Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Mistaken Trust
Reviewer: gingerhat (Signed) · Date: July 14, 2015 01:29 AM · On: Chapter 1

Hi there!

I just wanted to say hello and that I hope life is treating you better these days.  I remember you were having trouble finding a job/got a new job?  Being in the middle of a soon-to-be-lost job myself made me think of you once again and this story.  I haven't checked back in a while, so I was delighted to see a reply from you in February.  I don't think I'll ever stop checking for updates - really have enjoyed this story and intend to go back soon and start rereading since it looks like you've edited even more chapters.

It sounds like there's not a lot of oversight these days here on Twilighted.  I'm going to see if you are on any other site (this story) and I hope you'll look into it if you're not.  It seems update alerts are not getting to the readers in some cases.  I would be crushed if you were to update and I didn't know or missed it.

I do sincerely hope you're out conquering the field of your choice.  :)  I'll keep watching - know that we're still out here rooting for you.

Ging

Reviewer: Twilight131 (Signed) · Date: July 10, 2015 04:40 AM · On: Chapter 1

Happy Summer. I still check in on this story :-)

Reviewer: Evegab1 (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2015 12:20 PM · On: Chapter 29

Have you given up on this story?

 

Reviewer: just a fan (Signed) · Date: April 02, 2015 07:16 PM · On: Chapter 16

What can a person say about such a  horrible action from someone whos suppose to be a best friend? But theres plenty to say about someone so loving as Edward; you've written your people so vividly. Its a hard story for me, sometimes I have to leave it and come back another day. The beating is so hard ,besides the rape.

Reviewer: just a fan (Signed) · Date: March 30, 2015 04:29 AM · On: Chapter 7

you are avery good writer. I've read lots of twilight fanfiction and even if the writers done their best, you have a flo in yours that surpasses so many. This is a very moving and emotional story......hope to see more of your work.

Reviewer: just a fan (Signed) · Date: March 30, 2015 02:22 AM · On: Chapter 3

woe. who's this crazy guy. Has he been there all along? its like Bellas blinders are suddenly removed, where s this going?

Reviewer: LadyLawyer (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2015 11:21 PM · On: Chapter 1

Just to let you know that there are still some of us who are following your story and anxiously awaiting your next update. We won't give up if you don't.  

Reviewer: Twilight131 (Signed) · Date: February 12, 2015 01:48 AM · On: Chapter 29

I'm still reading in 2015 :-)



Author's Response:

I love you.

Believe it or not, I still have every intention of finishing this. It's just taking me forever to get there. But I will. I WILL.

~Lisa

(reply date: Feb 22)

Reviewer: P4R154 (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2015 10:23 PM · On: Chapter 29

Anyone still reading this in 2015? I AM!! Please update!!Lots of internet cookies!!

Reviewer: Evegab1 (Signed) · Date: October 04, 2014 11:35 AM · On: Chapter 29

Please please please do the next chapter! I've been checking for it every day

Reviewer: Evegab1 (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2014 11:42 AM · On: Chapter 29

” this chapter was amazing. I cried at the end, and I am so eager to read more. Please continue with the story, it is my favourite twilight fanfiction!

Reviewer: DeafGrl17 (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2014 10:34 PM · On: Chapter 20

I absolutly love this story! i think it is very well written, and protrays a rape victim perfectl. Bravo!

Reviewer: renee aubin (Signed) · Date: July 01, 2014 03:37 AM · On: Chapter 29

Lisa, how exciting to see that you have had your fingers on this story so recently!  Every once in a while I check to see whether you've updated the notes on the Table of Contents, and if not then I check to see if you've responded to any recent reviews.  

I'd just like to echo what others have said, that whenever you get around to publishing a new chapter, I'll be RIGHT THERE to read it!  (I'll probably also reread the whole story just to get the right context, but that's no hardship either.)

And let me just say that I'm grateful that this is your reason for being unable to finish a new chapter:

'Work has been crazy busy (though in a GOOD way - the job is fabulous) of late and I have not been able to find the good solid chunck of time needed in order to start up writing MT again and get my writing juices going.'

