanted that section to show just how much he has grown, too. 

Bella was out of it with the whole killing Jasper part - but she's also scared out of her mind. She already had to deal with Victoria. She's petrified about Maria. Her giving up on the idea was meant to show her being just a wee bit irrational and drugged - another reason why Edward is thinking she'll change her mind. You are the only person who has caught him kissing her when he thinks he can get away with it. Five gold stars for you. :)

Best,

Books

Reviewer: lynnehand (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2010 09:13 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

I absolutely love this story. I check every couple of days for an update. You have such skill penning this that I can envision every scene, every moment as though I'm actually there. Thank you for entertaining me. :) I don't really use the email attached to this account but you can always reach me at bonnie@bonnieroseleigh.com. I'd love an outtake.



Author's Response:

Hi there Lynnehand!

Thanks so much for the review! And the stars! And you made my night with your kind words about my writing. Starched Shirt Edward is blushing and praying for the virtue of humility at present. Jugurtha is leering at you. I never imagined when I first started posting this that anyone would be clicking on the story but me checking for typos (and wow I've found an awful lot of them). Thanks so much for coming along with me as I tell my twisted version of Twilight.

Best,

Books

Reviewer: winterraine (Signed) · Date: June 24, 2010 12:32 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Absolutley amazing! This is defintely one of the most well written fics I have read. The thought, detail and creative inspiration you have put into this is astounding.

 

Thank you and I look forward to continuing on!



Author's Response:

Hi there winterraine!

Thanks so much for the review! And the stars! I'm happy to hear you are enjoying the story. It's the first one I've written, and it's been a wild ride. Thanks for accompanying me on the trip.

Jugurtha is throwing rose petals at you. Leering, too.

 

Books

Reviewer: Rogue (Signed) · Date: June 19, 2010 10:07 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Woohoo!  Fantastic chapter. There was actual dialog between those two crazy kids.  More than once, even!  Granted, he may still have some issues convincing her that he does love her, really and trully, but progress was made. *grin*

Starch Shirt Edward...Poor confused guy.  Ya just got to roll with it. *snicker*



Author's Response:

Hi there Rogue!

Thanks so much for the review, hon. :) *waves* And yes, there was lots of talking between those two. Expect more of such bad behavior coming up. He really does have issues on that front, you have hit the nail on the head. He has the bad luck to have timed his deception at a time she found out about a whole boatload of other people lying to her for her own good. So Bella really has good reason to believe he did speak the truth when he said, "I did it all for your scent."

Starched Shirt Edward is bewildered that he is an engaged man. He's not sure what that means. Yet. But he's giddy right now.

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Fleuritup (Signed) · Date: June 19, 2010 12:41 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

now we've discussed my feelings on how i think  edward is being treated, and then there was the food fight that was directly aimed at edward. i was pissed. i was ready for edward to turn green and vaporize some human ass. but then bella told them to stop. and then erick was just such a sweet heart and my anger and resentment faded. and then there was quality bottle cap conversation with the two of them blocking out other listeners and my smile grew and then there was the not quite engagement from bella and my hopes soared when edward asked her to marry him for real. and i get it she is still angry but im so ready for their happiness, i feel that someone should have done something when edward was being pelted by food. i was like no one with him did anything but watch i mean the dude is always being humiliated but i cant remember who it was that broke someones noes. i was satsified that one human didnt get away with being a jerk. and i loved how they finally explained to that teacher how edward is who actually keeps bella calm. i couldnt help but laugh and feel sorry for that one teacher who was waving the newspaper at bella. .good times.. i was shocked though that the killed that immortal child and left maria unscathed(sp) i hate that she has gotten so close without anyone being aware im like that demon must be hella powerful and im wondering what she has in mind for bella. im  wondering if she secretly knows that bella has got some serious power as well as the three natured Edward. when they were in the cafeteria didnt rose say "i got this" well will we see what she did to defend her brother. im looking forward to that. im glad they are drop outs. i know that sounds stupid but school was added stress to their already overwhelmingly complicated lives. and this falling apart vampire maria needs her ass handed to her not only by jasper but by alice, edward and bella. and just for the fun of it marcus because lets face it he is scarey. you said this demon in maria is infintely more powerful than the one that inhabited paula, well that was one hard to exorcise how are they going to destroy this one? and wouldnt the other vamps be terrified to go near a vamp that appears to be suffering from gang green and MRSA ? i know she willingly accepted that live sucking thing into her but based on your description of her id assume the condition to be contageous.



