Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Mistaken Trust
Reviewer: IsabelAbigail (Signed) · Date: April 11, 2014 05:50 AM · On: Chapter 29

One of the best stories I have read here.  I really hope you finish it.  It was hard to stick with it through all their "healing" but it was done well.  I just want you to get to the happy part a little faster. 

Reviewer: SkylarMurphy21 (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2014 06:29 PM · On: Chapter 29

This is such an Incredibly moving and poinient story. Close to the heart and so well written. I know the subject matter must be difficult to write and read at times, but the charachters are so ture to life and I so appreciate that the characters are so open and we are able to see how the attrocity of rape affects not just the victim but those that love them. As well as how despite the difficulties life does move on and a victim can overcome. I can't thank you enough for the time, effort and work you've put into this. I need more ! 

Reviewer: Twilight131 (Signed) · Date: January 11, 2014 08:45 PM · On: Chapter 29

So, I see that you have tweaked this story as recently as 2014. Woo hooo! It lets me know you're still here :-) Happy New Year!!

Reviewer: musicluvr (Signed) · Date: November 08, 2013 11:45 AM · On: Chapter 29

It had been months since I last checked on MT and for whatever reason I thought about it out of the blue. I am SO glad I checked in on it because I was so excited to see an update!!!

I love the direction you are taking this. It really seems like E&B are headed toward being closer than ever. I can't wait to see how they move through it. I also can't wait for E & Renee to spend some more time together, as well as Renee meeting the Cullens. I could see some lighter material coming into play in those scenes. E&B have been through so much, I can't wait to see them get to a happy place.

Thanks so much for staying with this story. It means so much to those of us dedicated readers. I love this story and am so glad it hasn't been abandoned. Keep those updates coming!!!

Reviewer: renee aubin (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2013 04:46 PM · On: Chapter 17

Lovely scene of Edward providing comfort through the night.  But how easily ‘Terror washed over me', when she wakes up alone and hears the window opening.  His response was just perfect.  You do such a good job of describing the scene, I can easily picture canon Edward doing or saying exactly that.  I feel bad for him that he didn't realize Jacob had come through her window.

Aww, ‘the look in [Alice's] eyes made me feel as if she was opening her arms to me in a way so much more than just a physical sense. ‘

A much-needed light moment between the siblings:

"Okay, Edward. She's in good hands. You can leave now."

"Hello to you, too, Alice."

I love your Alice of course.  "Because if he isn't treating you like a queen I'll kick his ass," she said, her voice serious. 

Your Rosalie is wonderful too.

It's good that Bella can say this: "You said you probably can't help me much, but you already are. Just by...not letting things change between us...and for being here for me."

It's startling to realize this, from Rosalie:  "My God, Bella, it's only been a week."

Oh, excellent.  When Bella insists that Edward needs to stop blaming himself, Rosalie says:  "Have you stopped thinking that there was something you could've done differently to prevent it from happening?"  This is something Rosalie must have had to grapple with herself, after trusting Royce.

Interesting contrast between Rosalie and Alice, that Rosalie had a normal family life up to the night she died, which for a girl would have included learning to cook.  Alice, on the other hand, was entirely deprived of that kind of experience.

It's such an easy rookie mistake, adding all the flour at once.  The pristine Cullen kitchen never looked like that before, I bet! 

What a shocking turn amid such a fun afternoon to have Jacob call!

 

A wonderful detail:  ‘Moving through the maze of trees, the details of my surroundings that would normally be exceptionally clear to me...now appeared only a haze of shapes as the only thing that registered was the sound of Bella's heartbeat, which eventually faded away to nothing.'

A good description of Edward's dilemma:  ‘Gestures that had become second nature to me in the time that I'd known her, I now had to suppress.'  After all the work it took to adapt to her human fragility in the first place.

This is vivid:

‘How many times had I ached to just close the distance between us and kiss her deeply, passionately, making her forget everything except how much I loved her?

Oh, how I wanted it to be that simple. Wanted it so badly it hurt. Hurt with every breath I took.'