I remember when you were so discouraged that after all your hard work to finish your very difficult degree, for a while it seemed unlikely that you would ever find a job you loved.  So I much prefer that you're not writing because you're doing something else that you enjoy and that makes use of your intellect, knowledge, and training!  

Of course we would all prefer that you really enjoy your job AND find the time and the writing mojo to advance this wonderful story.  In the meantime, it's just nice to hear that you're still invested in telling us how things turn out for your Edward and Bella.

xoxo  Renée

Reviewer: musicluvr (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2014 06:05 PM · On: Chapter 29

We still care!! Just another loyal reader here...I still check in from time to time hoping for an update. I LOVE this story and will never give up on checking for updates until it's complete. Even if it's just for yourself and five of us die hard fans, please don't ever think that no one cares about this story and let that keep you from posting an update. I will be here to the end!!! Thanks for checking back in and letting us know what's going on. Glad work is good busy for you. Here's hoping you get some much deserved time off soon!

Reviewer: Twilight131 (Signed) · Date: June 27, 2014 01:12 AM · On: Chapter 1

"The bottom line is, believe it or not, I have never once wavered in my determination to see this story to the end, nor will I. Even if it takes me 10 years, even if I have no readers left, I WILL not give up in this story."

 

You will have at least one reader! 10 years from now or whenever I'll be writing a review like holy crap, that was so worth the wait! haha.  I completely understand about the job, and life, and how personal this story is for you. You can't force inspiration. Thanks so much for responding!

Reviewer: Twilight131 (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2014 02:48 AM · On: Chapter 1

Hi! Are you still planning to finish this wonderful story? **Fingers Crossed**



Author's Response:

Hellloooo!!! I've said this before, but...I love you. AND Now that that's said...

Believe it or not, the answer to your question is still a big YES. Pretty impossible to believe from your standpoint, I know, given that I keep taking about a year between updates. Honestly, I'm baffled that I still have any readers left at all. I could not even begin to explain why it keeps taking me so long to write a chapter of MT. Not sure I even understand it myself. The story and the inspiration has never deserted me but getting it down on paper has been tough for me. And it's not writing itself that is the issue, I have discovered, but rather writing MT specifically. I have written a few short one-shots for another fandom and wrote them easily in under a week, and here I am with MT and taking a year between updates. It's not at all because my inspiration has turned elsewhere and I prefer writting something else, but rather, I believe, because MT is in fact more important to me than any other piece of writing and much closer to my heart. Well, that probably makes no sense at all but there you have it.

Part of the chapter is written, but regretfully I have not written anything for it in months and it will thus, infortunately still be a while for the update. Work has been crazy busy (though in a GOOD way - the job is fabulous) of late and I have not been able to find the good solid chunck of time needed in order to start up writing MT again and get my writing juices going. At my work I am a key Engineer involved in the start-up of a whole new facility and untill we have gotten it all up and running taking any vaction time is impossible. I am hoping to finally take some time off (I have been working for over a year and have yet to take any vacation time) at the end of the summer once things have stablized at the new plant, at which point I think I will be able to start up with MT again.

Well, sorry for the long-winded respose, but I think I more than owed it to you and anyone else who might still care some kind of explaination. The bottom line is, believe it or not, I have never once wavered in my determination to see this story to the end, nor will I. Even if it takes me 10 years, even if I have no readers left, I WILL not give up in this story.

Thanks again for being such a loyal reader. It truly means more than I can say.

 

~Lisa

 

(reply date: June 26, 2014)

 

Reviewer: k1942 (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2014 08:11 PM · On: Chapter 29

Gut-wrenching though it was, this was such a meaningful chapter, clarifying so many things, especially in Bella's mind!

Reviewer: Yrollam (Signed) · Date: May 02, 2014 11:55 AM · On: Chapter 29

Can't wait for an update

Reviewer: IsabelAbigail (Signed) · Date: April 11, 2014 10:50 AM · On: Chapter 29

One of the best stories I have read here.  I really hope you finish it.  It was hard to stick with it through all their "healing" but it was done well.  I just want you to get to the happy part a little faster. 