Author's Response:

Hi there Fleuritup,

I swear on my evil author's honor that I answered this review when you posted it and Twilighted seems to have eaten it. You have my official groveling apology for not catching this. I think what I was trying to convey with Edward willingly being pelted by food did not come across. A "normal" human teenager from a "respected" family as the Cullens pretend to be would not stand up and start throwing food at the other children. And this family is ruthless about role-playing being human part. So to me, his family was helping him as much as they could because really, it's not like physically this is hurting Edward (to them). And Edward is using it as an example to the immortals that he really is stronger than they are because he's willing to endure this just to be around Bella. Don't think she did not notice that, either. You will learn more about why Maria was unscathed in the next chapter which will post on ff before it goes up here - like soon. When Rose said, "I got this," she was referring to the fact that she would help Bella and Edward needed to get out of the room. I'm delighted you like the drop out idea. I thought them endlessly going to school was silly. And yes, Maria is contagious in that once the demon has sucked her dry it will be looking to sweet talk another being into accepting it *whistles innocently* Makes you want to re-think that whole focusing on Mary Alice and Bella part, right? 

Hugs,

 

Books

Reviewer: winterraine (Signed) · Date: June 18, 2010 12:09 PM · On: Chapter 8: Heart of Darkness - Part Seven - My Queen

Seriously, seriously enjoying your work!

 

Edward is so charming with the "human" talk. I can't wait for Bella to call him on that one day:)

 

Thanks again for sharing your story with us!



Author's Response:

Hi there winterraine!

Thanks so much for the review. I'm thinking Twilighted ate the original one I posted - because I'm horrified that there isn't a response to the one you left. I always do them. Mea Culpa. Edward has never called Bella his human out loud. And Bella would slap him into the next century if she ever knew he did. Come to think of it, that's a good idea. *evil grin*

Thanks for reviewing and making me smile. :)

Books

Reviewer: schleprock (Signed) · Date: June 18, 2010 08:15 AM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

i love marigolds! they just happen to be my favorite flower,weird i know because you can't really get them in a bouqet but i love the orange ones. more bella/edward time (clap,clap)and yay the real/fake engagment is back on!!! maybe we can get some real/fake cuddles in next? as always i will wait on pins for the next chapter.   p.s.  sorry if i spelled anything wrong i'm a total lois lane. 



Author's Response:

Hi there schleprock!

I like marigolds too, the big poofy light yellow ones. You will definitely see lots of cuddling coming up. Promise. 

And I totally suck at spelling. No judging here. :) Thanks for sharing your thoughts about the story with me and your continued support of it. I keep posting the chapters because of readers like you.

Best,

Books

Reviewer: winterraine (Signed) · Date: June 17, 2010 11:12 PM · On: Chapter 8: Heart of Darkness - Part Two - Mad, Bad, and Dangerous to Know

Okay, I have to admit, I am horrible at reviewing. There is absolutely no excuse that I can give because I have enjoyed so many amazing stories in the last month or so (the time I have been addicted to ff, I'm sure you understand...hehehe). What's worse is that I am very close to submitting my own work, somewhere, sometime, soon.

My only pathetic reason is that I am so consumed with the reading that I just can't stop. Again, no excuse.

I have decided to change my selfish ways:)

Your story is freakin' amazing! I can not say that with enough emphasis!

Thank you so much for sharing your amazing talents and allowing me to revisit my favorite story with fresh eyes. Your Edward has transformed not only how I now view the first chapters of your story but of my whole Edward.

Your work inspires me to be a better writer!

Thank you!

Reviewer: mariann17 (Signed) · Date: June 17, 2010 05:48 PM · On: Chapter 8: Heart of Darkness - Part Four - Deviant

I just started reading your story.  All I can say is OMG!!!!!!!!  It's funny and its sexy in all the right spots!  TY



Author's Response:

Hi there mariann17!

Thanks so much for the review! I hope you continue to enjoy my twisted take on twilight!

Best,

Books

Reviewer: scarlet (Signed) · Date: June 16, 2010 08:18 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

I freaking love this story! I think Bella's starting to come around. Who can resist Edward?



Author's Response:

Hi scarlet!