He's so right about what has been taken from them:  ‘Our biggest worries should be finals, wedding plans, and the reaction of Bella's parents to our engagement...'

And by contrast to what Bella is dealing with, ‘The peace and beauty of [the forest] horrified me.'  Good job building up to the moment when Edward blows his top. 

As usual Emmett is right on point, about Edward's rage:  "I always wondered how you would fa[re] in a fight without your mind-reading advantage, and I have to say; you're pretty horrible."  Edward learns a valuable lesson:  ‘I would never allow my anger to consume me like that again.'

An ominous call from Esme.  I remember when I first read this -so glad I don't have to wait to find out what happens!

Well, Lisa, this is the last chapter that I hadn't already reviewed.  So I'll just be (patiently) looking forward to the next one, whenever you can get there.

 

 

Reviewer: mrs_rsmith_thecure (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2013 07:30 AM · On: Chapter 29

xoxo

Reviewer: Twilight131 (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2013 10:37 PM · On: Chapter 29

In between your updates, I search for other fan fics to read, but none of them satisfy me anymore because no one captures Edward and Bella like you do.  It's better than the books!  Waiting is torture (TORTURE), but so worth it. 

 

That said, I love that they are helping each other heal.  I haven't been through a situation like this (thankfully), but in my experience healing from other hurts, I find that you can't heal completely within yourself. That is by focusing only on your suffering.  You have to reach out to others, especially those who love you and are sharing in your suffering (and suffering themselves because of it).  I can see that Bella is finding strength and healing in being strong for Edward - in getting through this with him as a team. I especially like that she is seeing through his defense mechanisms (finally) and appreciating how much he is struggling both before and after the rape.  This is one of the areas in which you surpass Stephanie Meyer because Bella in the books always struck me as selfish - not really appreciating Edward's struggle to keep her safe.  She is growing from this - their relationship is growing. I love to see it.

 

Obviously, it goes without saying (but that's not going to stop me from saying it) that I can't wait for the next chapter.  And I will probably bug you a little every now and then just to say hi (friendly, no-pressure, please don't abandon this story bugging).  I feel a little like Bella - alwasy afraid of being abandoned. lol. I trust you, I'm just too in love with this story.

 

Congratulations on your job - I was really hoping for you.  I'm so happy that you found a job you love so much - you deserve it!  So, thank you for this chapter, write more when you can, and I'll be here waiting until then ;-)



Author's Response:

GAHH, you are so complimentary of my work! I so love you, you know? Very sorry for the torturous waiting! I'm trying to write faster, really I am! And admittedly, it is very hard to find Twilight fanfics that aren't All human and actually keep Edward & Bella in character. I find I don't read a lot of Twilight fanfic for this reason. I'm a bit of a 'canon slob'!  It's not that there aren't many beautifully written fics but I'm just very picky and lately it's getting harder and harder to find canon/AU stories. There's tones of well-written All-human but for me it's just not Twilight without the vampires or without the characters actually being IN character. I'm also very picky when it comes to my own writing as well. I'm constantly battling with myself to get the charaters exactly right. So your compliment on this means a lot to me! 

I so love your insight. And I agree with you. Us humans draw strength from others around us. And, yes, I too felt that Bella never truly grew to understand Edward at all. Or at least, if she did, we never got to see it. I felt the books lacked a lot of character growth. It's nice to see I'm succeeding in my attempts to touch on this aspect.

You are more than welcome to bug me all you want! Very often it provides me with a much needed inspiration boost! And with how long I keep taking to update I don't blame you at all for fearing I've abandoned it. I'd feel the same. I feel so blessed to have such understanding and loyal readers. I really don't deserve it after the time I take to update. Such is just the nature of my life and the nature of this story. I'm trying my best to be faster this time around though.

Thanks so much again. I hope you know how much your reviewing mean to me. 

xoxox

~Lisa

FYI: MT was nominated for Favorite MY EMOTIONS Fic at the 2013 TwiFic Fandom Awards! If you are so inclined I would love your vote! Polls close very soon (tonight, I think! So if you'd like to vote, do so ASAP! You can vote multiple times too, I believe). Vote here.

