Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Cullenary Coupling
Reviewer: Lady Dragona (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2009 03:59 PM · On: Chapter 8: Heart of Darkness - Part Three - EdBargo

What a great chapter.  I loved how Edward is takingcare of Bella and the other girls at the school.  Gianni was taken down several pegs and I think it bolstered Edward's ego even if he wasn't looking for it or recognized it.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much Lady Dragona!

I had a lot of fun writing about Edward basically freaking his family out by becoming physically aggressive with mortal men in a short amount of time. Territorial much? And you're right it probably did help Edward's ego. :)

 

Edward is blowing kisses at you,

 

Books

Reviewer: Merrisol (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2009 02:36 PM · On: Chapter Eight - Heart of Darkness - Part Thirty-Two - The Sword of Damocles

Ahhh, here we are again. You must have figured out by now that I review while I read. I have to. There is just too much I want to comment on and even I don't have a memory that good!

Love the refresher before each chapter, although I must say that I am better at remembering what is going on and who everyone is now. Maybe it is because the doctor upped my meds. Go figure.

The first thing that absolutely blew my mind was this sentence: 

"It felt like I was a blindfolded fool who stumbled into bales of cotton, never accurately perceiving his surroundings."

It just spoke to me for some reason. I think it totally sums up Edward's feelings. While he is confused as hell most of the time (and who among us is not?), he really has a safe, comfortable place to fall for once in his life. His safe, comfortable place is Bella. No matter what atrocities happen around them or to them, when he touches Bella he goes to a safe place in his mind. She touches and heals his heart; a heart he thought had long ceased to exist.

Not sure why I had to ramble about that but ....

Tanya will be a pervert for all eternity, and it seems that she is getting less picky with time. Not sure that is a good thing. "How 'bout a kiss, oh stinky one?" I about pissed my pants on that one. Is nothing sacred to this woman? Apparently not.

The ongoing discusion about brassieres was just too funny. Those two bobbleheads that live in his brain should be a story themselves. How long does it take to distract a bobblehead? Two seconds if you give him a Panache catalog! LOL Can you imagine the antics if they got ahold of a Frederick's of Hollywood catalog??? OMFG

I swear sometimes I really question Edward's sanity. The things this poor boy thinks in his head just cracks me up. He doesn't want her to be considered a thief for removing a rock from a National Forest, even though she has committed a far more sinful act when she killed someone. I almost said, "I wonder what goes on in his head?" but, duh, I know! Oh, and the ... "Bastard that I am." was just creamy goodness.

Well, holy fucking shit! All hell broke loose ... the Volturi (hate them) ... the cave (loved it) and the hot springs (woohoo). Then you had to go and scare me shitless by making think Edward was actually going to kill Bella! I mean seriously, WTF? Is it not enough that I suffer in silence while waiting for this poor boy to get a grip on his "problem" but then you heap onto my suffering by adding the whole "I have to kill her" bit. OMG!!

Fortunately, I did not have to suffer for long, as you redeemed yourself when Bella pulled the "seductive smooching" card. Kudos for that, by the way. Whew! I think Edward thoroughly enjoyed it, I know I did! She is a naughty little vixen, isn't she? She has no sense of self-preservation, but what a way to go out!

So, now I will ponder this recent change of events, including the musings of Sequoyah. He really should have been a bit more clear in his instructions. I blame him for my almost fatal heart attack. The bastard.

Sorry Douglas didn't make an appearance. I have a feeling he will be popping back in from time to time.

As always, I was blown away by your crazy, creative mind. I am definitely going to look for a Frederick's catalog for the two bobbleheads and I'm sending Douglas an assorted nut basket. He is a funny little thing. Love you, love the story ... I just love, love, love!!

 



Author's Response:

Hi there Merrisol!

My dear, thank you so much for your amazing review. I had to scrape my jaw off the floor. :) You spoil me so. :)

I had the image of Edward stumbling around a barn filled with bales of cotton having no idea where he was when I wrote that sentence. Glad you liked it. :) And I've never really thought of Bella as his "safe place" that was eloquent. The thing to keep in mind about Tanya is that Edward has a very biased view of her. She is sexually active and makes no apologies for it. That alone is enough to set Edward off with his Victorian sensibilities. But from Edward's perspective she's a floozy. From Tanya's perspective, she's used to having every man in the world fawning over her. That's her reality.