Thanks so much for the review and the stars! I'm humbled that you are enjoying my story. And you're right, who can resist Edward for long. :) LOL

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Rgwmnks (Signed) · Date: June 16, 2010 08:11 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

OK the image of the nastiness that is Maria, just...ew. The popping description made me think of Chet, the pile-o-shit in Weird Science, yuck.(I know this movie, along with other cheesy 80's movies. by heart) I am very curious regarding the letter to Maria from The character formerly known as Raphael. But I'm sure we'll get there all in due time.  Now is not the time to start being impatient Robin, Jeez.
I love it that Bella is finally conversing with Edward.  I know he needs to get a handle on the "research" issues and right quick too.  I love the encouragement Edward gives her in regards to those that love & care for her.  And Arria, What. A. Bitch. Who says things like that to a child, seriously.
The bloody paper swan, just creepy.  I am quite curious as to how it got there.  I mean, there are shit-tons of vamps running around so hell it could have been anyone.  A minor detail, but I am curious all the same.
Ah, and the engagement, however unconventional, is finally upon us.  I understand Edward feeling that he needs to hold his trump card & not tell Bella that he no longer has the pleasure of her smell. But honestly him revealing that tid-bit may just kinda convince her that he is around her for the right reasons.  Or at least push her thoughts in that direction.  
As I say every.single.time. Excellent & informative chapter. Enjoyed it very much. I know, as it always happens, that I will have more I wish to say after I hit submit, which always happens, but know that I soak up every single word.  i hold my breath through parts, have cried at others & most certainly I will always laugh at something in every chapter.  I read each one twice because I always end up missing something but catch it on the second go around.  Hope all is well with you & I look forward to more glimpses of your imagination. :o)



Author's Response:

HI there Rgwmnks!

Thanks so much for the review and the stars! I'm getting misty-eyed at the 80's film references. Next thing I'll find out you are an Army of Darkness fan and have to worship at your feet forever more. :) Arria is indeed cold. She means well. She does not understand her daughter. But she's trying. In her mind, she is trying to prepare her daughter for the scorn that she knows people will snidely direct at her. There is not concept of disabled vampires in the immortal world. Either you are "perfect" or the family destroys you out of shame if you come from a strong line. Arria never wanted her daughter to be exposed to the immortal world for that reason. Bella hears her explanation and is understandably hurt, but only hears the 'you aren't perfect' part, not the reasoning behind it. You raise a good question about the swan. Not that I'm telling. I can say that it had no scent on it of an individual person/vamp/wolf so they are all kinds of confused. And I totally agree with you on the Edward and the scent part. I hope it made sense to you why the goober would keep his mouth shut. Edward has the sincere problem that he has to re-establish trust with Bella - because Bella is questioning everything she ever knew about everyone in her life at present. No challenge. Nope. *sweats* *wipes brow*

Hugs,

Books

Reviewer: Merrisol (Signed) · Date: June 16, 2010 06:19 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Oh, my heavenly stars!!! Excellent chapter!! So much was happening that I was giddy and had to read it again. I'm doing the happy dance over Bella and Edward finally talking. Then she proposed. Who knew? I get that she thinks it is a totally fake thing but the fact that she had stipulations was quite interesting. Even more interesting was his counter offer. What a sly dog he has become. There may be hope for those two kids yet. "May" being the key word here. I was so glad that Edward was finally able to clarify some of Bella's misconceptions about things that had transpired in the past. Has he fucked up royally in the past? Hell, yes. Is he trying to make amends? I truly believe he is in his own goofy, back-ass-wards way. Fortunately, he now has a small army of people giving him advice ... some of it actually pretty good. Let them cuddle for awhile. They deserve it.

Maria needs to die a slow, painful death ... and soon. She is seriously on my last nerve! I truly look forward to the arrival of the Denali clan. They must all be licking their lips in anticipation of having a VERY good time. It should prove to be quite entertaining!!

Two thumbs up and some more groveling at your feet. I seem to spend a lot of time on my knees ... LOL



Author's Response:

You never cease to make me smile when I read your reviews, Merrisol. I'm sitting here with a dopey-eyed grin on my face and it is, of course, all your fault. :) I'm delighted you enjoyed the proposal. I wanted it to be spontaneous, come out of fear anger and pride and then have them stuck with it. 

Totes agree with you on Maria. I've already written her death (mwa-ha-hah)

Hugs,

Books

Reviewer: KristinHazzard (Signed) · Date: June 16, 2010 05:51 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Love, love, loved it! I hope they eventually go from fake-engagement to real engagement. I am seeing how the first arc relates to this one more and more! Can't wait for more :)



Author's Response:

HI there KristinHazzard!

Thanks so much for the review! I'm having lots of fun with the Fake/Real courtship. 