Reviewer: Twilight131 (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2013 08:55 PM · On: Chapter 29

I have been waiting all day to read this! I am finally sitting here, snuggled up with a soda and a dog, ready to enjoy! I will be back to write a review at the end, but I just wanted you to know how excited I am for this update!



Author's Response:

I LOVE YOU

That is all.

:D

 

Reviewer: lbtucker (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2013 11:00 AM · On: Chapter 29

I always get excited when I get the email you have updated the story. I am so attached to it that no matter how long it takes you to update, I always come back to it. It is one of the best written stories I have ever read.



Author's Response:

*Sniffle* Your reviews are always so flattering. Oh how I love you so!! It means the world. Thank you.

FYI: MT was nominated for Favorite MY EMOTIONS Fic at the 2013 TwiFic Fandom Awards! If you are so inclined I would love your vote! Polls close very soon (tonight, I think! So if you'd like to vote, do so ASAP! You can vote multiple times too, I believe). Vote here.

Reviewer: mrs_rsmith_thecure (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2013 09:30 AM · On: Chapter 27

Edward & Bella - A Love Everlasting loved it! *.*

Reviewer: renee aubin (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2013 08:24 PM · On: Chapter 29

Sorry, Lisa, for another overly long review, but I've cut as much as I can stand ...

I like that the events of this chapter let Bella realize how good she has gotten at reading Edward, despite the decades he's spent perfecting his "inscrutable" act.  That should increase her confidence in the maturing of their relationship.

Something about the way you put this made me connect these dots in a way I never have before:  "I knew I had no right, no right at all to do anything other than accept your relationship with [Jacob] when it was my actions that had spurred you to him in the first place."  Ouch.  At least she understands now.

I love that she does this, regardless of Sandra's presence:  ‘He broke off, and his eyes were full of so much-guilt, sorrow, regret...that I was on my knees in front of his chair before I was even consciously aware I'd moved.'

This moment was absolutely harrowing:  ‘Finally, he spoke through his hands, and his voice sounded so expressionless now, so dead, that it scared me more than his silence. "I wished for it," he said flatly.'

You built the suspense so well, until we get to this:  "I knew you'd forgive him, and I wished that he would just do something that you wouldn't forgive so that I could have you to myself... I guess I got my wish."  

OMG, this is so like canon Edward.  I can just imagine that from the moment he learned of the rape, he uses this wish to blame himself. 

The perfect thing to say: "So you're going to leave me here alone now, are you?" 

At least she didn't say "again".  

Impressive that this doesn't derail her:  ‘His face was hard-set, his eyes cold.    It didn't sting as much as it once would have.' 

From the time he ran out of Sandra's office, you had me intensely curious what he was thinking about bringing Bella with him.  No doubt one track of his mind was bringing her along to keep her safe, but was he actually glad she was there?  I have to think he truly wanted to let her in.

A good insight:  ‘And how many times had I felt that crushing pain of dread reform in my chest? Felt that horrible, encompassing certainty that I'd wake up and find him gone again.'  This goes back before Jacob, but it must have contributed to her fears after the rape.  Interesting, though that now she anticipates feeling ‘the fear that I wouldn't be enough to hold him this time, that he would leave me once and for all' - but it doesn't materialize.  More progress!

Nicely said:  ‘...the idea that he could possibly feel the same deep-rooted insecurity, that he could ever in a million years find himself lacking when compared to me, had been completely inconceivable in my mind. It was still inconceivable in my mind. Yet in this moment there was no doubt that it was so.'  Good girl!

Her thoughts before he lets her touch him, of all the things she wants to say to him, ending with ‘And that he had the sweetest, most gentle soul of anyone I'd ever met.' brought tears to my eyes.  I can count on two hands the number of times that's happened when reading Twilight fanfic.