The panache catalog on line is interactive. It could keep SSE busy for hours with all those windows he has to click.

I find your take on Bella's behavior and Edward's odd reasoning interesting. Do you think she sinned when she threw her knife to defend Edward's life? St. Thomas Aquinas would argue that her intention was to preserve life, and therefore killing the man was moral. I do understand, and respect that others might have a different view on the situation. When I was writing that scene I thought it was ironic that he was "stealing" from her by taking the rock - and trying to engage in impression management at the same time. In Edward's mind, the public would think they'd been snatched by the serial killers that were after Bella and Angela. His family would know the truth because Edward left the shoes and stick for them to find.

And yeah, I was cruel to have him do that I'm going to have to kill her to save her. I've been planning it from day one of the story. :) The sad thing about Bella is that she really had no idea how close to dying she came. She spontaneously kissed him and next to killing that man, it was the second bravest thing she's ever done. Maybe the third, given she stood up to the gang as well to protect Angela.

The whole point of the test was to see how Edward would think of the term sacrifice. They were ambiguous on purpose.

And just for you, I'm including a shot of Douglas. That's me, Books the purveyor of squirrel porn.

He is waving almonds in your honor, as am I.

Best,

Books

Douglas

Reviewer: oncebitten (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2009 01:52 PM · On: Chapter Eight - Heart of Darkness - Part Thirty-Two - The Sword of Damocles

Hi books,

      FINALLY!!!!! He was all I'M gonna have to kill her to save her one minute , and the next the were having earth moving kissing match!!! I love this chapter .It was haert braking when he took her to the cave and thinking about how she was seeing everythin for the last time ,I was in tears . Then they were kissing and I WAS LIKE oh yeah!!   You rock ;) oncebitten

 



Author's Response:

Hi there oncebitten!

You just made my day, hon. Thanks so much for your review. Thank you as well for your support of this story. :)

Starched Shirt Edward is blowing multiple kisses at you,

You totally rock,

Books

Reviewer: Lady Dragona (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2009 01:04 PM · On: Chapter 8: Heart of Darkness - Part Two - Mad, Bad, and Dangerous to Know

I loved this chapter.  I think that it shows more depth and character development.  I think it is wonderful how Edward is caring for his singer.  I just hope that he realizes that he is doing it as much for her as he is for himself.



Author's Response:

Hi there Lady Dragona!

The thing I am trying to argue here is that Edward as a result of trauma has created a delusional universe. He has never dealt with the trauma of his turning, and most particularly, he's never faced up to what he did beyond waking up and realizing it was wrong. His response has been to almost go back in time and act as if he's 17 - the perfect 17 year old. He does not remember what love feels like, and he literally has no idea that when his parents say they love him, what precisely that means. He thinks if they knew the real him that they would kick him out. So what you will be seeing in these first few chapters is that Edward in the pursuit of sensitizing himself to his singer, has boundary issues. He invades her privacy on almost every level, justifying that it's for her own good. In a way, I suppose he's right - it keeps her walking with a pulse. :)

Thanks for the review and the feedback. I look forward to seeing what you think about the story. :)

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Lady Dragona (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2009 11:24 AM · On: Chapter 8: Heart of Darkness Part One - Pride and Tribulation

I truely loved this chapter.  Getting the back backstory of Edward and why he is the way he is was wonderful.  I look forward to you HOD arc.

 



Author's Response:

Hi there Lady Dragona!

Thanks so much! I love writing from EPOV and I've had tons of fun with it. I never really felt like his self-loathing was fleshed out in the books, and I thought he fell in love far too easily for someone as messed up as he was. Hence, the heart of darkness arc. :)

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Lady Dragona (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2009 09:56 AM · On: Chapter 7: The Webers - Flowers and Pasties for Jesus

This was sweet and scary at the same time.  Emmett does sometimes need to learn when to shut his mouth.  Poor Ben - He is definately in the hot seat now.  Tanya was very helpful I think :)



Author's Response:

Hi there Lady Dragona!

I had lots of fun with Emmett. In my mind, it's just not possible for someone with a squashed by a bear skull to come out of that completely intact - a perfect vampire. So I've made him verbally impulsive. For him it's not a matter that he needs to learn to shut his mouth - he cant' help it sometimes. It's that he needs to be aware of his communication and how it impacts others.

