Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Da Capo
Reviewer: VictoriaCullen (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2011 01:02 AM · On: Da Capo al Fine

The weeds!  What a great metaphor for the things in life we'd like to pluck out and throw away.

Fabulous story!

Reviewer: VictoriaCullen (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2011 12:45 AM · On: Alla Breve

Edward's anger about Carlisle and Esme's love for one another is heartbreaking.  This is a really excellent story!

Reviewer: VictoriaCullen (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2011 12:32 AM · On: Adagio

You use clear, clean descriptive language.  I can picture exactly what you're saying. 

Reviewer: VictoriaCullen (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2011 12:20 AM · On: Allegro Ma Non Tanto

Giving the people Edward killed their own little back stories was very effective.  I could see why he chose them, even though he hates himself for it.

Reviewer: KateDumbledore (Signed) · Date: July 27, 2010 04:52 PM · On: Da Capo al Fine

I really love this story. Thank you!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Kate! I'm glad you enjoyed it. 

Reviewer: flutterback (Signed) · Date: June 30, 2010 06:53 PM · On: Allegro Ma Non Tanto

I read this story awhile back, but threads of it kept coming back to tickle my memory so I went off to find it again. I'm glad I did. I enjoyed reading it again as much as the first time. You write a tortured Edward and a compassionate Esme so well. I also can never weed dandelions in my garden without thinking of Edward. Fantastic story. Loved the concept. Thank you for sharing!

Reviewer: Niniel (Signed) · Date: April 25, 2010 05:04 AM · On: Da Capo al Fine

I really love your stories and this is another great one. I love this time period too - particularly Edward returning after having rebelled, so your story was perfect in that respect.

I love the way you wrote it too and how we got a little info at a time. It worked really well.

Reviewer: Tez (Signed) · Date: April 11, 2010 08:28 AM · On: Da Capo al Fine

This was fantastic!  These dark times were glossed over in the books, but they must have been just as you have so eloquently described.  You have done a wonderful job of flushing out these characters.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Tez. I really enjoyed writing this, and I'm tickled you enjoyed reading it. 

Reviewer: saroya (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2010 12:48 PM · On: Da Capo al Fine

I have a 17 year old son myself who is going through rough time with his father.   The fight between Edward and Carlisle was a reflection of the conflict the father and son had not too long ago.  It broke my heart.  They have not talked to each other since.  I can only hope that one day the story will end as the Cullen's.  That they will find love and forgiveness in each other's presence again.  Thank you for your work, it brought hope and warmth to my heart. 

saroya,

Reviewer: angelgirl0910 (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2010 08:40 PM · On: Da Capo al Fine

Ok, so I cried at the end. *sniff* Can't believe it over but then again, you managed to tie up each string together perfectly. I love how you showed Edward's growth and maturity into the Edward we know in Twilight. But I'll admit, I still have a soft spot for young, immature Edward who's jealous that he's not number one. I love the Esme conversation towards the end. I think it a great way to show how they start bonding and how they get to where they are in the series. And I agree with Esme: Carlisle loves Edward more than anyone. And I love how Esme was the one to tell Edward that. I think that is also something je needed to realize.

I managed to hold out and not go to the link you sent me because I didn't want to read ahead and not leave a comment. And I'm glad I did. I'll be on the look out for more of your writing.

Reviewer: monica1981 (Signed) · Date: March 25, 2010 04:18 PM · On: Da Capo al Fine

I really liked the interaction with Esme while they were weeding, and I loved the ending!

Reviewer: ermireallydontcare (Signed) · Date: March 25, 2010 06:12 AM · On: Da Capo al Fine

I really liked this story :)

I like the part with him and Esme weeding - it really helps to show the improvement in their reletionship and how Edward could start to forgive himself for what he did

Reviewer: hwright605 (Signed) · Date: March 24, 2010 03:59 PM · On: Da Capo al Fine

You are so talented.  "Ithaca" is my favorite canon fic hands down, and this is just as good.  It really gives some insight into Edwards self-loathing, as well as how he came to see Carlisle and Esme as his parents. 

Thank you for sharing your work.