The scene where he's destroying boulders by the river so strongly echoed the moments in the first movie where he's trying to frighten her about what his vampirism means.  Terrific:

‘[Edward] still saw himself as a monster. Still thought he was capable of hurting me.

It was there. It had always been there. His greatest fear.

A fear that had now been realized over and over in his mind in the worst possible form, thanks to Jacob Black.'

I liked how seeing Edward's suffering made Bella's anger with Jacob flare up.  At least she was putting the blame where it belonged, finally.

I had the image of Bella moving as one would approach a wild animal.  I enjoyed how patiently you spun out the slow, cautious steps that allowed them to finally come together.  I loved Bella's response when he insists that he can't trust himself to touch her: "No one said anything about you touching me. Keep your hands to yourself if that's what you're worried about."

Vivid:  ‘this time when I moved within reach, he didn't budge from where he stood, his breathing ragged, body stiff as stone. When my hand reached toward him his breath stopped...'

Shocking:  ‘watching Edward crumple to his knees in front of me was not something I could've ever been prepared for. ... Edward, for the first time, let me see him fall.'  Wow.

"I'm sorry, so, so sorry..." he repeated, chanting the words over and over again, the broken mantra reflecting the shattered piece of his spirit that had never quite mended since the moment he'd awoke a vampire all those years ago.'  It's the genius of this chapter that you saw how Edward needed healing that went beyond the damage Jacob did.  I did not see that coming!

Oh, heartclench:  ‘This time, I could hear the dozens of apologies masked behind one: He was sorry he couldn't be human for me.'  All the litany of sorries was tremendously touching, but this one really got to me, because he never had a choice about it.  Another good phrase:  ‘the self-loathing that had been lodged like iron in his heart for ninety years.'

Wonderful: 

‘It felt right to hold him like this, his cheek resting over my heart now while my fingers moved through his silky hair and then down his back, soothing the tense knot of muscles between his shoulders. Gradually, the rigidness of his body grew less pronounced, and the strength of his grip against the rocks slackened.

He let himself touch me then; the way he brought his arms up slowly to settle around me with such painstaking caution and gentleness causing tears to abruptly fill my eyes.' 

I felt like I could breathe again when they finally reached this moment.

Interesting:  ‘How naive I'd been. How blinded by my childish, fantasy-like view of the world around me I'd been. What else had I not seen? Perhaps in a way I ought to be grateful to Jacob Black for shattering those views. ... So much of Edward's pain I'd been oblivious to.'

Well done:

‘Now in b[e]aring witness to Edward's long suffered penitence I could suddenly see the nonsensicalness of my own.

It did not matter what I had or hadn't done to unintentionally lead Jacob on, I realized. I had not asked for what happened that night. I had not asked for my best friend to hold me down and not listen to me say no.

No, I had not asked for that.

The realization brought with it an odd sense of peace, even when memories of that night frayed in the edges of my mind.'

Oh, thank God.

This was a completely reasonable request, not Edward's usual overreaction: "You must promise me that if I ever use too much force like that with you again you will let me know immediately."  And instead of blowing him off, she gets it and responds like an adult!  ‘So caught up in my own insecurities I'd always been that I'd spent more time deflecting his concerns rather than trying to comprehend and soothe them.'  I always wanted to smack canon Bella for that.

A perfect ending.

I agree with some of your other reviewers that this chapter DID have a big turning point!  If you had a bigger one in mind, I can't wait to see it!

 

Reviewer: Debbie1870 (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2013 05:43 PM · On: Chapter 29

I'm still with you.  Congrats on your job!



Author's Response:

I'm so glad! Thank you so much!

FYI: MT was nominated for Favorite MY EMOTIONS Fic at the 2013 TwiFic Fandom Awards! If you are so inclined I would love your vote! Polls close very soon (tonight, I think! So if you'd like to vote, do so ASAP! You can vote multiple times too, I believe). Vote here.