Best,

Books

Reviewer: pomme_de_terre (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 10:45 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

As always, I loved the chapter. The proposal was priceless! Now, they are not going back to school? Hmm. Also liked the interaction with Edward and Erik. Well done! Ellie

Author's Response:

Well hello there pretty lady,

As ever, you make me smile. Thanks so much for your continued support of my writing and your friendship. 

Best,

Books

Reviewer: WillowMarie (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 07:06 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

I am so inadequate at reviews, but I wanted to tell you again how much I enjoy reading this story.  It is my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE.  Every time I get on Twilighted website, I hold my breath-truthfully-until I know if there's been a CC update.  If there's a new chapter, I smile, continue breathing, and drop what I'm doing to immediately read it.  I think I've been following this story for the better part of a year now.  I wouldn't mind if it went on forever...I don't know what I'll do when I don't get a fresh dose of Cullenary Coupling!  Peace.



Author's Response:

Hi there WillowMarie!

Hon, nothing about you is inadequate. Repeat that ninety times for your homework. I do not grade reviews. I am every bit as happy for a one-lined review as I am by a five paragraph one. What matters to me is that something about the story struck you to leave me a note that you enjoyed it. And for that, I am honored. It helps me as a writer to know what stood out in the story for you. And you've done that here. So thanks for making me smile. 

If you follow me on Twitter @bookishqua I always tweet when I post a chapter. 

Best,

Books

Reviewer: elphabacy35 (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 06:05 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

"This is a Dalmation dog" made me lol.

Books, I'm not sure how I feel about the approaching end of the HOD arc. I've loved it, but I'm also intruiged about what the stoty will be like once it's done. So, I guess I do know how I feel, I feel mixed:)

I loved Bella's response to Edward's formal proposal, and I also really liked the story Edward gave Erik about Bella being rich and not being able to touch the money unless she marries.

Oh, and SSE, my dear pompous prig, let's talk soon about Christ's love, and I will try and help you understand if you are engaged or not:)

'til next time...

Stacy



Author's Response:

Starched Shirt Edward has perked up at the mention of his name. Every time he hears that you have thought of him he blushes and then runs to pick a rose to place in your honor before the Blessed Mother. Like you, I'm nervous about the upcoming end of the HOD arc, too. But the story will stay in EPOV and the snark will continue. Swear.

Glad you liked the marriage dealio. I wanted it to come out of anger, and thoughtlessness, and pride.

Best,

Books

Reviewer: CindyWindy (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 01:32 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

I popped over here to reread a bit so I thought I'd review here too. 

I did mean to ask about the swan pic. Was that what we were supposed to guess, that it was on Harry C's body? 

Looking forward to reading Bella's diary!

 



Author's Response:

Hi CindyWindy!

You were supposed to remember that it was on Harry's body, yes. And thanks for spoiling me by reviewing on two sites. :)

Hugs,

 

Books

Reviewer: notmyself (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 10:38 AM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Holy hell! That is why I love you so much. Every once in a while you throw out a shard of puzzling pieces and a heap of happy. Thank you for the odd twists that pull everything back into the frame of the first couple of chapters and give it all a new meaning and us a new understanding. I am having trouble coping with all the awesome. Just beautiful. I love the nicknamed Fitzflock. I love the flowers, what next, candy? A gift certificate to Bath and Bodyworks? Victoria Secret? Wow. I can't thank youu quite enough for the bursting feeling after reading this chapter. Should have come with a possible side effects warning. Thank you, yet again.

 

~Mia



Author's Response:

Hi there Mia,

I'm getting all misty-eyed reading your review. Thank you for your continued support of this story. I keep posting it because of amazing people like you. :)

Hugs,

 

Books

Reviewer: twaddles (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 06:52 AM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Oh my goodness, so much fun.  Please please can you have some more Douglas in the next chapter.  I wish I can understand Bella.  I understand she is really hurt by Edward, but all his arguments he has made to her, makes sense to me, so why not forgive him already.  The other thing I noticed in this chapter is that she is again calling him fake ..., like previously when they were on better speaking terms.  So I thinking that maybe she is finally seeing Edward as she use too... I hope.  They are just so cute together. 

Thanks again for a great chapter, looking forward to the next one.

Twaddles



Author's Response:

Hi there Twaddles!

