Your donations help keep this site running,
thank you very much for the support!
Reviews For Paradise Lost
Reviewer: leeseeq (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2010 09:10 PM · On: The Longest Night

This really struck a chord as so perfectly Edward.  I love that at first he was thinking it all went ok, it keeps it interesting.  I too always thought he was overreacting, but it is a little easier to see the depth and legitimacy of his concerns when you see it from his perspective.  I don't harbor any ill feelings toward him for it as I have heard some do.  It was a mistake I know he would NEVER make intentionally. 



Author's Response:

Thank you very much for your kind words.  I am so glad you think that I captured Edward and that my story gave you more understanding of him.

Reviewer: romancaholic (Signed) · Date: October 18, 2009 06:20 PM · On: The Longest Night

Edward has mixed emotions.  first is fearful will kill her.  secondly he extremely happy and contented, thirdly he is disgusted with himself because she has bruises.  When Bella wakes she feels wonderful, content, happy, glorious, and loved.  She doesn't understand his feelings at all.  she eventually sees the bruises, but doesn't remember the embrace or being held too tightly.  she thinks he is overreacting like most everyone else.  Once in the heat of passion, some things are not taken into account on both parts.  You want to be held tighter and always more at the time.  Bruises can occur, but not always.  Feelings of soreness and tightness can occur because you are using muscles they have never used before.  so I still think Edward overreacted.  Once he has experienced making love and the climax, he learns how to move the excess to other means.  Instead of discussing with Bella just went into self loathing, blaming himself for only taking his pleasure which is not the case.  He gave as much pleasure as he received.

Reviewer: aemd28 (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2009 06:03 PM · On: The Longest Night

Funny, I'm not sure why or if this matters, but until I read this I guess I hadn't really put much thought into the specifics.  I thought that they had made love in the water for the first time and telling her they would "swim first" was just his less awkward, more gentelmantly way of getting her naked?!  And that he had bit the pillows during the night as a way of taking out his anger for hurting her>  But I really like your version, and love the way your in Edwards head.

Reviewer: AmberrrJune (Signed) · Date: June 27, 2009 04:11 AM · On: Surrender

sweet edward

Reviewer: AmberrrJune (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2009 09:38 PM · On: The Longest Night

i hate that edward gets so angry with himself.....he is always a bit of a drama queen in my opinion but definitely still love him.

Reviewer: alyssalove (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2009 09:34 AM · On: The Longest Night

I still think Edward was a big worry wort about it, but I can see where he's coming from at least, now. Good job!



Author's Response:

I'm glad the story gave you some insight into Edward!

Reviewer: Frenchbeanz (Signed) · Date: April 28, 2009 09:58 PM · On: The Longest Night

I nice quick fix for my raging addiction. I picked this up from the random story feature on the home page. It's really well written and I think it represents Edward well. It hadn't occurred to me he would have watched the bruising appear. Good pick up.



Author's Response:

Oooh, I was the random story!  How exciting.  Thanks very much for your kind words.

Reviewer: RichelleCullen (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2009 03:23 PM · On: Surrender

GREAT job!  I love those last 2 lines!



Author's Response:

Thank you for mentioning those last two lines.  I really like them too.  Short and simple, but they say a lot-- his self-control had completely evaporated, but he was still thinking of her, not himself.

Reviewer: RichelleCullen (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2009 03:15 PM · On: The Longest Night

You're awesome at climbing into Edward's head.  Great job!



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: Porsche_258 (Signed) · Date: March 23, 2009 01:55 AM · On: The Longest Night

I absolutely love your writing, I've read almost all of your fanfics. You really have a great perspective on Edward's POV!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much.  I just love Edward and trying to understand and write him is sadly the only way I can be close to him.

Reviewer: rengisol (Signed) · Date: March 08, 2009 09:59 PM · On: Surrender

thanks for writing this, I wondered what Edward would be thinking during this scene, but lacked the verbal eloquence to pull it off.

Reviewer: sladky_devotchka (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2009 09:59 PM · On: Surrender

....wow? Loved the ending, he gave in for ever; not for himself, but for her. Badass Edward....

Reviewer: sladky_devotchka (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2009 09:48 PM · On: The Longest Night

Edward is so emo! this only proves that he likes sulking...(lol) Honestly, i can't get the "bed-frame" scene from BD out of my mind while i read this...Always good to have an Edward pointofview ! :runs to the next:



Author's Response:

I do think he likes sulking in the sense that it's familiar to him.  At this point in his life he's almost more comfortable sulking than being happy.

Reviewer: Jamieson (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2008 03:53 PM · On: The Longest Night

I have to say  I agree with both of them...within their respective perspectives (say that three times fast!).  On the one hand, Bella doesn't quite understand what the big deal is, especially if the bruises didn't hurt and she was expecting it (although the fact she was *expecting* it is an entirely different matter).  But of course Edward's reaction is completely understandable...and of course, he is thinking of only her in that situation, purely out of love and abhorrence that he could hurt her yet again.  So this is very in-character, great job.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your review!  "Respective perspectives"-- that is pretty funny!  I love hearing that I kept him in-character.

You know, after I read the review below of the person who had gotten bruised during great sex, I thought about everything again.  I decided that's different because there was no chance her husband could inadvertently kill her.  Bruises were the worst that could happen, and if she is OK with that, fine.  Edward is a different story.  He had tried his utmost not to hurt her, but he had anyway.  So there was really no telling what could happen the next time. 