Reviewer: silly sad sarah twilighted (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2013 04:32 PM · On: Chapter 29

sniffle Im all caught up!!  Im so glad Edward got some release from the pent up anger and dipear that was building up inside himself.  I love this story!  Im so happy for all your traveling that sounds like such a great advantage!  I look forward to your next update Im always around and look forward to it whenever it happens!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much once again for all your reviews! I'm so happy you're enjoying my story. 

FYI: MT was nominated for Favorite MY EMOTIONS Fic at the 2013 TwiFic Fandom Awards! If you are so inclined I would love your vote! Polls close very soon (tonight, I think! So if you'd like to vote, do so ASAP! You can vote multiple times too, I believe). Vote here.

Reviewer: silly sad sarah twilighted (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2013 03:55 PM · On: Chapter 28

I love her!!! Sandra is wow! 

Reviewer: silly sad sarah twilighted (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2013 01:19 AM · On: Chapter 27

I think they could both go for some counseling.  It helps that Bella got to see how much this was affecting Edward.  They have alot to deal with!

Reviewer: silly sad sarah twilighted (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2013 12:56 AM · On: Chapter 26

I wonder what Charlie and Renee are up to.  I kind of wish they were helping teh Cullens plan a secret wedding os he can do a proposal and marry me rightnow surprise..

Reviewer: silly sad sarah twilighted (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2013 11:49 PM · On: Chapter 25

<3 <3 <3

Reviewer: silly sad sarah twilighted (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2013 11:23 PM · On: Chapter 24

Im so glad Edwards family was able to knock some sense into his thick head!  Bella needs him to be strong she cant handle the burden just yet.  They need to support each other.  Love this story its so real and honest.

Reviewer: silly sad sarah twilighted (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2013 10:49 PM · On: Chapter 23

Here we go with Emo Edward again UGH!!!  He needs to understand this is Bellas issue Bellas problem and she needs to deal with it but she can't deal with him at teh same time.

Reviewer: Ambrie (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2013 02:20 PM · On: Chapter 29

I snuck to the last chapter - I'm really on 16! I'm SO thankful I found this story after so much has been written! I think I would be losing brain cells waiting for new chapters. Unbelieveable writing. I've been in tears. I don't know when you last updated - not sure if it was 10/06 or not? But please oh please, send up more soon! 

I'm tearing up thinking about reaching the end (Chapter 29 right now) and I'm only on chapter 16, lol



Author's Response:

Ha ha, well I'm happy you are enjoying it that much. Yes, this story was just recently updated on Oct 6. I'm afriad I'm a bit slow with updates but I'm working on it. In the mean time, enjoy reading what's already posted! Thanks for reading and reviewing! 

Reviewer: Lethaltxhunny (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2013 09:59 PM · On: Chapter 4

You have put into words what so many have felt. It seems you write from experience ( which I pray isn't the truth). I am glad that you put the warnings before and after. this is a touchy subject and not easy to discuss. It is not always easy to tell either. For those who do or have suffered this fate, i hope they won't feel ashamed, as it is not their fault in any way.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for venturing into this story, and for your empathy toward the nature of the subject. I wish I could say I don't write from experience, but unfortunately this is not the case. At times, it is definitely not easy to write this story. I very much appreciate hearing from a reader who is aware of it's sensitivity. Thank you again for taking the plunge and reading this far. I hope you will keep going, because, while Edward & Bella's story is not an easy one, there is lots of love and healing along the way. 

Reviewer: silly sad sarah twilighted (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2013 05:57 AM · On: Chapter 22

wow oh wow!!! omg yay I m so glad its over but dude your Jacob had a shit ton of screws lose but at the same time he was smart to get Tanya involved uts freaky.   and Tanya dont get me started on her Im so glad shes ash!

Reviewer: silly sad sarah twilighted (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2013 05:32 AM · On: Chapter 21

oh shit oh shit oh shit!!!!!

Reviewer: silly sad sarah twilighted (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2013 04:46 AM · On: Chapter 20

oh no please please please say jacob didnt go see Renee... omg omg

Reviewer: silly sad sarah twilighted (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2013 04:14 AM · On: Chapter 19

omg omg omg no no no .....

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.