Reviewer: Bruiser (Signed) · Date: March 24, 2010 03:11 PM · On: Da Capo al Fine

What a fabulous story!  It's "strangely" in character for Edward, since it's really a story about his life as a young person, both physically and in psyche.  So it's not the rational, quick-with-a-pretense Edward we know from Twilight; it's an equally tortured, intense Edward who is also quicker to rile and easily provoked.  It all fits the full picture perfectly!

I think you filled in a lot of blanks beautifully.  Thanks so much for sharing with us!

Reviewer: eniny (Signed) · Date: March 24, 2010 02:04 PM · On: Da Capo al Fine

Loved the story, loved your writing style, loved the third person narrator. The last one is rare in Twifics. ;-)

You also kept it short and sweet, that was good too. I just kept confusing the dates, lol. (But that isn't a problem as the story is easy to follow.)

And as I wrote in my other review: your Carisle is great; Edward too. I could feel with them. :( Poor Carlisle, poor Edward, poor Esme. But it is nice how you closed the circle in the end with the conversation between Esme and Edward, when he understands.

I also agreed with Edward on his irritation about suddenly being the "son", at least partially (after being the friend). I think that situation would be difficult for everyone.

 

One last note - I hope my review makes sense as English is not my first language... :-)

Reviewer: tessieholic (Signed) · Date: March 24, 2010 01:34 PM · On: Allegro Ma Non Tanto

Wow.

I can't imagine Stephenie Meyer writing anything other than what you've written to share Edward's history, word for word.  This is so beautiful, eloquent, and thoughtful--I think you've given the Twilight canon, and these three characters, such a greater sense of completion through this piece.  I kept catching myself holding my hand to my chest whilst reading this, feeling twinges of actual pain for the characters as you wrote them.  It's been a while since I've felt connected to characters on the level I feel connected now.  This is, hands-down, the most affecting fan piece I've ever read.  Seriously, you have gift.  Thank you for sharing this. :-)

Reviewer: ddcdragonfly (Signed) · Date: March 23, 2010 11:14 PM · On: Da Capo al Fine

What a wonderful ending ... beginning ... middle! Great Job.
I love the brief glimpses into each of them ... and those brief glimpses came together to help define their relationship to each other.

Reviewer: EverAfter13 (Signed) · Date: March 23, 2010 09:33 PM · On: Da Capo al Fine

I can’t understand how this story doesn’t have more reviews. Your writing is such a joy to read and flows so beautifully. The characters feel real and are brought to life through your words. There is a perfect balance between dialogue, thought, and surroundings. Your scales are balanced perfectly, without anyone one factor being too heavily weighted. I’m so sad that the story is ending and I hope you have other stories waiting in the wings. Thank you for such an amazing story- EA

 

Reviewer: Strider (Signed) · Date: March 23, 2010 08:58 PM · On: Da Capo al Fine

Holy moly.  That was incredibly moving; I'm sitting here at my computer sniffling.  I love how in the end his reconciliation came as much through Esme as through Carlisle.  And I love how your Esme is gentle and sweet, but tough, too.  It was a stroke of genius to have Carlisle and Esme put together the bit about Eleanor, and to have Carlisle deliver the baby. And the real violence between Carlisle and Edward was unexpected, but powerful and effective.  just exquisite.  Thank you so much.



Author's Response:

Aww, thank you. And yes--this story couldn't end without Esme. That was one of the surprising things about it--I thought I was going to explore the father-son relationship, and instead it was the nascent mother-son bond that ended up being the driving force. Esme is wonderful. I can never get enough of her. The 16-year-old who fell out of a tree when she should've been getting ready for teacher's college and an MRS degree. 

At any rate, thank you for seeing this piece through and for all your wonderful reviews. I'm tickled you enjoyed it. 

Reviewer: KaiaRose (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2010 07:16 PM · On: Alla Breve

This is a beautiful story.  I can empathize with Edward's pain it makes his rebellious years all the more comprehendable.  I really love the way you described his obsession with protecting Eleanor and explains his need to protect other women including Bella.  When I first read Twilight I thought Edward was super creepy, and I still think his stalking in SM's books is a little inappropriate for young readers, but from a mature point of view, he is a fascinating character.