Thanks so much for the review. Tanya was hilarious making eyes at Ben. :)

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Lady Dragona (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2009 09:33 AM · On: Chapter 6: Lies, Dreams, and Schemes

I think that Sam has a good head on his shoulders.  I also think that Tanya has more up her sleeve.  I wonder if Carlisle is aware of what is going to happen tonight and what Edward's reaction is going to be.  I know that I am looking forward to it.



Author's Response:

Hi there Lady Dragona!

Carlisle has always known that Tanya has a thing for Edward. She hasn't been as aggressive about it as she would prefer out of respect for Carlisle. And you are right, Tanya most definitely has more up her sleeve. Carlisle would be amused at Tanya's attempts because he knows she doesn't have a prayer.

Best,

Books

Reviewer: twilightluver6 (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2009 11:52 PM · On: Prologue: Bella, Sex, and Privacy

awsome



Author's Response:

Many thanks, twilightluver6!

:)

 

Best,

 

Books

Reviewer: Lady Dragona (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2009 05:55 PM · On: Chapter 5: Indecent Exposure at the Thriftway on Aisle Three: Shameless Hussy Part Three

What a chapter.  I think that Tanya did a good job on giving them something new to talk about.  Mike will never be the same.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much Lady Dragona!

 

You have two more chapters and then the story is going to change drastically and you'll think I'm on drugs. We're switching to Edward's POV. And he's snarky. Really snarky. And gloomy at first but he'll lighten up and get funny soon.

I had loads of fun with Tanya creating a bigger scandal. And Mike newton - if you think what I did to him is bad there, the second, third, and fourth chapters of the heart of darkness arc should have you in heaven. :)

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Lady Dragona (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2009 06:46 PM · On: Chapter 5: Indecent Exposure at the Thriftway on Aisle Three: Shameless Hussy Part Two

I loved how poor Edward had to squirm with Charlie.  I am glad that Tanya helped him out.  I think Charlie has a very active imagination.  That might cause them problems in the future.



Author's Response:

Hi there Lady Dragona!

Thanks so much for the review. You are most perceptive about Charlie. :)

Tanya is waving her fingertips at you,

Books

Reviewer: Fleuritup (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2009 07:43 PM · On: Prologue: Bella, Sex, and Privacy

Ok, im brining up multiple subjects in this review so i apologize in advance, and please forgive my spelling. im wondering if edward will have these powers forever, i hope not, i dont want him glowing all the time. and i forgot to ask about the families scent disappearing. when edward touched the package alices scent dissappeard. im wondering why that is, i mean i can see that edward and bella are masked in whatever the violet gorgon or young to me old power did but how does it have the ability to erase someone elses scent who isnt cloaked by the purple light or have the falcons on them? i love how even though charlie felt gratitude for the cullen boys rescuing his daughter he still managed to get edwards name wrong edwin or edmund i think. can you please bring out more stupidity from the newborns. i will never get over that girl putting her breast up to the shield  and ooing in pleasure that was freakin hilarious.

 

oh and this is off topic but i was on your author page here and i only see this story. i'm seriously surprised that you dont have anything else posted. please tell me you will be writting another story after you finish this one or at least have worked on another story. you cannot expect us to be satisfied with just one submission you have got so much talent that it kinda seems unfair that you dont have anything else posted. 

now that whole imprinting thing please dont get me wrong but i found it completely disqusting in twilight. i mean teens were falling in love with babies and others left the ones they claimed to love for their relatives. im not for keeping it in the family that is just sick. i know jacob said that he would love renesme in that way when she got older but i kept thinking of pedophilia.

it was really interesting to have it flipped around and it be considered something that was like a freak of nature. and frowned upon when same had that gene or mutation for imprinting, but edward has a singer and its considered something specifically made for him by nature and kinda considered a gift. (ultimate feast would be accurate, if he dinned on her.)   he really is stuck between a rock and  hard place because sam knows emily was everything to him in that moment and he killed her by accident, and then he has leah and his immediate rejection ruined their relationship and his child died as a result of his lack of control so he lost love on two accounts and his offspring... i thought it was jacob that you didnt like? but i see why you made that happen so that he would understand lee's actions, and then jasper was able to have that talk with him.