Reviewer: SkylarMurphy21 (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2014 12:29 AM · On: Chapter 29

This is such an Incredibly moving and poinient story. Close to the heart and so well written. I know the subject matter must be difficult to write and read at times, but the charachters are so ture to life and I so appreciate that the characters are so open and we are able to see how the attrocity of rape affects not just the victim but those that love them. As well as how despite the difficulties life does move on and a victim can overcome. I can't thank you enough for the time, effort and work you've put into this. I need more ! 

Reviewer: Twilight131 (Signed) · Date: January 12, 2014 02:45 AM · On: Chapter 29

So, I see that you have tweaked this story as recently as 2014. Woo hooo! It lets me know you're still here :-) Happy New Year!!

Reviewer: musicluvr (Signed) · Date: November 08, 2013 05:45 PM · On: Chapter 29

It had been months since I last checked on MT and for whatever reason I thought about it out of the blue. I am SO glad I checked in on it because I was so excited to see an update!!!

I love the direction you are taking this. It really seems like E&B are headed toward being closer than ever. I can't wait to see how they move through it. I also can't wait for E & Renee to spend some more time together, as well as Renee meeting the Cullens. I could see some lighter material coming into play in those scenes. E&B have been through so much, I can't wait to see them get to a happy place.

Thanks so much for staying with this story. It means so much to those of us dedicated readers. I love this story and am so glad it hasn't been abandoned. Keep those updates coming!!!

Reviewer: renee aubin (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2013 09:46 PM · On: Chapter 17

Lovely scene of Edward providing comfort through the night.  But how easily ‘Terror washed over me', when she wakes up alone and hears the window opening.  His response was just perfect.  You do such a good job of describing the scene, I can easily picture canon Edward doing or saying exactly that.  I feel bad for him that he didn't realize Jacob had come through her window.

Aww, ‘the look in [Alice's] eyes made me feel as if she was opening her arms to me in a way so much more than just a physical sense. ‘

A much-needed light moment between the siblings:

"Okay, Edward. She's in good hands. You can leave now."

"Hello to you, too, Alice."

I love your Alice of course.  "Because if he isn't treating you like a queen I'll kick his ass," she said, her voice serious. 

Your Rosalie is wonderful too.

It's good that Bella can say this: "You said you probably can't help me much, but you already are. Just by...not letting things change between us...and for being here for me."

It's startling to realize this, from Rosalie:  "My God, Bella, it's only been a week."

Oh, excellent.  When Bella insists that Edward needs to stop blaming himself, Rosalie says:  "Have you stopped thinking that there was something you could've done differently to prevent it from happening?"  This is something Rosalie must have had to grapple with herself, after trusting Royce.

Interesting contrast between Rosalie and Alice, that Rosalie had a normal family life up to the night she died, which for a girl would have included learning to cook.  Alice, on the other hand, was entirely deprived of that kind of experience.

It's such an easy rookie mistake, adding all the flour at once.  The pristine Cullen kitchen never looked like that before, I bet! 

What a shocking turn amid such a fun afternoon to have Jacob call!

 

A wonderful detail:  ‘Moving through the maze of trees, the details of my surroundings that would normally be exceptionally clear to me...now appeared only a haze of shapes as the only thing that registered was the sound of Bella's heartbeat, which eventually faded away to nothing.'

A good description of Edward's dilemma:  ‘Gestures that had become second nature to me in the time that I'd known her, I now had to suppress.'  After all the work it took to adapt to her human fragility in the first place.

This is vivid:

‘How many times had I ached to just close the distance between us and kiss her deeply, passionately, making her forget everything except how much I loved her?

Oh, how I wanted it to be that simple. Wanted it so badly it hurt. Hurt with every breath I took.'

He's so right about what has been taken from them:  ‘Our biggest worries should be finals, wedding plans, and the reaction of Bella's parents to our engagement...'