Reviewer: aerialla (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2008 01:31 PM · On: The Longest Night

I liked this very much.  It was nice  to see Edward's perspective of that night. 

 My thought when reading the book was that Bella scoffed Edward's feelings about sex too much.  She was so into getting what she wanted that she didn't care about his feelings.  Something that happened too many times in the books in my opinion which made Bella seem too much like a spoiled brat to me.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your review!  Bella is pretty relentless, and she does know how to get to him.  But to be fair Edward always tried to protect her from his issues and not let her know how difficult it was for him all the time.  She didn't fully understand his feelings because he didn't want to "burden" her with them.

Reviewer: mystichearts (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2008 07:06 PM · On: Surrender

Oh my gosh I love this! It was awesome. You are such  an amazing writer, please don't ever stop writing. =]

Author's Response: Thank you. Wow, what a nice thing to say!

Reviewer: Porcelain Mortal (Signed) · Date: December 08, 2008 09:25 PM · On: The Longest Night

I'll be honest; while I enjoyed reading this piece, I felt it was kind of fluffy.. it was undeveloped in comparison to your other pieces, especially "Surrender". That said, it was a great idea for a piece, and I liked it. :o) I look forward to more from you.

Author's Response:

I guess I can agree that "Surrender" is more interesting.  I wrote "The Longest Night" first, but it got accepted to twilighted days later than "Surrender."  I think one reason that "Surrender" is more compelling is that in Breaking Dawn, Edward never explains his actions that night (he only says he doesn't regret them because of how it turned out) and Bella herself does not know why he gave in.  Whereas after their first night, they talk and it's pretty clear what he is thinking.  So there is more of an unknown behind "Surrender," more of a mystery for me to try to unlock.  But I could never have tackled writing "Surrender" without writing "The Longest Night" first.    

Reviewer: Porcelain Mortal (Signed) · Date: December 08, 2008 12:52 PM · On: Surrender

This was very nice... very emotional. It wasn't an exact replication of the scene from EPOV, but rather like he's reflecting back on it, which I appreciated. :o)

Author's Response: Thanks.  I hadn't thought about it that way but I think you're right.  That must have been another tough night for him after she fell asleep again.  He had plenty of time to review his actions while monitoring her for any signs of injury!

Reviewer: Twinsmom (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2008 09:14 PM · On: The Longest Night

I see your point.,  The story was well written and enjoyable. 

But I'm not sure I agree.  I hope this isn't TMI but some of the absolute best sex This has happened to me.  If you are really lucky there is that one night of total bliss where you are sooooo in to each other that you lose just enought control to let the heat sprial out of control.  And I'm a good girl, not into kinky bdsm or anything close to that.  We were just that into each other.  My Hubs was upset at first too.  But, when he realized how I felt about it, he left it with an apology and a rousing bout of kissing the hurts that left us panting again.  (Sorry if I'm going overboard here! :) )

So while I understand why Edward was beating himself up at first.  He's overreacting because she has told him she is fine, enjoyed it and is EAGER to do it again.  This should have made him realize she felt the same way he did before he saw those stupid bruises.  He totally brought her mood down to his level by not trusting her, seeing it from her side and letting it go.

Hope that make sense and doesn't hurt your feelings.  I"m not kidding when I say that I did like seeing this from his point of view. and you told it well.

~christy



Author's Response:

Interesting!  My main point in my note was just that thinking about things from Edward's POV and realizing he'd had a lot of time during the night to feel worse and worse, I could see a lot better where he was coming from than when I first read Bella's POV in BD.  Stephenie Meyer has done an amazing job in creating fully-realized characters and putting them in a situation that has two really strong sides.  Of course, we know that Edward didn't hold out for very long!

Thanks for the thoughtful and positive feedback!

Reviewer: Dulcinea21bella (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2008 08:28 PM · On: The Longest Night

Great job!  I really enjoyed reading it.  I'm looking forward to what's next in the series!

Reviewer: LaBruja (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2008 01:51 PM · On: The Longest Night

That gives me stuff to ponder.  Thanks!

Reviewer: kktv (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2008 02:50 PM · On: Surrender

This was awesome! Did you read midnight sun? because I feel that you got his character very spot on...

Author's Response:

Thanks so much!  Yes, I did read Midnight Sun, more than once.  It really helps to get Edward's voice.

Reviewer: LaBruja (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2008 01:44 PM · On: Surrender

Lovely.  This is my favorite line:

 It had been decades since I was capable of shedding tears, but I understood bitter disappointment.

 



Author's Response: Thank you!  I really love when people tell me their favorite lines!

Reviewer: Marjojo (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2008 11:06 AM · On: Surrender

Great job! I loved this portrayal of Edward's thoughts. I think you nailed it. My favorite part was the line about how to Bella this intimacy is only possible when she's human and to Edward it's only possible when she's been changed. 

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the positive feedback!  It was hard to figure out what was going on with Edward that night.  Bella herself says she doesn't know why he gave in!  There are probably lots of possible approaches.  I'm really thrilled to hear you thought my version works.  And I love when people tell me the specific parts they liked.

Reviewer: Dulcinea21bella (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2008 10:15 AM · On: Surrender

This was fabulous.  Intoxicating.  It was a wonderful interpretation of what Edward was thinking at the time- very true to the character.  The feeling of love was very powerful.  Great job!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments!

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.




Share/Save/Bookmark


© 2008, 2009 Twilighted Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the intellectual property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of Stephenie Meyer. No copyright infringement is intended.