ok back on topic,  i also like that despite everything edward is still shy and tells himself that he and his girl have a great relationship especially when she is unconcious and they dont have to talk. saying thats comfortable silence. i might be the only one in thinking this but i feel that even though i loved edward in twilight i feel that they confessed their love too quickly and just were completely devoted and not really knowing each other. but i guess im contradicting myself because im always asking when are they gonna be official in this story despite the fact that it takes time to build real relationships. i feel bad for finding it funny that whenever edward remindes himself or someone of his status as a doctor he always includes twice professional. as if its an excuse for him to get away with peaking at bella. bella also must be really humbled to have ppl changing her clothing all the time and not mentioning it. i mean thats gotta be kinda awkward after awhile always waking up in different clothing, (waking up in edwards arm cant ever be considered awkward sorry).

P.S. i'm confused when edward told bella noone had ever risked their lives to defend him like that im like hasnt his whole family been doing that since he met bella. all in attempts to help him protect the "his love,one he pretends to be in love with" does he not see the sacrifices they've been making, i know he is going through alot but so is his family all for he and bellas benefit. i was also shocked and confused when him looking at his soul. it was just as black as jaspers, or did i read that wrong, and i dont understand that because i know he killed some people but jasper really killed lots of people so shouldnt their be a difference. or does edward have some white spots whereas jasper only has one? forgive all my questions, i just want to be on the same page as far as understanding the basics.



Author's Response:

Hi there Fleur,

I don't have a standard policy on "you can only ask one question" or "you must stay on topic" in terms of my reviews so please don't feel the need to apologize. Thanks so much for supporting my story. If I haven't answered a question to your satisfaction, please feel free to PM me.

First, this is the first bit of fiction I've ever written. That's why you don't see any other stories posted on my author page. Aside from some beginning satires, I don't have anything to post. I have been so busy with this story, and beta-ing for others that aside from some general outlining, I haven't really written anything else. If the muses strike me, then I will. :) Swear.

Second, one of the things you have to keep in mind when you are thinking about CC Edward is that things that make perfect sense to him, don't necessarily translate to rational people like you and I as remotely logical. Edward sincerely thinks his family will ditch him if he becomes too much of a burden, or if they learn his secret. And he has never been in any kind of physical peril before - so Bella really is the first person to go and risk his/her life for his sake.

Third, I was not a big fan of imprinting, and agree with you on the disgust factor. I understand the concept in nature like when you have a dog that adopts kittens and such. But that is in a parental-non-sexual sense. The idea of Jacob raising his wife completely creeps me out. Imprinting on infants and toddlers was something that I found extremely disturbing, particularly as she had characterized Emily as rejecting Sam and being mauled as a result of it. So I never found it anything but one-way unrequited obsession. The difference that you have between Edward and Sam is that although Edward is certainly pulled towards Bella - Bella has a choice in the equation. I turned it into a freak of nature in my story because that was the initial way it was presented in the books, as something that was so rare, they had to consult the oldest elders they could find who remembered stories of it, but all said it was rare. So to have it happen three times.....I found not the best storytelling device since she never explained "why" imprinting worked aside from 3 different contrasting reasons. I've used imprinting in this story in two ways: one to show the tragedy of it, and two, to show the manipulative side that Billy and Jacob Black seem to think that it has. Billy Black genuinely thinks that he can "force" Jacob to imprint on Bella. That it will happen. That is why he has always pressured his son to marry Bella but has never even attempted to get them to spend time with each other. To Billy it's not necessarily.

In CC Sam hasn't really had time to register what he "really" felt for Emily. He's simply like someone who has been smacked across the head bad enough to have a concussion and is still sitting around registering that his head really hurts. He has not had time to process anything beyond he can't believe that he accidentally killed not one, but two of Leah's cousins and that he beat Leah, and caused her to miscarry their child. Sam is in a world of hurt. I don't have anything against the character of Sam. I wanted to show a tragedy. I am not a big fan of book Jacob, true. So my portrayal of him in this story is probably as a result of that. I wanted to show him being creepy but to show the human reasons for why he acted the way he did (without excusing his behavior).