Great work with my favorite vampire!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Kaia. It is a great compliment indeed that you think this helps explain Edward's behavior in the canon--I always try to start with details like him protecting Bella and ask, "How did he get here?" So I'm tickled that you feel this meshes with your ideas as well. 

Thank you for reading! 

Reviewer: angelgirl0910 (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2010 04:01 PM · On: Alla Breve

You know, I feel for Edward. It sucks that he has to share is only "parent" but at the same time, he is also exhibiting human behavior and at time I just wanna scold him and tell him to be happy for Carlisle. But then I remember, that he spent decades alone while seeing his happy family paired off with their perfectly compatible mate and that this is just the beginning. 

I love the whole Eleanor bit. How you managed to make her remind him of his mother. It's very touching in a way. I don't know. But I'm looking forward to seeing how this turns out.

But quick question, how far are you planning on taking this story? All the way till we get to where Midnight Sun begins or till the whole family is together?



Author's Response:

Yes! I  agree, it's the context of knowing that Edward is going to be doing this pretty much for a hundred years that makes this moment really hard. I'm tickled that you keyed into that. 

Re: how far--I regret to say this is only a novella. The last chapter is currently sitting in the queue, and if you want at it faster, it's up on my website gisellelx(dot)com. This story was meant to be very tight, hence the telling using multiple snapshots. I'm not one who writes pieces with no bounds and so my fics generally have something they're driving at, and when we get they're; they're done. So...I hope you enjoy the last installment as much as you've enjoyed the first three. Thank you for reading. 

Reviewer: monica1981 (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2010 05:28 PM · On: Alla Breve

It seems Edward had a history of stalking people, and helping the helpless.



Author's Response:

Indeed! I was surprised at how that unfolded, really--I didn't set out to "make him a stalker," but his obsession with Eleanor flowed very naturally out of his personality. 

Reviewer: Strider (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2010 10:03 PM · On: Allegro Ma Non Tanto

I am most fascinated by this devotion Edward has to Eleanor.  It is sexual, of curse, but it's also very innocent.  I can see how, with everything else going on inside him, he could find himself relishing the role of protector.  And you, as usual, excel at these extra-canonical relationships.  Beautifully done.

Oh, and (how could I forget) just some damn good Carlisle in this (not that you'd ever let us down in that regard!).  It's really an archetypal moment--the moment when the son realizes that the father is human (at least), when all this time he's thought of him as something more.



Author's Response:

"It is sexual, of curse, but it's also very innocent.  "

Indeed! I'm happy you picked up on and enjoyed that bit. I wanted to get a chance to show how tortured Edward's entire relationship to sex and sexuality is, especially because it's wrapped up  in moments like these, where he feels he shouldn't have the feelings he does and yet of course he's helpless to do anything about them. Eleanor was a lot of fun to write. 

And yes! on the son realizing his father is human. Although I think this particular trope stretches all the way through Breaking Dawn for me--when he finally goes, "Oh. Right. This is what it is to be a father--and it doesn't make me any less confused." It's hard not to put Carlisle on a pedestal...but I try to knock him off it quite a bit. More on that in part IV. 

 

Reviewer: ddcdragonfly (Signed) · Date: March 10, 2010 10:48 AM · On: Adagio

Your writing style is excellent. The mystery created by the alternating timelines is great. I'm enjoying this glimpse of Edward as well as Carlisle and Esme.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm glad you like it, and especially glad you like its format--I spent a long time thinking about *how* to tell this story, so compliments on that aspect mean a great deal to me. Thank you! 

Reviewer: Axciom (Signed) · Date: March 10, 2010 10:34 AM · On: Adagio

This is the beginning of a legendary story, and I'm glad I caught it when it first got started. You, sir or ma'am, are an amazing writer, and I encourage you to keep this up...simply amazing stuff!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Axciom! I'm delighted to have you reading. (And I'm a ma'am. :) ) This does update first on FFnet and my own website, gisellelx(dot)com, if you want to get at it there. Glad to hear you're enjoying it. 

You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.