And by contrast to what Bella is dealing with, ‘The peace and beauty of [the forest] horrified me.'  Good job building up to the moment when Edward blows his top. 

As usual Emmett is right on point, about Edward's rage:  "I always wondered how you would fa[re] in a fight without your mind-reading advantage, and I have to say; you're pretty horrible."  Edward learns a valuable lesson:  ‘I would never allow my anger to consume me like that again.'

An ominous call from Esme.  I remember when I first read this -so glad I don't have to wait to find out what happens!

Well, Lisa, this is the last chapter that I hadn't already reviewed.  So I'll just be (patiently) looking forward to the next one, whenever you can get there.

 

 

Reviewer: mrs_rsmith_thecure (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2013 12:30 PM · On: Chapter 29

xoxo

Reviewer: Twilight131 (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2013 03:37 AM · On: Chapter 29

In between your updates, I search for other fan fics to read, but none of them satisfy me anymore because no one captures Edward and Bella like you do.  It's better than the books!  Waiting is torture (TORTURE), but so worth it. 

 

That said, I love that they are helping each other heal.  I haven't been through a situation like this (thankfully), but in my experience healing from other hurts, I find that you can't heal completely within yourself. That is by focusing only on your suffering.  You have to reach out to others, especially those who love you and are sharing in your suffering (and suffering themselves because of it).  I can see that Bella is finding strength and healing in being strong for Edward - in getting through this with him as a team. I especially like that she is seeing through his defense mechanisms (finally) and appreciating how much he is struggling both before and after the rape.  This is one of the areas in which you surpass Stephanie Meyer because Bella in the books always struck me as selfish - not really appreciating Edward's struggle to keep her safe.  She is growing from this - their relationship is growing. I love to see it.

 

Obviously, it goes without saying (but that's not going to stop me from saying it) that I can't wait for the next chapter.  And I will probably bug you a little every now and then just to say hi (friendly, no-pressure, please don't abandon this story bugging).  I feel a little like Bella - alwasy afraid of being abandoned. lol. I trust you, I'm just too in love with this story.

 

Congratulations on your job - I was really hoping for you.  I'm so happy that you found a job you love so much - you deserve it!  So, thank you for this chapter, write more when you can, and I'll be here waiting until then ;-)



Author's Response:

GAHH, you are so complimentary of my work! I so love you, you know? Very sorry for the torturous waiting! I'm trying to write faster, really I am! And admittedly, it is very hard to find Twilight fanfics that aren't All human and actually keep Edward & Bella in character. I find I don't read a lot of Twilight fanfic for this reason. I'm a bit of a 'canon slob'!  It's not that there aren't many beautifully written fics but I'm just very picky and lately it's getting harder and harder to find canon/AU stories. There's tones of well-written All-human but for me it's just not Twilight without the vampires or without the characters actually being IN character. I'm also very picky when it comes to my own writing as well. I'm constantly battling with myself to get the charaters exactly right. So your compliment on this means a lot to me! 

I so love your insight. And I agree with you. Us humans draw strength from others around us. And, yes, I too felt that Bella never truly grew to understand Edward at all. Or at least, if she did, we never got to see it. I felt the books lacked a lot of character growth. It's nice to see I'm succeeding in my attempts to touch on this aspect.

You are more than welcome to bug me all you want! Very often it provides me with a much needed inspiration boost! And with how long I keep taking to update I don't blame you at all for fearing I've abandoned it. I'd feel the same. I feel so blessed to have such understanding and loyal readers. I really don't deserve it after the time I take to update. Such is just the nature of my life and the nature of this story. I'm trying my best to be faster this time around though.

Thanks so much again. I hope you know how much your reviewing mean to me. 

xoxox

~Lisa

FYI: MT was nominated for Favorite MY EMOTIONS Fic at the 2013 TwiFic Fandom Awards! If you are so inclined I would love your vote! Polls close very soon (tonight, I think! So if you'd like to vote, do so ASAP! You can vote multiple times too, I believe). Vote here.

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.