Edward and Bella are both painfully shy in this story - a type of shyness that in their cases won't really go away because neither one of them has worked to overcome it. In both cases there are hereditary factors that explain why each character behaves the way he/she does when talking (or not) talking to others. You will see them become more confident with each other over the course of the story, but they will always be shy people. So Edward telling himself that he has a great relationship with Bella while she's unconscious is the shy person inside of him complaining that he really does not enjoy the way this talking business makes him feel. It's nerve-wracking. And something to also keep in mind is that the whole basis of CC Edward's thinking is to find a way to rationalize his behavior -even when he's out of line - so that it makes sense to him. So you are right, he's not peeking at her like a pervert, he's a doctor, and he's just doing what he was trained to do in ensuring that she's healthy. Right? I also am a big fan of irony which is why I have Edward commenting that Jacob is a stalker.

Hope that answered your questions. :)

Douglas is raising an almond in your honor.

Books

Reviewer: blue2185 (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2009 07:30 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Thirty-One - Fourteen Kinds of F*^ked Up

Oh my!!! That was amazing!!! Wow...You rendered me speechless



Author's Response:

Hi there blue2185!

Thanks so much!

Jugurtha is throwing daisies at your feet.

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Fleuritup (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2009 06:16 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Thirty-One - Fourteen Kinds of F*^ked Up

i love the idea of them being off on their own for a little while, i hope edward gets some rest. im glad he and bella got to do some talking in between her sobs. i loved her affirmation of him that was a great way to end the chapter. im still waiting on that NC17 section anyway i like that edward got bad at the gyrofalcon or whatever because it didnt initially defend bella it did it after awhile i think. so i guess it was a little late in that sense and  then didnt come out to help her when she really needed it. i thought that was sweet of alice to leave him that package, i hope she'll get some visions soon and that one trial will be conqured soon because again i say its coming from all angles and its like a lose lose situation. i hate that they had to leave the family but im not too worried about the volturi because i think back to the first 7 chapters and they were all with the cullens and sexin up tanya so my anxiety as to all this bad news is relieved somewhat.  i wonder why there was a comparison made to liam and edward. is it the lengths he's going to to protect  whats important to him or is it his determination and temper? how are they alike.



Author's Response:

Hi there Fleuritup!

Thanks so much for the review! I wanted to write Edward and Bella and show them actually making realistic progress in communicating - but it was important for me to show Bella dealing with the fact that she had killed someone. I thought the books had her awfully cavalier at times. If you look at Twilighted.net's ratings you'll find that what gets a story bumped into NC-17 is more strict than on other sites. The violence alone from the past chapters put this story into NC-17 territory. When I first started posting it, if you had a scene of underaged drinking written in, that automatically made the story NC-17. It's PsyMom's site and I obviously have no problems with her ratings system. I had to put the disclaimer about the NC-17 prior to the chapter to give people a fair warning as to the content. In terms of sexual activity - well, lips are sealed on that one.

Alice has been having visions all along. Just not ones that Edward has felt like commenting on. Her powers aren't particularly reliable lately given that whole wolf power mojo. They do seem to improve when she gets away from the wolves. And I'll be answering some things in the next chapter on that lose-lose situation.

Liam and Edward - both meticulous, ruthless, and devoted to Bella.

SSE is winking at you,

Books

Reviewer: Lady Dragona (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2009 02:23 PM · On: Chapter 5: Indecent Exposure at the Thriftway on Aisle Three: Shameless Hussy Part One

This was in interesting chapter.  I loved how Tanya was pretending to be so innocent when this was her plan all along.  I do think that Tanya is making this story very interesting.



Author's Response:

Hi there Lady Dragona!

In my mind, the immortals think of practical jokes completely differently than mortals would. So the reader sits back and reads about what Tanya orchestrated to happen to Edward and Bella (with both of their cooperation, mind you - she didn't hold a gun to anyone's head) and you feel bad. But to the family - in any ordinary circumstance, it would be amusing. This time? Not so much. And Tanya's sensitivity chip is a little late to be activated but it will kick in.

The way I see it CC Tanya chases after Edward not because she feels a twinge of sentiment for him. It's all about her ego. No male has ever told her 'No' that she chased. So he's a puzzle. And when you throw in the idea that she has status in the immortal community and now all of them saw her get dissed, well, she's kind of cranky. :)

But to me, she's a lot of fun.