Expect more Douglas in the upcoming chapter. You have my evil author word of honor. *blinks* I think that you are confusing the idea of forgiveness with reconciliation. Bella sincerely forgave Edward when he asked her to a few chapters back. She also sincerely forgave Leah for all that she did to her, too. Forgiveness in my mind is when you tell someone that you accept that he or she sincerely regrets causing them harm. Reconciliation, on the other hand, is an entirely different kettle of fish. Reconciliation is when you not only forgive someone, but you work on re-establishing the relationship and repairing it. Edward has not asked Bella for this - and Bella in her mind does not think he wants it, either. So she is sincerely confused by his behavior. She thinks he's lurking around because of her scent and she's hurt that he's still coming around her and trying to be understanding about the appeal that her blood has for him. In her mind, she sincerely does not think she has a remote chance of being the object of his love. 

Hope that helps. And they'll make more progress in the next chapter which is about to go up. Promise.

Books

Reviewer: fanficreader83 (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 05:25 AM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Ok, so Edward still is misguided (he is Edward though) but seems to be moving in the right direction.  Bella's actions reflect what she believes and that is that Edward does not care for her in a traditional sense(hehe) and is only intrigued by her scent.  Edward's plan to keep the truth to himself does not allow for him to fess up that her scent does not have the same effect on him anymore.

Alas, Edward is starting to gain some clue (although there are many others offering their wisdom to this clueless one) and is slowly making things right.  He does and does not seem to realize that his plan, of being somewhat truthful while still not going into details about things not directly addressed or questioned, might actually allow Bella to slowly start to let him back in.  We saw quite a lot (for them anyway)of communication happen between these two with Bella taking the initiative.

I loved how playful they were when they didn't even seem to realize it (drugs may have been a huge factor for Bella ;).  Edward chose not to reveal his true feelings and mate bond, which was probably good because Bella might not be so quick to believe all that.  She does however set a deal into motion that will bring them together (and wow, she does mean 'together') even if it is not entirely due to romantic reasons (yet). 

I really enjoyed this chapter (I usually do with all the other ones as they always get me thinking but this one more so)!  I liked the trash-talking to Maria at the end and look forward to seeing her demise (that statement is a bit wrong and evil but then again so is she)!

Can't wait to read what you have planned next as this arc ends!  I am really starting to think back on the beginning and question what was happening and what levels of truth may or may not have been revealed in it!



Author's Response:

I love reading your take on the chapters because you have a way of writing about the story that makes me take a good hard second look at my characters. I do agree with you that  Edward is keeping the mate bond from Bella for all the wrong reasons but if she did know about it, she probably sincerely would not handle it well. That makes the genuine problem of when you sit on a secret like that for that long, how do you come clean? Esp. with their relationship? I'm about ready to post the next chapter. Expect more banter. :) Thanks for reviewing and supporting my story and just being amazing. 

Best,

Books

Maria is misty-eyed and blowing blister filled kisses at you.

Reviewer: lippert1000 (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 05:16 AM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

I love this story so much!



Author's Response:

Hi there lippert1000!

Thanks so much! I'm delighted you are enjoying my snarky take on Twilight!

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Lost Star (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2010 05:00 AM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Completely awesome chapter. :)



Author's Response:

Hi there Lost Star!

Thanks so much for the review!

Best,

Books

Jugurtha is blowing kisses at you. 

Reviewer: nocturnal_rendevous (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2010 11:55 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

Makes a person wanna scream at those two!!  UGH!  Well, we know that Bella's been hurt by Edward and doesn't trust him.  AND Edward hasn't been much too eloquent in relaying his feelings, so there's that.  LOL  I love your story and was thrilled when the update showed up in my inbox.  I look forward to your next update.



Author's Response:

Hi nocturnal_rendevous!

Trying to write conflict between two severely shy and non-confrontational characters is enough to make me want to drink. Lots. I'm glad you are enjoying the results of my suffering. :) LOL. I'm about the post the next chapter - it'll probably go up on ff first.

Thanks so much for reviewing!

Best,

Books

Reviewer: kimboacp (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2010 10:12 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Forty-Eight - About That Marriage Business

I'm going to be really sad when the HOD part of this story is over. Can't wait for what happens next. I like what Marcus did to Maria it made me laugh abit that he could catch her off guard like that. Don't let Edward do anything that might hurt him before the wedding please. Can't wait for the Denail/Newborn coven to come down so that Edward and Bella can have a semi private converstation without all the males trying to catch her attention. I look foward to reading the next installment of HOD.



Author's Response:

Hi there kimboacp!

Thanks hon for the review. I had waaay too much fun with the newborns as you soon shall see. And I know, I get all misty-eyed about the HOD arc which is ending very soon. But we still have the rest of the story to finish and it will be in  EPOV. Swear. 

Best,

Books

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.