Thanks for the feedback. :)

Books

Reviewer: antipyro (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2009 10:44 AM · On: Chapter 8: Heart of Darkness - Part Fourteen - Phantasms, Families, and Fantasies

Love that Esme is keeping the two boys busy with house-hold chores.  The cooking part being the best.  LOL  I firmly believe that every man should know how to do his laundry, without running colours or shrinking anything and know how to cook one meal - which usually turns out to be spaghetti!

Oh, please let her comfort him....pretty please...?????

It's great to see that everyone is giving Edward some good advice on what to do with Bella to get her to talk.  Love Jugurtha being so blunt, but spot on.  ha ha ha.

Still waiting for that crucial piece of the puzzle to put together what Ezekiah and Genevieve are trying to convey.  Blinking back at Starch Shirt Edward and waving discretely at Jugurtha.  Looking for more Dream Edward visions.



Author's Response:

Hi there antipyro!

Thanks so much for the feedback. I firmly believe that men should be well-versed in household chores. And I liked the idea of Esme forcing Emmett and Jasper to pull their load indoors doing "women's work" for a change. And make no mistake, she'll have them doing chores for decades.

It was important to me to portray both Edward and Bella as shy and to show how their relationship was complicated by that factor. The type of shyness that they have is trait-like, and will not just vanish. So I wanted to show how it's a struggle from EPOV to talk to Bella when he actually cares about what she thinks.

The puzzle is definitely going to be solved bit by bit. You're well on your way. :)

Dream Edward is blowing you kisses. Everyone has been forgetting about him lately, save you. :)

Books

Reviewer: Lady Dragona (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2009 08:46 AM · On: Chapter 4: Homework Was Never Supposed To Be This Much Fun

Poor Edward -Tanya has him where she wants him and he doesn't even know it.  How is he going to save his Bella?



Author's Response:

Hi there Lady Dragona!

That is, indeed, a very, very good question. And that question is going to take on an entirely new meaning in the heart of darkness story arc. Swear. :)

Thanks for the feedback,

 

Books

Reviewer: Katrela (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2009 07:31 AM · On: Chapter 7: The Webers - Flowers and Pasties for Jesus

I can't believe she said that she "I dance for jesus!" I almost spit my tea all over the computer screen!



Author's Response:

She did indeed say she dances for Jesus, Katrela. And she meant every word of it. :)

Glad it made you laugh. I have way too much fun with Tanya.

Best,

Books

Reviewer: antipyro (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2009 11:48 PM · On: Chapter 8: Heart of Darkness - Part Thirteen - Hitchcock

Yes, incredibly funny chapter.  I got the repressed Edward stuff and that leap to a married Bella, with ring and all, may cause him some difficulty if he can't manage to fill in the gaps.  I'm sure with added 'research', Edward will control, to a greater extent, his reactions to his orgasms.  Starched Shirt Edward should go on an extended vacation, far away.

Loved the Alice rant, with minor input from Esme and Carlisle.  I hope the boys will feel lower than dirt for a while....and I can't help but smile at Edward's revenge.



Author's Response:

Hi there antipyro!

I had far too much fun with that chapter. I wanted to show Edward for moral purposes, of course, engaging in behavior that went against his sensibilities. And I really liked the idea of Mary Alice chewing out the family for being wrong, while kinda sorta being in the wrong herself. Edward is a danger to himself, and to his family at present. And because she gave her word, Mary Alice is not telling the family about it. And because her gift is not operating properly in regards to Edward she can't say, "Oh, I knew everything would end up ok, by keeping my mouth shut." So I wanted to show her as flawed, too. Edward is stunned that she's keeping her word to him and going to bat on his behalf. So that's a huge milestone in their relationship.

And yes, she made Jasper and Emmett feel like lower than a earthworm's belly scum - and they deserved it, too. And Edward most certainly will be getting back at them. The one to watch out for will be Esme. She's seriously pissed. :)

Best,

Books

Reviewer: antipyro (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2009 10:28 PM · On: Chapter 8: Heart of Darkness - Part Twelve - Bless me Father for I am Most Definitely Going to Sin

Ha, ha!  Edward glowing green when he fell asleep!!!  Wolf powers, human feelings and aching muscles - surely are going to drive him to do something....  Not only can I not wait for Edward's testing, but Carlisles too.

Mmmmm, apple pancakes with syrup!  ...that'll come in handy - later...???  Starch Shirt Edward will have to go on holiday.

It's odd that Bella doesn't remember anything from her sleeping/talking episodes.  It should manifest itself in a dream that she should remember something about.

Waving back at Jugurtha Predator, smiling coyly    ;)



Author's Response:

Hi there antipyro!

I think you make a good point about Bella, in my mind, she doesn't remember a thing about her times when Genevieve speaks through her. She's in such a deep state of sleep, and the nightmares stand out more in her mind because they terrify her. Might not make logical sense, but there you have it. Edward will be tested by the powers, but there's no reason for Carlisle to be. He does not have Quileute powers. Only Edward does. Edward's problem in this section of the story is that he's feeling all these raging emotions- one's he really has no experience base for to even be able to assign a label to....so he's trying to explain everything away as not being important.

Thanks so much for the review. :)

Jugurtha is blowing multiple kisses at you. :)

Books

Reviewer: Lady Dragona (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2009 10:11 PM · On: Chapter 3: Propositions and Practice

I see both plan are in action.  I wonder which one will work :)



Author's Response:

Hi there Lady Dragona!

Indeed you raise a very good question. I do want to warn you that I'm setting up conflict in the first seven chapters and then we start the backstory - because I'm telling it out of order. So we won't be getting to the honeymoon before the backstory starts. I don't want you to get whiplash.

I can promise you that I do plan on torturing both characters with that plot line. A lot. And after you read the Heart of Darkness arc, you'll appreciate Edward's problem with a whole new light. :) Bella's, too.

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Fleuritup (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2009 08:52 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Thirty-One - Fourteen Kinds of F*^ked Up

ok i just had to review and im only halfway through the chapter but i want to say this before i forget so im at the part where edward is telling his family about his predicament(spelling) anyway so he was saying that it would be just like liam to have their food supply stop working at a certain date. and that makes me think back to a letter that bella isnt suppose to open until a certain date and im wondering if that letter holds the key to reproducing the algae(sp) anyway im probably way off the mark but that thought just popped into my mind. if thats what the letter contains bella could possibly use that knowledge as a leverage in renegotiating her being turned.



Author's Response:

Hi there Fleuritup!

It would be just like Liam to arrange something like that. Can't tell you what's in the letter. Sorry. I'm cruel that way. :)

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Fleuritup (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2009 08:04 PM · On: Chapter Eight: Heart of Darkness - Part Thirty - Between a Rock and a Hard Place, Not that Kind of Hard Place. Maybe.

wow, i feel really bad for edward. i'm getting a headache reading about all this pain he is going through. im glad bella is safe for the moment, its soo much stress i think a bit much even for his spacious vampire mind. please tell me things will look up soon, he has bad news coming from every angle.  i'm kinda confused about that last body with the knives around it, so he is a vampire or a crazy paralized human? edward really needs to open up to his family about his situation i mean why doesnt he see they truly love him and are doing all of this for him because they love him. how has he deluded himself into believing they dont or cant if he shows weakness or fails. i love how bella let it all out and opened up, hopefully it'll inspire him to be more honest also. i hope he gets some rest soon and i might dare to hope a real kiss from bella, i think he's earned it after all that he's been facing. and what the freaking heck is that guy demanding bella as a sacrifice for. how will he have to sacrifice her? using her gift to help the tribe? ok i'ma be honest i dont know what they want her for but anyway i gotta know whats going on because medusa apparently is on the good side and the volturi want to visit,...hmm i wonder if the cullens will give them the new venom knives theyve acquired that have a scent, hopefully they'll be able to shield their knowledge of the blades or something cool like that. i have so many questions because there is so much going on but to ask them all would defeat the point of reading further so i will be good and just hope for the best for the cullens. edward in particular.



Author's Response:

Hi there Fleuritup!

Thanks so much for the review(s)! I feel so spoiled! You might want to re-read the section in the Mammoth sized mongrels chapter towards the end where Hezekiah explains how the powers tested him. In order to keep the ability to use the powers the spirits would set up tests for each shaman. So now it's time for Edward's first major test. And you are right, Edward is having bad news coming from every angle - he kind of needs that to motivate him to change his way of looking at the world. Bella killed a human with a vampire blade and the powers disposed of his body. He was not a vampire. Bella threw away her only weapon in How Bout Dem Apples (real weapon aside from mace) to protect Edward and stabbed the first ringleader when he shot his gun at Edward, remember? So he's dead. Really dead. Dead and not coming back dead.

Edward is living in a delusion - one he created himself because he has never addressed the guilt he feels from murdering all those people. And he does not remember what love feels like - so he has no way of understanding when Carlisle and Esme say that they love him just what that means. In his mind, they could ask him to leave at any moment if they found out about all the bad things he's done. Edward liked having siblings join the family because that meant that his family would focus their attention on the siblings, not on him. But at the same time that amps up his insecurity because in his mind it's one more person who could vote him out of the family. That makes perfect sense to Edward - it doesn't have to make sense to us. That's why we call him delusional. :) In Edward's mind, he has to protect the family and keep protecting the family because aside from playing the perfect vampire child - that's the only thing he can "do" that makes him special to the family - and that's why they keep him.

Make no assumptions about the Violet Gorgon. Aside from that, that's about all I can say. You're very observant. :)

I'm editing the next section and I've posted a teaser on the thread.

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Lady Dragona (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2009 07:18 PM · On: Chapter 2: The Bachelor Party: Survival of the B!tchfest - Part Two

What will power.  Way to be kind Edward.



Author's Response:

Hi there Lady Dragona!

I liked the idea of Edward literally giving Tanya no room to argue. And I loved the idea of two people observing the same situation and walking away with two entirely different interpretations. And let's face it, mocking Tanya and Edward both is fun. :)

Thanks for the review!

Best,

Books

Reviewer: Moni_MD (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2009 03:23 PM · On: Prologue: Bella, Sex, and Privacy

I've never seen a fanfic with such a complicated plot but I will give it a chance because it is rather intriguing.

Thanks for the chapter :)



Author's Response:

Hi there Moni_MD!

thanks so much for the review and the chance. :) I should warn you if you think the plot is complicated in the prologue, when you hit the back story your eyes might roll back into your head. :) I have had a blast writing this story, and I hope you enjoy it. Snarky uptight Edward is so much fun to write.

Best,

Books

Reviewer: killeen (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2009 02:01 PM · On: Prologue: Bella, Sex, and Privacy

I don't know if you can put more than one review in but I forgot something I wanted to say - thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for not using Adonis, or topaz, or dazzle like 45 million times.  I LOVE Twilight, I really do, but I seriously almost quit after the first one because I can only read the same adjective SO many times in one chapter before I want to go on a 3-state killing spree.



Author's Response:

Hi there Killeen!

I don't think Twilighted has any limit on the number of comments that a person can make on a review. The program automatically sorts a second chapter review with the prologue's reviews and if you to to the chapter view for the story, you'll see that many of the reviews that are in that section are people making secondary reviews. :)

I had a guy I know who read Twilight because his female co-workers pressed him into it. And he said that he literally wanted to puke everytime he read about Bella squeeing over how hot Edward was. I've been kinda sorta doing a satire of that with Leah, making CC Leah talk out loud how Book Bella thought. I have a list of things that make me cringe in fanfic - and it cringes that it makes me cringe because I don't want to offend other authors who are merely trying to pay homage to canon. I am sick of hearing about freesias. Why, if Bella's scent is the most glorious thing in the universe that Edward has ever smelled would be be happy with her polluting it with say Strawberry? Hmmm? Inquiring minds want to know. I felt that the characterization of Bella was uneven in the series and her focusing on how physically attractive he was (I think) was intended to "show" the vampire effects of his charms that his species gave him. I think SM overdid it to the point where it made Book Bella come across as obsessed with Edward's looks more so than Edward himself.

And characterizing them as "stone-like" really didn't work for me. If Edward "felt" like a statue then there would be no way that he, or more specifically Carlisle could ever pass scrutiny with humans. So that part of canon struck me as silly and I'm pretending it doesn't exist. I have had Edward comment that his chest was stonelike in one line, not because of the quality of his flesh so much as the stone-like nature of his heart.

And if I have to read the NM break up scene and her instant acceptance of him as her boyfriend one more time, I will join you on a three-state spree.

 

Snarkily yours,

Books :)

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.